Licensure (Clinical Laboratory Practitioners)

The Law 

The West Virginia Division of Health Legislative Rule governing Clinical Laboratory Technician and Scientist Licensure and Certification 64 CSR 57 was updated effective June 1, 2017. The rule covers laboratories performing clinical laboratory testing of moderate or high complexity as defined by CLIA-88, and states that "No person will perform any clinical laboratory practitioner's tasks in West Virginia except as specified in this rule, unless the person is licensed by the secretary (of West Virginia DHHR) as a clinical laboratory practitioner."  This means that moderate and high complexity testing personnel must be licensed through this office to legally test clinical samples.  Any person found performing moderate or high complexity testing without a license will be assessed a penalty fee of $100 and the facility will be cited under CLIA for non-compliance with WV state law.


Licensure Source Verification Lookup

The licensure source verification website allows users to look up licensure by name or license number.  This is a source verified site and the information may be printed and used as confirmation until the license card arrives.

Please allow two (2) weeks for the processing of all applications.


To Obtain a Trainee License

  1. Complete the Trainee Application and submit it to the address below.
  2. Your signature and your supervisor’s signature are required.
  3. There is no fee for the trainee license.
  4. This license is good for 1 year.  To move to an initial license, the initial license paperwork must be completed and submitted with payment and proof of all qualifications.
   

To Obtain an Initial License (Paper Application) 

  1. Complete the Laboratory Personnel Qualification Appraisal and Application for Licensure and submit it to the address below along with the following.
  2. You must provide all supporting documentation:
    • Copy of High School Diploma/GED (unless you’re submitting a higher applicable degree).
    • Copy of College Diploma (science degree).
    • Copy of military 50-week medical technology training course (if applicable).
    • Copy of Board Certification (certificate or current membership card).
    • Job description, if currently employed.
  3. Your signature and your director’s signature (if currently employed) are required.
  4. Check for $25.00 Annual Fee.
  

To Obtain an Initial License (Online Application) 

  1. Complete the online application at: COMING SOON.
  2. You must upload all supporting documentation with your application:
    • Copy of High School Diploma/GED (unless you’re submitting a higher applicable degree).
    • Copy of College Diploma (science degree).
    • Copy of military 50-week medical technology training course (if applicable).
    • Copy of Board Certification (certificate or current membership card).
    • Job description, if currently employed.
  3. Your electronic signature and your director’s signature (if currently employed) are required.
  4. Pay the $25.00 annual fee and a $3.00 convenience fee using a credit card.
 

To Renew Your License Using The Paper Renewal Form 

  1. Complete the paper renewal form that was mailed to your home OR print and complete this Renewal Application Form.  Then submit it to the address below with the following. 
  2. 10 contact hours of continuing education is required.  Provide this information on page 2 of the application.  If needed, continuing education courses can be ordered on the OLS Training Page.
  3. Your signature and your supervisor’s signature are required. 
  4. Check for $25.00 annual fee.
 

To Renew Your License Online 

  1. Complete the on-line Application For Renewal Of License For Clinical Laboratory Practitioner.
  2. 10 contact hours of continuing education is required.  Provide this information on the online application.  If needed, continuing education courses can be ordered on the OLS Training Page.
  3. Pay the $25.00 annual fee and a minimal convenience fee using a credit card. 

  

International Licensure Applications 

Complete the steps in the "To Obtain an Initial License (Paper Application)" section above.  In addition, international applicants must provide a foreign credential equivalency for non-US degrees (per CMS SOM, Chapter 6, Section 6122 and CLIA Interpretive Guidelines at §42 CFR 493.2 instructing such individuals to seek the services of a foreign credential evaluation agency).  Upon acceptance of an international application, the West Virginia CLP License will be mailed to the West Virginia hospital/facility where the applicant will be employed.  Once the applicant is working at their chosen WV facility, they may renew using the normal renewal process as long as they have provided us with an address where they are living.
 

Penalty and Special Handling Fees 

Penalty Fees 

Late Fee – Renewal Post Marked After Due Date = $10 
Replacement License = $20 
Reinstatement of Lapsed (Expired) License = $20 
Same Day (within 24 hours) License Processing and Issuance = $35 
Non-licensed or Lapsed License Testing Personnel Found During Inspection = $100
 
Special Handling 
Issuing Official Licensure Source Verification = $10 
Practitioner License Mailed to Laboratory Management in Lieu of the Licensee Home Address (charge per license) = $10

Penalty and special handling fees are cumulative.  For example: You have an expired license and need same day processing = $25 license fee + $10 late fee + $20 lapsed license fee + $ 35 same day fee = Total Due $90.
 
 

Important Information 

  • Renewal applications will be mailed to the licensee's home address 6-8 weeks before the expiration date.  If the facility has paid the additional special handling fee, the renewal applications will be mailed to the facility instead.
  • Keep your mailing address current.  Notify the OLS licensure section of any changes.
  • Incomplete applications will not be processed until all information is provided.
  • Applications will not be processed unless all applicable fees have been paid.
  • Allow 2 weeks from receipt for your application to be processed.
  • We will audit a random number of licensees each year to verify the continuing education activities and may request legible, qualifying documentation.
 

Pay Additional Fees Owed 

Any additional fees should be paid with your license renewal.  This link is ONLY for paying additional fees, using a credit card, that were not paid at the time of licensure renewal.  This link is only to be used at the direction of an OLS licensure employee. 
 
 
 
 

Additional Information 

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) - UPDATED 07/12/2019 
 
 
 
 
 
Contact Information
 
Submit Licensure Applications to: 
WV Office of Laboratory Services 
ATTN: Personnel Licensure
167 11th Avenue
South Charleston, WV 25303
 
 
Personnel Licensure Support and Processing
Kwanii Brown 
Phone: 304-558-3530 x2105
Fax: 304-746-0658
 
Training and Evaluation/Licensure Supervisor
Dana Stillwagon, MLS(ASCP)CM
Phone: 304-558-3530 x2106 
Fax: 304-746-0658