West Virginia

Department of Health, Department of Health Facilities, and Department of Human Services

Department of Health
Department of Health Facilities
Department of Human Services

Leadership

House Bill 2006​, passed during the 2023 Legislative Session, reorganized the West Virginia Department of Health and Human Resources into three separate departments effective January 1, 2024: West Virginia Department of Health, West Virginia Department of Health Facilities, and West Virginia Department of Human Services.
​​​

West Virginia Department of Health

Sherri A. Young, D.O., MBA, FAAFP

Cabinet Secretary

304-558-0684 | DHSecretary@wv.gov


Sherri Young 

​​​Russell Crane

Deputy Secretary

304-558-0684 | Russell.Crane@wv.gov
Russell Crane 

Justin Davis

Interim Commissioner, Bureau for Public Health

304-558-2971 | Justin.J.Davis@wv.gov
Justin Davis 

Matthew Christiansen

State Health Officer

304-558-2971 | Matthew.Q.Christiansen@wv.gov
Matt Christiansen 

Donnie Haynes

Interim Director of the Center for Threat Preparedness

304-352-5257 | Donnie.W.Haynes@wv.gov
Donnie Haynes 

​​​Chris Nelson

Interim Inspector General (OIG)

304-558-2278 | Christopher.G.Nelson@wv.gov​
Chris Nelson 

West Virginia Department of Human Services

Cynthia A. Persily, Ph.D.

​​Cabinet Secretary 

304-558-0684 | DoHSSecretary@wv.gov
Cynthia Persily 

Cammie Chapman

Deputy Secretary of Children and Adult Services

304-558-0684 | Cammie.L.Chapman@wv.gov
Cammie Chapman 

​​​Christina Mullins

Deputy Secretary of Mental Health and Substance Use Disorders/Co-Interim Director of the Office of Drug Control Policy

304-558-0627 | Christina.R.Mullins@wv.gov
Christina Mullins 

​​​Cynthia Beane

Commissioner of the Bureau for Medical Services (BMS)

304-558-1700 | Cynthia.E.Beane@wv.gov
Cynthia Beane 

​​​Rachel Thaxton

Co-Interim Director of the Office of Drug Control Policy (ODCP)

304-558-0684 | Rachel.M.Thaxton@wv.gov​​​
Rachel Thaxton 

​​​Jeffrey Pack

Commissioner of the Bureau for Social Services (BSS)

304-558-0628 | Jeffrey.M.Pack@wv.gov
Jeffrey Pack 

​​​Garrett Jacobs

Commissioner of the Bureau for Child Support Enforcement (BCSE)

304-558-0909 | Garrett.M.Jacobs@wv.gov
Garrett Jacobs 

​​​Janie Cole

Commissioner of the Bureau for Family Assistance (BFA)

304-352-4468 | Janie.M.Cole@wv.gov
JanieCole 

West Virginia Department of Health Facilities

Michael Caruso

Cabinet Secretary 

304-558-0684 | DHFSecretary@wv.gov
Mike Caruso 

​​​Shevona Lusk

Chief Operating Officer, Office of Health Facilities (OHF)

304-558-0684 | Shevona.R.Lusk@wv.gov
Shevona Lusk 

Chief of Staff - West Virginia Departments of Health, Health Facilities, and Human Services

Rae Bates

304-558-0684 | Rae.J.Bates@wv.gov
Rae Bates 

Office of Shared Administration​

John Lopez

Director of the Office of Constituent Services

304-558-0684 | John.V.Lopez@wv.gov
John Lopez 

Annie Moore

Director of Communications 
West Virginia Department of Health | West Virginia Department of Health Facilities​

304-558-0684 | Ann.A.Moore@wv.gov
Ann Moore 

Whitney Wetzel

Director of Communications 
West Virginia Department of Human Services​

304-558-0684 | Whitney.R.Wetzel@wv.gov
Whitney Wetzel 

​​​Tara Buckner

Chief Financial Officer

304-558-9138 | Tara.L.Buckner@wv.gov​​
Tara Buckner 

​​​Shaun Charles

Chief Information Officer​

304-558-0684 | Shaun.L.Charles@wv.gov
Shaun Charles ​

​​​Angie Jacobs-Ferris​​

Chief Human Resources Officer​

304-558-3347 | Angela.L.Ferris@wv.gov​​​
Angie Ferris

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

Contact Us | Site Map
To view Nondiscrimination Policies and Plans, please click here.