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SECTION 1 – INTRODUCTION AND OVERVIEW 

1.1 Mission, Vision, and Values 
The Bureau for Social Services mission is to promote the safety, permanency, and well-being of children 

and vulnerable adults, supporting individuals to succeed and strengthening families. Our vision is for all 

West Virginia families to experience safe, stable, healthy lives and thrive in the care of a loving family and 

community. Our values include professionalism, integrity, excellence, relationships, and staff 

contributions. 

1.2 Legal and Regulatory Basis 

Federal Legislation 
 
Adoption Assistance and Child Welfare Act of 1980 (P.L. 96-272) 
The Adoption Assistance and Child Welfare Act of 1980 mandated states to promote permanency 
planning for all children in out-of-home care and for children at risk of removal from their homes. States 
were also required to make reasonable efforts to prevent the out-of-home placement of a child and to 
reunify children already removed from their homes. 
 
Multi-Ethnic Placement Act (P. L. 103-382) 
The Multi-Ethnic Placement Act (MEPA) prohibits a federally assisted agency from categorically denying 
the opportunity for any person to become an adoptive parent or foster parent solely on the basis of race, 
color, or national origin.  
 
The Adoption and Safe Families Act of 1997 (P.L. 105-89)  
The Adoption and Safe Families Act of 1997 was enacted to ensure that children’s safety would be the 
paramount concern of all child welfare decision making and to promote the adoption of children who 
cannot return safely to their own homes. This law addresses: 

●​ Concurrent planning, the simultaneous exploration of family reunification and other 
permanency options.  

●​ Requires states to file for termination of parental rights once children have been in foster care 
for 15 of the most recent 22 months, except in certain allowable circumstances, and encourages 
states to expedite TPR in specific situations of severe harm inflicted on children.  

●​ Mandates states to document efforts to find adoptive or other permanent placements for 
children, including placements with fit and willing relatives.  

●​ Gives preference to when making placement decisions to adult relatives over nonrelative 
caregivers when relative caregivers meet all relevant state child protection standards.  

 
Fostering Connections to Success and Increasing Adoptions Act (P.L. 110-351) 
The Fostering Connections to Success and Increasing Adoptions Act addresses:  

●​ Extending federal foster care payments to 21 years old.  
●​ Providing federal support to relatives caring for foster children. 

●​ Increasing access to foster care and adoption services to Native American tribes.  

●​ Improving the oversight of the health and education needs of children in foster care. 
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State Statute 

The West Virginia Code Chapter 49 and Chapter 48 legislates a coordinated system of child welfare for 

the children of the state of West Virginia. This statute allows the department to accept custody of 

children and place them outside of their families of origin in order to protect and care for them. If 

parental rights have not been terminated, it is the responsibility of the department to help parents stay 

involved in their children’s lives by exercising their remaining rights and responsibilities concerning their 

children. If parental rights have been terminated, it is the responsibility of the department to accept 

guardianship of children and consent to their adoption.  

Federal Supreme Court Decisions 

The Yokum decision determined states may not discriminate against kinship/relative caregivers in 

placement decisions in cases in which the state has custody of a child in foster care. 

1.3 Legal Authority for Adoptive Placement 
For the department to have the right to place a child for adoption and later to give formal consent to 

their adoption, the department must obtain legal guardianship of the child. Children can be committed 

to the guardianship of the state either through the voluntary relinquishment of the parental rights 

executed by the parents or by court order. Court rules will apply in the case of voluntary relinquishment 

by the court. Termination of parental rights (voluntary or court-ordered) represents the single most 

important decision in a child’s life and must be subject to review by more than one representative of the 

department. 

1.4 General Definitions 

Term Definition 

Abandonment Any conduct by the birth mother, legal father, determined father, outsider 

father, unknown father or putative father that demonstrates a settled purpose 

to forgo all duties and relinquish all parental claims to the child. See, W. Va. 

Code §48-22-102 

Adoptee A person who has been legally adopted in the state of West Virginia. See, W. 

Va. Code §48-23-201 

Adoption  The judicial act of creating the relationship of parent and child where it did 

not exist previously. See, W. Va. Code §48-23-203 

Adoptive parents "Adoptive parents" or "adoptive mother" or "adoptive father" means those 

persons who, after adoption, are the mother and father of the child. See, W. 

Va. Code §48-22-103 

Adult A person who is eighteen years of age or more. See, W. Va. Code §48-23-204 
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Agency  A public or private entity, including the Department of Human Services, that 

is authorized by law to place children for adoption. See, W. Va. Code 

§48-22-104 

Birth father The biological father of the child. See, W. Va. Code §48-22-105 

Birth mother The biological mother of the child. See, W. Va. Code §48-22-10 

Child placing agency A child welfare agency organized for the purpose of placing children in private 

family homes for foster care or for adoption. The function of a child placing 

agency may include the investigation and certification of foster family homes 

and foster family group homes. The function of a child placing agency may 

also include the supervision of children who are 16 or 17 years of age and 

living in unlicensed residences. The agencies are responsible for training, 

completing home studies, approving, and supervising the homes and are 

licensed by the department. 

Closed adoption An adoption in which identifying information about the birth parents and 

adoptive parents is considered confidential and is not made available as a 

result of state law and/or court order. 

Comprehensive Child 

Welfare Information 

System (CCWIS) 

A statewide computerized case management system for all child welfare and 

adult service programs. This system is in compliance with Federal 

requirements for a Statewide Automated Child Welfare Information System. 

Consent The voluntary surrender to an individual, not an agency, by a minor child's 

parent or guardian, for purposes of the child's adoption, of the rights of the 

parent or guardian with respect to the child, including the legal and physical 

custody of the child. See, W. Va. Code §48-22-108 

Determined father Before adoption, a person: (1) In whom paternity has been established 

pursuant to the provisions of article 24-101, et seq., and section 16-5-12, 

whether by adjudication or acknowledgment as set forth therein; or (2) who 

has been otherwise judicially determined to be the biological father of the 

child entitled to parental rights; or (3) who has asserted his paternity of the 

child in an action commenced pursuant to the provisions of article 24-101, et 

seq., that is pending at the time of the filing of the adoption petition. See, W. 

Va. Code §48-22-109 

Guardian Ad Litem 

(GAL) 

The court appointed attorney assigned to the child during the abuse and 

neglect proceedings. This person’s responsibility to the child continues until 

permanency is achieved. 

Adoption Policy​ ​ 3 
June 2025 

https://code.wvlegislature.gov/48-22-104/
https://code.wvlegislature.gov/48-22-104/
https://code.wvlegislature.gov/48-22-105/
https://code.wvlegislature.gov/48-22-106/
https://code.wvlegislature.gov/48-22-108/
https://code.wvlegislature.gov/48-22-109/
https://code.wvlegislature.gov/48-22-109/


 

Multidisciplinary 

Treatment Team 

(MDT) 

A group of professionals and paraprofessionals representing a variety of 

disciplines who interact and coordinate their efforts to identify, diagnose and 

treat specific cases of child abuse and neglect. Multidisciplinary teams may 

include, but are not limited to, medical, educational, child care and 

law-enforcement personnel, social workers, psychologists and psychiatrists. 

Their goal is to pool their respective skills in order to formulate accurate 

diagnoses and to provide comprehensive coordinated treatment with 

continuity and follow-up for both parents and children. See, W. Va. Code 

§49-1-207 

Relinquishment The voluntary surrender to an agency by a minor child's parent or guardian, 

for purposes of the child's adoption, of the rights of the parent or guardian 

with respect to the child, including the legal and physical custody of the child. 

See, W. Va. Code §48-22-115 

State ward A child who has had all parents’ rights terminated either by legal action, 

relinquishment, or death. 

Unknown father A biological father whose identity the biological mother swears is unknown to 

her before adoption, pursuant to the provisions of section 22-502. See, W. Va. 

Code §48-22-117 

 

SECTION 2 – PERMANENT PLACEMENT OPTIONS 

2.1 Kinship/Relative to Adoptive Care 
Placement with a fit and willing relative or kinship provider, in and of itself, does not necessarily provide 

a child in foster care with permanency. Every child in the custody of the department deserves to have a 

home that gives the child a sense of security and belonging while also providing the caretaker with the 

tools and resources necessary to meet that child’s individual needs. Kinship care can provide a child with 

permanency as well as providing the relative with the financial, medical, and legal assistance necessary 

to raise the child to maturity through grandparents’ rights, relative adoption, and transfer of custody.  

Grandparents’ Rights 

When considering placement of a child for adoption, the department must first consider any known 

grandparent(s) to adopt the child. Once the grandparent or grandparents have been identified, the 

department will conduct a home study evaluation to determine whether the grandparent(s) are suitable 

foster/adoptive parents. If the grandparent(s) are found to be suitable foster/adoptive parents, the 

department shall offer placement of the child to the grandparent(s) prior to considering any other 

resource or adoptive placements.  A circuit judge may determine the placement of a child for adoption 

by a grandparent or grandparents is in the best interest of the child without the grandparent or 

grandparents completing or passing a home study. See, W. Va. Code §49-4-114(3). 
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Relative Adoption 

The relative caregiver may elect to adopt the child placed in their home. This option allows the relative 

caregiver to become the legal parent of the child and receive all the benefits of legal custody. The 

relative may also receive a monthly adoption subsidy to assist with the additional expense of caring for 

the child. Medical coverage that covers the child’s physical and mental health care needs is also available 

to the relative caretaker who adopts the child. In addition, a non-recurring subsidy is available that 

covers up to $2,000.00 of the non-recurring expenses that may include the legal expenses incurred by 

the relative in adopting the child.  

Transfer of Custody  

If the relative does not meet the requirements or is unwilling to become an adoptive parent, the 

department may elect to ask the court, at a dispositional hearing, to transfer legal custody of the child to 

the relative. This option does not provide the relative caregiver with any financial or medical support for 

the child. The relative may elect to receive TANF benefits for the child which also provides a medical card 

to cover the physical and mental health for the child. This transfer option may only be utilized under the 

following conditions: 

●​ Reunification, adoption, and legal guardianship have been ruled out as possible permanency 

options for the child. 

●​ The child welfare worker has explained all the benefits of adoption and legal guardianship to the 

relative caregiver who decides not to pursue these options.  

●​ The relative caregiver cannot meet the requirements necessary to become an adoptive parent or 

legal guardian.  

●​ The multidisciplinary treatment team and the court determine that this placement is in the best 

interest of the child and the relative can provide an appropriate and safe permanent home for 

the child. 

●​ The child welfare worker will request that the court transfer custody of the child to the relative 

caretaker at the dispositional hearing. 

 

2.2 Adoption 
Adoption is a way of providing security for, and meeting the developmental needs of, a child by legally 

transferring ongoing parental responsibility for the child from the birth parents to adoptive parents. W. 

Va. Code §49-2-101 gives the department the responsibility to provide child welfare services and to 

accept guardianship of children and consent to their adoption. For the department to have the right to 

place a child for adoption and later give formal consent to their adoption, the department must obtain 

legal guardianship of the child. This may occur through the termination of parental rights to the child 

either through a voluntary relinquishment or through a court order. The parental rights shall not be 

terminated if a child 14 years of age or older or otherwise of an age of discretion as determined by the 

court objects to such termination. The decision to pursue adoption as a permanency option should be 

made by the multidisciplinary treatment team which should include the child’s child welfare worker, the 

supervisor, the private agency staff if any, the child, the child’s resource caregivers, the adoption 

specialist and/or adoption supervisor, and the Guardian Ad Litem.   
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Within the child, youth, and family case plan, filed with the court prior to disposition, the child welfare 

worker must recommend adoption as the permanency plan for the child and detail the steps necessary 

to achieve permanency. 

The multidisciplinary treatment team should also act as the permanent placement review committee to 

monitor the implementation of the permanency plan for the child and report on the progress and 

developments in the case every three months until the child’s adoption is finalized. 

If an order of sibling separation has not been previously entered and the child, youth, family case plan 

includes placement of a child separate from their siblings, the child welfare worker must secure a court 

order which finds that it is in the best interest of the child not to be placed in the same home as their 

sibling. The order must be documented on the legal actions screen in CCWIS. 

If not already completed, the child’s child welfare worker must complete the Birth Parents’ Background 

Information form (SS-FC-12) and the Birth and Medical History of the Child form (SS-FC-12A) in CCWIS. 

The child welfare worker must also obtain a certified copy of the birth parent’s birth certificates and 

death certificates, if applicable. 

SECTION 3 – TRANSFER OF CHILD PROTECTIVE/YOUTH SERVICES CASE 

TO ADOPTION​  

3.1 Transfer of Child Protective/Youth Services Case to Adoption Definitions 
The definitions used below are specific to this section and are a supplement to the general definition 

section. 

Term Definition 

Adoption ready A child who is placed in a family setting; has a permanency plan of 

adoption; and is legally free for adoption through death, relinquishment, or 

termination of parental rights of all known and unknown parents; and all 

required paperwork and documentation has been obtained according to 

the Adoption Transfer Referral and Checklist Form. 

Legal Risk Placement The placement of a child whose parents’ rights have not yet been 

terminated with a family approved as both foster parents and adoptive 

parents. 

 

3.2 Termination of Parental Rights 
Permanent guardianship of a child applies when both parent’s rights to a child have been terminated by 

the court or through a voluntary relinquishment. If the child’s permanency plan is adoption, any 

pre-adoptive placement would be a legal risk placement until the terminated parents appeal period has 

expired.  
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If the termination of parental rights is via a court order, the court order shall specify all the parental 

rights to the child including the right to consent to adoption, marriage, visitation, etc. are to be 

transferred to the department. The court order will determine whether there is an obligation for the 

parents to continue payment of child support after termination. If the court order states child support is 

to continue, payments are to be made to the department until an adoption is consummated. The 

department will also attempt to collect any arrearage of child support accrued prior to termination. 

When the court terminates parental rights and commits the child to the guardianship of the department, 

the child welfare worker will do the following: 

●​ Initiate the permanency placement review process to review the child’s case every three 

months. 

●​ If the child’s permanency goal is adoption, the child must be referred to the Mission WV 

Adoption Resource Exchange within 30 days. 

●​ Develop a post-termination placement plan which is to be submitted to the court and to the 

multidisciplinary treatment team. 

In accordance with state code, the district office will annually report to the court the status of all children 

for whom the department has been granted permanent guardianship who have not been adopted. The 

report, in letter form, is to be directed to the circuit court through the prosecuting attorney’s office. The 

child’s name, birth date, legal status, and placement status are to be reported. Any changes from the 

reporting for the previous year are also to be noted in the letter to the court. 

3.3 Right to Appeal Termination 
A court order terminating parental rights is effective from the date of the order. During the following 60 

days, any of the involved parties may file a motion to appeal or to correct errors regarding the order. This 

appeal period may be extended by the court if necessary. Any placement made during this period is 

considered a legal risk placement. The Adoption Certificate must be submitted with the adoption packet 

indicating if an appeal has or has not been filed.  

3.4 Adoption Specialist as Secondary Worker 
Staffing 

When the termination of parental rights of all parents, including unknown parents, or death has 

occurred a case will be staffed with the adoption unit. This staffing will determine the appropriateness of 

utilizing the adoption specialist as a secondary worker as well as the need to transfer the case to the 

adoption unit. It will outline the responsibilities of both the primary and the secondary workers following 

job description guidelines. This meeting will address missing information and decide which party is 

responsible to obtain such information. A timeframe will be determined for the case transfer to occur. 

The staffing as well as any exceptions must be clearly documented in CCWIS and agreed upon by both 

supervisors. 

Transfer Plan 

There may be some circumstances in which a case may not be appropriate for immediate transfer 

following the case staffing. Such circumstances can include but are not limited to completing missing 
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documentation, statutory follow-up by the child welfare worker, or obtaining necessary documents. If 

this occurs, up to an additional 30 days can be allotted for transfer with the development of a transfer 

plan by the child welfare supervisor, the child welfare worker, and the adoption supervisor. The transfer 

plan should address reasons for the delay as well as project timing for the transfer to occur in the future 

and should be documented. Cases are to be staffed with the adoption unit within 30 days of termination 

of parental rights, it should be documented in the CCWIS system and staffed and transferred as soon as 

possible.  

It is not necessary for children to be accepted by the adoption unit for them to be placed on the  

Adoption Resource Exchange (ARE). Children in state guardianship who have a plan of adoption are 

required to be registered on the ARE  within 30 days of identification as being in need of a 

resource/adoptive family.)                                                                                                                                                                           

Mediation 

If the adoption supervisor and the child welfare supervisor cannot reach an agreement in the staffing, 

the regional program manager, and the social service manager should both be enlisted to mediate and 

assist in making a decision. 

3.5 CPS/Youth Services Actions Prior to Transfer 

Adoption Ready Cases 

A child must be adoption ready prior to a case being transferred to the adoption unit. Adoption ready 

means that a child who is placed in a family setting with the permanency plan of adoption and is legally 

free for adoption through death, or termination of all parental rights, including known and unknown 

parents. All required paperwork and documentation must be obtained as required by the Adoption 

Resource  Exchange Adoption Transfer Referral and Checklist form. This form must be completed, 

emailed to Mission WV at bssare.wv.gov and all required documentation must be uploaded in CCWIS, as 

well as the completion of the state ward paper file, at the time of transfer to the adoption supervisor.  

Adoption ready cases must be staffed with the adoption unit within 30 days of termination or 

relinquishment of parental rights for all known and unknown parents. In cases where there is an 

unknown parent where publication has been posted, termination of the parental rights of the unknown 

parent must occur before the case can be transferred to the adoption unit. In circumstances where a 

case cannot be immediately transferred at the time of staffing, up to an additional 30 days can be 

granted with a transfer plan in place. Refer to Section 6.4 for more details about the transfer plan.  

All motions to intervene must be resolved prior to the transfer. However, cases where appeals on 

termination of parental rights have been filed and a Supreme Court ruling is pending, the cases can and 

should be transferred to the adoption unit if all other requirements to transfer have been completed.  

The following must be completed and up to date in CCWIS prior to transferring the case to the adoption 

unit: 

●​ All contacts  

●​ Legal action screens  

●​ Education screens  

Adoption Policy​ ​ 8 
June 2025 



 

●​ Placement screens 

●​ MDT screens 

●​ All required documentation uploaded 

o​ Termination orders or relinquishments 

o​ The completed 12 and 12A forms 

o​ Child summary 

o​ Birth certificates 

o​ Birth records 

Children whose permanency plan is adoption, who are legally free for adoption through death or 

termination of parental rights of all known and unknown parents, but are placed in a non-family setting 

(e.g. residential facility), shall remain with the child welfare worker, with the adoption specialist as the 

secondary worker on the case. The adoption specialist will be invited to all MDTs and assist with 

updating necessary documentation.  

Adoption should be recorded by the child welfare worker as the permanency goal in the child’s written 

permanency plan and in CCWIS. 

Court and Other Legal Records 

The child welfare worker will obtain certified court orders sanctioning termination of parental rights 

(known, unknown, and deceased parents/guardians), certified documentation of relinquishment, sibling 

separation orders, and certified death certificate for any deceased parents. 

State Ward Record 

The child welfare worker will set up the state ward record in CCWIS and as a paper file. This will include 

contacts copied from the family record, updated court screens, and MDT records. The child welfare 

worker should also document the date of the last administrative review and import all applicable files 

into the CCWIS document upload. 

Child’s Documents 

The child welfare worker will obtain/complete the following for the record: 

●​ Original birth certificate or documentation of request. 

●​ Social Security Card. 

●​ FC 12 and 12A completed. 

●​ Documented efforts to locate relatives. 

●​ Status of any home studies requested. 

●​ Medical records: EPSDT, psychological records, birth records, assessments, immunization 

records.  

●​ School records, IEP’s, etc. 

●​ Complete child summary. 

●​ AFCARS screen with no missing critical elements. 

●​ IV-E determination completed in CCWIS and paper file. 

●​ A certified petition and certified court ordered Termination of Parental Rights for all known and 

unknown persons having the right of parenting each child. 
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●​ Documentation of any referrals or applications made on behalf of a child for any services or 

benefits.  

3.6 Child Summary  
The child summary form can be produced in CCWIS and will contain identifying information on birth 

parents, family history, child’s race/ethnicity, permanency plan, reason child is in care, current 

adjustment, previous placement history, reason out-of-state placement is required, child’s special needs, 

goals and anticipated length of placement, and post-placement plans. (three copies) The information 

gathering should begin at the onset of the removal and continue throughout the life of the case. This 

form is an ongoing document, and every effort should be made to have the summary completed by the 

child welfare worker. However, this is not always possible due to delays in permanency and additional 

information arising once the adoption case is transferred to a child placing agency, making it necessary 

for child placing agency caseworkers to finalize the child summaries. The document should be updated 

by the ongoing child welfare workers on a frequent basis and throughout the duration of their 

involvement in the case. This document is to be provided to the adoptive family for their records up on 

placement or before the child’s adoption is finalized. Under no circumstances should a foster, adoptive, 

or kinship/relative provider complete the child summary.  

3.7 Case Work Actions  
The child welfare supervisor will review all documentation before the transfer and arrange case staffing 

with the adoption supervisor. The adoption supervisor will review and staff cases with child welfare 

supervisor and worker and will assign each case to an adoption specialist. Prior to the actual transfer of a 

case to the adoption unit, the adoption specialist will attend multidisciplinary treatment team meetings 

when permanency options are being considered. After the transfer, the adoption specialist will have 

face-to-face contact with the child within 14 days of the transfer in order to begin the child’s assessment. 

3.8 Information Sharing Between Child Placing Agencies, Emergency Shelters, 

Group Care, and Residential Mental Health Treatment Facilities 
Child placing agencies (CPA), emergency shelters, group care and residential mental health treatment 

facilities (RMHTF) may share and disclose confidential case information on behalf of a child in foster care 

with one another for the purpose of providing supportive information when referrals for placement are 

made. In some instances, referrals may be made between a CPA, emergency shelter, and group care 

facility or an RMHTF. However, the child welfare worker remains responsible for placement approval 

prior to the child being moved to the accepting placement, as well as notifying the MDT members and 

the court. All shared information between agencies and facilities will be treated as confidential and fall 

under the confidentiality provisions found in W. Va. Code §49-5-101.  

3.9 Electronic Access for Child Placing Agencies for the Purpose of Adoption 
The W. Va. Code §49-5-101 requires that the department make electronically available to child placing 

agencies and Mission WV Wendy’s Wonderful Kids staff, documents that are necessary for the 

completion of adoptions. The following list of documents shall be made available to the child placing 

agencies through CCWIS: 
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●​ Adoptive Parent Placement Agreement (FC-48) 

●​ Adoption subsidy agreement 

●​ Release and consent for adoption 

●​ Child summary 

●​ All applicable and relevant court orders/documents that include but may not be limited to: 

o​ Parent termination, including unknown father 

o​ Sibling separation  

o​ Termination of an existing guardianship 

o​ Notification to grandparents 

o​ Petition of single parent adoption 

o​ Appeal documents 

o​ Removal order 

o​ Other relevant petitions and court orders 

●​ Birth parent background information (FC-12) 

●​ Birth and medical history of the child (FC-12a) 

●​ Psychological assessments for family members 

●​ Medical records for all family members 

●​ Psychiatric records for the child 

●​ Discharge summary/information 

●​ Department family assessment (initial and ongoing assessments) 

●​ Safety plans 

●​ Child and Family Unified Case Plan 

SECTION 4 – RECRUITMENT OF AN ADOPTIVE HOME​  

Child specific recruitment must be done for every child whose parent’s rights have been terminated and 

adoption is the child’s permanency plan.  

4.1 Recruitment of Adoptive Home Definitions 

Term Definition 

Adoption Resource  

Exchange 

A website that provides adoption information to educate prospective adoptive 

parents and connects families with awaiting children. 

Child Specific 

Recruitment 

Recruitment strategy that focuses on recruiting or identifying foster, adoptive, 

and kinship families for individual children in foster care based on the 

individual child’s needs, interests, and connections. 

Legal Risk Placement The placement of a child whose parents’ rights have not yet been terminated 

with a family approved as both foster parents and adoptive parents.  

Permanency 

Placement Review 

The Permanency Placement Review Committee consists of members of the 

Multidisciplinary Treatment Team. The Permanency Placement Review 
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Committee Committee monitors the implementation of the permanency plan for the child 

and reports on the progress and developments in the case every three 

months until the child’s adoption is finalized.  

 

4.2 Grandparents Rights 
Grandparents or relatives by blood or marriage will be given the opportunity to become a resource 

caregiver/adoptive parent unless they have been party to the abuse and neglect by action or inaction. 

Once grandparents who are interested in adopting the child have been identified, the department will 

conduct a complete home study of the grandparents and their home. Grandparents must meet all 

requirements to be a department certified relative provider/adoptive family in order to be considered 

for placement. (Grandparents residing out-of-state must be certified by a licensed social worker in that 

state.) If the department determines based on the home study evaluation that the grandparents would 

be suitable adoptive parents, it must offer the placement of the child to the grandparents prior to 

considering any other prospective foster/adoptive parents. (See also Foster Care Policy and W. Va. Code 

49-4-114). 

4.3 Adoption Resource Exchange  
The department  contracts with Mission West Virginia to manage the state adoption exchange known as 

MWV Adoption Resource Exchange (ARE). This program provides a way to exchange information 

statewide and with other states, about West Virginia children with special needs awaiting adoption. 

Mission WV hosts an internet listing of available West Virginia children on the Mission WV ARE web page 

Adoptachildwv.org. Children available for adoption are also listed on the national adoption site, 

www.adoptuskids.org. The photo listing will be available to the child placing agencies when they register 

on the website as a professional.  

 

Identification of Children for the Adoption Resource Exchange 

Most children in state custody whose permanency plan is adoption are required to be registered on the 

Adoption Resource Exchange (ARE) within 30 days of identifying their permanency plan as adoption. 

Children do not have to be registered with the ARE if there is a completed Adoption Placement 

Agreement with an existing adoptive family. Children will not be registered if their parent’s rights have 

not been terminated, their permanency plan does not include adoption as the goal, or they are 12 years 

old or older and do not wish to be adopted or registered on the ARE. 

Any children who have been previously registered on the ARE and withdrawn but are again legally free 

and adoption is their permanency plan, but do not have a completed Adoption Placement Agreement 

must be registered within 10 days of the changed status. 

It is not necessary for children to be accepted by the adoption unit for them to be placed on the ARE. 

Children 12 years of age and older should also have a completed MWV Media Consent form in their 

stateward record. Workers can find this form on the professional tab of the ARE website at 

www.Adoptachildwv.org. Please note this form should be reviewed with the child by the worker every six 
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months and any time a media opportunity is considered. The MWV worker can review the consent with 

the child with the  child’s worker or CPA caseworkers request and/or approval. 

A Consent for Registration  

The ARE  referral form, Child Data Form ARE-0602,  should be completed in CCWIS. All information on 

the referral form must be completed and a narrative of at least 110 words written for each child or 

sibling group. The child’s worker may contact MWV if they would like assistance from ARE staff in 

completing this narrative. The worker must contact the MWV worker within 10 business days prior to the 

listing due date.  

The child welfare worker will save the completed form to each child’s document uploads in CCWIS. The 

child welfare worker will then notify the ARE via e-mail of the completed referral, including the child’s 

name and CCWIS case number. 

The ARE is responsible for transferring all information to the internet sites. 

Submission of Photographs to the ARE 

A good quality, digital or sharp, original, close-up picture must be taken as soon as the case is referred to 

the ARE. This photo may be mailed to the ARE (with identifying information written on the back) or 

downloaded digitally to the SSARE folder after being renamed with the child welfare worker’s number, 

county number, child’s last name, and sequence number. ARE should be notified of any downloads.   

Please refer to the Mission WV guide for quality photos on the Professional tab of the Adoptachildwv.org 

The DoHS worker can also request assistance with photos from Mission WV ARE staff.  

Updating Photographs 

Updates to the ARE with new photographs must be completed every six months in conjunction with the 

child’s administrative review. The child welfare worker can also request assistance from Mission WV ARE 

with updated photos. Photographs for youth aged six and older can be updated annually at the 

Permanency Review hearing unless the youth requests an updated photograph at six months.  

Change of Information 

Mission WV ARE should be notified of any changes, including change in workers, within 15 working days 

of the change. 

Placing Holds 

Mission WV ARE must be notified via email at bssare@wv.gov for a child to be placed on hold status on 

the internet in either of the following instances: 

●​ If a placement review committee meeting has been scheduled, the ARE should  

              be notified five business days before the meeting.  

●​ If the volume of responses is high and the worker chooses to limit additional inquiries. 

●​ If inquiries are no longer to be accepted. 

●​ An Adoption Placement Agreement has been signed. 

●​ If a child is having pre-placement visits or placed for trial adoption.​ ​  
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When an adoption is finalized, or adoption is no longer the permanency plan, the ARE must be notified 

so the child may be withdrawn from the listing.  

Internet Inquiries 

When adoptive parents inquire about a specific child through the various internet sites or through the 

MWVARE Family Registration database, the ARE will notify the child’s worker and the families child 

placing agency. The child’s worker should respond to the inquiring family’s worker within a reasonable 

time, but no later than 15 days from the date the inquiry was forwarded to the worker. Families should 

be notified if they are, or are not being considered for the Placement Review Committee. The worker 

should also notify the ARE by email  of their decision. Families with approved home studies who are 

identified as appropriate for the child will be presented to the Placement Review Committee for 

consideration and a placement recommendation.  

Home studies submitted from agencies other than the department must have been written by a licensed 

social worker, must be current (within one year) and must meet all requirements to be a certified 

adoptive home in the state of West Virginia.​  

4.4 Media Promotions 

Adopt US Kids  

In partnership with the Children’s Bureau, the Administration for Child and Families, and the Advertising 

Council, Adopt US Kids launched a national ad campaign to encourage adults to adopt children who are 

in foster care. This multi-media advertising campaign which launched in the spring of 2004 is a five-year 

project. The television, radio, print and Internet public service announcements for this campaign were 

created and distributed by the Ad Council. Responses to these ads are being taken nationally by Adopt 

US Kids and relayed to Mission West Virginia for distribution to appropriate department offices for 

follow-up. 

Wendy’s Wonderful Kids 

Mission WV is part of the national network formed by the Dave Thomas Foundation for Adoption to 

employ the Wendy’s Wonderful Kids (WWK) program. The WWK program implements proactive, 

child-focused recruitment programs targeted exclusively on moving the longest-waiting children from 

foster care into adoptive families. Mission WV has on staff two recruiters who employ aggressive 

practices and proven tactics focused on finding the best home for a child through the starting points of 

familiar circles of family, friends, and neighbors, and then reaching out to the communities in which they 

live. Section 3.8 of this policy states that the Wendy’s Wonderful Kids workers should have access and 

ability to review the child’s DoHS record. They are also able to visit the children in care assigned to their 

caseload and therefore should be listed on facility visitation lists.   

4.5 Additional Options 

Resources Known to the Child 

An excellent source of potential adoptive providers can be found with those people who have had or 
currently have contact with the child. Relatives, neighbors, teachers, counselors, church members, 
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previous foster parents, etc., who the child already knows, can often become the best providers for the 
child. It is important for the child welfare worker to consider these resources as well as those who may 
seem more apparent.                                                      

 
Foster to Adopt 
The child’s adoption specialist will discuss placement options with the resource/adoptive parent(s) 

within 30 days of the child becoming legally free for adoption and transferred to the adoption unit for 

placement. Unless the plan is for a relative placement, the resource parent has the right to be 

considered along with other appropriate homes for adoptive placement. If the resource parent has no 

interest in adoption or any other permanency option, the adoption specialist will obtain a written 

statement to that effect.  

4.6 Legal Risk Placement 
In some instances, it may be in the best interest of the child to be placed in a pre-adoptive situation 

pending the appeal of the termination of parental rights. Such placement is termed a legal risk 

placement or risk placement. The child may be placed with an approved resource caregiver/adoptive 

family with the understanding that, if and when the parents’ rights are terminated, this family will 

become the adoptive family.  

 

Legal risk placement may be considered under the following circumstances: 

●​ The birth mother has voluntarily relinquished her parental rights, but the birth father is unknown 

or unavailable, publication is needed, or court action is needed to terminate his parental rights. 

●​ An infant or young child has been abandoned and a petition for guardianship has been filed (the 

degree of risk in this situation may prove to be very high). 

●​ Guardianship has been granted to the department without the consent of the birth parents and 

one or both parents are expected to appeal the termination of their parental rights. 

 

The prospective adoptive family should be advised as to the risk involved and should be kept informed of 

any progress of the case through the legal system. If guardianship is not received and reunification with 

birth parents or extended family becomes the plan, foster care reunification procedures will apply.  

If the risk placement has been for six months or more when all parental rights are terminated, and 

appeal periods have expired, the family may proceed immediately to petition for the adoption. 

SECTION 5 - Adoption Preference and Preparation​  

5.1 Grandparent Preference 
W. Va. Code §49-4-114 provides for grandparent preference in determining adoptive placement for a 

child where parental rights have been terminated and also incorporates a best interests analysis within 

that determination by including the requirement that the department find that the grandparents would 

be suitable adoptive parents prior to granting custody to the grandparents. The statute contemplates 

that placement with grandparents is presumptively in the best interests of the child, and the preference 
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for grandparent placement may be overcome only where the record reviewed in its entirety establishes 

that such placement is not in the best interests of the child. 

The WV Supreme Court of Appeals has clarified that such a preference is not an absolute directive to 

place children with their grandparents in all circumstances. 

The court held the opinion that an integral part of the implementation of the grandparent preference, as 

with all decisions concerning minor children, is the best interests of the child. The WV Supreme Court 

has opined many times that the welfare of the infant is the polar star by which the discretion of the court 

is to be guided in making its award of legal custody. The WV Supreme Court has further stated that 

adoption by a child’s grandparents is permitted only if such adoptive placement serves the child’s best 

interests. If, upon a thorough review of the entire record, the circuit court believes that a grandparental 

adoption is not in the subject child’s best interests, it is not obligated to prefer the grandparents over 

another, alternative placement that does serve the child’s best interests. (See Syl. pts. 4 & 5, Napoleon S. 

v. Walker, 217 W. Va. 254, 617 S.E.2d 801.) 

5.2 Pre-Placement Visitation 
Whenever possible pre-placement visitation should occur prior to placing a child in an adoptive home. 

Pre-placement visitation provides a positive environment for parents and the child to get to know one 

another and requires preparation and planning. Ideally, all parties, including the child’s resource 

caregivers, the adoptive parents, and the adoption specialist are involved in this planning.  

●​ The first meeting should be held in a place where the child feels most comfortable. It is never an 

overnight visit. For subsequent visits, the adoption specialist should encourage the adoptive 

family to visit the resource home at different times of the day in order to observe the child in 

different activities and to learn their routines. The visits should increase in length to overnight. 

●​ Pre-placement visits are not for the purpose of seeing whether the placement is going to work. 

Rather, they are to provide an opportunity for increasing familiarity and to begin the attachment 

process. 

●​ Visits should generally take place in a two to three-week period. A longer visitation period may 

confuse the child by implying that the family has not really decided to adopt them. Proximity 

between the child’s residence and the new family’s home will, in part, determine the number 

and duration of visits. Other considerations are the child’s needs and the extent to which the 

foster family and the adoptive family are willing to cooperate in a placement plan. 

●​ A minimum visiting plan is as follows: 

○​ For long-distance placements, a minimum of one visit in the foster home. 

○​ One weekend visit to give the child an opportunity to spend several days in the new 

home. 

○​ One return visit to the foster home to say final good-byes is recommended. 

○​ In the case of interstate placement, the family is expected to come to West Virginia for 

the presentation of the child and part of the pre-placement and placement process.  
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5.3 Travel Expenses for Interviews and Visits by Pre-Adoptive Parents 
If necessary, potential adoptive parents may be invited to attend a selection committee meeting or MDT 

to be interviewed for the placement of a particular child or children. Any invitation to attend a selection 

committee meeting should clearly inform a prospective parent that any travel will be done at their own 

expense and not at the expense of the department. If the family chooses to attend, they may do so at 

their own expense. This rule will apply to potential parents who are either in-state or out-of-state. If 

needed, after selection of an approved pre-adoptive parent, the department will assist with travel 

expenses for required pre-placement visits by the chosen parents. 

As an alternative to in-person interviews with potential adoptive parents, other forms of communication 

such as conference telephone interviews, teleconferences, video presentations or telephone calls may be 

as effective and should be utilized. 

5.4 Moving to a Trial Adoption Placement 
The placement day is one of the most significant events in a child’s life. Because of its importance, all 

parties to the placement must be clear as to the actual date the placement will occur and pre-placement 

visiting should not run into the placement without signaling a specific day or “moving-in day”. Steps to 

help in the transition might include the following: 

1.​ The resource caregivers should be assisted in saying their good-byes in a clear helpful manner. 

2.​ The child should bring their clothing, favorite toys and other possessions which have meaning. 

The child’s Lifebook must be hand carried by the adoption specialist to assure it does not get 

“lost” in the move. 

3.​ When placing an older child, there should be a provision for ongoing contact with significant 

individuals in the previous placement (i.e. resource caregivers, adoption specialist, extended 

birth family). For some children, maintenance of such contact may continue throughout their 

lives. 

5.5 Adoption Placement Agreement 
On the day of placement, the adoption specialist will review the Adoption Placement Agreement with 

the family and clarify the mutual rights and responsibilities regarding the placement. 

An Adoption Placement Agreement will be completed and signed in triplicate by the adoption specialist 

and the adoptive parents upon placement of the child in the adoptive home. One original is to be placed 

in the state ward record; one is to be included in the adoption assistance packet; and the third is to be 

given to the adoptive parents. 

At the time of placement, the adoptive parents will be provided with an up-to-date child summary, a 

copy of school records, current medical information, and a non-identifying medical/social history of the 

birth family.​  

5.6 Discipline Policy Agreement  
On the day of the placement, the adoption specialist will complete the Discipline Policy Agreement with 

the family. The Discipline Policy Agreement will be completed and signed in triplicate by the adoption 
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specialist and the adoptive parents upon placement of the child in the adoptive home. One original is to 

be placed in the state ward record, one is to be included in the adoption assistance packet and the third 

is to be given to the adoptive parents. 

SECTION 6 – INTERSTATE COMPACT ON THE PLACEMENT OF CHILDREN 

(ICPC)​  

6.1 Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children Definitions 
The definitions used below are specific to this section and are a supplement to the general definition 

section. 

Term Definition 

Interstate Compact for the Placement of 

Children (ICPC) 

An agreement that has been enacted into law by all 50 

states in the United States and the District of Columbia, 

which controls the lawful movement of all children from 

one state to another from the purpose of placement. 

 

6.2 Out of State Placements 
Interstate Compact for the Placement of Children (ICPC) is a legal agreement between West Virginia and 

other states as outlined in W. Va. Code §49-7-101 to regulate placement activities that occur between 

states. If a proposed placement is located outside the state of West Virginia, a referral through the ICPC 

is required. Complete ICPC referral packets must be forwarded, in triplicate, to the WV ICPC office for all 

types of proposed out of state placements including parental placements, kinship/relative placements, 

foster care, specialized foster care, group care residential care and adoptive placements. 

All out of state placements of children in the custody of the department must be approved by the ICPC 

office of the receiving state prior to placement. Only the compact administrator in the receiving state is 

authorized to give approval for placement in their state. Any other approval source (i.e. court, probation 

officer, out of state facility) is not sufficient to meet the requirements specified in the state code.  

Children should be placed out of state ONLY if one of the following conditions occurs: 

●​ The child is placed with a parent or relative who lives out of state. 

●​ The child is placed in a pre-adoptive placement. 

●​ The child has a treatment need for which no service exists or can be created in a reasonable 

period of time in West Virginia. 

●​ The out of state placement is in closer proximity to the child’s home than a comparable in-state 

program. 

●​ The child’s current resource family moves out of state and the child’s permanency plan indicates 

continued placement with this resource family. 
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6.3 Referral Process/Documentation 

Cover Letter 

This letter, on official letterhead stationery, will outline the following: 

●​ Reason for out-of-state placement. 

●​ Statement indicating the entity having legal custody of the child. 

●​ Plans for meeting the cost of care in the receiving state. 

●​ Permanency goal and brief statement of case plan. 

●​ Child’s Title IV-E eligibility. 

●​ Name and address of person to be studied. 

Required Documents 

●​ ICPC-100A: Placement Request completed by the child’s adoption specialist in CCWIS. This is the 

sending agency’s formal written notice to the receiving state of its intention to make an 

interstate placement and a request for a finding as to whether the placement would or would 

not be contrary to the interests of the child. With most placements, it is also a formal request for 

a home study. Following review by the receiving state, this form becomes the official notification 

that the proposed placement may or may not be made (original and four copies are to be 

submitted to the ICPC worker) 

●​ ICPC-100B: Placement Status-This form is used to confirm an approved placement has occurred, 

to indicate any changes in the placement, to showcase planning status, or to confirm termination 

of the ICPC contract (original and four copies are to be submitted to the ICPC worker).  

●​ Court Orders: Indicating court has jurisdiction over the child, who has legal/physical custody, and 

termination of parental rights (three copies are to be submitted to the ICPC worker). 

●​ Child Summary: This form can be produced in CCWIS and will contain identifying information on 

birth parents, family history, child’s race/ethnicity, permanency plan, reason child is in care, 

current adjustment, previous placement history, reason out-of-state placement is required, 

child’s special needs, goals and anticipated length of placement, and post-placement plans. (3 

copies are to be submitted to the ICPC worker) The information gathering should begin at the 

onset of the removal and continue throughout the life of the case. This form is an ongoing 

document, and every effort should be made to have the summary completed by the DoHS child 

welfare worker. However, this is not always possible due to delays in permanency and additional 

information arising once the adoption case is transferred to a child placing agency, making it 

necessary for child placing agency caseworkers to finalize the child summaries. The document 

should be updated by the ongoing child welfare workers on a frequent basis and throughout the 

duration of their involvement in the case. This document is to be provided to the adoptive family 

for their records once permanency is achieved. Under no circumstances should a foster, 

adoptive, or kinship/relative provider complete the child summary.  

●​ Home Study: Attach a current home study (within 12 months) if one is not being requested 

(three copies are to be submitted to the ICPC worker). 

●​ Medical/Financial Plan: This consists of a statement describing how the child’s need for food, 

clothing, shelter, medical care, and related maintenance will be met in the prospective 
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out-of-state placement and who will meet it. In accordance with W. Va. Code §49-7-101, the 

sending agency is financially responsible for the maintenance of the child (three copies are to be 

submitted to the ICPC worker). 

●​ Statement of IV-E Eligibility (Three copies are to be submitted to the ICPC worker). 

6.4 Education 
There are some state’s Boards of Education that will not provide a free public education for a foster child 

in a pre-adoptive placement. They consider the child a resident of West Virginia and expect payment 

from West Virginia for the child’s education. Arrangements must be made with the contract specialist for 

payment to the school system, so the child might attend a public school in the community of the 

pre-adoptive parent. 

6.5 Placement Notification 
The ICPC specialist will notify the adoption specialist of approval of a home. The child may not be placed 

in an out-of-state placement until the adoption specialist has received this notification. 

6.6 Worker Contact 
Regular contact between the child and the adoption specialist allows the child to have ample 

opportunity to express concerns, fears, problems with the placement, or other special issues. These 

meetings also provide the child’s adoption specialist with an opportunity to directly assess the child’s 

progress. The frequency and intensity of contacts between the child’s adoption specialist, the child and 

the resource caregiver/adoptive family will be determined by the individual needs and problems of the 

child and their family. 

Worker Actions 

The child’s child’s adoption specialist is required to maintain contact with the child either by telephone 

or face-to-face to assure the placement is meeting the child’s needs. During each visit, the adoption 

specialist will provide an opportunity to have time alone with the child to address any concerns or issues 

related to the child’s needs or placement. (If the child is physically, emotionally, or developmentally 

unable to communicate, the adoption specialist may fulfill this requirement by discussing the child’s 

progress with the caretaker.)   

Requirements for the adoption specialist and child visits are as follows: 

●​ The child’s adoption specialist will have telephone or face-to-face contact with the child and 

resource/adoptive parent within 72 hours of placement to assess the child’s adjustment to the 

placement. 

●​ The child’s adoption specialist is required to have continuing meaningful face-to-face contact 

with the child and resource caregivers/adoptive parents, at least once a month.  

●​ The child’s adoption specialist is expected to meet with the child during the worker’s visits to the 

home. The adoption specialist will be required to visit the out-of-state resource/adoptive home 

at least once every three months. Out-of-state visits require the approval of the regional 

program manager. Out-of-state travel regulations apply. 
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●​ The child’s adoption specialist will have face-to-face contact with the child’s parents on a 

monthly basis while the child is in foster care or until parental rights are terminated, unless 

ordered by the court. 

●​ The child’s adoption specialist will have contact with the out-of-state agency staff at least once a 

month to assure monthly contacts are being made with the child and foster/adoptive parents or 

to assess and/or address any placement issues or concerns. 

●​ In addition to the required, monthly contact with the child and the requirements for face-to-face 

contact with the child, the child’s adoption specialist will utilize other opportunities, such as 

multidisciplinary treatment team meetings, individualized educational plan meetings, child and 

parent visits, etc., to meet individually with the child. 

●​ The child’s adoption specialist must document all contacts with the child, resource/adoptive 

parents, other agency staff and child’s parents in CCWIS, in the contacts screen, within five 

working days of the contact being made. The documentation must contain the date and content 

of the contact. The child’s adoption specialist must document all face-to-face contacts with the 

child, resource/adoptive parents, and any other person involved in the case within three 

business days of the contact being made.  

 

There are circumstances that may require special attention or more frequent contacts with the child 

such as the following: 

●​ The child has experienced separation or loss, needs medical care or hospitalization, has other 

disturbing experiences, or has social or school problems. 

●​ There is going to be a transfer of the child’s adoption specialist. 

●​ There are new or additional problems in the child’s biological family. 

●​ A child has severe problems of maladjustment and difficult behavior. 

6.7 Supervision of Placement 
The adoption specialist will indicate on the ICPC 100A what type of supervisory services are requested. It 

is usually the public social service agency which will be asked to provide supervision following an 

approved home study and subsequent placement. If other options are to be used, the adoption 

specialist will place an X in the appropriate box: 

1.​ Request receiving state to arrange supervision: This applies if West Virginia cannot supervise and 

does not have a contractual or other agreement with a pre-determined agency to provide these 

services.  

2.​ Another agency agreed to supervise: Mark this box if WV has received the formal agreement of a 

pre-determined supervisory agency. This is most likely to be marked in agency adoptive 

placements in which an agency in the receiving state has provided an adoptive home study and 

will provide ongoing services to the adoptive family.  

In this situation, the adoption specialist must contact OSS, Division of Contracts, Grants and Agreements, 

Contract Specialist for Out of State/Adoption in order to arrange the supervision contract and payment 

for this service prior to the child entering any trial placement.  
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1.​ Sending agency to supervise: Mark this box if it is logistically feasible, it is the best-case plan, and 

the receiving state has granted the department’s permission to provide services in the state.  

Supervisory Reports 

This section of the ICPC 100A should be completed even though placement may not be a certainty. The 

worker must indicate the desired frequency of receiving progress reports. The most common is 

Quarterly. The adoption specialist will select “Other” if another time frame is requested—such as 

monthly or annually (time frame should be indicated). 

SECTION 7 – CASE MANAGEMENT ​  

7.1 Case Management Definitions 
The definitions used below are specific to this section and are a supplement to the general definition 

section. 

Term Definition 

Journey Placement 

Notebook 

A mechanism for information to be maintained for children in foster care 

regarding their placement, medical and mental health history, behavioral 

observation report, and personal belongings and follows them through 

reunification or another permanency option. 

Life Book A book that contains photographs, drawings, anecdotal stories about the 

child, their friends, family, and community, and other memorabilia to maintain 

connections to the life history of children in foster care. 

Socially Necessary 

Services (SNS) 

Services provided to children and families designed for prevention and 

intervention, which are necessary for the child’s safety, permanency, and 

well-being, but are not Medicaid covered services.  

 

7.2 Journey Placement Notebook 
A child/youth journey placement notebook is given by the child welfare worker to the resource 

caregiver/pre-adoptive parent of each child in care. It is to be kept in a secure place by the provider until 

the child is returned home or moved to another placement. The journey placement notebook is to stay 

with the child and will contain information about the child such as the foster care plan, child summary, 

birth and medical history, child’s case plan, clothing inventory, medical and educational contact 

information, etc. The notebook also contains blank Out-of-Home Observation Reports to be completed 

monthly by the resource parent and provided to the MDT. The provider may also use this notebook to 

document any changes in medications or treatment, list important addresses and phone numbers, 

prepare for appointments, and file health history information. 
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7.3 Life Book 
A life book is a family album that must be started for all foster children coming into placement. It is a 

combination of a photo album and a scrap book that chronicles events and memories in the child’s life. If 

the child does not have one, the resource caregiver/adoptive parent must purchase one. The child 

welfare worker should attempt to obtain pictures and information about the child’s milestones. (i.e. age 

when they lost their first tooth, when they began walking, talking, etc.) 

The resource caregiver/adoptive parents should keep this book up to date by adding photographs, 

drawings, awards, report cards, etc. If a child is moved, it is imperative that the child welfare worker 

assure their life book is hand carried to the new placement.  

7.4 Youth Identification Card Program 
When children enter the foster care program, we do not always have an updated photo of the child. The 

youth identification card program can provide an identification card for every child who enters the 

system from two years old to fifteen years. The identification will follow the child throughout their stay in 

the foster care system and may be utilized to track a child who may become missing. This card can be 

renewed every two years. 

7.5 Reunification and Separation of Siblings 
W. Va. Code §49-4-111 requires the department to place siblings together when placing a child in foster 

care who also has siblings in care or previously adopted. Siblings are defined by W .Va. Code §49-1-204 

as “Children who have at least one biological parent in common or who have been legally adopted by the 

same parents or parent.”  When a child is placed into foster care or becomes eligible for adoption and a 

sibling or siblings have previously been placed in foster care or have been adopted, the department shall 

notify the resource caregiver/adoptive parents of the previously placed siblings of the child’s availability 

for resource/adoptive placement to determine if the resource caregivers/adoptive parents are desirous 

of seeking a resource/adopt arrangement of the child. (Provided that the department may petition the 

court to waive notification to the resource caregivers or adoptive parents of the child’s siblings. This 

waiver may be granted upon a showing of compelling circumstances.) 

In some circumstances, children in foster care may need to be placed separately from their siblings who 

are also in care or have been previously adopted. This may occur when one sibling is a danger to their 

siblings or when a large group is being removed from their home and a placement resource, to allow all 

the children to be placed together, is not available. If a child’s case plan includes placement of the child 

separately from their sibling, the child welfare worker must secure a court order which finds that it is in 

the child’s best interest not to be placed in the same home as their sibling. This order must be 

documented on the legal actions screen in CCWIS. 

7.6 Sibling Visitation 
The child welfare worker is responsible for ensuring the visitation plan is followed. The child welfare 

worker will provide a copy of the visitation plan to the child’s resource caregivers/adoptive parents. 

These parents should provide routine transportation for visitation, if possible. If transportation is a 

hardship for the resource caregiver/adoptive parent, the child welfare worker will provide the 
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transportation to enable the visit to occur. The child welfare worker will document the visitation plan in 

CCWIS on the case plan screen. 

Contacts with In-State Department Resource/Adoptive Homes 

Regular contact between the child and the adoption specialist allows the child to have ample 

opportunity to express concerns, fears, problems with the placement, or other special issues. These 

meetings also provide the child welfare worker with an opportunity to directly assess the child’s 

progress. The frequency and intensity of contacts between the child welfare worker, the child and the 

resource caregiver(s)/adoptive parent(s) will be determined by the individual needs and problems of the 

child and their family. The period of post placement services extends from the date the SS-ADP-48 is 

signed to the finalization of the adoption. 

Worker Actions 

The child welfare worker is required to maintain contact with the child either by telephone or 

face-to-face to assure the placement is meeting the child’s needs. During each visit, the child welfare 

worker will provide an opportunity for time alone with the child to address any concerns or issues 

related to the child’s needs or placement. (If the child is physically, emotionally, or developmentally 

unable to communicate, the child welfare worker may fulfill this requirement by discussing the child’s 

progress with the caregiver.) 

 

Requirements for the child welfare worker and child visits are as follows: 

●​ The child welfare worker will have face-to-face contact with the child and caregiver at the 

resource home within 72 hours of placement to assess the child’s adjustment to the placement.  

●​ The child welfare worker is required to conduct face-to-face contact with the child and caregiver, 

in the resource/adoptive home, at least once a month. A minimum of six face-to-face visits will 

be made during the post placement period. The six face-to-face visits coincides with the 

requirement that the child must be placed in the home for six consecutive months before the 

child can be adopted by the family. Visits must be made monthly to span a six-month period. The 

visits made by the previous child welfare worker, prior to the transfer to the adoption unit, can 

be considered as part of the six face-to-face visit requirement, however the adoption specialist 

must make two of the required visits to the adoptive home prior to the adoption hearing. At 

least three of the face-to-face visits will occur in the home.  

●​ In addition to the required, monthly, in-home visits, the child welfare worker will utilize other 

opportunities, such as multidisciplinary treatment team meetings, Individualized Educational 

Plan meetings, child, and parent visits, etc., to meet individually with the child.  

●​ The child welfare worker must document all contacts with the child, resource caregiver/adoptive 

parents, and child’s parents in CCWIS, in the contacts screen, within three working days of the 

contact being made. The documentation must contain the date and content of the contact. The 

child welfare worker must document all face-to-face contacts with the child, resource 

caregiver/adoptive parents, and any other person involved in the case within three business days 

of the contact being made.  
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There are circumstances that may require special attention or more frequent contacts with the child 

such as the following: 

●​ The child has experienced separation or loss, needs medical care or hospitalization, has other 

disturbing experiences, or has social or school problems.  

●​ There is going to be a transfer of the child’s child welfare worker.  

●​ There are new or additional problems in the child’s biological family.  

●​ A child has severe problems of maladjustment and difficult behavior.  

 

Contacts with Specialized Agency Homes 

The above standards will be followed with specialized agency homes with the following exceptions:   

●​ The specialized agency staff worker (Instead of the adoption specialist) will be required to have 

face-to-face contact with the child and caregiver, at the resource home, within 72 hours of 

placement to assess the child’s adjustment to the placement.  

●​ The child welfare worker will have meaningful contact with the child and the caregiver either by 

telephone or face-to-face at least once a month. The child welfare worker must have face-to-face 

contact with the child and caregiver, at the resource home, at least once every three months. It 

is highly recommended that face-to-face contact be made more frequently for those children 

placed within the district. The child welfare worker must document all face-to-face contacts with 

the child and caretaker within three business days of the contact being made.  

●​ The child welfare worker will have contact with the specialized foster care agency staff at least 

once a month to assure that bi-monthly contacts are occurring with the child and caregiver and 

to assess and/or address any placement issues or concerns.  

Contacts with Residential Treatment Homes 

Regular contact with a child in a residential home will follow the same standards as those for a child in an 

in-state department adoptive home with the following exceptions: 

●​ The majority of contacts between the child and the child welfare worker will be made at the 

residential treatment facility.  

●​ The child welfare worker will have telephone or face-to-face contact with the child and provider, 

at the facility, within 72 hours of placement to assess the child’s adjustment to the placement.  

●​ The child welfare worker will have meaningful contact with the child either by telephone or 

face-to-face, at the facility, at least once a month. The child welfare worker must have to face 

contact with the child and the caregiver, at the facility, at least every three months. It is highly 

recommended that face-to-face contact be made more frequently for those children placed 

within the district. The child welfare worker must document all face-to-face contacts with the 

child within three business days of the contact being made.  

●​ The child welfare worker will also have contact with the group/residential care agency staff at 

least once a month to assess and/or address any placement issues or concerns.  

 

Contacts with Out-of-state Adoptive Homes 

The child welfare worker will be expected to maintain the same standards for contacts as with in-state 

department homes with the following exceptions: 
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●​ The child welfare worker will have telephone or face-to-face contact with the child and provider 

within 72 hours of placement to assess the child’s adjustment to the placement.  

●​ The child welfare worker will have meaningful contact with the child and provider either by 

telephone or face-to-face at least once a month. The child welfare worker must have face-to-face 

contact with the child and caregiver at the resource/adoptive home at least once every three 

months. The child welfare worker must document face-to-face contact with the child and 

provider within three business days of the contact being made.  

●​ Out of state visits require the approval of the regional director and out of state travel regulations 

apply.  

●​ The child welfare worker will have contact with any out of state agency staff involved in the case 

at least once a month to assure that monthly contacts are being made with the child and 

provider to assess/or address any placement issues or concerns.  

 

7.7 Continued Assessments/Case Plan/Hearings 
Continual assessments are an integral part of foster care and resource/adoption placements. Statute 

requires that the status of each child be reviewed to determine: 

●​ The continuing need for placement 

●​ The continuing appropriateness of the placement, 

●​ Compliance with the case plan, and 

●​ A likely date by which the child may achieve permanency. 

 

Throughout the casework process and the court proceedings, the child, youth and family case plan may 

change. Modifications should be made in CCWIS, saved to the CCWIS document upload and distributed 

to all members of the MDT and filed with the court as appropriate. 

 

In the case of a child whose permanency plan is adoption, documentation must be made of the steps 

being taken to find a permanent living arrangement including child specific recruitment efforts. 

Permanent Placement Reviews/Quarterly Status Review/Permanency Hearings 

W. Va. Code 49-4-608 directs the need for and content of permanency hearings and permanent 

placement reviews.   

W .Va. Code 49-4-110 states that for those youth who remain in foster care, either as a result of a 

juvenile proceeding or of a child abuse and neglect proceeding, the circuit court along with the MDT 

shall conduct a quarterly status review. 

(Workers must refer to Foster Care Policy for full description as well as workers responsibilities regarding 

Permanency Hearings, Permanent Placement Reviews and Quarterly Status Reviews). 

7.8 Permanency Placement Reviews 
When the court terminates parental rights and commits the child to the guardianship of the department, 

the child welfare worker will initiate the permanency placement review process. If the child’s 

permanency plan is adoption: 
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●​ The child’s case must be transferred to the adoption unit within 30 days of the receipt of the 

court order of the final termination of parental rights. 

●​ The child must be referred to the Adoption Resource Exchange  within 30 days of termination of 

both parents for inclusion on the state’s adoption web page and for statewide child specific 

recruitment programs.  

●​ The child welfare worker must develop the post-termination placement plan and submit it to the 

court, Guardian Ad Litem, and all multidisciplinary treatment team members. This plan must be 

submitted within 90 days of the date of the hearing at which parental rights were terminated. 

This plan must describe the department’s progress toward arranging an adoptive home or other 

permanent placement; a schedule and description of the steps necessary to place the child in an 

adoptive home; a discussion of any special barriers preventing placement of the child for 

adoption or other permanent placement and how they can be overcome; and a discussion of 

whether an adoption subsidy is needed and if so, the likely amount and type of subsidy required.  

●​ An updated post-termination placement plan must be prepared and submitted prior to each 

permanent placement review conference.  

●​ The court must submit an order determining whether permanent placement has been achieved. 

This order must also verify the hearing meets the judicial review requirements if a judicial review 

has not been conducted within the preceding 12 months.  

●​ If the permanent plan has not been achieved within 18 months of the child entering foster care, 

the child welfare worker must present to the court the reasons for the delay in achieving the 

child’s permanency plan and request that the court find on the record whether or not 

extraordinary reasons were sufficient to justify the delay in permanency. 

●​ If a child is removed from a permanent placement, the permanent placement review process 

must be initiated. The child welfare worker will promptly report the change in the child’s 

circumstances to the court, prosecuting attorney, and Guardian ad Litem and request that the 

court schedule a permanent placement review conference within two months of the child’s 

removal.  

●​ The adoption specialist must document the court review in CCWIS on the legal actions screens 

including whether a finding of reasonable efforts to finalize the permanency plan for the child 

was obtained.  

7.9 Multidisciplinary Treatment Team Meetings for Disrupted Placements 
A child’s placement may disrupt during the child’s stay in foster care or a resource/adoptive placement 

due to many different factors such as the child’s behavior problems, the facility not being able to meet 

the child’s needs, the resource parent requesting the removal of the child, or the resource home being 

closed due to noncompliance issues. When a disruption occurs, the child is often moved around due to a 

lack of planning for an appropriate placement. The multidisciplinary treatment team (MDT) must play a 

vital role when a child experiences a disruption from a placement. It is important for child welfare 

workers to understand that convening an MDT as soon as possible to determine the best possible 

placement for the child is in the child’s best interest and will result in fewer disruptions in the future for 

the child. 
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Worker Actions  

●​ When a disruption occurs or is about to occur, the MDT must be convened within seven business 

days of the disruption or the notification that the placement is going to disrupt.  

●​ The MDT must be provided with the most current assessments completed on the child and 

family, any information concerning the disruption, possible placement resources for the child, 

and any other information that could assist the MDT in planning for the child.  

●​ The MDT will determine the need for further assessments or reassessment for the child and 

family, any changes that need to be made to the child, youth, and family case plan and an 

appropriate placement for the child.  

●​ The MDT will follow the format for ongoing MDTs in relation to confidentiality statement, review 

and revision of the child, youth and family case plan, reporting to the court, documentation of 

the MDT’s report and scheduling future meetings.  

On-Going Multidisciplinary Treatment Team Meetings 

Multidisciplinary treatment teams must continue to meet on a continuous basis until permanency has 

been achieved for the child. (Finalized adoption, guardianship, re-unification, emancipation). State 

statute requires the court to hold regular judicial reviews at least once every 90 days to review the child’s 

case plan with the MDT in attendance. This will require the MDT to also meet at least once every 90 days 

prior to the court hearing. The department worker is responsible for chairing and convening all ongoing 

MDTs.  

The membership of the team should include the following: 

●​ The child or family’s department case manager department.  

●​ The child’s parents or guardians.  

●​ Any co-petitioners.  

●​ Custodial relatives of the child.  

●​ Foster or pre-adoptive parents. 

●​ Any attorney representing an adult respondent or other member of the treatment team. 

●​ The child’s counsel or the guardian ad litem.  

●​ The prosecuting attorney or their designee.  

●​ A case manager from the managed care organization (MCO) or designee. 

●​ A member of the Child Advocacy Center when the child has been processed through the child 

advocacy center program or programs or it is otherwise appropriate that a member of the child 

advocacy center participate.  

●​ Any court appointed special advocate assigned to a case.  

●​ Any other person entitled to notice or the right to be heard. 

●​ An appropriate school official.  

●​ Any other person or agency representative who may assist in providing recommendations for 

the particular needs of the child and pre-adoptive family.  

 

The child may participate in the MDT meetings if the child’s participation is deemed appropriate by the 

multidisciplinary treatment team. Unless otherwise ordered by the court, a party whose parental rights 
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have been terminated and their attorney shall not be given notice of a multidisciplinary treatment team 

meeting and does not have the right to participate in any treatment team meeting.  

The MDT must be held within the family’s county of residence to assure the input from team 

membership and the family’s involvement. Special attention should be placed on engaging the family 

and the resource parents in the MDT process.  ​  

Worker Actions 

●​ MDT meetings must be held at least once every 90 days to review and revise, if needed, the 

child, youth, and family case plan until permanency has been achieved for the child. Following 

this review, a written report of the results is to be provided to the court. This will be the 

document used to review the case at the permanency placement review hearings and judicial 

review.  

●​ The members of the MDT must be properly notified in writing at least 15 days prior to the MDT 

meeting, by printing the Notification of MDT letters from CCWIS. Special attention must be given 

to the family’s involvement in the MDT process. The family must be encouraged to participate in 

the MDT meetings.  

●​ All MDT participants must sign a confidentiality statement at each meeting. The department 

child welfare worker will maintain an MDT signature sheet in the case record. 

 

Note: The department child welfare worker must print the list of MDT participants from Merge Forms to 

use as the confidentiality statement until the form has been revised. This form can be modified to add 

additional team members as they participate in the MDT process.  

●​ The child’s foster parents or provider will provide a quarterly “Out-of-Home Observation Report” 

to the MDT which must include a report on the progress of the child, any changes in the child’s 

case, an evaluation of the services provided to the child and their family, the statue of the child’s 

health and education, and any other relevant information for each month the child has been in 

placement with the provider. Resource parents must be encouraged to participate in MDT 

meetings.  

●​ Home finding staff should be invited to the treatment team meetings to assist the team with 

placement decisions.  

●​ Adoption staff must be made a member of the MDT when termination of parental rights (TPR) 

has occurred, and the child is available for adoption. Adoption specialist’s should be invited to 

attend treatment team meetings when discussing adoption for a child prior to TPR to assist the 

team with the adoption process.  

●​ The MDT meeting should also be used to meet other necessary case review requirements such 

as the administrative review.  

●​ The child welfare worker will enter the MDT information into the MDT CCWIS screen.  

The child welfare worker must always apply the multidisciplinary team policy in conjunction with the 

court rules of procedure for child abuse and neglect proceedings and all other applicable foster care, 

child protective services, and youth services policies. 

Adoption Policy​ ​ 29 
June 2025 



 

7.10 Life Skills 
Foster care or pre-adoptive care is a transitional living arrangement. For those children, the department 

has the responsibility to help them develop into self-sufficient adults. For all foster children over the age 

14, the child welfare worker or adoption specialist is responsible for assessing the child’s potential for 

eventual independence. Once the assessment has been completed, the child welfare worker must 

develop an appropriate plan for securing and providing necessary services to assist each youth to 

achieve independence. Continuous reviewing and modifying of this plan may be necessary until the child 

achieves their permanency goal.  

7.11 Learning and Transition Plans 
The transition/learning plan are guides that the youth and the youth’s child welfare worker will use to 

determine the needed elements for the development of the life skills curriculum and the youth’s 

transition to adulthood. An individual transition/learning plan may be based on selected learning goals 

and related expectations as the youth transitions to adulthood. The youth, in conjunction with the child 

welfare worker, must develop their own transition/learning plans.  

The transition/learning plan is used to document the selected learning goals and activities the youth’s 

child welfare worker and/or provider will use during life skill learning sessions and as the youth 

transitions to adulthood. Once completed the transition/learning plan will provide documentation of all 

the youth’s planned life skill instructions. Life skills instructions may be completed one-on-one or in a 

group and will be documented on the learning and transition plans. The transition/learning plan should 

indicate whether the life skill instruction was provided in a group setting or on a one-on-one basis. 

Transition planning is a vital part of the youth’s case plan. The plan should be developed as soon as the 

youth completes a Life Skill Assessment but must be completed within the first 30 days of the youth 

turning 14. The plan must be specific for the youth and contain information that will assist the youth in 

their successful transition to adulthood. 

The youth’s child welfare worker and the youth will update or revise the transition/learning plan at least 

every 90 days, prior to the youth turning 18 years old.  

The plan must be personalized by the youth and must contain as much detailed information as the youth 

decides to incorporate into the plan.  

The plan must contain the following specific information:  

●​ Housing options and services.  

●​ Education plans and services. 

●​ Employment services. 

●​ Health insurance options. 

●​ Local opportunities for mentoring.  

●​ Workforce supports. 

●​ Information concerning consumer credit report checks.  

●​ Continuing support services. 

●​ Health care directives and how to complete an “advance directive”, when requested. 
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●​ Any other information that the youth deems important.  

 

The youth’s child welfare worker must incorporate the learning/transition plan into the “Unified Child or 

Family Case Plan” for CPS or the Youth Services Family or Child Case Plan for Youth Services. 

7.12 Socially Necessary Services 
Socially necessary services are interventions that are necessary to improve relationships and social 

functioning with the goals of preserving the individual’s tenure in the community or the integrity of the 

family. 

An Administrative Service Organization (ASO) is an agency that is contracted to provide administrative 

services to enforce the purchaser’s policies. The Administrative Service Organization will: 

●​ Develop Utilization Management Guidelines for social necessary services provided by the Bureau 

for Social Services for family foster care, family preservation and reunification, family support, 

and adoption services.  

●​ Require prior authorization to obtain these services thus assuring children and families will 

receive the right service, for the right amount and in the right place.  

●​ Provide a consistent service array and reimbursement to all regions.  

●​ Assure consistent application of BSS policies in service delivery and payment.  

●​ Identify service gaps and availability.  

 

The manual of socially necessary services is titled Utilization Management Guidelines. This manual 

contains all the information about the services available to the clients and is organized into two parts: 

Child Protective Services and Youth Services. The manual is available for download by opening the link 

above. 

The Utilization Management Guidelines offers the following data on each service provider: 

●​ Definition - Describes the service in detail and what the service should accomplish. 

●​ Target Population. 

●​ Initial Authorization - Describes the service in detail and what the service should accomplish. 

●​ Admission Criteria - Describes the conditions that must be present for a client to be eligible for a 

service.  

●​ Continuing Stay Criteria - Describes under what conditions a service would end.  

●​ Service Exclusions - Describes what services could preclude another service being offered.  

●​ Clinical Exclusions - Considers the severity of the clinical picture that may preclude using.  

●​ Documentation - Describes what paperwork needs to be a part of the permanent case record.  

●​ Credentials - Describes what qualifications are needed for the staff providing the service. 

 

7.13 Services Offered - Foster Care 
Services begin after a child is removed from the home and placed in family foster care or residential care. 

Services for foster or pre-adoptive children include the following: 

●​ Adult Life Skills 

●​ General Parenting  
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●​ Individualized Parenting 

●​ Family Crisis Response 

●​ Emergency Respite 

●​ Daily Respite 

●​ Tutoring 

●​ Transportation Services 

●​ Lodging and Meals 

●​ Supervised Visitation 

●​ Intensive Therapeutic Recreation Experience 

●​ Home Studies (In-state and Out-of-State) 

 

Services Offered – Adoption Preservation 

Adoption Preservation services include the following: 

●​ Case management services 

●​ Family crisis response 

●​ Crisis respite 

●​ Individualized parenting 

●​ Public transportation 

●​ Private transportation 

●​ Lodging 

●​ Meals 

●​ Agency transportation  
 

Accessing the Services 
The adoptive family will contact the county department office to request services. The child welfare 

worker will refer the family for an assessment. The results of the assessment will recommend services 

needed for the family. 

Denied Provider 

If a denied provider disagrees with this determination, he may appeal via a multi-step process: Any 

appeal would first be reviewed by an ASO care manager. If the denial is upheld by the manager, it would 

next be reviewed by the ASO Internal Review process. After denial by this review, the provider may 

appeal to the department review committee and finally request a fair hearing.  

SECTION 8 – ADOPTION PROCESS 

8.1 Adoption Process Definitions 
The definitions used below are specific to this section and are a supplement to the general definition 
section. 

Term Definition 

Adoption Certificate A certificate that must be presented to any person or the attorney of any 
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person petitioning to adopt a child or children when parental rights have been 

terminated under chapter 49 of WV State Code. The certificate shall contain 

information required by Chapter 48 of WV State Code. (W. Va. Code  
§48-22-502) 

8.2 Placement 

Placement Day​  

The day a trial adoption placement begins, the Adoption Placement Agreement and the Discipline Policy 

Agreement will be signed and dated. A copy of the agreement will be given to the adoptive parents. 

Prior to placement, the adoptive parent should be given a current child summary, medical information, 

and non-identifying birth parent medical information, Birth and Medical History of Child and Birth Parent 

Background information- (merge forms).  

The adoption specialist will exit the child from any foster care placement and enter them into the 

adoptive record. This will generate an  adoption subsidy payment and a medical card. 

Child’s Information/Possessions 

The child’s life book, journey notebook, clothing and personal belongings must follow the child into the 

placement.  

8.3 Placement Support 

Support Groups/Mentors 

It is important for resource caregivers/adoptive families to be supported in their efforts to provide care 

and nurture the children placed in their homes. One way to do this is through regular contact between 

department staff and the resource caregivers/adoptive parents. In addition, there are other 

opportunities that home finding staff and the adoption specialist should pursue to provide support for 

families. 

1.​ Local foster parent associations provide members with an opportunity to interact with others 

who may be encountering similar experiences. These meetings often function as support groups, 

training opportunities, recreational activities, etc.  

2.​ For new resource caregivers/adopt parents who may need more direct assistance and support 

than that provided by the local foster parents association, or in areas where there is no foster 

parent association, the adoption specialist with help of the home finding specialist should 

identify an established foster/adoptive family to mentor the new family. Mentoring by an 

established resource caregiver/adoptive family to mentor the new family. Mentoring by an 

established resource caregiver/adoptive family provides guidance, support, and direction to new 

foster/adoptive parents through the many obstacles and difficult situations that may occur.  

Initial Clothing Allowance  

All children must have an adequate basic wardrobe for all seasons and routine functions. If a child does 

not have an adequate basic wardrobe at the time of placement, items of clothing may be purchased by 

Adoption Policy​ ​ 33 
June 2025 

https://code.wvlegislature.gov/48-22/
https://code.wvlegislature.gov/48-22/


 

the resource caregivers/adoptive parents, relative or agency using a clothing allowance. (See foster care 

policy for more information about the initial clothing assessment and allowance.) 

 

8.4 Requests for Release and Consent for Adoption 
For a child who is in the custody of the department to be adopted, the department must consent to the 

adoption. The petition for adoption must be accompanied by the Release and Consent for Adoption at 

the time of filing. The consent cannot be granted until the child to be adopted has lived with the 

adoptive parents for a period of five months and the required child welfare worker visits have been 

made and documented. The adoption specialist will prepare, in triplicate, the Release and Consent for 

Adoption and forward it to the regional director or designee to be signed and notarized.  

One original will be retained in the child’s adoptive paper file. The second original will be given to the 

adoptive parents’ attorney. The third original will be included in the information packet to be sent to the 

adoption program specialist at the Bureau for Social Services. 

8.5 Application for Subsidy Adoption 
The Application for Subsidy Adoption is an agreement negotiated between the adoptive parent(s) and 

the department which defines the type of adoption assistance the adoptive parents are eligible to 

receive for the child. This agreement must be entered into prior to the finalization of the adoption. 

8.6 Adoption Packet 
The adoption specialist will prepare a complete adoption court packet to be given to the adoptive 

parent’s attorney. This packet will contain everything needed to complete the adoption including the 

following: 

●​ One certified copy of the court order(s) terminating parental rights for all persons identified as 

having such rights or a certified copy of the Death Certificate for a birth parent who died prior to 

termination of rights. If the parent relinquished rights, the packet will contain a notarized copy of 

the child’s placement agreement giving custody to the department or a notarized copy of the 

child’s relinquishment with the court order ratifying this relinquishment. 

●​ Certified copy of the child’s birth certificate. 

●​ One certified sibling separation court order and/or any court orders relating to grandparents or 

other relatives’ rights. 

●​ One original home study and any updates. 

●​ One original child summary.  

●​ Original signed Adoption Subsidy Agreement and any modifications or addendums. 

●​ One original signed and notarized Release and Consent for Adoption.  

●​ Adoption Certificate.  
 

Adoption Certificate 
When parental rights have been terminated, a certificate containing specific information is required for 

the adoption packet. Adoption specialists shall complete the certificate after termination and appeal 
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dates have expired. See, W. Va. Code  §49-4-117.  Information that must be documented on the Adoption 

Certificate includes:  

●​ The child’s name.   
●​ Legal  parents and termination dates. 
●​ The final order or orders terminating the parental rights of the child’s birth parents have either:  

○​ Been affirmed on appeal and a mandate has been entered; or, 

○​ Not been appealed and the time for filing of an appeal of the order(s). 

●​ Dates for expiration of timing of filing for appeal. 

●​ Date of completion of the certificate and signature of  the adoption specialist. 

●​ Name(s) of adoptive parent(s) and adoption attorney. 

 

8.7 Filing of the Petition 
The adoptive family must obtain an attorney to file the petition for adoption. Under no circumstances, is 

an adoption specialist to give recommendations or advice on hiring an adoption attorney. Once an 

attorney is hired by the family, the adoption petition may be filed by the attorney for the adoptive 

parents at any time after the adoptive placement has been determined and all consents or 

relinquishments that can be obtained have been executed. The hearing on the petition may be held only 

after the child has lived with the adoptive parent or parents for a period of six months, proper notice of 

the petition has been given and all necessary consents or relinquishments have been executed and 

submitted or the rights of all nonconsenting birth parents have otherwise been terminated. The 

adoption petition may be filed in either the county where the adoptive parent or parents reside or in the 

same county as the original abuse and neglect proceeding regarding the minor child.  

8.8 Absent or Unknown Parent 
In the case of an unknown father, the court will consider all evidence and determine whether the father 

can be identified. This consideration will be accomplished as soon as practicable after filing of the 

petition, but no later than 60 days before the final hearing on the adoption petition.  

If the court identifies a father, then notice of the proceeding for adoption must be served on the father. 

If the court decides the father is unknown, it may decide whether or not to order the publication of a 

notice in a newspaper in order to notify the father. 

8.9 Notice of Proceeding 
Unless waived, notice of a proceeding for adoption must be served within twenty days after the petition 

is filed upon:​  

●​ Any person whose consent is required (W. Va. Code 48-22-301). Notice does not have to be 

served on a parent/guardian whose status has been terminated.  

●​ Anyone claiming to be the father of the child and whose paternity is pending.  

●​ Anyone other than the petitioner who has legal or physical custody of or visitation rights with 

the child under an existing court order.  

●​ The spouse of the petitioner if the spouse is not part of the petition.  
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●​ A grandparent of the child if the grandparent’s child is a deceased parent of the child and the 

deceased parent had not consented or relinquished or been terminated prior to death.  

●​ Anyone the court feels can provide relevant information that the court wants to hear.  

The notice will inform these recipients that their parental rights, if any, may be terminated in the 

proceeding and that they may appear and defend these rights within the required time after service.  

8.10 Confidential Report to Judge 
The adoption specialist will prepare a confidential report to be submitted to the judge prior to the 

hearing. This report will contain written information about the child, the home, and will also consist of 

the adoption specialist's opinion of whether the family should be approved to adopt the child.  

8.11 Adoption Hearing 
The adoption specialist will attend the adoption hearing and be prepared to respond to questions or a 

request for information from the presiding judge. At the conclusion of the hearing, the adoption 

specialist must request a certified copy of the adoption order. 

At the final hearing, the judge will examine the petitioners to assure they are of good moral character, 

have respectable standing in the community, are able to properly maintain and educate the child, and 

that the best interests of the child would be promoted by the adoption. The judge will then make an 

order of the facts and the name by which the child will be known. He will declare that from the date of 

the order, the rights, duties, privileges and relations, previously existing between the child and anyone 

with previous parental rights, will end. He will also declare the rights, duties, privileges and relations 

between the children and their parent or parents by adoption shall be the same, including the rights of 

inheritance, as if the child had been born to the adoptive parents. 

8.12 Recording the Order and Birth Certificate 
The adoption order shall be recorded in the office of the clerk of the circuit court in a sealed file. 

Non-identifying information shall be provided to the adoptive parents or an adult adoptee by submitting 

a request to the clerk of the court. Either birth parent may submit additional social, medical, or genetic 

history for the adoptee. This information will be placed in the court file by the clerk who will also notify 

the court. The court will then transmit all non-identifying medical, social, or genetic information to the 

adoptive parents or adult adoptee. 

Immediately upon the entry of the adoption order, the court shall have delivered to the state registrar of 

vital statistics a certificate under the seal of the court showing: 

●​ The date and place of birth of the child. 

●​ The name of the mother of the child, if known and the name of the legal or determined father of 

the child, if known. 

●​ The name by which the child has previously been known. 

●​ The names and addresses of the adopting parents. 

●​ The name by which the child is to be known; and 

●​ Any other information required by Vital Statistics. 
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Upon receipt of the certificate, the registrar of vital statistics shall issue and deliver by mail to the 

adopting parents at their last-known address and to the clerk of the county commission of the county in 

which the order was entered a birth certificate. The name of the child shown on this certificate shall be 

the name given them by the order of adoption. The clerk will record the birth certificate. 

8.13 Notification to Child Support 
After consummation of the adoption, the adoption specialist will notify the child support unit of the 

finalization in order to stop accrual of child support obligations. 

SECTION 9 – ADOPTION SUBSIDY 

9.1 Adoption Subsidy Definitions 
The definitions used below are specific to this section and are a supplement to the general definition 

section. 

Term Definition 

Adoption subsidy 

agreement 

A written contract between the department and the prospective adoptive 

parent(s). 

Conditional subsidy  Also referred to as Deferred Subsidy. Adoptive families with deferred subsidy 

agreements have the option of negotiating payments in the future, should the 

child’s needs or family’s circumstances warrant a monetary subsidy. 

Non-recurring 

expenses  

A one time payment that will be made for non-recurring adoption expenses 

incurred by or on behalf of the adoptive parents in connection with the 

adoption of a child with special needs, directly through the state/tribal agency 

or through another public or nonprofit private agency, in the amount not to 

exceed two-thousand dollars ($2,000) per child per adoption episode.  

 

9.2 Purpose 

The purpose of the adoption assistance program is to provide medical coverage and financial assistance 

on behalf of special needs children in order for adoptive families of any economic level to properly care 

for them. These services are designed to supplement rather than replace the resources of the adoptive 

family and community.  

9.3 Eligibility 
Adoption assistance payments may be made to parents to adopt a child with special needs. In order to 

qualify for an adoption subsidy, a child must be a West Virginia resident in the guardianship of the 

department or a private licensed adoption agency. According to W. Va. Code §49-4-112, children are 

considered in a special circumstance (special needs) because one or more of the following conditions 

inhibit their adoption: 

Adoption Policy​ ​ 37 
June 2025 

https://code.wvlegislature.gov/49-4-112/


 

●​ They have a physical or mental disability. 

●​ They are emotionally disturbed. 

●​ They are older children. 

●​ They are a part of a sibling group. 

●​ They are a member of a racial or ethnic minority. 

In any case where the child meets the requirements of section 473(a)(2) of the Social Security Act, the 

State/Tribe may make adoption assistance payments to adoptive parents, directly through the 

State/Tribal agency or through another public or nonprofit private agency, in amounts so determined 

through an adoption subsidy agreement: 

a.​ the State/Tribe has determined, pursuant to established criteria, that the child cannot or should 

not be returned to the home of their parents; and 

b.​ Either: 

●​ The State/Tribe has determined that there exists with respect to the child a specific 

factor or condition such as:  

o​ Physical or mental disability. 

o​ They are emotionally disturbed.  

o​ They are an older child (Per WV DoHS Policy age eight or older). 

o​ They are part of a sibling group. 

o​ They are a member of a racial or ethnic minority.  

o​ They have a combination of these conditions and because of which it is 

reasonable to conclude that the child cannot be placed with adoptive parents 

without providing adoption assistance under this section and medical assistance 

under title XIX.  

o​ The child meets all medical or disability requirements of title XVI with respect to 

eligibility for supplemental security income benefits.  

o​ Reasonable efforts to place a child without a subsidy as described in this section 

shall not be required if it is in the best interest of the child because such factors 

as the existence of significant emotional ties have developed between the child 

and the prospective adoptive parent while in foster care.  

In the case of a child who is an applicable child for the fiscal year as defined in 473(e) of the Act, 

adoption assistance payments may be made if the child has been determined by the State/Tribe 

pursuant to section 473(c) of the Act to be a child with special needs and: 

a.​ The time of the initiation of adoption proceedings the child was in the care of a public or 

licensed private child placement agency or Tribal agency pursuant to: 

●​ An involuntary removal or the child from the home in accordance with a judicial 

determination to the effect that continuation in the home would be contrary to the 

welfare of the child; or  

●​ A voluntary placement agreement or voluntary relinquishment. 
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b.​ Meets all medical or disability requirements of Title XVI with respect to eligibility for 

supplemental security income benefits; or  

c.​ Was residing in foster family home or child care institution with the child’s minor parent, and the 

child’s minor parent was in such a foster family home or child care institution pursuant to:  

i. an involuntary removal of the child from the home in accordance with the judicial 

determination to the effect that continuation in the home would be contrary to the 

welfare of the child; or  

ii. a voluntary placement agreement or voluntary relinquishment. 

d.​ Has been determined by the State or Tribe, pursuant to subsection 473(c)(2), to be a child with 

special needs.  

In the case of a child who is an applicable child for the fiscal year as so defined in 473(e) of the Act, the 

child will be treated as meeting the requirements to receive adoption assistance payments if the child: 

a.​ meets the requirements of 473(a)(2)(A)(ii) (ll) of the Act; and  

b.​ is determined eligible for adoption assistance payments under this part with respect to a prior 

adoption (or who would have been determined eligible for such payments had the Adoption and 

Safe Families Act of 1997 been in effect at the time that such determination would have been 

made; and  

c.​ is available for adoption because the prior adoption has been dissolved and the parental rights 
of the adoptive parents have been terminated or because the child’s adoptive parents have died.                       

 

9.4 Subsidy Categories  
Financial Subsidy 

A monthly maintenance payment no less than $790.00 per child will be paid to department adoptive 

parents of children with special needs. Effective December 1, 2020 the following rates based on age are 

in effect:  

 

Age Range Daily Subsidy Amount Month Subsidy Amount 

0-5 $26.00 $790.00 

6-12 $28.00 $851.00 

13-21 $31.00 $942.00 

 

Adoptive parents who provided foster care for the adoptive child prior to adoption through the 

department or a child placing agency will receive no less than $790.00 unless a rate increase is approved. 

Subsidy rate increases will only be considered on a case-by-case basis and will require a waiver from the 

director of social services or designee. Adoptive parents must contact the office of Children and Adult 

Services if they are seeking adjustments to post adoption subsidy payments. Subsidy increases are only 
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considered in circumstances when a special needs child has extraordinary medical expenses that are not 

covered by Medicaid, the family’s insurance, and the child is not eligible for IDD waiver, or is on the 

waitlist. In determining eligibility for the adoption assistance payments, there is no income eligibility 

requirement (means test) for the adoptive parents.  

In the event a child receiving a monthly subsidy receives any federally funded, statutory or other support 

benefits the federally funded monthly amount is to be reduced by the amount of the subsidy. 

The adoptive parents are required to inform the state/tribal agency of circumstances that would make 

them ineligible for adoption assistance payments or eligible for adoption assistance payments in a 

different amount. Payments are terminated when the state determines that: 

●​ The child has reached 18 years of age, unless the department determines that the child has a 

special need which warrants the continuation of assistance or is continuing their education, or 

actively engaging in employment.  

●​ The child has reached 21 years of age. 

●​ The adoptive parent or legal guardian is no longer supporting the child by performing actions to 

maintain a familial bond with the child.   

 

The department shall provide assistance in the form of subsidies or other services to parents who are 

found and approved for adoption of a child certified as eligible for subsidy by the department, but before 

the final decree of adoption is entered, there shall be a written agreement between the family entering 

into the subsidized adoption and the department. Adoption subsidies in individual cases may commence 

with the adoption placement and will vary with the needs of the child as well as the availability of other 

resources to meet the child's needs. The subsidy may be for services, or for money payments, for a 

limited period, or for a long term, or for any combination of the foregoing. The specific financial terms of 

the subsidy shall be included in the agreement between the department and the adoptive parents. The 

amount of the subsidy may in no case exceed that which would be allowable from time to time for such 

a child under foster family care or, in the case of a special service, the reasonable fee for the service 

rendered. The amount of the financial subsidy must be specified in the Adoption Subsidy Agreement. The 

subsidy may be paid on a monthly basis until the child is age 18 or the child is emancipated. The 

adoptive parent may request approval from the department to extend the subsidy beyond the child’s 

18th birthday if the child meets one of the following criteria; 

●​ The child is completing secondary education or a program leading to an equivalent credential. 

●​ The child is enrolled in an institution which provides post-secondary or vocational education. 

●​ The child is participating in a program or activity designed to promote, or remove barriers to 

employment. 

●​ The child is employed for at least 80 hours per month. 

●​ The child is incapable of doing any of the above-described activities due to a medical condition. 

 

The adoption subsidy may be adjusted periodically with the concurrence of the adoptive parents to 

reflect changing circumstances. A letter of request must be accompanied by documentation of school 

enrollment and sent to the Bureau for Social Services, Children and Adult Services, 350 Capitol Street, 

Room B18, Charleston, WV 25301, attention:  Adoption Assistance Program Specialist.  
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Medical Coverage 

The department shall provide either Medicaid or other health insurance coverage for any special needs 

child for whom there is an adoption or legal guardianship subsidy agreement who the department 

determines cannot be placed without medical assistance. In West Virginia, this service is provided 

regardless of IV-E eligibility. Where possible, the adoptive parent must add the child to their private 

health insurance after the adoption.  

Medicaid is available regardless of the state of residence and most states have a Medicaid agreement of 

reciprocity through ICAMA. If the child moves to a state that does not have a reciprocity agreement, the 

adoptive parent will continue to receive a West Virginia Medicaid card and must locate providers who 

are willing to become West Virginia Medicaid providers. If the adoptive parent is unable to locate willing 

providers, requests for reimbursement will be considered on a case-by-case basis by the state office.           

One-Time Non-Recurring Adoption Expenses     

Payments will be made for non-recurring adoption expenses incurred by or on behalf of the adoptive 

parents in connection with the adoption of a child with special needs, directly through the state/tribal 

agency or through another public or nonprofit private agency, in the amount not to exceed $2,000 per 

child per adoption episode. This payment is available regardless of the child being eligible for adoption 

subsidy. The adoptive parent may make an application for non-recurring adoption expenses at any time 

prior to the finalization of the adoption of a special needs child. The following criteria must be met for 

the special needs child to qualify: 

●​ The child cannot be returned to the home of their parents because: 

○​ The parents have signed voluntary consents or relinquishments for adoption. 

○​ Parental rights have been terminated through court action. 

○​ The parents are deceased. 

○​ A combination of the above. 

●​ The department was unable to find a placement for the child without assistance because the 

child is: 

○​ A member of a minority or ethnic group. 

○​ Over the age of eight. 

○​ A member of a sibling group needing placement together.  

○​ Has mental, physical, or emotional handicaps. 

●​ Reasonable efforts have been made to place the child without providing assistance with no 

success as required by the Social Security Act 473(1)(c)(A)&(B) and 473(2)(d)(A)(B)&(C). 

●​ The reasonable efforts are specific to special needs requirements as listed above in paragraph  

If the child is receiving adoption assistance from another state, the state paying the assistance is 

responsible for reimbursement of non-recurring costs. The rules and laws of that state will determine 

eligibility. 

A child who is not eligible for ongoing adoption assistance and for whom non-recurring expenses are 

paid, is not eligible for Title XIX (Medicaid). 
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In order to receive reimbursement, the adoptive parent must forward to the department the following 

documents: 

• A copy of the adoption petition. 

• A certified copy of the final order. 

• Copies of the bills, receipts, or invoices reflecting the allowable costs incurred by  

   the adoptive parent.  

The agreement may recognize and provide for direct payment by the department of attorney’s fees to an 

attorney representing the adoptive parent or legal guardian. Any such payment for attorney’s fees shall 

be made directly to the attorney representing the adoptive parents or legal guardians. In order to be set 

up for direct payment, the attorney has to complete and submit a W-9 form to the department. If the 

adoption hearing takes place in another state, the department will send the attorney payment to the 

adoptive parent(s). It is the responsibility of the adoptive parent(s) to forward the payment to the 

attorney that represented them through the adoption. The adoption assistance program specialist at the 

state office will enter a demand payment within 14 days of receipt. 

Conditional Subsidy 

If the child qualifies for assistance at the time of the adoption, but the adoptive parents elect not to 

receive part or all the assistance, the family must sign the refusal clause of the Adoption Subsidy 

Agreement. This clause allows for reapplication for assistance, in the future, if needed by the child. 

Interstate Compact on Medical Assistance (ICAMA) 

The Interstate Compact on Medical Assistance (ICAMA) is the mechanism by which Medicaid is provided 

on an interstate basis to IV-E and non-IV-E children. It assures reciprocity of Medicaid coverage to a IV-E 

child residing in member states. A member state must choose a Cobra option as part of the state plan in 

order to provide Medicaid or adoption assistance to non-IV-E children.  

Referral to Another State 

When a potential adoptive family resides in another state, a referral to the ICAMA administrator must be 

made by the adoption assistance program specialist for the child to receive Medicaid in the state of 

residence. Once the adoption subsidy agreement is in effect, the ICAMA Administrator will complete one 

ICAMA Referral Form 601 for the child/children being adopted. (Sibling groups require one form only). A 

copy of the initial adoption subsidy agreement is attached to the 601 form. A copy of the adoption order 

and re-determination of IV-E eligibility may also be included. This ICAMA packet is sent to the ICAMA 

Administrator in the receiving state by the WV ICAMA Administrator.  

An ICAMA Form 602 will be sent by the WV ICAMA Administrator to the adoptive parents to notify them 

of the referral. 

An ICAMA Form 603 will be used by the WV ICAMA Administrator to notify the other state of any change 

in case status or address. 

Referral Received from Another State 

The WV administrator will receive the ICAMA 601 referral form with a copy of the initial agreement and 

the adoption order if the adoption has been consummated. The resource development unit (RDU) 
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specialist will determine WV Medicaid eligibility and process the medical card for IV-E eligible children 

and for non-IV-E children who are receiving assistance from another state.  

The RDU specialist will open a CCWIS case for eligible children and notify the adoptive parent, the 

sending state, and the WV ICAMA Administrator of the case approval and date of eligibility.  

9.5 Adoption Subsidy Agreement 
The department will enter into one of two types of written contracts with any family who is adopting a 

child in the department’s custody: an Adoption Subsidy Agreement (for children who are eligible as 

“special needs” for a financial subsidy) or a Deferred Adoption Subsidy Agreement (for children who are 

not currently eligible but who may become eligible in the future).  

The Adoption Subsidy Agreement outlines specific requirements and responsibilities of the adoptive 

parent(s) and DoHS. The monthly subsidy is used to provide for the needs of the child through 

age 18, and up to age 21, in circumstances where the youth qualifies to receive a continued 

subsidy. The subsidy is considered a supplement to the adoptive family income for the purpose 

of assisting with food, clothing, shelter, educational services, and other expenses for the child. 

The Bureau for Social Services does not agree to pay any additional amount above the agreed 

upon financial assistance outlined in section B of the agreement, including post-adoptive 

childcare. 

Adoption Subsidy Agreement 

An Adoption Subsidy Agreement is a written contract between the department and the prospective 

adoptive parent(s). It must specify the following: 

●​ A statement that the child is a “special needs child”. 

●​ The duration of the agreement. 

●​ The nature and amount of adoption assistance payments. 

●​ An explanation and duration of any additional services or assistance to be provided by the 

department.  

●​ A statement defining the nature and amount of any non-recurring expenses. 

●​ Assurance the agreement will remain in effect regardless of the child’s state of residence. 

●​ An explanation of the review process. 

●​ Instructions specifying when and how the department should be notified of any changes in the 

needs of the child. 

●​ Conditions under which the adoption assistance may be terminated. 

●​ An explanation of the fair hearing process. 

●​ This agreement must be dated and signed by the adoptive parents and the adoption program 

manager.  

    

Once in effect, this agreement can be terminated only under the following circumstances: 
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●​ The child has attained 18 years of age (unless the department determines that the child has a 

special need which warrants the continuation of assistance or is continuing their education, or 

actively engaging in employment. 

●​ The child has obtained 21 years of age. 

●​ The adoptive parent or legal guardian is no longer supporting the child by performing actions to 

maintain a familial bond with the child.   

 

Deferred Adoption Subsidy Agreement 

A Deferred Adoption Subsidy Agreement allows the adoptive parent who is not presently requesting 

assistance or who is not approved for assistance to receive assistance in the future if the child should 

develop a condition directly related to the birth parents’ history or congenital in nature. In order to 

qualify for this deferral, there must be factors in the child’s background or birth parent’s histories that 

could predispose the child to future special needs. The parent must request the deferral prior to the 

adoption finalization.  

If a condition develops in the child, the adoptive parent may submit a written request with medical 

documentation to the Bureau for Social Services to activate the child’s adoption assistance. Medicaid, 

cash assistance, and/or a conditional subsidy may be requested. Any assistance will not be retroactive; 

rather, it will become effective when the child’s eligibility for special needs assistance has been 

established.  

9.6 Extended Medicaid Coverage 
All children up to the age of 21, who come into the custody of the department and are placed in foster 

care, may be eligible for continued Medicaid coverage upon discharge from a foster care placement. 

(This includes department foster homes, therapeutic foster homes, specialized family care (Medley), 

group residential, psychiatric hospitals, psychiatric treatment facilities, medical hospitals, trial adoptive 

homes, transitional living, emergency shelter care, family emergency shelter care, and schools for 

children with special needs.) 

A child’s eligibility for extended Medicaid is initially determined by time of placement and continues for 

twelve months, whether or not they remain in placement. Eligibility is re-determined annually on the 

placement anniversary. A child must be in custody for the coverage to be extended.  

At discharge, the adoption specialist will document the child’s address in CCWIS and exit the child from 

placement. CCWIS will automatically generate a Notification of Extended Medicaid Coverage letter which 

is to be signed in duplicate by the parent/child/guardian. This form indicates that this coverage is free for 

children exiting foster care and that the parent must notify the department of any changes in living 

arrangements or resources. One copy of this letter will be maintained in the child’s record; the other 

copy will be given to the parents/child/guardian. If the parents refuse this coverage, the adoption 

specialist must document the refusal in CCWIS under the medical insurance screen.  

The department will automatically notify the parent prior to the end of the coverage period and 

termination of coverage. The parents have the right to appeal any decision.  
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9.7 Chafee Education and Training Vouchers (ETV) 
As a result of Congressional legislation that re-authorized the Independent Living Program, re-titled 

Chafee Foster Care Independence Program, funding has been made available to states to assist with the 

costs of higher education or vocational training for youth who were adopted from foster care after the 

age of 16 years, youth who have aged out of foster care, and youth who are placed in guardianship. 

Youth who meet any of these criteria are eligible to receive educational assistance up to $5,000 per 

calendar year. This money may be used to cover the costs of attending college or vocational training, 

including all expenses related to a course of study such as computers, special clothing, shoes or boots, 

books, housing transportation, etc. 

The child’s adoption specialist must, when completing the Adoption Subsidy Agreement for a child over 

the age of 16 years, specify the child’s right to this educational assistance (to the degree funds continue 

to be able) in an addendum to the Adoption Subsidy Agreement. This addendum must be signed by the 

adoptive parents and the regional director or designee. 

The adopted child may apply for this assistance at any time prior to their 23rd birthday. The ETV funding 

will continue to be available until age 26 for youth who are enrolled and making satisfactory progress in 

an educational or vocational program on their 23rd birthday. The adoption assistance program specialist 

must review and approve the request, determine if a new vendor number is needed and, if so, obtain the 

W9 and request the Bureau’s Division of Administrative Services open the new vendor in CCWIS. The 

adoption assistance program specialist is also responsible for obtaining the youth’s education plan, for 

obtaining and approving invoices for payment, and for forwarding those invoices to the Bureau’s Division 

of Administration for payment processing. The adoption assistance program specialist will provide the 

Chafee program manager the name of the individuals and the amount of all payments and approvals. 

9.8 Social Security Income and Pension Benefits 
If there is a possibility the child might qualify for SSI, the adoption specialist must work with the Health 

Check and the Social Security office to secure benefits prior to the filing of the petition for adoption. 

Continued eligibility after adoption will depend on the adoptive parents’ income; however, establishing 

this SSI eligibility will qualify the child for adoption assistance IV-E eligibility and help the child reestablish 

the benefit, if needed, as an adult.  

If one or both birth parents are deceased, the adoption specialist must explore the possibility of 

dependent benefits from such pensions as Social Security, Veterans Administration, Railroad Retirement, 

Black Lung, United Mine Workers, etc. Once established, the child will continue to be eligible for these 

benefits once adopted. 

9.9 Medley at Risk 
If the child meets the criteria of a Medley at Risk child due to severe intellectual disability or a 

combination of intellectual disability and a mental illness or an incapacitating physical disability, the 

adoption specialist should refer the child to the Medley program during the trial adoption period.  Some 

of these services may be available after adoption.  
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The child could also be eligible for either a Medicaid personal care service or Title XIX waiver service and 

family support. These programs offer the adoptive parents ongoing service such as case management, 

personal care, in-home nursing level care, respite, medical equipment, home modification, etc. 

9.10 Children with Special Health Care Needs Program 
If the child has a congenital defect, the adoption specialist must work with the EPSDT provider for 

referral to the Children with Special Health Care Needs Program. This program provides specialized, 

medical and surgical coverage, nutritional supplements, braces, orthopedic shoes, etc. Once approved, 

the child will remain eligible for these services after adoption until age 21. 

9.11 WV Vocational Rehabilitation 
If a child, age 16 or above, has a physical or mental disability, they should be referred to the West 

Virginia Division of Rehabilitation Services by their public-school counselor. (This includes children 

diagnosed with ADHD.)​  

9.12 Reviews/Records 
Reviews will be conducted periodically by the adoption assistance program specialist located in the State 

office. All final adoption records and state ward records will be archived in the State office. 

9.13 Appeals/Fair Hearing 
Adoptive parents or prospective adoptive parents may appeal any decision that affects their adoption 
subsidy. If the family’s request is denied or if the subsidy is discontinued for any reason other than 
required by law the family may request a hearing in the county of their choice. This request must be in 
writing to the Bureau for Social Services and received within 90 days of the denial for adoption 
assistance.  
 
If a request for adoption preservation services is denied, it will be the service provider’s responsibility to 
appeal this decision. If the denial continues to be upheld by the department review committee, the 
adoptive parent may then request a fair hearing to review their request for services. 

 
9.14 Repayment of Adoption Subsidy 
The W. Va. Code §49-4-112 states that adoptive parents and legal guardians who receive subsidy 

payments shall keep the department informed of circumstances which would make them ineligible for 

payment. If adoptive parents fail to notify the department of a change of circumstances that makes them 

ineligible for subsidy payment, adoptive parents are responsible for repaying the department for the 

adoption subsidy they received while ineligible. To see circumstances that make adoptive parents 

ineligible for subsidy payment refer to 9.5 Adoption Subsidy Agreement of this policy.  

 

If the department determines that the adoptive parent(s) is no longer eligible to receive adoption 

subsidy payments and/or has received overpayment, the department will mail a certified written 

notification to the adoptive parent(s). The written notification should include the end date of the 

adoption subsidy, the amount of subsidy the parents are to repay to the department, and a request for 
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the adoptive parent(s) to contact the department to discuss the matter and arrive at a plan for repaying 

the amount of subsidy owed to the department.  

 

In situations when a case is transferred to the adoption unit prior to the kinship/relative caregiver 

becoming certified, the adoption specialist must ensure that TANF payments are stopped once the 

kinship/relative caregiver becomes certified to avoid overpayment. 
 

SECTION 10 – POST FINALIZATION 

10.1 Post Finalization Definitions 
The definitions used below are specific to this section and are a supplement to the general definition 

section. 

Term Definition 

Crime Victim’s 

Compensation Fund 

A special revenue fund within the state Treasury established by the Crime 

Victims Compensation Act, created by the West Virginia Legislature, which can 

be utilized for victims of crimes (including minors in civil abuse and neglect 

cases) for payment of expenses attributed to or caused by their victimization. 

See,  W. Va. Code §14-2A-11a Refer to  Foster Care Policy.  

Dissolution A process in which the legal relationship between the adoptive parents and 

the child is severed, either voluntarily or involuntarily, after the adoption is 

legally finalized.  

Disruption An occurrence that results in the decision by the pre-adoptive parent or 

mutually by the child and pre-adoptive parent that the placement will not 

continue, or the adoption will not be consummated. 

 

10.2 Adoption Preservation Services 
Adoption preservation services will be offered to families of post-finalized adoptive children from 

department foster care, from private adoptions and international adoptions in order to preserve an 

adoption that may be at risk of disruption or dissolution. Services are offered through the ASO system. 

In addition to services offered through the ASO, many counties also offer Foster/Adopt Support Groups 

and pairing of new adoptive families with more tenured families for support and advice.  

10.3 Archiving of State Ward Records 
The Bureau for Social Services, Adoption Unit shall be responsible for the archiving of the state ward 

records of children who have been adopted from foster care. Upon finalization, the adoption specialist 

will have all material filed in the child’s state ward record and will forward it to the adoption assistance 
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program specialist for archiving for 99 years. The adoption assistance program specialist will be 

responsible for maintaining a cross reference archive index of adoption cases.  

The Bureau for Social Services maintains an adoptive file on all children who receive adoption assistance 

until the child reaches the age of twenty-one, at which time the record will be forwarded to be filed with 

State Ward records.  

10.4 Non-identifying Information 
During the adoptive process, the adoption specialist will provide the adoptive parent with all 

non-identifying information known to the department regarding the social, medical, or genetic history of 

the child and the birth family. The adoptive parent or the adult adoptee may submit a request to the BSS 

or to the clerk of the circuit court to solicit copies of non-identifying information contained in the state 

ward record or in the sealed adoptive court record. Either birth parent may also submit additional social, 

medical, or genetic history for the adoptee. This information will be placed in the adoptive file and 

shared with the adoptive parents upon receipt or with the adult adoptee upon request.  

10.5 Mutual Consent Adoption Registry 
The purpose of this registry is to provide a centralized location wherein birth parents and the adult 

adoptee may register their willingness to have their identity and whereabouts disclosed and to provide 

for the disclosure of such information provided each individual voluntarily registers. The information 

placed in the child’s adoptive record will only be available upon request of an eligible person after the 

child and all siblings in an adoptive placement have reached the age of eighteen or upon court order for 

good cause shown.  

The adoption record shall be added to the archived state ward record upon the closure of the CCWIS 

case after their twenty-first birthday.  

The initial registration request may be via phone or letter to the Mutual Consent Registry, Bureau for 

Social Services, Children & Adult Services, 350 Capitol Street, Room 691, Charleston, WV 25301. 

Telephone: 304.558.7980.   

Upon receipt of request, BSS staff will forward a Registry Inquiry Form to be completed by the applicant 

with notarized signature and returned with proof of the applicant’s identity (photo ID and birth 

certificate and social security card). A file will be maintained on each registrant for a period of 10 years.  

Upon registering, the applicant will participate in not less than one hour of counseling with a social 

worker or social service worker employed by the department’s registry. If a birth parent or adult adoptee 

resides outside the state, the department will obtain counseling from a social worker employed by a 

licensed agency in that state. 

10.6 Adoption Dissolution 
In the event of an adoption dissolution due to a child being removed from their adoptive home or due to 

the adoptive parent relinquishing their rights to the child, any party with knowledge of a dissolution, as 

well as the agency receiving custody of the child, shall promptly report the matter to the circuit court of 

origin, the department, and the child’s counsel. The court must schedule a permanency hearing within 
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60 days of the report of disruption. The department shall convene an MDT meeting within 30 days of the 

receipt of notice of permanent placement disruption. Notice will be given to appropriate parties and 

those entitled to notice and the right to be heard. In the case of a disrupted adoption, the child will 

receive adoption subsidy and medical coverage when the child is readopted.  

10.7 Adoptive Parent Death 
In the event an adoptive parent becomes deceased and the adoptive parent made previous 

arrangements through a legally binding document, such as a will, for their children to be readopted, the 

newly identified adoptive parent is not required to complete a home study, an APS/CPS background 

check, criminal history check, or attend foster/resource parent training classes. Due to adoption subsidy 

being non-transferable, the subsequent adoptive parent must complete an application for non-recurring 

assistance and enter into a new Adoption Subsidy Agreement prior to the re-adoption becoming final. 

Per W. Va. Code §48-22-501, the child must reside with the subsequent adoptive for a period of six 

months. The subsequent adoptive parent will not receive adoption subsidy or medical coverage during 

the six months prior to the child being readopted. The subsequent adoptive parent has the option of 

applying for a Medicaid card and other benefits through the department’s Bureau for Family Assistance 

as well as Social Security. If the subsequent caregiver does not wish to adopt, the adoption subsidy is not 

transferable and will not be transferred to the subsequent caregiver.  

In the event an adoptive parent becomes deceased and did not identify an alternate caregiver to adopt 

the children in a legally binding document such as a will, the department will require that any 

subsequent caregiver who wishes to adopt the children have a criminal history and an APS/CPS 

background check.  

10.8 Adoptive Parent Separation/Divorce 
If adoptive parents obtain a legal separation or divorce, the custodial parent shall promptly report the 

matter to the department. The custodial parent can contact the department by phone at (304) 352-4429 

or by email at adoptionsubsidy@wv.gov. The department will request documentation in the form of a 

court order from the divorce proceedings or child custody proceedings. The family court order should 

address and name the custodial parent. Adoption subsidy and the medical card shall follow the child 

which may include splitting the subsidy 50/50 if joint custody is ordered. In addition to the court order, 

the custodial parent will complete and return a signed W-9 form to the department.  

10.9 Grievance Process/Fair Hearings 
The adoptive parents may appeal the agency’s decisions to reduce, change, or terminate adoption 

assistance in accordance with rules and procedures of the state’s fair hearing and appeal process.  

10.10 Adoptive Parents Rights 
Once an adoption is finalized, any previous parent or guardian is no longer entitled to parental rights 

over the child. Adoptive parents have the same rights and privileges concerning the adopted child that 

biological parents have. This includes the right to make decisions concerning the care, custody, and 

control of the child. An adoptive parent merely allowing a child to be around a former parent or 

caregiver that was prohibited from having contact with the child in a prior court order is not grounds for 
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a finding of abuse and neglect. There must be evidence of a safety threat or that maltreatment is 

occurring as a result of an adoptive parent’s decision(s). 

There are circumstances that do affect the rights of adoptive parents. These include: 

●​ When a child is adopted, any pre-existing order granting a grandparent visitation with that child 

is rendered void unless the adoptive parent is a relative of the child in which case the visitation 

order will remain in effect. 

●​ Any orders granting a child the right to visitation with their siblings remain in effect 

post-adoption. 

10.11 Crime Victims Compensation Fund 
A child or youth who is identified in a civil abuse and neglect case may be entitled to benefits from the 

Crime Victim’s Compensation Fund. (For additional information, see Foster Care Policy and W. Va. Code 

§14-2A-11a.) 

The department may share information with the West Virginia Crime Victims Compensation Fund (W. Va. 

Code §49-5-101), to review allegations of injurious conduct committed against a child with child welfare 

involvement and, if appropriate, to make a determination for award of benefits to the victims. (For 

further information on when and how the Crime Victims Compensation Fund should be utilized see 

Foster Care Policy.) 

SECTION 11 - NONDISCRIMINATION, GRIEVANCE PROCEDURE & DUE 

PROCESS STANDARDS, REASONABLE MODIFICATION POLICIES, AND 

CONFIDENTIALITY  

11.1 Nondiscrimination 
As a recipient of Federal financial assistance, the Bureau for Social Services  (BSS) does not exclude, deny 

benefits to, or otherwise discriminate against any person on the ground of race, color, national origin, 

disability, age, sex, religion or creed in admission to, participation in, or receipt of the services and 

benefits under any of its programs and activities, whether carried out by BSS directly or through a 

contractor or any other entity with which BSS arranges to carry out its programs and activities. 

This statement is in accordance with the provisions of Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 

(nondiscrimination on the basis of race, color, national origin) (“Title VI”), Section 504 of the 

Rehabilitation Act of 1973 (nondiscrimination on the basis of disability) (“Section 504”),  the Age 

Discrimination Act of 1975 (nondiscrimination on the basis of age) (“Age Act”), regulations of the U.S. 

Department of Health and Human Services issued pursuant to these three statutes at Title 45 Code of 

Federal Regulations Parts 80, 84, and 91.   

The Bureau for Social Services shall not retaliate against, intimidate, threaten, coerce, or discriminate 

against any individual for the purpose of interfering with any right or privilege secured by Title VI, Section 

504 or the Age Act, or because she or he has made a complaint, testified, assisted, or participated in any 

manner in an investigation, proceeding, or hearing. 
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In addition, BSS will make all reasonable modifications to policies and programs to ensure that people 

with disabilities have an equal opportunity to enjoy all BSS programs, services, and activities. For 

example, individuals with service animals are welcomed in the Department of Human Services, BSS, 

offices even where pets are generally prohibited. 

In case of questions, or to request an auxiliary aid or service for effective communication, or a 

modification of policies or procedures to participate in a BSS program, service, or activity, please contact:  

Children and Adult Services 
Section 504/ADA Coordinator 
350 Capitol St. Rm 691 
Charleston, WV 25301  
(304) 352-4429 

 
11.2 Non-Discriminatory Placement Protocol  
The department ensures that all parties involved in child welfare programs have equal opportunities. All 

potential placement providers for children and youth, are afforded equal opportunities, free from 

discrimination and protected under the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA).  The department will not 

deny a potential placement provider the benefit of its services, programs, or activities due to a disability.  

Under the American’s with Disabilities Act it defines a person with a disability as: 

“An individual with a disability is defined by the ADA as a person who has a physical or mental 

impairment that substantially limits one or more major life activities, a person who has a history or 

record of such an impairment, or a person who is perceived by others as having such an impairment.” 

The ADA does not specifically name all the impairments that are covered. The ADA does not allow a 

person to be discriminated against due to a disability in employment, state and local government 

activities, public transportation accommodations, telecommunication relay services, fair housing, air 

carrier access, voting accessibility or education. Examples of disabilities include physical disabilities 

which require auxiliary aides and mental health issues. Those persons with substance use disorders, 

including opioid use disorder, currently participating in a treatment option such as Medication Assisted 

Treatment (MAT), are also covered by the ADA. Participation in a MAT program is not considered the 

illegal use of drugs. Qualifying MAT programs are defined in W. Va. Code §16-5Y-1, et seq.  The ADA also 

addresses the civil rights of institutionalized people and architectural barriers that impact people with 

disabilities.  

When making diligent efforts to locate and secure appropriate placement for foster children and youths, 

a worker cannot discriminate against a potential placement based upon a person with a disability 

according to the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) Title II.  The department shall determine if the 

potential placement for the child represents a direct threat to the safety of the child. Safety threat 

decisions will be based on assessment of the individual and the needs of the child, as the safety of the 

child always remains at the forefront of the determination of the best interest of a child, when placing a 

child in anyone’s home. This determination cannot be based on generalizations or stereotypes of 

individuals. 
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If a provider protected under the ADA is identified as an appropriate and best interest placement for a 

foster child they may, at some point, require services specific to their disability in order to preserve the 

placement. In such situations, consideration for services must be given if it is in the best interest of the 

child to preserve the placement. Any specific auxiliary aids or services should be determined by the child 

welfare worker at no cost to the provider and should be considered on a case-by-case basis. 

11.3 Complaint Procedure and Due Process Standards 

A: Complaints Based on Disability or other Forms of Discrimination 

It is the policy of the State of West Virginia Department of Human Services (DoHS), not to discriminate 

on the basis of on the basis of race, color, national origin, disability, age, sex, religion, or creed. DoHS has 

adopted an internal complaint procedure providing for prompt, equitable resolution of complaints 

alleging discrimination. Laws and Regulations, 28 C.F.R. Part 35 and 45 C.F.R. Part 84, may be examined 

by visiting https://www.ada.gov/reg3a.html.  Additional laws and regulations protecting individuals from 

discrimination in child welfare programs and activities may be examined by visiting the U.S. Department 

of Health and Human Services website at 

https://www.hhs.gov/civil-rights/for-individuals/special-topics/adoption/index.html.   

Any person who believes someone has been subjected to discrimination on the basis of race, color, 

national origin, disability, age, sex, religion, or creed may file a complaint under this procedure. It is 

against the law for the Bureau for Social Services, (including employees, contracted providers, or other 

BSS representative,) to retaliate in any way against anyone who files a complaint or cooperates in the 

investigation of a complaint.  

Procedure 

Complaints due to alleged discriminatory actions must be submitted to the Department of Human 

Services, Equal Employment Opportunity (EEO)/Civil Rights Officer within sixty (60) calendar days of the 

date the person filing the complaint becomes aware of the alleged discriminatory action.   

The complainant may make a complaint in person, by telephone, by mail, or by email. To file the 

complaint by mail or email, a  Civil Rights Discrimination Complaint Form, IG-CR-3 (See Appendix A) must 

be completed and mailed or emailed to the West Virginia Office of Shared Administration, Office of 

Human Resources Management, EEO/Civil Rights Officer, One Davis Square, Suite 400, Charleston, WV 

25301 or email at OSACivilRights@WV.Gov. If the complainant requires assistance completing the 

IG-CR-3 form, they may request assistance from the department. The complaint must state the problem 

or action alleged to be discriminatory and the remedy or relief sought. The complainant may also contact 

the WV DoHS, EEO/Civil Rights Officer, for more information.  

West Virginia Office Of Shared Administration 
Office of Human Resources Management  
EEO/Civil Rights Officer 
One Davis Square, Suite 400, Charleston, WV 25301 
OSACivilRights@WV.Gov 
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The EEO/Civil Rights Officer shall conduct an investigation of the complaint. This investigation may be 
informal, but it must be thorough, affording all interested persons an opportunity to submit evidence 
relevant to the complaint. The EEO/Civil Rights Officer will maintain the files and records of Bureau for 
Social Services relating to such complaints. To the extent possible, and in accordance with applicable law, 
the EEO/Civil Rights Officer will take appropriate steps to preserve the confidentiality of files and records 
relating to complaints and will share them only with those who have a need to know. 
 
The EEO/Civil Rights Officer shall issue a written decision on the complaint, based on the preponderance 
of the evidence, no later than thirty (30) calendar days after its filing, including a notice to complainant 
of their right to pursue further administrative or legal remedies. If the EEO/Civil Rights Officer documents 
exigent circumstances requiring additional time to issue a decision, the EEO/Civil Rights Officer will notify 
the complainant and advise them of their right to pursue further administrative or legal remedies at that 
time while the decision is pending. The person filing the complaint may appeal the decision of the 
EEO/Civil Rights Officer by writing to the Director of Human Resources within fifteen (15) calendar days 
of receiving the EEO/Civil Rights Officer's decision. The Director of Human Resources shall issue a written 
decision in response to the appeal no later thirty (30) calendar days after its filing. 
 
The person filing the complaint retains the right to file a grievance with the U.S. Department of Health 
and Human Services, Office for Civil Rights, regardless of the decision made by the State of West Virginia 
Department of Human Services. 
 
The availability and use of this procedure does not prevent a person from pursuing other legal or 
administrative remedies, including filing a complaint of discrimination on the basis of race, color, 
national origin, disability, age, sex, religion or creed in court or with the US Department of Health and 
Human Services, Office for Civil Rights. A person can file a complaint of discrimination electronically 
through the Office for Civil Rights Complaint portal at: 
https://ocrportal.hhs.gov/ocr/smartscreen/main.jsf or by mail or by phone at:  
 

U.S. Department of Health & Human Services 

Office for Civil Rights 

200 Independence Ave., S.W. 

Room 509F HHH Bldg. 

Washington, D.C. 20201 

800-368-1019 (voice) 800-537-7697 (TDD) 

OCRComplaint@hhs.gov   

For complaints to the Office for Civil Rights, complaint forms are available at: 

https://www.hhs.gov/ocr/complaints/index.html. Complaints shall be filed within one hundred and 

eighty (180) calendar days of the date of the alleged discrimination. 

The Bureau for Social Services will make appropriate arrangements to ensure that individuals with 

disabilities and individuals with Limited English Proficiency are provided auxiliary aids and services or 

language assistance services, respectively, if needed, to participate in this process. Such arrangements 

may include, but are not limited to, providing qualified interpreters, providing recorded material for 

individuals with low vision, or assuring a barrier-free location for the proceedings. The EEO/Civil Rights 

Officer will be responsible for such arrangements. 
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B: Grievances Regarding the Adoption Specialist or Casework Process 

At any time that the Bureau for Social Services is involved with a client, the client (adult or child), or the 

counsel for the child has a right to express a concern about the manner in which they are treated, 

including the services they are or are not permitted to receive.  

Whenever a parent, child or counsel for the parent or child has a complaint about Adoption or expresses 

dissatisfaction with Adoption the worker will: 

●​ Explain to the client the reasons for the action taken or the position of the BSS which may have 

resulted in the dissatisfaction of the client. 

●​ If the situation cannot be resolved, explain to the client their right to a meeting with the 

supervisor. 

●​ Assist in arranging for a meeting with the supervisor. 

The supervisor will:  

●​ Review all reports, records, and documentation relevant to the situation. 

●​ Determine whether all actions taken were within the boundaries of the law, policies, and 

guidelines for practice. 

●​ Meet with the client. 

●​ If the problem cannot be resolved, provide the client with the form “Client and Provider Hearing 

Request”, SS-28. 

●​ Assist the client with completing the SS-28, if requested. 

●​ Submit the form immediately to the Chairman, State Board of Review, DoHS, Building 6, Capitol 

Complex, Charleston, WV 25305. 

For more information on Grievance Procedures for Social Services please see Common Chapters Manual, 

Chapter 700, and Subpart B or see W. Va. Code §29A-5-1.  

Note: Some issues such as the decisions of the Circuit Court cannot be addressed through the Grievance 

Process. Concerns about or dissatisfactions with the decisions of the court including any approved case 

plan must be addressed through the appropriate legal channels. 

11.4 Reasonable Modification Policy   

A: Purpose 

In accordance with the requirements of Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 (Section 504) and 

Title II of the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 (ADA), the Bureau for Social Services shall not 

discriminate against qualified individuals with disabilities on the basis of disability in its services, 

programs, or activities. The BSS shall make reasonable modifications in adoption program policies, 

practices, or procedures when the modifications are necessary to avoid discrimination on the basis of 

disability, unless BSS can demonstrate that making the modifications would fundamentally alter the 

nature of the service, program, or activity.   
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B: Policy  

DoHS is prohibited from establishing policies and practices that categorically limit or exclude qualified 

individuals with disabilities from participating in the BSS adoption program.  

The Bureau for Social Services will not exclude any individual with a disability from the full and equal 

enjoyment of its services, programs, or activities, unless the individual poses a direct threat to the health 

or safety of themselves or others, that cannot be mitigated by reasonable modifications of policies, 

practices, or procedures, or by the provision of auxiliary aids or services. 

The Bureau for Social Services is prohibited from making Adoption program application and retention 

decisions based on unfounded stereotypes about what individuals with disabilities can do, or how much 

assistance they may require. The BSS will conduct individualized assessments of qualified individuals 

with disabilities before making Adoption application and retention decisions. 

The Bureau for Social Services may ask for information necessary to determine whether an applicant or 

participant who has requested a reasonable modification has a disability-related need for the 

modification, when the individual's disability and need for the modification are not readily apparent or 

known. BSS will confidentially maintain the medical records or other health information of Adoption 

program applicants and participants. 

The Bureau for Social Services upon request, will make reasonable modifications for qualified adoption 

program applicants or participants with disabilities unless BSS can demonstrate that making the 

modifications would fundamentally alter the nature of the service, program, or activity. Individuals do 

not need to reference Section 504 or Title II or use terms of art such as “reasonable modification” in 

order to make a request. Further, BSS staff are obligated to offer such reasonable accommodations upon 

the identification of a qualifying disability or to an individual with Limited English Proficiency. 

BSS must consider, on a case-by-case basis, individual requests for reasonable modifications in its 

adoption program, including, but not limited to, requests for substitute caregivers, respite caregivers, 

more frequent support from a case worker, additional classroom and/or online training, mentorship with 

an experienced foster/adoptive parent, note takers, and other auxiliary aids and services. When auxiliary 

aids or language interpretation services to ensure effective communication for individuals with hearing, 

vision, speech impairments, or Limited English Proficiency (LEP) are needed, they shall be provided to 

the participant at no additional costs. The department evaluates individuals on a case-by-case basis to 

provide auxiliary aids and services as necessary to obtain effective communication. This would include 

but not be limited to: 

●​ Services and devices such as qualified interpreters, assistive listening devices, note takers, and 

written materials for individuals with hearing impairments. 

●​ And qualified readers, taped texts, and Brailed or large print materials for individuals with vision 

impairments.  

●​ Access to language and interpretation services. 

 

For more information on obtaining auxiliary aids, contact: 
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Center for Excellence in Disabilities (CED) 

959 Hartman Run Road 

Morgantown, WV 26505 

Phone: 304-293-4692. 

Toll Free: (888) 829-9426 

TTY: (800) 518-1448 

For language translation and interpretation services Adoption Specialists may Contact 911 Interpreters or 

the Section 504/ADA Coordinator (see also section 14.5 Limited English Proficiency). To contact 911 

Interpreters, utilize the information below: 

911 Interpreters Inc. 

1-855-670-2500 

BSS Code: 16233 

When requesting language translation services directly through 911 Interpreters, staff must report the 

accommodation to the Section 504/ADA Coordinator by completing the Reasonable Accommodation 

Reporting Form. 

The Bureau for Social Services will not place a surcharge on a particular qualified individual with a 

disability or any group of qualified individuals with disabilities to cover the cost of measures, such as the 

provision of auxiliary aids and services or program accessibility, that are necessary to provide 

nondiscriminatory treatment required by Title II of the ADA and Section 504. 

To address any violations of this Reasonable Modification Policy, consult the Bureau for Social Services 

Grievance Procedure. To request reasonable modifications, or if you have questions, please contact: 

Children and Adult Services 

Section 504/ADA Coordinator 

350 Capitol St. Rm 691 

Charleston, WV 25301  

(304)  352-4429 

OSACivilRights@WV.Gov (email) 

Staff who make reasonable accommodations for an individual must be reported to the Section 504/ADA 

Coordinator utilizing the Reasonable Accommodation Reporting Form. 

11.5 Limited English Proficiency  
The Bureau for Social Services (BSS) will take reasonable steps to ensure that persons with Limited 

English Proficiency (LEP) have meaningful access and an equal opportunity to participate in our services, 

activities, programs, and other benefits. The policy of BSS is to ensure meaningful communication with 

LEP clients and their authorized representatives involving their case. The policy also provides for 

communication of information contained in vital documents, including but not limited to, information 

release consents, service plans, etc. All interpreters, translators and other aids needed to comply with 

this policy shall be provided without cost to the person being served, and clients and their families will 
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be informed of the availability of such assistance free of charge. Language assistance will be provided 

through use of contracted vendors, technology, or telephonic interpretation services. All staff will be 

provided notice of this policy and procedure, and staff that may have direct contact with LEP individuals 

will be trained in the effective use of an interpreter and the effective use of technology including 

telephonic interpretation services. The Bureau for Social Services will conduct a regular review of the 

language access needs of our population, as well as update and monitor the implementation of this 

policy and these procedures, as necessary. 

PROCEDURES: 

1. IDENTIFYING LEP PERSONS AND THEIR LANGUAGE 

The Bureau for Social Services will promptly identify the language and communication needs of the LEP 

person. If necessary, staff will use a language identification card (or “I speak cards,” available online at 

www.lep.gov  or posters to determine the language. In addition, when records are kept of past 

interactions with clients or family members, the language used to communicate with the LEP person will 

be included as part of the record. 

2. OBTAINING A QUALIFIED INTERPRETER 

911 Interpreters Inc. has agreed to provide qualified interpreter services. The agency’s telephone 

number is 1-855-670-2500 (BSS Code: 16233). Interpretation services are available 24 hours a day. Some 

LEP persons may prefer or request to use a family member or friend as an interpreter. However, family 

members or friends of the LEP person will not be used as interpreters unless specifically requested by 

that individual and after the LEP person has understood that an offer of an interpreter at no charge to 

the person has been made by the facility. Such an offer and the response will be documented in the 

person’s file. If the LEP person chooses to use a family member or friend as an interpreter, issues of 

competency of interpretation, confidentiality, privacy, and conflict of interest will be considered. If the 

family member or friend is not competent or appropriate for any of these reasons, BSS will provide 

qualified interpreter services to the LEP person free of charge. Children and other clients will not be used 

to interpret, in order to ensure confidentiality of information and accurate communication. 

3. PROVIDING WRITTEN TRANSLATIONS 

When translation of vital documents is needed, BSS will submit documents for translation to 911 

Translators Inc. or the Section 504/ADA Coordinator. BSS will generally provide language services in 

accordance with the following guidelines: 

(a) BSS will provide written translations of vital documents for each eligible LEP language group that 

constitutes five percent or 1,000, whichever is less, of the population of persons eligible to be served or 

likely to be affected or encountered. Translation of other documents, if needed, can be provided orally; 

or 

(b) If there are fewer than 50 persons in a language group that reaches the five percent threshold in (a), 

BSS will not translate vital written materials but will provide written notice in the primary language of 
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the LEP language group of the right to receive competent oral interpretation of those written materials, 

free of cost. 

Additionally, when making a determination as to what languages services will provided, BSS may 

consider the following factors: (1) the number and or proportion of LEP persons eligible to be served or 

likely to be encountered by the program or grantee; (2) the frequency with which LEP individuals come in 

contact with the program; (3) the nature and importance of the program, activity, or service provided by 

the program to people’s lives; and (4) the resources available to the grantee/recipient and costs.  

Documents being submitted for translation will be in final, approved form with updated and accurate 

information. Staff who utilize 911 Translators must report the utilization using the Reasonable 

Modification Reporting Form to the Section 504/ADA Coordinator.  

4. PROVIDING NOTICE TO LEP PERSONS 

The Bureau for Social Services will inform LEP persons of the availability of language assistance, free of 

charge, by providing written notice in languages LEP persons will understand. At a minimum, notices and 

signs will be posted and provided in DoHS office lobbies and waiting areas.  Notification will also be 

provided through one or more of the following: outreach documents and program brochures.  

5. MONITORING LANGUAGE NEEDS AND IMPLEMENTATION 

On an ongoing basis, BSS will assess changes in demographics, types of services or other needs that may 

require reevaluation of this policy and its procedures. In addition, BSS will regularly assess the efficacy of 

these procedures, including but not limited to mechanisms for securing interpreter services, equipment 

used for the delivery of language assistance, complaints filed by LEP persons, feedback from clients and 

community organizations,  
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APPENDIX A DoHS CIVIL RIGHTS DISCRIMINATION COMPLAINT FORM  
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                                                     STATE OF WEST VIRGINIA 
                                  DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES 
                                          BUREAU FOR SOCIAL SERVICES 

 

Civil Rights Discrimination Complaint Form 

Complainant First Name Complainant Last Name  

  

Home Phone (include area code) Work Phone (include area code) 

  

Street Address  City  

  

State  Zip Code Email (if available) 

   

Is this complaint being completed by someone other than the complainant?   ☐ Yes    ☐ No 

If yes, please provide your information below: 

First Name  Last Name  Telephone Number (include area code) 

   

The complainant feels they have been discriminated against on the basis of: 

☐  Race/Color/National Origin ☐  Religion/Creed     ☐  Disability       ☐  Age      ☐  Sex  

 

☐ Other (please specify): 

 

Who or what bureau within the State of West Virginia Department of Human Services is believed to have 
been discriminatory? 

 

Name/Bureau/Office 

Street Address City County 

Zip Code Telephone 

 

Date(s) discriminatory action is believed to have occurred:  

Which program(s) is the complainant alleging the discriminatory action took place in? 

IG-CR-3​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ Revised 1/2024 

​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ Review 1/2025 



 

☐  Child Welfare (includes CPS, 
Youth Services, Foster Care, Adoption, 
Homefinding, and Legal Guardianship) 
 

☐  Adult Welfare (includes APS, 
Guardianship, Health Care Surrogate, 
Residential Services Request to Receive 
and Request to Provide) 

☐  Low Income Energy 
Assistance Program (LIEAP) 

☐  Temporary Assistance for 
Needy Families (TANF) 

☐  School Clothing Voucher ☐  Indigent Burial 

Complaints involving the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) must be sent directly to the U.S. 
Department of Agriculture.  See below for more information 

Describe briefly what happened.  How and why does the complainant believe they have been 
discriminated against? What is the relief or remedy sought by the complainant?  

(Attach additional pages as needed.) 

 

Please sign and date this form.  If submitting by email, you may type your name and date.  Your email 
will represent your signature. 

Signature Date(mm/dd/yyyy) 

 

The State of West Virginia Department of Human Services shall not retaliate against, intimidate, threaten, coerce, or discriminate against any 
individual for the purpose of interfering with any right or privilege secured by Title VI, Section 504 or the Age Act, or because she or he has 
made a complaint, testified, assisted, or participated in any manner in an investigation, proceeding, or hearing. 

EEO/Civil Rights Officer shall conduct an investigation of the complaint. This investigation may be informal, but it must be thorough, affording all 
interested persons an opportunity to submit evidence relevant to the complaint.  EEO/Civil Rights Officer will maintain the files and records of 
the department relating to such grievances. The EEO/Civil Rights Officer shall issue a written decision on the complaint no later than thirty (30) 
calendar days after its filing, unless the Coordinator documents exigent circumstances requiring additional time to issue a decision.  To submit 
this complaint or request additional information, please contact: 
 
West Virginia Office Of Shared Administration 
Office of Human Resources Management  
EEO/Civil Rights Officer 
One Davis Square, Suite 400, Charleston, WV 25301 
(304) 558-3313 (voice) 
(304) 558-6051 (fax) 
OSACivilRights@WV.Gov email 

The person filing the grievance retains the right to file a grievance with the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office for Civil 
Rights, regardless of the decision made by the State of West Virginia Department of Human Services. The availability and use of this grievance 
procedure does not prevent a person from filing a private lawsuit in Federal court or a complaint of discrimination on the basis of being a 
member of a protected class, with the: 
 
U.S. Department of Health & Human Services 
200 Independence Ave., S.W. 
Room 509F HHS Bldg. 
Washington, D.C.  20201 
800-368-1019 (voice) 
202-619-3818 (fax) 
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800-537-7697 (TDD) 
OCRComplaint@hhs.gov (email) 
The complaint form may be found at https://www.hhs.gov/ocr/complaints/index.html 

For SNAP complaints, please contact the U.S. Department of Agriculture.   
The USDA Program Discrimination Complaint Form, can be found online at: https://www.ocio.usda.gov/document/ad-3027, or at any USDA 
office. To request a copy of the complaint form, call (866) 632-9992. Submit your completed form by mail, email, or fax to:  
U.S. Department of Agriculture  
Office of the Assistant Secretary for Civil Rights  
1400 Independence Avenue, SW Washington, D.C. 20250-9410  
(866) 632-9992(telephone( 
(202) 690-7442 (fax)  
 program.intake@usda.gov (email) 

IG-CR-3​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ Revised 1/2024 

​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ Review 1/2025 

mailto:OCRComplaint@hhs.gov
https://www.hhs.gov/ocr/complaints/index.html
https://www.ocio.usda.gov/document/ad-3027
mailto:program.intake@usda.gov

	SECTION 1 – INTRODUCTION AND OVERVIEW 
	1.1 Mission, Vision, and Values 
	1.2 Legal and Regulatory Basis 
	Federal Legislation 
	State Statute 
	Federal Supreme Court Decisions 

	1.3 Legal Authority for Adoptive Placement 
	1.4 General Definitions 

	SECTION 2 – PERMANENT PLACEMENT OPTIONS 
	2.1 Kinship/Relative to Adoptive Care 
	Grandparents’ Rights 
	Relative Adoption 
	Transfer of Custody  

	2.2 Adoption 

	SECTION 3 – TRANSFER OF CHILD PROTECTIVE/YOUTH SERVICES CASE TO ADOPTION​ 
	3.1 Transfer of Child Protective/Youth Services Case to Adoption Definitions 
	3.2 Termination of Parental Rights 
	3.3 Right to Appeal Termination 
	3.4 Adoption Specialist as Secondary Worker 
	Staffing 
	Transfer Plan 
	Mediation 

	3.5 CPS/Youth Services Actions Prior to Transfer 
	Adoption Ready Cases 
	Court and Other Legal Records 
	State Ward Record 
	Child’s Documents 

	3.6 Child Summary  
	3.7 Case Work Actions  
	3.8 Information Sharing Between Child Placing Agencies, Emergency Shelters, Group Care, and Residential Mental Health Treatment Facilities 
	3.9 Electronic Access for Child Placing Agencies for the Purpose of Adoption 

	SECTION 4 – RECRUITMENT OF AN ADOPTIVE HOME​ 
	4.1 Recruitment of Adoptive Home Definitions 
	 
	4.2 Grandparents Rights 
	4.3 Adoption Resource Exchange  
	Identification of Children for the Adoption Resource Exchange 
	A Consent for Registration  
	Submission of Photographs to the ARE 
	Updating Photographs 
	Change of Information 
	Placing Holds 
	Internet Inquiries 

	4.4 Media Promotions 
	Adopt US Kids  
	Wendy’s Wonderful Kids 

	4.5 Additional Options 
	Resources Known to the Child 
	 
	Foster to Adopt 

	4.6 Legal Risk Placement 

	SECTION 5 - Adoption Preference and Preparation​ 
	5.1 Grandparent Preference 
	5.2 Pre-Placement Visitation 
	5.3 Travel Expenses for Interviews and Visits by Pre-Adoptive Parents 
	5.4 Moving to a Trial Adoption Placement 
	5.5 Adoption Placement Agreement 
	5.6 Discipline Policy Agreement  

	SECTION 6 – INTERSTATE COMPACT ON THE PLACEMENT OF CHILDREN (ICPC)​ 
	6.1 Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children Definitions 
	 
	6.2 Out of State Placements 
	6.3 Referral Process/Documentation 
	Cover Letter 
	Required Documents 

	6.4 Education 
	6.5 Placement Notification 
	6.6 Worker Contact 
	Worker Actions 

	6.7 Supervision of Placement 
	Supervisory Reports 


	SECTION 7 – CASE MANAGEMENT ​ 
	7.1 Case Management Definitions 
	 
	7.2 Journey Placement Notebook 
	7.3 Life Book 
	7.4 Youth Identification Card Program 
	7.5 Reunification and Separation of Siblings 
	7.6 Sibling Visitation 
	Contacts with In-State Department Resource/Adoptive Homes 
	Contacts with Specialized Agency Homes 
	Contacts with Residential Treatment Homes 
	Contacts with Out-of-state Adoptive Homes 

	7.7 Continued Assessments/Case Plan/Hearings 
	Permanent Placement Reviews/Quarterly Status Review/Permanency Hearings 

	7.8 Permanency Placement Reviews 
	7.9 Multidisciplinary Treatment Team Meetings for Disrupted Placements 
	On-Going Multidisciplinary Treatment Team Meetings 

	7.10 Life Skills 
	7.11 Learning and Transition Plans 
	7.12 Socially Necessary Services 
	7.13 Services Offered - Foster Care 
	Services Offered – Adoption Preservation 
	Accessing the Services 
	Denied Provider 


	SECTION 8 – ADOPTION PROCESS 
	8.1 Adoption Process Definitions 
	8.2 Placement 
	Placement Day​ 
	Child’s Information/Possessions 

	8.3 Placement Support 
	Support Groups/Mentors 
	Initial Clothing Allowance  

	8.4 Requests for Release and Consent for Adoption 
	8.5 Application for Subsidy Adoption 
	8.6 Adoption Packet 
	 
	Adoption Certificate 

	 
	8.7 Filing of the Petition 
	8.8 Absent or Unknown Parent 
	8.9 Notice of Proceeding 
	8.10 Confidential Report to Judge 
	8.11 Adoption Hearing 
	8.12 Recording the Order and Birth Certificate 
	8.13 Notification to Child Support 

	SECTION 9 – ADOPTION SUBSIDY 
	9.1 Adoption Subsidy Definitions 
	9.2 Purpose 
	9.3 Eligibility 
	9.4 Subsidy Categories  
	Financial Subsidy 
	Medical Coverage 
	One-Time Non-Recurring Adoption Expenses     
	Conditional Subsidy 
	Interstate Compact on Medical Assistance (ICAMA) 
	Referral to Another State 
	Referral Received from Another State 

	9.5 Adoption Subsidy Agreement 
	Adoption Subsidy Agreement 
	Deferred Adoption Subsidy Agreement 

	9.6 Extended Medicaid Coverage 
	9.7 Chafee Education and Training Vouchers (ETV) 
	9.8 Social Security Income and Pension Benefits 
	9.9 Medley at Risk 
	9.10 Children with Special Health Care Needs Program 
	9.11 WV Vocational Rehabilitation 
	9.12 Reviews/Records 
	9.13 Appeals/Fair Hearing 
	9.14 Repayment of Adoption Subsidy 

	SECTION 10 – POST FINALIZATION 
	10.1 Post Finalization Definitions 
	 
	10.2 Adoption Preservation Services 
	10.3 Archiving of State Ward Records 
	10.4 Non-identifying Information 
	10.5 Mutual Consent Adoption Registry 
	10.6 Adoption Dissolution 
	10.7 Adoptive Parent Death 
	10.8 Adoptive Parent Separation/Divorce 
	10.9 Grievance Process/Fair Hearings 
	10.10 Adoptive Parents Rights 
	10.11 Crime Victims Compensation Fund 

	SECTION 11 - NONDISCRIMINATION, GRIEVANCE PROCEDURE & DUE PROCESS STANDARDS, REASONABLE MODIFICATION POLICIES, AND CONFIDENTIALITY  
	11.1 Nondiscrimination 
	 
	11.2 Non-Discriminatory Placement Protocol  
	11.3 Complaint Procedure and Due Process Standards 
	A: Complaints Based on Disability or other Forms of Discrimination 
	Procedure 

	11.4 Reasonable Modification Policy   
	A: Purpose 
	B: Policy  

	11.5 Limited English Proficiency  
	PROCEDURES: 


	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	APPENDIX A DoHS CIVIL RIGHTS DISCRIMINATION COMPLAINT FORM  

