Office of Medical Cannabis
About the Medical Cannabis Act
Senate Bill 386, signed into law on April 19, 2017, by Governor Jim Justice, created the Medical Cannabis Act that allows for cannabis to be used for certified medical use by a West Virginia resident with a serious medical condition and is limited by law to the following forms: pill; oil; topical forms including gels, creams or ointments; a form medically appropriate for administration by vaporization or nebulization, dry leaf or plant form; tincture; liquid; or dermal patch.
The West Virginia Department of Health and Human Resources, Bureau for Public Health, Office of Medical Cannabis is committed to a goal of less than two years for patients with a qualifying medical condition being able to procure quality-tested medical cannabis in West Virginia.
Contact the Office of Medical Cannabis:
What is considered a “serious medical condition” under the Act?
Position status for human immunodeficiency virus or acquired immune deficiency syndrome
Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis
Damage to the nervous tissue of the spinal cord with objective neurological indication of intractable spasticity
Post-traumatic stress disorder
Sickle cell anemia
Severe chronic or intractable pain of neuropathic origin or severe chronic or intractable pain
Terminal illness that is defined as a medical prognosis of life expectancy of approximately one year or less if the illness runs its normal course
Click here to view the Patient Registration Checklist.
Click here to view the Patient Registration User Guide.
The West Virginia Office of Medical Cannabis is offering a bonus for early registration of medical cannabis patient cards; expiration dates will be extended for those who register early or have already registered:
- Register by June 30, 2021 = card is good for 3 years total (1 year original + 2 years extension)
- Register by September 30, 2021 = card is good for 2 years total (1 year original + 1 year extension)
- Register after October 1, 2021 = card is good for 1 year total.
Click here for the Application to Request that an Additional Medical Condition Qualify for Medical Cannabis Usage in West Virginia
- Click here for the Caregiver Designation Form
You will be notified via email of the status of your application. Please allow at least 30 days from receipt of your application and payment in our office before checking the status of your application.
Registration does not mean that medical cannabis products can immediately be obtained.
The industry is working to build out facilities in West Virginia and the patient card is valid only in West Virginia and offers no legal protection for products obtained outside of the West Virginia medical cannabis system.
Recent News Regarding Patient Registration:
Physician Registration and Education
The Office of Medical Cannabis is now accepting physician registrations. The registration application and mandatory four-hour physician education course are available at the following links. No paper option is available. Note: Physician education must be completed before registration.
Click here for physician education.
Click here for physician registration.
Click here for the Application to Request that an Additional Form of Medical Cannabis be Lawful in West Virginia
Find a list of current registered physicians here.
The following companies are providing patient certification by telehealth. These links are provided to facilitate patient access. OMC will post links for any other registered providers upon request.
Permit Applications - Medical Cannabis Growers, Processors, Dispensaries, and Laboratories
The West Virginia Department of Health and Human Resources, Bureau for Public Health, Office of Medical Cannabis ceased accepting permit applications for medical cannabis growers, processors, dispensaries, and laboratories on February 18, 2020 at 3:00 p.m. EST. No additional applications are being accepted at this time.
Due to a recent supreme court decision (TENNESSEE WINE AND SPIRITS RETAILERS ASSN. v. RUSSELL F. THOMAS, EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR OF THE TENNESSEE ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE COMMISSION, ET AL.), the residency requirement referred to by West Virginia Code §16A-6-3 Grant of Permit will not be applied to applicants seeking a West Virginia permit to operate as a medical cannabis organization.
Applicants are advised to be aware of all federal laws regarding the possession, production and distribution of medical cannabis. The Office of Medical Cannabis will not advise any applicant or permittee with regard to any federal law, and the issuance of a permit in no way endorses compliance with any federal law.
Click here for the Applicant Registration Checklist.
Dispensary Permit Holders
Find a list of current dispensary permit holders here.
Medical Cannabis Advisory Board
Meetings & Meeting Agendas:
Click here to view the agenda for the June 24, 2021 virtual meeting of the Medical Cannabis Advisory Board.
Click here for the Medical Cannabis Advisory Board Report and Recommendations for the Governor and Legislature
Medical Cannabis Advisory Board Meeting Documents:
Chapter 16A. Medical Cannabis Act
64-109 Medical Cannabis Program - General Provisions
64-110 Medical Cannabis Program - Growers/Processors
64-111 Medical Cannabis Program - Laboratories
64-112 Medical Cannabis Program - Dispensaries
64-113 Medical Cannabis Program - Safe Harbor Letter
Frequently Asked Questions:
Additional Helpful Links: