To make a report of abuse or neglect:
What information do I need to provide when calling Centralized Intake?
Demographic information of the victim(s)
Type of abuse or neglect suspected
Is the victim in imminent danger?
Location of the victim and caregivers
Is there a protective caregiver present?
Does the alleged perpetrator have access to the victim?
General functioning of victim and caregivers
Any safety threats for first responders
Anyone may report suspected abuse or neglect. However, under WV Code §49-6A-2, certain persons are mandated reporters and required to make a report. These persons are:
Child care or foster care workers
Christian Science practitioners
Circuit court judges, family court judges or magistrates
Commercial film or photographic print processor
Emergency medical services personnel
Employee, coach or volunteer of an entity that provides organized activities for children
Employees of the Division of Juvenile Services
Medical, dental or mental health professionals
Members of the clergy
Peace officers or law enforcement officials
School teachers and other school personnel
Social Service Workers
Youth camp administrator or counselor
Mandated reporter trainings can be scheduled.
If you are a mandated reporter with an allegation involving an incapacitated adult and/or resident of a nursing home or residential facility, your are required by law to complete the APS Mandatory Reporting Form within 48 hours as part of the Adult Protective Services (APS) process.
Report NOW under the following circumstances:
In any case where a mandated reporter believes the child suffered serious physical abuse, the reporter shall immediately make a report to the West Virginia State Police and any law enforcement agency having jurisdiction to investigate the report.
Also, any person over the age of 18 who receives information from a credible witness or observes any sexual abuse or sexual assault of a child, shall immediately and not more than 48 hours report the circumstances to the Department of Health and Human Resources and the West Virginia State Police or other law enforcement agency having jurisdiction to investigate the report.
If the reporter feels making a report of sexual abuse will expose himself or herself, the child, the reporter's children or other children in the subject's household to an increased threat of serious bodily injury, the individual may delay the report while he or she takes measure to remove himself or herself or the affected children from the perceived threat of additional harm. The individual must make the report as soon as practical after the threat of harm has been reduced.
Am I protected if I make a report?
Under WV Code §49-6A-6 persons making a report in good faith are immune from civil or criminal liablity.