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CHAPTER 500–COVERED SERVICES, LIMITATIONS, AND EXCLUSIONS 

FOR PERSONAL CARE SERVICES  

– CHANGE LOG 
 

Replace Title Change Date Effective Date 

Section 516.1  change 
procedure code T2010 
to T1001;  

Section 516.2  change 
procedure code T1001 
to T1002 

Sec 516 Procedure 
Code Correction 

Sept 11, 2003 Sept 1, 2003 

Form: Nursing Plan of 
Care – 31 days  

Form: Personal Care 
Daily Log Sheet 

Form: Personal Care 
Standards  

Form Replacement    

Form: Personal Care 
Standards 

Form Change Oct 20, 2003 Sept 1, 2003 

 

PERSONAL CARE SERVICES 
SEC 516 PROCEDURE CODE CORRECTION 

9/11/2003 
 

Introduction:   The procedure codes listed in Sections 516.1 and 516.2 were entered incorrectly.   

 

Directions:  Replace these two sections with the correct procedure codes. 
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Change:  Section 516.1  Change procedure code T2010 to T1001;  Section 516.2  Change procedure                                       
code T1001 to T1002. 

PERSONAL CARE SERVICES 
FORM REPLACEMENT 

9/12/2003 
 

Introduction:   New forms have been created for Nursing Plan of Care – 31 days, Personal Care Daily 
Log Sheet, Personal Care Standards.   

 

Directions:  New forms have been inserted into manual.  Print out the “Working Forms file” 

 

Change:  Replace old forms with new forms. 

PERSONAL CARE SERVICES 
FORM REPLACEMENT 

10/20/2003 
Introduction:   On the Personal Care Standards form; under Personal Hygiene/Grooming,  Toileting: 
Assistance on and off the commode, bedpan, toilet,  change Partial Assistance Level II from “up to 5 
minutes per day” to “up to 5 minutes per incident” 

 

Directions:  New forms have been inserted into manual.  Print out the “Working Forms file” 

 

Change:  Replace old forms with new forms. 
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CHAPTER 500–COVERED SERVICES, LIMITATIONS, AND EXCLUSIONS 

FOR PERSONAL CARE SERVICES 
 
500 INTRODUCTION 
The West Virginia (WV) Medicaid Program offers a comprehensive scope of medically necessary 
medical and mental health services to diagnose and treat eligible beneficiaries. Covered and 
authorized services must be rendered by enrolled providers within the scope of their license and in 
accordance with all state and federal requirements. Any service, procedure, item, or situation not 
discussed in the manual must be presumed non-covered unless informed otherwise by the Bureau for 
Medical Services (BMS). 

This chapter sets forth the BMS requirements for payment of personal care services provided to 
eligible West Virginia Medicaid beneficiaries. 

The policies and procedures set forth herein are promulgated as regulations governing the provision of   
personal care services by personal care providers in the Medicaid Program administered by the West 
Virginia Department of Health and Human Resources (DHHR) under the provisions of Title XIX of the 
Social Security Act and Chapter 9 of the Public Welfare Law of West Virginia. 
501 DEFINITIONS 
As used in the Personal Care Program: 

Bureau for Medical Services (BMS) - The single state agency responsible for all regulations and 
policies for all Medicaid reimbursable services. 

Employment - Competitive work of at least forty (40) hours per month that occurs in an integrated 
setting for which a wage at or above the federal minimum wage is received. 

Job Seeking - A process of obtaining employment which may continue for no more than twelve (12) 
months, not necessarily consecutive, without reaching employment (as defined above); and which is 
indicated by documentation of registration with the individual’s local job service and one of the 
following: 

$   Development of an individual job search agreement with the recipient’s service provider agency; 
or 

$ Documentation of job readiness from the Division of Rehabilitation Services; or 
$ Documentation of participation in a TWWIIA Employment Network. 
 
Medically Necessary - those activities indicated on the Physician’s order (PAS 2000) that are 
determined to be needed services for clients. 

Nursing Plan of Care - A service-specific and standardized document completed by a registered 
nurse that identifies the tasks to be provided to meet the client’s assessed needs. 

 



DISCLAIMER: This manual does not address all the complexities of Medicaid policies 
and procedures, and must be supplemented with all State and Federal Laws and 
Regulations. 

 

Department of Health and Human Resources  Chapter 500 Personal Care Services–2 
Version 1                                      September 1, 2003 

 

 
Disability: The definition of disability for medical purposes is the same as those used by Social 
Security Administration (SSA) in determining eligibility for Social Security Insurance (SSI) or 
Social Security Disability Insurance (SSDI) based on disability.  

As used by the Social Security Administration:   

Individual Age 18 or Over  
 
An individual who is age 18 or over is considered to be disabled if he is unable to engage in any 
substantial gainful activity due to any medically determined physical or mental impairment, which 
has lasted or can be expected to last for a continuous period of not less than 12 months, or can be 
expected to result in death. 
 
Individual Under Age 18 
 
The child who is under age 18 is considered to be disabled if he/she has a physical or mental 
impairment which can be expected to last for at least 12 months and which severely interferes with 
his process of maturation.  Maturation refers to skills and emotional and social development. 
 
An Individual Under Age 18 is Not Considered a Child if He/She: 
 
$Is legally married, or 
$Is divorced, or 
$ He/she is living in a common household with a member of the opposite sex, and they are holding     

themselves out of the community in which they reside, as husband and wife, or 
$ He/she is over age 16 and has been emancipated by a court of law. 
 
Blindness:  To Meet the Definition of Blindness, an Individual Must Have: 
 
$  Central visual acuity of 10/200 or less in the better eye with corrective glasses, or 
$  A limited visual field of 20 degrees or less in the better eye with the use of eyeglasses. 
 
Consideration of Medical and Social Factors in Determining Disability: 

$   In determining whether or not an individual is disabled, medical and social factors and the 
relationship between the two must be considered. 

$   If the medical information indicates that the individual has an impairment which has lasted or can 
be expected to last the required length of time, social factors must be examined to determine the 
effect of the impairment on the individual. 

$   When a case is referred to Medical Review Training (MRT) for a disability decision, the worker 
completes form OFS-RT-1, Social Summary Outline.  This form is designed to provide the social 
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information used by the worker to make a presumptive decision and also for the MRT to make 
the final disability decision. 

 

 

502   PROVIDER PARTICIPATION REQUIREMENTS 
Providers of Personal Care Services participating in the Medicaid program must fully meet the 
standards established by the Secretary of the U. S. Department of Health and Human Services, all 
applicable State and Federal laws governing the provision of their services, and all regulations 
contained herein.  Providers of personal care services must meet certification standards before they 
can be enrolled in the Medicaid program. 

503   COMPREHENSIVE AGREEMENT 
In addition to the agreement on the claim form, providers of Personal Care Services shall be required 
to enter into a comprehensive agreement with BMS stipulating the conditions of participation.  The 
agreement shall continue in effect until it is terminated for cause or mutual agreement of the parties. 

504 PROVIDER CERTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS 
Only agencies certified by the BMS may serve as personal care providers.  Certification is dependent 
upon the agency’s ability to satisfy the following performance standards:  

A. Have a valid Certificate of Need (CON) and a valid license, if licensure is applicable to a said 
agency; 

 
B. Have demonstrated fiscal soundness, fiscal management capability and a system that provides 

documentation of services and costs. Fiscal soundness must be documented indicating 2 months 
of operating capitol.  In addition, agency must demonstrate a source of income other than sole 
reliance on Medicaid reimbursement for personal care services.  Agencies must demonstrate a 
sliding fee schedule to accommodate private pay or other third party sources of payment and 
maintain records of invoicing and other revenue of non-Medicaid clients;  

 
C. Document, at the time of application, the agency’s experience in service delivery to the target 

population to be served, including the number of clients being served and geographic area.  The 
document must include the agency’s organizational chart with the names of the members on the 
Board of Directors and a list of staff, which includes their licensure and/or qualifications;  

 
D. Be able to provide personnel who meet minimum criteria for providers of personal care services 

and who meet applicable licensure and/or other credential requirements;  
 
E. Have appropriate insurance coverage to cover both personal injury, $100,000 per person and 

$500,000 per occurrence. They must produce evidence of said coverage at the time of application 
to BMS; 
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F. Have approved BMS training curriculum for personal care staff and provide an ongoing staff 
training program which must include OSHA blood borne pathogens training.  The agency must 
also provide a plan of monitoring the assignments of employees providing personal care services 
to assure that individuals are in compliance with the training requirements and services are 
provided according to the plan of care and the recipient’s needs are appropriately met.  
Documentation of a BMS approved training program must accompany the application; 

 
G. Maintain records that indicate payments made for services are supported by documentation; that 

the services were authorized, and that time spent in the provision of the services to each 
individual recipient is documented.  Services must be provided in accordance with a registered 
nurse’s plan of care; 

 
H. Must identify each county in which they will operate.  Must have a permanent staffed office if 

not in each county then in 8 connecting counties and must have available a roster of trained staff 
available for services in each county of the provider’s designated service area. 

 
The West Virginia Specialized Family Care Medley-at-Risk Program administered by the Bureau for 
Children and Families, Department of Health and Human Resources, is exempt from the provisions 
of this section (504). 

 
505   REQUIREMENTS FOR COUNTY OFFICE  
All personal care agencies wishing to provide personal care services must meet the following 
requirements for all offices which cover 8 contiguous counties: 

A. Have a business license issued by the state and a federal tax identification 
number.  

B. Have a physical facility.  A post office box or commercial mailbox will not 
suffice. 

1. The facility must be located within West Virginia. 

2. The facility must have at least one entrance that is handicapped accessible 
to the public and accessible from the street and/or parking lot.  Handicapped 
parking must be available. 

3. The physical facility must be open to the public at least 40 hours per week. 

4. The facility also must contain secure space for maintaining beneficiary 
records. 

C. Maintain a telephone that is listed under the name of the   business locally, or if 
long distance, a toll free number for assistance.  Exclusive use of a beeper 
number, answering service, pager, facsimile machine, car phone, cell phone or an 
answering machine does not constitute a primary business telephone but may be 
used for after hours or emergency calls. 
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D. Appropriate medical documentation on each individual must be kept by the 
Medicaid provider in the office that represents the county where services were 
provided and made available to the West Virginia Department of Human 
Resources and/or United States Department of Health and Human Services, 
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services upon request. 

 To meet the federal requirements of utilization review and quality control, the       
provider must keep a file on each Medicaid recipient for who the Department of  

 

 Health and Human Resources is billed. This file must contain original 
documentation supporting the medical necessity for the services provided to the 
recipient. 

506 APPLICATION FOR ENROLLMENT AS A PROVIDER 
Any agency with an approved Certificate of Need which meets the certification requirements in 
Section 504 is eligible to apply as a provider of personal care services.  The agency must apply to 
BMS and is required to complete an enrollment application.  Apply to: 

Department of Health and Human Resources 
BUREAU FOR MEDICAL SERVICES 

350 Capitol Street, Room 251 
Charleston, West Virginia   25301-3707 

Any agency which demonstrates compliance by its application and the required accompanying 
documentation then has an on-site review within 90 days of submission to ensure compliance with 
program rules and regulations.  Upon satisfactory completion of the written application and the on-
site review, the applicant is enrolled and certified as a provider of Medicaid personal care services.  
An agency is not permitted to provide personal care services until this process is complete. 

507 STAFF QUALIFICATIONS AND TRAINING 
Each provider must assure that there is adequate staff in number and qualifications to care for the 
number of recipients served.  Staff must meet one of the following categories of qualifications: 

Administrative: Any staff who performs administrative duties related to personal care services must 
possess experience, education, and training necessary to discharge the function of his/her position. 

Nursing: Any staff that develop, review, monitor, and oversee a nursing plan of care must be 
currently licensed as a registered nurse in West Virginia. 

Direct Care: Any staff that provides hands-on care or other services to a recipient, according to an 
approved nursing care plan, must be certified by an approved training program which meets the 
requirements of this chapter. 

507.1 Documentation of Staff Qualifications 
All documentation of staff qualifications, such as licenses, transcripts, certificates, references, 
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trainings, etc., must be maintained on file by the provider.  The provider must have a review process 
to insure that employees providing personal care services possess the minimum qualifications 
outlined in this chapter.  Minimum credentials must be verified for new employees, and, thereafter, 
annually to assure that credentials/licenses remain valid. 

507.2 Basic and Annual Training Requirements 

Each provider agency must have an approved basic training curriculum which prepares non-licensed 
staff for direct care and service.  Such provider training curriculum shall be reviewed and approved 
by the BMS or its designee to assure that it meets the Basic Training Requirements specified in 
Section 507.3.  An agency must comply with applicable provisions of WV Code § 15-2C-1 on 
Central Abuse Registry.  

 

507.3 Basic Training Requirements 
New non-licensed direct-care staff who have no training or experience must receive 8 hours of basic 
training before rendering care or unsupervised service to an eligible individual.  Within 12 months of 
the beginning date of employment, the above identified individuals must receive at least 24 hours of 
additional training, for a total of 32 hours.  The components marked with an asterisk (*) are 
mandatory training for the initial 8 hour basic training. The training must cover: 

A  *Orientation to the agency, community, and services: 
B.  How to work with specific populations including the elderly, persons with behavioral     
  disorders, distinct categories of physical or cognitive disabilities; 
C.  Body mechanics; 
D  *Personal care skills including, but not limited to (a) bathing; (b) grooming; (c) feeding; (d)  
  toileting; (e) transferring; (f) positioning; (g) ambulation; and (h) vital signs (physician’s order 
  is required in addition to this training before non-licensed direct care staff can take vital signs); 
E.  Care of the home and personal belongings; 
F.  * Safety and accident prevention;    
G.  Food, nutrition, meal preparation; 
H.  Occupational safety and health administration standards related to blood-borne pathogens; 
I.   *Cardiopulmonary resuscitation; and 
J.  First aid training. 
 
507.4  Substitution of the Basic Training Requirements 
 
The requirements for basic training for non-licensed direct care staff may be waived (components of 
Section 507.3 marked with an asterisk cannot be waived) if they meet one of the following 
substitution requirements: 

 

A. Documentation of successful completion of one of the following related training courses: 
certified nurse aid; home health aide; homemaker aid or other institutional or home-based 
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skill course which has been reviewed and approved as comparable by licensed personnel of 
the provider agency.  Documentation of completion by the training course provider must be 
maintained in personnel records.  Provider agencies must make copies of their training 
records available upon request by direct care staff. 

B. One year of experience with the type of population being served by the provider.  
Verification of this requirement must be met by written reference checks and kept in the 
personnel file. 

C. A competency demonstration review conducted by the provider’s licensed staff, a portion of 
which must be conducted in a supervised home-based setting.  The registered nurse must 
document this review in the personnel file with a description of the demonstration provided, 
the date, and the location.  

507.5 Annual In-service Training Requirement 
There is no substitution for the 8 hour annual in-service requirement. In meeting this requirement, 
providers must consider the following: 

A. Each individual providing personal care services must be provided with additional training to 
develop specialized skills or an opportunity to review and enhance skills or review information 
learned in basic training.  

 
B. On-the-job training must be provided as needed to instruct the caregiver in specific skills or 

techniques for individual clients.  
 
C. Assistance in resolving problems in particular case situations may also be used as a training 

opportunity. 
 
D. A criteria and methodology for evaluating the overall job performance of each person providing 

personal care services must be established.  The supervising registered nurse for personal care or 
Family Based Care Specialist in the Medley-at-Risk Program is responsible for performance 
evaluation of non-licensed direct care staff and must consider evaluation outcomes when 
developing in-service training for all staff or those individuals with skill deficiencies. 

 

508 DISCHARGE POLICIES AND PROCEDURES 
The following policies and procedures for discontinuing personal care services must be followed. 
Discontinuing services for a client still in need of assistance must occur only after appropriate 
conferences with BMS, the client and client’s family.  In these cases in which there is still a need for 
services to be provided, the conference can be a telephone call, fax, or letter.  Services for a client are 
discontinued by a provider agency under the following circumstances: 

A. When the client loses Medicaid eligibility and the client’s case is closed by DHHR; services 
must be discontinued immediately upon notification. 
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B. When the provider learns of circumstances that require the closure of a case for reasons 
including, but not limited to, death, entry into a nursing home, or services are no longer  
needed.  In these circumstances, the provider must notify BMS in writing and request that the 
client services be discontinued.  Services should be discontinued upon notification; 

 
C. When the client is noncompliant with the agreed upon plan of care, including failure to 

follow through with the job search agreement or failure to provide the required 
documentation for services outside the home.  Noncompliance requires persistent actions by 
the client or family which negate the services provided by the agency.  After all alternatives 
have been explored and exhausted, the provider must notify BMS in writing of the 
noncompliant acts and request that the client’s services be discontinued.  The provider must 
continue services for 21 days or until notified by BMS; 

 
D. When the client or client’s family threatens or abuses the personal care aide or other agency staff 

or creates an unsafe physical environment, i.e.... the staff’s welfare is in jeopardy and corrective 
action has failed.  The provider must notify BMS of the threatening or abusive acts or other 
endangering circumstances and may request that the service authorization be discontinued.  
Continuation of service for the 21 days is not required; 

E. When a provider is unable to continue to meet the needs of a client.  The provider must notify the 
state agency in writing and request that the client’s service be discontinued or assigned to another 
provider.  The provider must also provide written notice of discharge to the client’s family at 
least 21 days prior to the date of discharge.  During the 21 day period, BMS must assist in 
making appropriate arrangements with the client for transfer to another agency, institutional 
placement, or other appropriate care.  All such arrangements must continue to assure that the 
eligible individual retains free and unrestricted choice of willing, qualified providers.  Regardless 
of circumstances, the personal care provider must continue to provide services in accordance 
with the plan of care for the 21 days or until alternate arrangements are made by BMS, whichever 
occurs first. 

509 RECIPIENT APPEAL PROCESS 
Refer to Common Chapter 700. 

510    PERSONAL CARE SERVICES 
Personal care services are medically necessary activities or tasks ordered by a physician, which are 
implemented according to a Nursing Plan of Care developed and supervised by a registered nurse.  
These services enable people to meet their physical needs and be treated by their physicians as 
outpatients, rather than on an inpatient or institutional basis.  Personal care services are provided in 
the recipient’s residence, except that services may be provided outside the home when those services 
are necessary to assist eligible individuals obtain and retain competitive employment of at least 40 
hours per month.  Services are designed to assist an individual with a disability as defined by SSA 
program, (see Section 501) perform daily activities on and off the job that the individual would 
typically perform if he/she did not have a disability.  Assistance is in the form of hands-on assistance, 
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as in actually performing a personal care task for a person.  Services include those activities related 
to personal hygiene, dressing, feeding, nutrition, environmental support functions, and health-related 
tasks.  Personal care services can be provided on a continuing basis or on episodic occasions.  
Services must be:  

$ Prescribed by a physician on a PAS-2000; 
$ Necessary to the long term maintenance of the recipient’s health and safety; 
$ Provided pursuant to a plan of care developed by a registered nurse and periodically monitored 

by a registered nurse; and 
$ Rendered by an individual who has met the basic training requirements of this manual and is not 

a member of the recipient’s family. 
  
511 LOCATION OF SERVICES 
Eligible individuals receive personal care services in their residence, except that services may be 
provided outside the home when such services are necessary to assist the eligible individual to obtain 
and retain competitive employment of at least forty hours per month.  Locations for obtaining 
employment may include employment agencies, human resource offices, accommodation preparation 
appointments, and job interview sites.  Personal care services cannot be provided in a hospital, 
nursing facility, ICF/MR, or any other settings in which nursing services are provided. 

 

 

511.1  Personal Care/Residential Board & Care Homes (Assisted Living) 
Agency care providers are agencies that provide personal care to 3 or more individuals but are not the 
custodial caregiver agency for those individuals.  A custodial caregiver agency is one that provides 
room, board and other personal care type services to 3 or more individuals residing in a common 
residence or living arrangement.  In order to avoid conflict of interest and self-referral, custodial 
caregiver agencies cannot be providers of, or reimbursed for personal care services rendered to their 
own Medicaid eligible residents. 

The following is intended to clarify Medicaid policy regarding the provisions of Medicaid 
reimbursable personal care services in personal care or residential board and care homes and assisted 
living facilities: 

A. Medicaid personal care services must not duplicate or replace those services for which a provider 
is required by law or regulation to provide. 

 
B. Personal care homes, residential board and care homes, and homes licensed under the behavioral 

health 24 hour residential services, by definition, must provide a certain level of personal care 
services.  A personal care home and a residential board and care home is defined as:  

 
.... any institution, residence, or part thereof that advertised, offered, maintained or 

operated.... for the express or implied purpose of providing accommodations and 
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personal assistance and supervision, for a period of  more than twenty-four hours, to 

four or more persons who are dependent upon the services of others by reason of 

physical or mental impairment who may require limited and intermittent nursing 

care... WV Code §16-5D; §16-15H-2. 

C. Personal assistance is defined as meaning “personal services including, but not limited to, the 
following: Help in walking, bathing, dressing, feeding, or getting in and out of bed, or 
supervision required because of the age or mental impairment of the resident.”  WV Code 
§16-5D; §16-15H-2. 

 
D. The fee that individuals pay to residential board and care and personal care homes includes 

this level of personal assistance.  Therefore, Medicaid will not and cannot reimburse for these 
services. 

 
E. If a Medicaid certified personal care provider is requested to render services to Medicaid 

recipients in personal care or residential board and care homes (assisted living facility), said 
homes must provide a detailed itemization of all personal care services provided to recipients 
and an explanation of what services the home cannot provide and why additional services are 
required.  This itemization of services must accompany the PAS-2000 assessment.  Medicaid 
will not reimburse for personal care services that are the responsibility of the personal care 
home or residential board and care homes (assisted living facility) or are duplicative services.  

   
 
 
 
512    SERVICES AND/OR COSTS NOT ELIGIBLE FOR REIMBURSEMENT UNDER      

PERSONAL CARE SERVICES 
A. Room and Board Services: Room and board is defined as the provision of food and shelter 

including private and common living space; normal and special diet food preparation; linen, 
bedding, laundering, and laundry supplies; housekeeping duties and lavatory supplies; 
maintenance and operation of buildings and grounds including fuel, electricity, water supplies 
and parts, tools to repair and maintain equipment and facilities and the salaries and other costs 
related to the items listed above.  Room and board services, as listed above, apply to those 
individuals and agency providers that have individuals residing in a common residence or living 
arrangement and for whom these individuals, or agencies representing those individuals, provide 
reimbursement to the provider for these services.  Medicaid personal care services must not 
duplicate or replace services for which a provider is required by law or regulation to provide.  

 
B. Personal care services which have not been certified by a physician on a PAS-2000 or are not in 

the approved plan of medically necessary care developed by the registered nurse.  
 
C. Hours that exceed the 60 hours per recipient per month limitation that have not received prior 
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authorization. 
 
D. Services that are provided by a recipient’s spouse, parents of a minor child, child of an adult 

recipient or legal guardian who is the trustee for a trust that can be used to pay for health care of 
the personal care recipient, and services provided by a custodial caregiver in the absence of an 
approved waiver of these requirements granted by BMS.  
 

E. Supervision and other activities that are considered normal child care appropriate for children of 
that age.  

 
513    FAMILY MEMBER RESTRICTION 
The following family relationships to the recipient exclude an individual from providing personal 
care services for purposes of reimbursement by Medicaid: 

(1) Spouse 
(2) Parents or stepparent.  
(3)        Adopted child or adoptive parent 
(4) Adult sibling (including step-sibling) of a minor child 
(5) Adult child of an adult recipient 
(6) Adult sibling residing with adult sibling recipient 
(7) Parents of an adult child.  
 

513.1   Waiver of Family Member Restriction 
In some circumstances, BMS (or its designee) may waive the restrictions on family members based 
on the following hardship criteria.  NOTE: These waivers are not available to a legally responsible 
family member.  This includes spouses of recipients, parents; stepparents, or adoptive parents of a 
minor child, parents of an adult child (numbers 1, 2, 3 and 7 of the family member definition). 

 

A. Geographic inaccessibility:  Recipients who reside in remote or extremely rural areas where 
access is limited by rugged terrain or natural barriers and the family member is the only 
individual willing to serve the recipient. 

 
B. Financial: The family member providing services resigns or takes a leave of absence from a full 

time job to provide personal care services to the recipient.  
 
C. Mental Status: The recipient’s mental status is such that he/she may present a risk to anyone 

other than the family member providing personal care services.  
 
513.2 Requesting a Waiver 
Requests for hardship waivers must be in writing and submitted to the appropriate office as indicated 
below, accompanied by relevant supporting documents.  Approval must be received prior to the 
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initiation of services.  Supporting documents include, at a minimum, letters from the family member, 
provider agency, and nurse doing the initial assessment. 

Department of Health and Human Resources 
BUREAU FOR MEDICAL SERVICES 

Office of Behavior and Alternative Health Services 
350 Capitol Street, Room 251 

Charleston, West Virginia   25301-3707 
Phone: (304) 558-1700 

514 DETERMINATION OF MEDICAL NEED FOR PERSONAL CARE SERVICES 
Each client accessing personal care services must have a completed valid PAS-2000. 

514.1 Medicaid Review Team Review for Social Security Disability Determination 
For persons who are applying for employment and are not SSI, or SDI eligible, the client or other 
representatives must request a disability evaluation through BMS by contacting the Office of 
Behavioral and Alternative Health Care at (304) 558-6002. 

514.2 Medical Assessment – PAS-2000 
A pre-admission screening assessment PAS-2000, (Attachment 2), designated by the BMS is used to 
certify an individual’s medical need for personal care service.  This medical assessment must be 
signed and dated by a physician, and becomes the physician’s order and certification for personal 
care services for this individual.  The assessment PAS-2000 must be completed upon application by 
the patient for personal care services and at least annually thereafter.  In addition, a standardized 
Personal Care Nursing Assessment, (Attachment 6), must be completed at least once each 6 months.  
However, nursing assessments may be completed more often when a client’s condition changes or at 
90 day intervals with appropriate documentation of need.  

514.3 Nursing Review of PAS-2000 
Upon request for personal care services, a registered nurse must review the pre-admission assessment 
information to determine that the medical and physical care needs of the applicant meet the medical 
needs criteria of BMS for reimbursement by Medicaid for personal care services.  An annual 
recertification, utilizing the PAS-2000, is required for individuals who require ongoing services. The 
annual recertification PAS-2000 must be signed and dated by the physician attesting to the continued 
need for services.  

A registered nurse must sign and date the PAS-2000 as directed on the form on page 6, number 42.  
This signature means that the registered nurse verifies by direct observation and assessment that the 
applicant has met the medical level of care criteria set forth in this manual as necessary for 
certification/recertification. 

515 MEDICAL ELIGIBILITY CRITERIA FOR PERSONAL CARE SERVICES 

An individual with 3 or more deficits at the appropriate level in the following functional areas 
qualifies for personal care services.  Individual with 4 or more deficits may be considered candidates 
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for personal care services if their care and safety needs can be met within the service limits for 
personal care service. 

The following are the minimum ratings considered as deficits in activities of daily living for the 
personal care services: 

     ACTIVITY OBSERVED LEVEL___________________                                                                                                        
 

Eating Level II or higher (physical assistance or more) 
Bathing Level II or higher (physical assistance) 
Grooming Level II or higher (physical assistance) 
Dressing Level II or higher (physical assistance) 
Continence Level II/III (occasional or regular incontinence) 
Orientation Level III or higher (totally disoriented; 

comatose) 
Transferring Level III or higher (1or 2 person assist) 
Walking Level III or higher (1or 2 person assist) 
Wheeling Level III or higher (situational/total assistance) 

  

 

An individual may also qualify for personal care level service if he/she has 2 functional deficits 
identified as listed above, (items refer to PAS-2000) and any one or more of the following conditions 
indicated on the PAS-2000:  

$ Pressure-sores rated at Stage 3 or 4 (Item #24) 
$ Emergency Capabilities (Item #25): It is indicated that, in the event of any emergency, the 

individual is physically incapable of vacating a building. 
$ Professional/Technical Care needs (item #27): The individual has professional or technical care 

needs which are provided  by the individual himself or by a family member for one or more of 
the following services itemized under #27; (g) suctioning; (h) tracheostomy; (i) ventilator; (k) 
parenteral fluids; (l) sterile dressings; or (m) irrigations. 

$ Medication Administration (item #28) indicates that the individual is not (c) capable of 
administering his/her own medications.  

 

 

515.1 Recertification of Personal Care Services 
For individuals who receive personal care on an ongoing basis, recertification by completion of the 
PAS-2000 is required at least annually.  In addition, a personal care nursing assessment must be 
completed at least every 6 months.    

516 COVERED SERVICES 
The following are descriptions of personal care services and activities which are reimbursable by 
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Medicaid: 

516.1 T1001 - Initial RN Assessment/Recertification 
Procedure Code:  T1001                      
Service Unit:   Event 
Limit:       1 per year 
Prior Authorization: No 

This service includes the following activities, all of which must be completed before the code is 
billed.   

$ Nurse’s review of MD signed and dated PAS-2000:  This is done to verify client eligibility for 
the program. 

 
$ Initial or annual client nursing assessment: This is to be completed in the home with 

documentation to include the Personal Care Services Nursing Assessment Form 
 
$ Development of the nursing plan of care. This is to be initiated in the home with client 

participation.  This includes the 7-day plan of care or 31-day plan of care and provider daily log.  
If the nurse feels increased service hours are needed at this time, the required information needed 
for prior authorization is prepared and included with this billing code. 

 
$   Personal care provider introduction to the client, review of the client’s nursing plan of care with 

the personal care aide, as well as supervision and monitoring of the implementation of the plan of 
care by the personal care aide is also included with the billing code. 

   

If the client’s condition changes at a later date and a need for increased service time is warranted, a 
prior authorization request could be initiated and that activity would be billed under procedure code 
T1001, which is currently capped at 6 units per month.  

516.2 T1002-Ongoing Assessment and Care Planning 

 Procedure Code:  T1002                      
 Service Unit:   15 minutes                     
 Limit:     6 units per month                   
 Prior Authorization: No  

This service includes the following activities which must be performed by a registered nurse: 

A. The required 6 month assessment and any other assessment that the client’s condition indicates 
with documentation to justify the event. Assessment must include face-to-face, hands-on activity 
and direct observation of the individual who is being assessed.  The nursing assessments must be 
signed and dated by the registered nurse and client.  Assessments must include an employment 
appraisal at least once a year when both residential and employment settings are indicated in the 
nursing plan of care yearly.  
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B. Development and modification of nursing care plans, either a 7-day or a 31-day care plan at the 
discretion of the registered nurse writing the plan.  (Exception: Prior Authorization requests 
require both a 7-day and a 31-day care plan.)  Nursing care plans must consider any support from 
family or community support which is available to address care needs.  The care plan addresses 
the client needs identified in the assessment.  Plans must be modified as necessary to account for 
progress, decline or other changes in the client’s condition.  Since it is a mandatory activity that 
the nurse reviews and sign the 7-day or 31-day personal care daily log sheets, time spent for this 
activity is reimbursable by Medicaid.  Time spent should be documented in actual minutes.  

 
C. Supervision and monitoring of the implementation of the nursing care plan by non-licensed staff:  

In this activity, the nurse assesses the quality and appropriateness of care and activity by non-
licensed direct care staff and assures that it is provided according to the care plan.  This nurse 
must also assure that environmental support activity does not exceed one third of the total care 
activity allotted by the care plan.  In unique circumstances, one-on-one training of the direct care 
provider by the registered nurse is also reimbursable.  The purpose of the one-on-one training 
must be to instruct the attendant in a specific skill or technique, or to assist the attendant in 
resolving medically related problems in the individual case situation.  

 

Although the goal is to provide assistance to an individual who cannot carry out activities of daily 
living, when assessing and care planning, the nurse assures that this goal is balanced with the goal of 
promoting independence and encouraging the highest possible level of function for the individual. 

516.3 Documentation 
The following standardized documents, which must be signed by a registered nurse, are required to 
substantiate personal care services: 

$ Pre-admission Screen (PAS-2000): Initial and annual recertification 
$ Nursing Plan of Care: 7-day or 31-day 
$ Nursing Assessment: Initial, 6-month assessment, and other assessments as necessary with 

documentation of need.   
$   Personal Care Daily Log Sheet: Documentation requires the following: Clients name, caregiver’s                           

signature and registered nurse’s signature, verifying activities completed as written from the plan 
of care.  If there is more than one caregiver, each individual must sign the log and place their 
initials in the blocks where they provided services. 

 
516.4 T1019 - Hands on Direct Care Services 
 Procedure Code:   T1019 

 Service Unit:    15 Minutes  
 Service Limit:    60 hours per month 

Prior Authorization: Yes, any services beyond 60 hours per month and services to obtain      
and retain employment which exceed the one third limit for 
environmental support tasks. 
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516.5 Definition: 

This service is defined as hands-on, medically necessary activities and supportive tasks described in 
the nursing care plan which are implemented by qualified and trained staff as defined under 507.2 
and 507.3.  Services are provided in the recipient’s residence, except that services may be provided 
outside the home when those services are necessary to assist eligible individuals to obtain and retain 
competitive employment of at least 40 hours per month (see 516.7 below). Staff may provide 
assistance with such activities as dressing, personal hygiene, feeding, assistance with self-
administration of medications, and assist with environmental support tasks such as housecleaning, 
laundry, bed changing.  Environmental support tasks must not exceed one third of the allotted 
activity on the plan of care.  

516.6 Covered Environmental Support 

Environmental support includes light housecleaning, laundry, ironing and mending, bed changing or 
making, dishwashing, grocery and/or pharmacy shopping, and bill paying. 

516.7 Additional Covered Service Settings 

Personal care services outside the home may be provided during all employment-related activities 
and during job seeking activities.  These activities and tasks enable individuals with physical and/or 
mental disabilities as defined by SSA program to carry out activities of daily living on and off the job 
that the individual would typically perform if he/she did not have a disability. These activities 
include: 

$ Researching employment opportunities 
$ Employment applications 
$ Interviewing 
$ Pre-employment assessments 
$ Pre-employment observation periods 
$ Periods of employment of less than 40 hours per month if working toward goal of at least 40 

hours per month.  
 
516.8 Documentation: 
The documentation required for Procedure Code T1019 includes the Personal Care Daily Log. 
(Attachment 5)   This form must be signed by the registered nurse or Family Based Care Specialist in 
the Medley-at-Risk Program; it must have the original signature of the person providing direct care to 
the client. 

When the nursing plan of care identifies the need for personal care services outside the home, it is the 
responsibility of the service provider agency to verify and maintain documentation of employment of 
at least forty hours per month or documentation of job seeking.  Appropriate documentation of 
employment may be in the form of a pay stub or substitute form signed by the employer which 
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 indicates the hourly wage, number of hours worked in a specific time period and location of 
employment.  (See Wage and Hour Report, Attachment 13)  Documentation of registration with the 
individual’s local job service must also include one of the following:  

$ Development of an individual job search agreement with the recipient’s service provider 
agency; 

$ Documentation of job readiness from the Division of Rehabilitation Services; or 
$          Documentation of participation in a TWWIIA Employment Network. 
 
The appropriate documentation must be resubmitted to the service provider agency at least once 
every 3 months and may be submitted via mail, fax, or in person.  Copies of this documentation must 
be maintained by the recipient’s case manager or supervising nurse in a specific employment section 
of the recipient’s permanent record.  

517 NON-COVERED SERVICES  

Personal care services can only be reimbursed when the nursing plan of care spells out the specific 
need and incorporates it in planned time.  The following services are not covered and/or billable as 
personal care services: 

$ Professional skill care such as tube feeding, Foley catheter irrigations, sterile dressings, or other 
procedures requiring sterile techniques are neither to be performed by non-licensed personal care 
staff, nor will they be considered reimbursable as personal care services. 

$ Activities such as training, travel time before or after providing services to an eligible individual, 
or administrative tasks are not reimbursable as separate activities. 

$ Environmental Services which are provided as part of the room and board provisions of 
residential settings are not reimbursable.  These residential settings include behavioral heath 
supervised residential homes. 

$ The registered nurse cannot bill or be reimbursed for telephone calls and preparation of     
medication boxes.  

 
 
518 PRIOR AUTHORIZATION FOR SERVICES ABOVE THE LIMIT 

The following are standardized forms which make up the information and define the process of 
requesting personal care service beyond 60 hours per month to a maximum of 210 hours per month.  

518.1 Required Prior Authorization Packet  
$ Prior Authorization Cover Sheet   (Attachment 1) 
$ Pre-admission Screen -  PAS-2000  (Attachment 2) 
$ Nursing Plan of Care -  7-day   (Attachment 3) 
$ Nursing Plan of Care - 31-day   (Attachment 4) 
$ Nursing Assessment      (Attachment 6) 
 

Personal Care Daily Log Sheets (Attachment 5) are not required as a part of the prior authorization 
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Packet    

 

518.2 Prior Authorization Time Frames  

Prior authorization request for clients receiving services above the limits may be approved for a 
maximum of 6 months. Example, a client who was prior authorized for a total of 90 hours of service 
per month from July through December and who requires 3 more months at this level will submit the 
prior authorization request no later than November 30.  All prior authorization requests are reviewed 
and approved within 30 days for all packets with required documents and complete information 
provided.  

Providers may request prior authorization for new clients for whom they are initiating services at any 
time.  The same is true for clients who may have an acute episode which increases care needs.  

518.3 Prior Authorization Denials/Returns  
Prior authorization packets which have the following incomplete or inaccurate information will be 
returned. 

$ Incorrect Medicaid recipient number; 
$ No provider number listed; 
$ Lack of appropriate signatures and/or date; 
$ Packets found to be incomplete due to missing one of the required forms listed in Section 

518.1; and/or 
$       Not meeting medical need criteria.  
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ATTACHMENT     1 
 

 

 

 

 

 

PRIOR AUTHORIZATION COVER SHEET 
  

 

 

 

 

 

 

INSTRUCTIONS 

It must be filled out completely - no blank spaces.   
It must have correct Medicaid number. 
It must specify beginning and ending period of request. 
It must contain the number of hours per month. 
It must have total number of hours for the time period of the request. 
It must be sent to correct address depending on the target population. 
It must indicate if this is a first time request. 
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MEDICAID 
Personal Care Services 

Prior Authorization Cover Sheet 
 
 Agency Name: _____________________________________________________ 
 Agency Address:____________________________________________________ 
 Provider Number:___________________________________________________ 
 Contact person: ____________________________________________________ 
 Telephone Number: _________________________________________________ 
 Client Name:_______________________________________________________ 
 Correct Medicaid Number : _________________-______________-__________ 
     Total Units per month previously approved: ____________________________ 
     Service Period for this request: 
      __________________________ to ____________________________ 
               (Beginning)                                      (Ending) 
 Requesting __________ units per month          Submission Date:_____________ 
 
  Total Number of Units for this period:   _______________________ 
 Submit to: 
   Personal Care Services Prior Authorizations 
   Bureau for Medical Services 
   Attn: Pam Pushkin, RN 
   350 Capital Street, Room 251 
   Charleston, West Virginia 25301-3707 
     OR 
   Bureau of Senior Services 
   Attn:  Libby Boggess, RN 
   1900 Kanawha Boulevard East, Building 10 
   Charleston, WV   25305 
 Please note: 
 

If form is not correctly completed, it will be returned for completion. 
  For purposes of new format changes, please submit the information 
  listed below: 
  I. A copy of this cover sheet; 
  II. A copy of signed Pre-Admission Screening Form (PAS-2000); 

III. Nursing Plan of Care, 7-day and 31-day Personal Care Plan; 
IV. Current Nusing Assessment; and 
V. Any other information that you feel will help justify your reports. 
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ATTACHMENT   2 
 

 
PRE-ADMISSION SCREENING (PAS-2000) 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

INSTRUCTIONS 

Must be signed and dated by physician (no physician’s assistant).   

Must be signed and dated by a registered nurse. 

Each item must be completed.  If not applicable, put N/A. 

Section IV (page 5) must be completed in full. 

A physician’s order for activities requiring such order must be on the PAS-2000 (page 5 item 
38) or attached. 

Client or client designee must sign section 18.  Name of client on file is acceptable.  
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WEST VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT OF 
HEALTH AND HUMAN RESOURCES 

PRE-ADMISSION SCREENING 
 

Reason for Screening:              Facility/Agency/Person making referral: 
   Check Only One    
A.   Nursing Home Only   Initial    Transfer      NAME:                                                                                   

            B.   Nursing Home waiting Waiver   yes                   ADDRESS:                                                                              
            C.  A/D Waiver Only   Initial    Re-Evaluation                                                                                      
            D.   Personal Care    Initial    Re-Evaluation         CONTACT PERSON:                                                            
      PHONE:(       )            -                                                    

     FAX:   (       )              -                                                    

1.  DEMOGRAPHIC INFORMATION 

1. Individual’s Full Name 2. Sex 3. Medicaid Number 4. Medicare Number 

F      M 

5.  Address (Including Street/Box, City, State & Zip 

 

6. Private Insurance 

7. County 
8.  Social Security Number 

 

9. Birthdate (M/D/Y) 10. Age 11. Phone # 

 

12. Spouse’s Name  13. Address (If different from above) 

 

14.  Current living arrangements, including formal and informal support (ie. family, friends, other services)                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                              

15.  Name and Address of Provider if applicable                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                     

16.  Medicaid Waiver Recipient     A  Yes        B   No       C  Aged/Disabled      D  MR/DD  

17. Has the option of Medicaid Waiver been explained to the applicant?       A    Yes     B    No 

18. For the purpose of determining my need for appropriate services, I authorize the release of any medical information by the physician to the 
Department of Health and Human Resources of its representative. 

 

                                                                                                                                                                           

   SIGNATURE - Applicant or Person acting for Applicant         Relationship                    Date 

19. Check if Applicant has any of the following: 

a  Guardian                                  d  Power of Attorney                     g  Other                                            b  Committee                                e  
Durable Power of Attorney 

c  Medical Power of Attorney      f   Living Will 

Name & Address of the  Representative                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                             
Phone (      )       -                                                                                                                                                    

PAS-2000              
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                                           DATE:_____________________________________ 

 II.  MEDICAL ASSESSMENT                                                   NAME:_____________________________________    

20.  Health Assessment - Include infectious diseases, nutritional needs, prior treatments, degenerative 
conditions, recent hospitalization(s), and/or surgery(ies) with dates - Date of most recent office visit.  
(Attach most recent Hospital Discharge Summary and Physical, if available) 
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                 
21.  Normal Vital Signs for the individual 
a.  Height 
 

b.  Weight c.  Blood 
Pressure 

d.  
Temperature 

e.  Pulse f.  Respiratory Rate 

22.  Check if Abnormal 
a  Eyes          g   Breasts            m  Extremities         s   Musculo-Skeletal 
b  Ears          h  Lungs              n   Abdomen            t   Skin    
c  Nose           i   Heart               o   Hernia(s)            u  Nervous System 
d  Throat      j   Arteries           p   Genitalia-male    v  AllergiesSpecify)                                            
e  Mouth       k   Veins               q   Gynecological                                                                                    
f  Neck           l   Lymph Syst.    r   Ano-Rectal                                                                                  
Describe Abnormalities and treatment                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                         
23.  Medical Conditions/Symptoms: [Please Grade as :  (1) - Mild,  (2) - Moderate,  (3) - Severe] 
a  Angina-rest                         e  Paralysis                  i   Diabetes        
b  Angina-exertion                  f  Dysphagia                j  Contracture(s)           
c  Dyspnea                              g  Aphasia                   k  Mental Disorder(s)       
d  Significant Arthritis           h  Pain                         l  Other (Specify)                                                
24. Decubitus             a  Yes        b  No     If yes, check the following: 
    A.  Stage                              __    B.  Size                                  C.  Treatment                                 
Location 
                 a  Left Leg             c  Right Leg          e  Left Hip                g  Right Hip 
                 b  Left Arm           d  Right Arm         f  Left Buttock          h  Right Buttock 
Other                                   Developed at:         a  Home         b  Hospital        c  Facility 
25.  In the event of an emergency, the individual can vacate the building: (Check only one) 
   a  Independently       b  With Supervision      c  Mentally Unable         d  Physically Unable 

PAS-2000                            
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DATE: ___________________________________ 

    NAME:___________________________________ 

26.  Indicate individual’s functional ability in the home for each item with the level number 1, 2, 3, 4, or 5.  
Nursing care plan must reflect functional abilities of the client in the home.    
  Item        Level 1       Level 2     Level 3    Level 4 
a__Eating_(Not_a_Meal Prep)  
 b__ Bathing 
c__ Dressing 
d__ Grooming 
e__ Cont./Bladder 
f__ Cont./Bowel 
g__ Orientation 
h__ Transferring 
i__ Walking 
j__ Wheeling 
k__ Vision 
l__ Hearing 
m__ Communication 

Self/Prompting 
Self/Prompting 
Self/Prompting 
Self/Prompting 
Continent 
Continent 
Oriented 
Independent 
Independent 
No Wheelchair 
Not Impaired 
Not Impaired 
Not Impaired 

Physical Assistance 
Physical Assistance 
Physical Assistance 
Physical Assistance 
Occas. Incontinent* 
Occas. Incontinent*  
Intermittent Disoriented 
Supervised/Assistive Devise 
Supervised/Assistive Devise 
Wheels Independently 
Impaired /Correctable 
Impaired/Correctable 
Impaired/Understandable 
*less than 3 X p/wk 

Total Feed 
Total Care 
Total Care 
Total Care 
Incontinent 
Incontinent 
Totally Disoriented 
1 Person Assistance 
1 Person Assistance 
Situational Asst (Doors,etc.) 
Impaired/Not Correctable 
Impaired/Not Correctable 
Understandable with 
Aids 

Tube Fed 
 
 
 
Catheter 
Colostomy 
Comatose(L5) 
2 Person Asst  
2 Person Asst 
Tot Asst 
Blind 
Deaf 
Inappropriate
/None 

27.  Professional and technical care needs - check all that apply. 
a  Physical Therapy                          f   Ostomy                         k  Parenteral Fluids 
b  Speech Therapy                           g   Suctioning                     l   Sterile Dressings 
c  Occupational Therapy                  h  Tracheostomy              m  Irrigations 
d  Inhalation Therapy                       i  Ventilator                      n  Special Skin Care 
e  Continuous Oxygen                       j  Dialysis                         o   Other __________________ 
28.  Individual is capable of administering his/her own medications (check only one).          A   Yes      B   
With Prompting/Supervision     C  No    Comment:__________________ 
29.  Current Medications Dosage/Route Frequency Reason 

Prescribed 
Diagnosis 

     
     
     
     

PAS-2000                                                                 
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                                                                                                                                DATE:___________________________ 

III.  MI/MR ASSESSMENT                                                         NAME:____________________________________                   

30.  Current Diagnoses - Check all that apply 
a  None                                                                      g   Schizophrenic Disorder 
b  Mental Retardation                                            h   Paranoid Disorder 
c  Autism                                                                  i    Major Affective Disorder 
d  Seizure Disorder (Age at onset _________)      j   Schizoaffective Disorder 
e  Cerebral Palsy                                                     k  Affective Bipolar Disorder 
f  Other Developmental                                          l   Tardive Dyskinesia 
        Disability (Specify _______________              m  Major Depression 
                                                                                    n   Other related conditions 
Date of last PASARR Level II Evaluation _________          (Specify_______________________)       
31.  Has an individual ever received services from an agency serving persons with mental 
retardation/developmental disability and/or mental illness?    Yes ___         No ___           If yes, specify agency 
Name______________________________  Address______________________________________      
Admission Date ______________________            Discharge Date __________________________ 
32.  Has the individual received any of the following medications on a regular basis within the last two years?           
Yes ___     No ____ 
33.  Was this medication used to treat a neurological disorder?    Yes ___    No ___ 
Chlorpromazine    - Thorazine     Perphenazine             - Trilafon         Haloperidol           - Haldol 
Promazine            - Sparine          Fluphenazine            -  Prolixin        Molindone             - Moban 
Triflupromazine   - Vesprin          Fluphenazine HCI     - Permitil         Loxapine              - Loxitane 
Thioidazine          - Mellaril         Trifluphenazine          - Stelazine       Clozapine              - Clozaril 
Mesoridazine        - Serentil         Chlorprothixene         - Taractan        Procholorperazine - Compazine 
Actiphenazine       - Tindal           Thiothixene               - Navane 
Medication Dosage/Route Frequency Reason Prescribed Diagnosis 
     
     
     
34.   Clinical and Psychosocial Data - Please check any of the following behaviors which the individual has         
exhibited in the past two years. 
a  Substance Abuse (Identify)                            k  Seriously Impaired Judgment 
b  Combative                                                     l   Suicidal Thoughts, Ideations/Gestures 
c  Withdrawn/Depressed                                   m  Cannot Communicate Basic Needs 
d  Hallucinations                                               n   Talks About His/Her Worthlessness 
e  Delusional                                                     o   Unable to Understand Simple Commands 
f   Disoriented                                                   p   Physically Dangerous to Self and Others, 
g  Bizarre Behavior                                                       if Unsupervised 
h  Bangs Head                                                   q  Verbally Abusive 
i   Sets Fires                                                       r  Demonstrates Severe Challenging Behaviors 
j   Displays Inappropriate Social Behavior         s   Specialized Training Needs 
                                                                            t   Sexually Aggressive 
Does the individual have Alzheimer’s, multi-infarct, senile dementia, or related condition?   Yes__ No__  
Other (Specify)  

PAS-2000 



DISCLAMER: This manual does not address all the complexities of Medicaid policies 
and procedures, and must be supplemented with all State and Federal Laws and 

Regulations. 

 

Department of Health and Human Resources  Chapter 500-26 

Version 1                                      September 1, 2003 

 18-02                                                                Revised 01-03                                                              Page 4 of 6 

                                                                                                             DATE: _______________________ 

IV.  PHYSICIAN  RECOMMENDATION     NAME:_______________________         

35.  Prognosis - Check one only:   a      Stable    b      Improving    c       Deteriorating   d      
Terminal 
              Other _________________________________________________________________________ 

36.  Rehabilitative Potential - Check one only:       a ___ Good      b ___ Limited      c___ Poor 

37.  Diagnosis: 
a.Primary                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                              

b.Secondary                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                          

c.  Other medical conditions requiring services                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                  

38.  Physician Recommendations 

A.  FOR NURSING FACILITY PLACEMENT 
ONLY 
       On the basis of present medical findings, 
the individual may eventually be able to return 
home or  be discharged. 
             a ___ Yes           b___ No 
If yes, check one of the following: 
             a  Less than 3 months 
             b  3-6 months 
             c  Over 6 months 
             d  Terminal illness 
 

B.  I recommend that the services and care to 
meet these needs can be provided at the level of 
care indicated. 
   a  Nursing Home 
   b  Nursing Home waiting A/D Waiver 
   c  A/D Waiver 
   d  Personal Care  

39.  To the best of my knowledge, the patient’s medical and related needs are essentially as 
indicated above (Must be signed by M.D. or D.O.) 
________________________________________
____ 

Physician’s Signature                                 MD/DO 
________________________________________
____ 
Date This Assessment Completed: 
 

TYPE OR PRINT Physician’s name/address 
below: 
________________________________________
________________________________________
________________________________________
________________________________________
________________ 

   DISCLAIMER: Approval of this form does not guarantee eligibility for payment under the State Medicaid Plan                       
NOTE: Information gathered from this form may be utilized for statistical/data collection. 
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                                                                DATE: __________________________ 
V.  ELIGIBILITY DETERMINATION          NAME: _________________________                                                                                           

DEPARTMENT USE ONLY 
LEVEL I (Medical Screen) 

Medical and other professional personnel of the Medicaid Agency or its designees MUST evaluate each individual’s need 
for admission by reviewing and assessing the evaluations required by regulation. 
Exemptions from requirements for Level II Assessment 
40.  Does the individual have or require: 
       a.  Diagnosis of dementia (Alzheimer’s or related disorder)?        Yes             No 
       b.  Thirty Day Respite Care?                                                             Yes             No 
       c.  Serious Medical Condition?                                                          Yes             No 
41.  Medical Eligibility Determination: 
       a  Nursing Facility Services                                   b  Aged/Disabled Waiver 
       c  Personal Care Services                                      d  No Services Needed 
42.  PASARR Determination: 
       a  Level II required                                                b  Level II not required 
___________________________________________________________       ___________________ 
Nurse Reviewer’s Signature - Title                                                  Date       Control Number 
Printed Name_______________________________________________________________________ 
 

DEPARTMENTAL USE ONLY 
LEVEL II (MI/MR Screen) 

(Completed by PASARR Provider) 
43.  DETERMINATION: 
a  Nursing facility services needed - Specialized services not needed. 
b  Nursing facility services needed - Specialized services needed. 
c  Alzheimer’s or related disorder identified. 
d  Thirty day Respite care needed. 
e  Terminal illness identified. 
f  Serious illness identified. 
g  Nursing facility services not needed. 
44.  RECOMMENDED PLACEMENT: 
a  Nursing Facility Services 
b  Aged/Disabled Waiver 
c  Psychiatric Hospital (21 years or under) 
d  ICF/MR or MR/DD Waiver 
e  Other - Identify                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                           
PASARR Reviewer’s Signature                Title            Printed Name 
________________________________________          _____________________________________ 
Agency Name                                                                 Date         

PAS-2000       A COPY OF THIS FORM MUST BE IN THE INDIVIDUAL’S  MEDICAL  RECORDS 
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ATTACHMENT   3 
 

 

 

 

 
NURSING PLAN OF CARE - 7 DAY 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

INSTRUCTIONS 
RN has choice of 7-day or 31-day plan if no prior authorization (P.A.) is needed. 

If prior authorization is needed, both plans need to be completed to submit for P.A. 

Both the 7 & 31 Day Plan of Care must include total amount of time plan justifies and marked for 
total or partial assistance.  

RN signature and provider’s name must be on both forms. 

Activities which are non-billable in personal care should not appear on the plan of care . 

Personal care standards and terms should be used when writing a plan of care. 

Plan of care should reflect how client is rated on the PAS-2000. 
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 NURSING PLAN OF CARE 

Agency: Agency #: 90-Day Review Date: 
Client Name:  Medicaid #: 
Client Address:        

R.N. Signature: Date: 

PERSONAL CARE ACTIVITIES 

 

Level of Services 
to be Provided 

Daily Planned Time Date 
Service 
Started 

Part 
Assist 

Total 
Assist 

Mon Tue Wed Thur Fri Sat Sun  

PERSONAL HYGIENE/GROOMING  

A.  Grooming  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 B.  Bathing  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 C.  Toileting  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 D.  Dressing  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 E.  Laundry (incontinent)  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 NON-TECH PHYSICAL ASSISTANCE  
A.  Repositing/Transfer  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 B.  Walking  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 C.  Medical Equipment  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 D.  Assistance with Medication  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 E.  ROM (Per Phys. order)  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 F.  Vitals (Per Phys. order)  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 G.  Other (Per Phys. order)  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 NUTRITIONAL SUPPORT  

A.  Meal Prep  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 B.  Feeding  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 C.  Special Dietary Needs  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 ENVIRONMENTAL  

A.  Housecleaning  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 B.  Laundry/Ironing  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 C.  Making/Changing Bed  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 D.  Dishwashing  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 E.  Shopping  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 F.  Payment of Bills  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  TOTAL NUMBER OF MINUTES: _________ TOTAL NUMBER OF UNITS: ______ 



DISCLAMER: This manual does not address all the complexities of Medicaid policies 
and procedures, and must be supplemented with all State and Federal Laws and 

Regulations. 

 

Department of Health and Human Resources  Chapter 500-30 

Version 1                                      September 1, 2003 

 
NOTE: Environmental tasks are incidental to the other tasks identified on the plan of care.   The Atimes planned@ on this plan of 
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NURSING PLAN OF CARE 31- DAYS 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

INSTRUCTIONS 
RN has choice of 7-day or 31-day plan if no prior authorization (P.A.) is needed. 

If prior authorization is needed, both plans need to be completed to submit for P.A. 

Both the 7 & 31 Day Plan of Care must include total amount of time plan justifies and marked for 
total or partial assistance.  

RN signature and provider’s name must be on both forms. 

Activities which are non-billable in personal care should not appear on the plan of care . 

Personal care standards and terms should be used when writing a plan of care. 

Plan of care should reflect how client is rated on the PAS-2000. 
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Nursing Plan of Care 31 Days 

Volume 18 
Revised 04/03 

Client’s name: Agency & Phone Number: 
Provider Name: Approved Hours for Client: 
Medicaid #: Number of Units:   
30 Day Review Completed by: RN (Please Print) Date: 
Signature of Completing RN: 

 

P - Partial Assistance                                    T - Total Assistance  

 PERSONAL CARE TASKS     

 

Minutes 
PERSONAL HYGIENE/GROOMING P T Time 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 1

0 
1
1 

1
2 

1
3 

1
4 

1
5 

1
6 

1
7 

1
8 

1
9 

2
0 

2
1 

2
2 

2
3 

2
4 

2
5 

2
6 

2
7 

2
8 

2
9 

3
0 

 

3
1 

Hours/ 

Minutes 
A.  Grooming 

 

 

 

                                   

B.  Bathing                                    

C.  Toileting                                    

D.  Dressing                                    

E.  Laundry (incontinent)                                    

 TOTAL                                  

NON-TECH PHYSICAL ASSISTANCE P T Time 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 1
0 

1
1 

1
2 

1
3 

1
4 

1
5 

1
6 

1
7 

1
8 

1
9 

2
0 

2
1 

2
2 

2
3 

2
4 

2
5 

2
6 

2
7 

2
8 

2
9 

3
0 

 

3
1 

Hours/ 

Minutes 
A.  Repositing/Transfer                                    

B.  Walking                                    

C.  Medical Equipment                                    

D.  Assistance with Medication                                    

E.  ROM (Per Phys. order)                                    

F.  Vitals (Per Phys. order)                                    

G.  Other (Per Phys. order)                                    
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 TOTAL                                  

NUTRITIONAL SUPPORT P T Time 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 1
0 

1
1 

1
2 

1
3 

1
4 

1
5 

1
6 

1
7 

1
8 

1
9 

2
0 

2
1 

2
2 

2
3 

2
4 

2
5 

2
6 

2
7 

2
8 

2
9 

3
0 

 

3
1 

Hours/ 

Minutes 
A.  Meal Prep                                    

B.  Feeding                                    

C.  Special Dietary Needs                                    

TOTAL                                  

ENVIRONMENTAL P T Time 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 1
0 

1
1 

1
2 

1
3 

1
4 

1
5 

1
6 

1
7 

1
8 

1
9 

2
0 

2
1 

2
2 

2
3 

2
4 

2
5 

2
6 

2
7 

2
8 

2
9 

3
0 

 

3
1 

Hours/ 

Minutes 
A.  Housecleaning                                    

B.  Laundry/Ironing                                    

C.  Making/Changing Bed                                    

D.  Dishwashing                                    

E.  Shopping                                    

F.  Payment of Bills                                    

 TOTAL                                  

                          TOTAL HOURS  

                          TOTAL UNITS  

 
 

 

 

 

  
  



DISCLAMER: This manual does not address all the complexities of Medicaid policies 
and procedures, and must be supplemented with all State and Federal Laws and 

Regulations. 

 

Department of Health and Human Resources  Chapter 500-34 

Version 1                                      September 1, 2003 
 

 

 

 

 

ATTACHMENT    5 
 

 

 

 

 
 

PERSONAL CARE DAILY LOG SHEETS 
 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

INSTRUCTIONS 

All Information must be complete and reflect activities as they are written on the plan of care. 

i.e., marked partial or total with times filled in on the left hand column. 

A registered nurse’s signature is required when log is complete. 

The provider who is named on the daily log must also sign the log sheet verifying the activities were 
provided as outlined.  

Any variance from the plan must be explained at the bottom of page 2. 
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Client’s Name: Agency & Phone Number: 

Provider Name: Approved Hours for Client: 

Medicaid #: Number of Units:   

30 Day Review Completed by: RN (Please Print) Date: 

Signature of Completing RN: 
 

 

P - Partial Assistance                                    T - Total Assistance  

 PERSONAL CARE TASKS     

 

Minutes 
PERSONAL HYGIENE/GROOMING P T Time 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 1

0 
1
1 

1
2 

1
3 

1
4 

1
5 

1
6 

1
7 

1
8 

1
9 

2
0 

2
1 

2
2 

2
3 

2
4 

2
5 

2
6 

2
7 

2
8 

2
9 

3
0 

 

3
1 

Hours/ 

Minutes 
A.  Grooming                                    
B.  Bathing                                    

C.  Toileting                                    

D.  Dressing                                    

E.  Laundry (incontinent)                                    

 TOTAL                                  

NON-TECH PHYSICAL ASSISTANCE P T Time 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 1
0 

1
1 

1
2 

1
3 

1
4 

1
5 

1
6 

1
7 

1
8 

1
9 

2
0 

2
1 

2
2 

2
3 

2
4 

2
5 

2
6 

2
7 

2
8 

2
9 

3
0 

 

3
1 

Hours/ 

Minutes 
A.  Repositing/Transfer                                    
B.  Walking                                    

C.  Medical Equipment                                    

D.  Assistance with Medication                                    

E.  ROM (Per Phys. order)                                    

F.  Vitals (Per Phys. order)                                    

G.  Other (Per Phys. order)                                    

 TOTAL                                  

NUTRITIONAL SUPPORT P T Time 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 1
0 

1
1 

1
2 

1
3 

1
4 

1
5 

1
6 

1
7 

1
8 

1
9 

2
0 

2
1 

2
2 

2
3 

2
4 

2
5 

2
6 

2
7 

2
8 

2
9 

3
0 

 

3
1 

Hours/ 

Minutes 
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A.  Meal Prep                                    
B.  Feeding                                    

C.  Special Dietary Needs                                    

TOTAL                                  

ENVIRONMENTAL P T Time 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 1
0 

1
1 

1
2 

1
3 

1
4 

1
5 

1
6 

1
7 

1
8 

1
9 

2
0 

2
1 

2
2 

2
3 

2
4 

2
5 

2
6 

2
7 

2
8 

2
9 

3
0 

 

3
1 

Hours/ 

Minutes 
A.  Housecleaning                                    

B.  Laundry/Ironing                                    

C.  Making/Changing Bed                                    

D.  Dishwashing                                    

E.  Shopping                                    

F.  Payment of Bills                                    

TOTAL                                  

                                  

Total Units  

Total Hours  
 

 

COMMENTS ABOUT CLIENT FOR RN TO CHECK.  ALSO EXPLAIN ANY VARIANCE FROM PLAN OF CARE: 

 

 

 

 

 
 

                                                                                                  Provider Signature:_______________________________________Date: ______________ 
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PERSONAL CARE NURSING ASSESSMENT 

 
 

 
 
 
 
 
INSTRUCTIONS 
Form must be completed at least every 6 months. 
Nursing assessment should reflect client’s needs as they are on the PAS-2000. 
If client’s condition has changed, a new assessment may be needed. 
Nursing assessment should justify time shown on plan of care. 
Signature of RN and client are required.  
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PERSONAL CARE EMPLOYMENT SUPPORT RECORD SHEET 
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Personal Care-Employment Support Record Sheet 

(This is intended to be the cover sheet for employment section of the client’s file.) 

 
Name: _____________________________________ Social Security Number: __________________________ 
 
Medicaid Number: ___________________________ Date: __________________________________________ 
 
Agency Completing Form: ____________________________________________________________________ 
 
Name/Title of Person Completing Form: _________________________________________________________ 
__________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Client Personal Care - Employment Support Status 
 
Job Seeking Status 
______ Client has provided documentation of registration wit their local Job Service AND one of the following: 
 
  _____  Client has agreed to participate in an Individual Job Search.  This Agency will monitor 

the Job Seeking Agreement.  (See Job Seeking Agreement) 
 
  _____  Client has provided documentation of eligibility for vocational rehabilitation services 

from the Division of Rehabilitation Services. 
 
  _____  Client has provided documentation of participation in a TWWIIA Employment 

Network. 
Employment Status 
______ Partial Employment: Client has obtained partial employment working less than forty (40) hours per 

month earning at least minimum wage.  The client agrees to maintain a CLIENT WAGE and HOUR 
REPORT Form.  (See Employment Status Agreement) 

 
  _____  Client is progressing toward full employment of forty (40) hours per month with their 

current employer within three (3) months. 
 

  _____  Client is still job seeking to find full employment of at least forty (40) hours per month 
and agrees to participate in a Job Seeking Agreement. 

 

______ Full Employment: Client has obtained full employment of at least forty (40) hours per month earning at 
least minimum wage.  The client agrees to maintain a CLIENT WAGE and HOUR REPORT form.  (See 
Employment Status Agreement.) 
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JOB SEEKING AGREEMENT 
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Job Seeing Agreement 
(Agreement to be completed before client begins job seeking.) 

 
Name: ___________________________ SSN: _________________________________ 
 
Medicaid Number: ___________________________Date: _______________________ 
 
Provider Number: ________________________________ 
 
Name/Title of Person Monitoring Plan: ________________________________________ 
 
Plan Dates:   From: ________________________To:_____________________________ 
 
(Check all applicable categories) 
____ I agree to register and maintain active status with my local Job Service AND one of the 
following: 
____ Individual Job Search 
I agree to: 1) Contact Job Services when notified of an opening and appear for interviews as schedule.  2) Contact 
_____ (number) of potential employers per month and record results of an employer contact summary sheet to be 
reviewed by the agency every three months. 3) Contact at least one half of the employers in person. Or 4) other . 
(Please describe)_______________________________________________________________________________ 
____________________________________________________________________________________________ 
____________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
_____ Vocational Rehabilitation Services from the Division of Rehabilitation Services 
I agree to: 1) Make application at the local Division of Rehabilitation Services Office; 2) Provided documentation of 
eligibility for Vocational Rehabilitation Services;  3) Provide documentation of continued participation in DRS 
Vocational services to this agency every three months.  
 
____ Participation in a TWWIIA Employment Network 
I agree to: 1) Participate in a TWWIIA Employment Network Program;  2) Provide documentation of eligibility for 
a TWWIIA Employment Network Program;  3) Provide documentation of continued participation in the TWWIIA 
Employment Network Program to this agency every three months.  (This option is not available at this time.) 
 
Job Seeking Agreement: I understand that personal care services will be provided outside the home ewhen I am 
employed at least 40 hours per month earning at least minimum wage.  Personal care services will be provided for 
no more than twelve (12) months, not necessarily consecutive, while I am seeking employment or partially 
employed, working less than fourty (40) hours per month.  I agree to adhere to the Job Seeking Agreement and to 
inform my provider agency of any change in my job seeking status.  My provider agency will monitor the Job 
Seeing Agreement and maintain record of the Agreement in my Medicaid file for review by the Bureau for Medical 
Services. 
 
Client’s Signature:___________________________ Print Name:_________________________ 
 
Agency: ___________________________ Signature: ____________________Date:__________ 
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EMPLOYMENT STATUS AGREEMENT 
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 Employment Status Agreement 
(Agreement to be completed after client becomes employed.) 

 
Name: _______________________________ SSN: _________________________________ 
 
Medicaid Number: ________________________________Date: _______________________ 
 
Provider Number: ________________________________ 
 
Name/Title of Person Monitoring Plan: ______________________________________________ 
 
Plan Dates:   From: ___________________________ To: _______________________________ 
 
(Check all applicable categories) 
 
____ I have obtained full employment. 
I am working at least forty (40) hours per month at or above minimum wage.  I agree to provide this agency 
documentation of my employment on a CLIENT WAGE AND HOUR REPORT Form every three months. 
 
____ I have obtained partial employment.  My employer has indicated he/she will be able to offer full 
employment at a later date. 
I am working less than forty (40) hours per month due to: _____________________________________________ 
 
____________________________________________________________________________________________ 
I expect to be working at least forty (40) hours per month on or about _______________________.  I agree to 
provide this agency documentation on my employment on a CLIENT WAGE AND HOUR REPORT Form every 
three (3) months. 
 
_____ I have obtained partial employment.  However, my employer has indicated that he/she will not be able 
to offer full employment. 
I am working less than forty (40) hours per month due to : _____________________________________________ 
 
____________________________________________________________________________________________ 
I agree to continue Job Seeking and have entered into a Job Seeking Agreement.  I agree to provide this agency 
documentation of my employment on a CLIENT WAGE AND HOUR REPORT Form every three (3) months. 
 
I understand that personal care services will be provided outside the home when I am employed at least 40 
hours per month earning at least minimum wage.  Personal care services will be provided for no more than 
twelve (12) months, not necessarily consecutive, while I am partially employed, working less than forty (40) 
hours per month.  I agree to notify my provider agency immediately of any change in my enrollment status.  
My provider agency will monitor the Employment Status Agreement and maintain records of the agreement 
in my Medicaid file for review by the Bureau of Medical Services. 
 
Client’s Signature: _____________________________ Print Name: _____________________ 
 

Agency: ________________________Signature: ____________________ Date: ___________ 
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EMPLOYMENT CONTACT SUMMARY SHEET 
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Employer Contact Summary Sheets 
(Form for client to document employer contacts) 

 
 
Name: _________________________________________   SSN: ________________________________ 
 
Medicaid Number: __________________________________ Date:_________________________________   
 
Month: _________________________________________________________________________________ 
 

 
Employer: ________________________________________________ Phone: ________________________ 
 
Address: ________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Contact Person: ___________________________________________   Title: _________________________ 
 
Position Applied For: ______________________________________________________________________ 
 
Type of Contact (phone, in-person, follow-up, etc.): _____________________________________________ 
 
Source of Lead (newspaper, phone book, job service, etc.): ________________________________________ 
 
Results: _________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
 
 
Employer: _______________________________________________ Phone: _________________________ 
 
Address:   _______________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Contact Person: __________________________________________   Title: __________________________ 
 
Position Applied For: ______________________________________________________________________ 
 
Type of Contact (phone, in-person, follow-up, etc.): _____________________________________________ 
 
Source of Lead (newspaper, phone book, job service, etc.): ________________________________________ 
 
Results: _________________________________________________________________________________ 
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EMPLOYER FOLLOW-UP SHEET 
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Employer Follow-up Sheet 

(Form for provider agency to document client’s employer contact ) 
 
Name: _________________________________________ SSN: _________________________ 
 
Medicaid Number: _______________________________ Date:  _________________________ 
 
Person/Title Completing Follow-up Form: ___________________________________________ 
 
Agency: ______________________________________________________________________ 
 

Employer Name & Address:  
____________________________________________________________________________ 
 
____________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Person Contacted/Title: ________________________________________________________ 
 
Results of Contact with Employer:  _______________________________________________ 
 
____________________________________________________________________________ 
Employer Name & Address: 
____________________________________________________________________________ 
 
____________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Person Contacted/Title: ________________________________________________________ 
 
Results of Contact with Employer:  _______________________________________________ 
 
____________________________________________________________________________ 
Employer Name & Address:  
____________________________________________________________________________ 
 
____________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Person Contacted/Title: ________________________________________________________ 
 
Results of Contact with Employer:  _______________________________________________ 
 
____________________________________________________________________________ 
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RELEASE OF INFORMATION 
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(Agency Letter head) 

 

 

RELEASE OF INFORMATION 
 
Name: ___________________________________________________________________________ 

 

Social Security Number: __________________________ Date of Birth: _____________________ 

 

I authorize you to furnish any information regarding my application or employment status with your 
company to __________________________________________________________________ 

                                                          Provider Agency, Address Phone Number) 

 

 

Signature: __________________________________________________ 

 

Print Name: ________________________________________________ Date: ___________________ 

 

Address: ________________________________________________________ 

 

               ________________________________________________________ 
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CLIENT WAGE AND HOUR REPORT 
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NURSING PLAN OF CARE FOR EMPLOYMENT SUPPORT 
SERVICES 
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NURSING PLAN OF CARE 
EMPLOYMENT SUPPORT SERVICES 
 
 
PROVIDER: _______________________________Provider # : ______________90 Day Review Date:____________ 
 
Client Name: ________________________________ Medicaid # : _________________________________ 
 
Client Address: _____________________________   R. N. Signature _______________________________ 
 

Personal Care  
Activities 

Level of 
Services  to be 
provided      

            Daily Planned Time  Date     
Services   
Started 

              Comments 

 P        
Part     
Assist 

T         
Total 
Assist  

        
Sun   

          
Mon   

      
Tue  

        
Wed 

        
Thu  

      
Fri   

         
Sat  

  

Grooming            
Toileting            
Reposition/Transfer            
Walking            
Medical Equipment            
Assist w/meds            
Meal Prep            
Feeding            
Special Dietary Needs             

 
Total Number of Minutes: _________ Total Number of Units: __________________ 

 
Mode of Transportation: _____________________________________________ 

 

Name of Person Providing the Services: _________________________________ 

 

Client’s Employer (if applicable) : ______________________________________ 

 

 

COMMENTS:  
 
_________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
_________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
_________________________________________________________________________________________ 
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DEFINITIONS OF PERSONAL CARE TERMS 
Used with Standards in Development of Plan of Care 
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DEFINITIONS   OF   PERSONAL   CARE   TERMS 
(to be considered when a Plan of Care is written) 

           1.  Partial Assistance:  Hand-on assistance with an activity; however, the clients can participate to a 
limited degree. 

 2. Total Assistance:  Hands-on activity where client is incapable of participating in the activity and 
the provider must perform all services. 

 3. Medically Necessary:  Those services indicated on the Physician’s order that must be 
ordered by the Physician as needed services for client. 

Personal Hygiene/Grooming 
 

1. Toileting:  Diapering does not apply to babies up to three (3) years old unless extenuating medical 
circumstances apply.  

  Partial Assistance: Hands on assistance such as assisting on and off the toilet, bedpan, commode.  Not 
necessary for provider to clean person. 

  Total Assistance: Hands on.  Physically placing client on toilet, cleaning after completing elimination and 
return to chair, bed, etc.... 

 2 Dressing: 

  Partial Assistance: Assisting client by laying out clothes, helping client put clothes on.  Can dress themselves 
but needs some hands on assistance. 

  Total Assistance: Provider must completely dress client from laying out clothes to physically putting on all 
wearing apparel. 

 

3. Medically Incontinent Laundry: 
 

Laundry requested beyond normal weekly routine.  The only approved laundry for   incontinence will be that 
which is considered “Medically” necessary only.  Incontinent Laundry is not appropriate for ages birth to 
three (3) unless extenuating medical circumstances apply. 

 

4. Skin Care: 
 

Routine skin care such as applying body lotion after bathing, or application of suntan lotion is not considered 
medically necessary.  Skin care that would be acceptable would be special lotions for psoriasis, skin break-
down  or other medically recognized skin conditions.   

Non-Technical Physical Assistance: 

1. Non-skilled Medical Care such as B/P monitoring for a Diagnosis of Hypertension must be 
“Medically” necessary as prescribed by the physician’s order which clearly instructs all specifics 
necessary to carry out the function.   

2. Range of Motion, Nebulizer treatments, or changing of a simple dressing are examples of 
activities needing a physician’s  order which specifically describes the activities needed and the 
number of times per day and length of time per session needed.  
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Definitions of Personal Care Services  
 

3. Medical Equipment: Use and care of any medical equipment necessary to maintain client’s needs 
in the home.  List all equipment and how it pertains to the plan of care. 
 
4. Walking:  In order to have billable time for this activity on the Plan of Care, client needs to be rated a Level 

III on PAS-2000, indicating “hands-on-assistance.” 

 

Nutritional Support: 

 1. Feeding:  Is considered normal activity for babies birth to two (2) years old except for extenuating 
medical circumstances. 

  Partial Assistance: In regards to feeding; for example, means cutting up meat on plate or setting up plate. 

  Total Assistance: In regards to feeding; for example, placing food on fork/spoon and placing in clients 
mouth, prompting them to chew and swallow. 

  In regards to drinking; for example, holding up of liquid, placing it to their 
mouth and prompting them to swallow. 

 

2. Meal Preparation: Making preparations of food to be consumed by client. 

 Partial Assistance: An example of this is taking a frozen dinner out of the paper carton or assisting the client 
to carrying food to table.  

Total Assistance: An example of this is the provider may be cutting up, cooking, watching and 
otherwise preparing an entire meal for the client who is physically/mentally 
incapable of assisting in the preparations.  

 
 In group home settings of three (3) or more clients in one household, meal  preparation must be pro-rated across all 
individuals who will eat the meal.  For example, if there are six (6) clients and it takes an hour to prepare a meal, each 
 client  maximum of ten (10) minutes per meal.  If client participates in day program  outside his/her residence, the 
maximum would be ten (10) minutes two (2) times a  is equal to 20 minutes.  

Other: 

1. Seizure activity - Is limited to protecting a client during or immediately after the    
 seizure.  Monitoring for seizures is not billable. 

2. Room and Board Payments - Monies paid to an individual/agency on a monthly basis, from the 
clients accounts (SSI) or the Department of Health and Human Resources (DHHR), Bureau of 
Social Services.  Payments of Room and Board from either resource will exclude certain services 
as listed in the Personal Care Standards. 

 
3. Incident - When an activity states ‘per incident’ it means each time the activity occurs.  An example is taking 

medications.  A client may be on medications hat must be taken five (5) times a day.  Each of those five (5) 
times would be a separate incident. 
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PERSONAL CARE STANDARDS 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



Personal Care Standards 

 

PERSONAL CARE ACTIVITIES PARTIAL 
ASSISTANCE LEVEL 
II 

TOTAL ASSISTANCE 
LEVEL III 

TOTAL MAX. 
MINUTES/DAY 
Additional documentation 
required when using these 
times. 

PERSONAL HYGIENE / GROOMING  

Grooming/Routine Skin Care: Includes care of hair, skin, nails, teeth & mouth up to 10 minutes per day up to 15 minutes per day up to 60 minutes per day 

Bathing; in bed, the tub or in the shower up to 15 minutes per day up to 30 minutes per day up to 30 minutes per day 

Toileting:                                                                              

                                                   

Diapering : Child                 N/A 5 minutes per incident up to 30 minutes per day     

Diapering: Adult                 N/A 

 

up to 30 minutes per incident up to 180 minutes per day 

Assistance on and off the 
commode, bedpan, toilet 

up to 5 minutes per incident up to 15 minutes per incident up to 75 minutes per day 24 hrs. 

Dressing up to 15 minutes per incident  up to 30 minutes per day up to 30 minutes per day 

Medically Incontinent Laundry                   Urine, feces (drooling) up to 30 minutes 2 X a week -
occasional  incontinence 

up to 30 minutes per day up to 30 minutes per day 

NON-TECH. PHYSICAL ASSISTANCE 

Repositioning / Transfer; i.e. in & out of bed, on or off seats 5 minutes per incident 5 minutes per incident up to 1 hour in 24 hours 

Walking: with or without assistance of medical equip, in home                  N/A up to 30 minutes per day up to 30 minutes per day 

Medical Equip: list use and care of equipment in the home 15 minutes per day  up to 30 minutes per day up to 30 minutes per day 

Wheelchair: assistance pushing, loading & unloading in vehicle up to 30 minutes per day up to 30 minutes per day up to 30 minutes per day 

Range of Motion: assist with active & or passive ROM (Per P.O.) Up to 60 minutes per day up to 60 minutes per day up to 60 minutes per day 

Assist with Medication: includes prompting at right time, provide liquid & assistance in self-
medication.  Documentation of  who prepares medication. 

5 minutes per incident 5 minutes per incident will depend: based on the 
number of times medications are 
ordered in 24 hours 

Vital Signs: (As per Physician’s Orders) 5 minutes per incident 5 minutes per incident up to 30 minutes in 24 hr. period 

Other: As per Physician’s orders    
 

 

 



Personal Care Standards 

 

 

 

** The Following Standards apply only to those consumers that DO NOT pay for room and board to their provider of service: 

 

NUTRITIONAL SUPPORT: 

Meal Preparation: *Please note: only for those consumers who DO 
NOT pay for room & board (If a client lives in a group home 
situation, please refer to definitions.) 

up to 15 minutes per meal up to 15 minutes per meal up to 45 minutes per day 

 

Feeding up to 15 minutes per meal up to 30 minutes per meal up to 90 minutes per day 

Special Dietary Need: Pureed food, extra hydration with 
documentation 

up to 15 minutes up to 30 minutes up to 30 minutes per meal 

Environments: can count only 1/3 of time spent. ** can only count units for those consumers who DO NOT pay for board and room. 

 

ENVIRONMENTAL: 

House cleaning: i.e. dusting & vacuuming rooms consumer uses up to 10 minutes per day up to 10 minutes per day up to 60 minutes per week 

Laundry / Ironing & Mending: up to 60 minutes per week up to 60 minutes per week up to 60 minutes per week 

Making and Changing Beds: 5 minutes per day 5 minutes per day 15 minutes per day 

Dishwashing: This time based on only washing consumer’s dishes up to 10 minutes per meal up to 10 minutes per meal up to 10 minutes per meal 

Shopping: Time based on shopping for the consumer up to 60 minutes per week up to 60 minutes per week up to 60 minutes per week 

Payment of Bills: Only those bills of the consumer up to 30 minutes per 
month 

up to 30 minutes per month up to 30 minutes per month 

Seizure Activity; this time includes protecting consumer during & 
right after the seizure only with supporting documentation 

5 to 30 minutes per 
incident 

5 to 30 minutes per incident 5 to 30 minutes per incident 

 

 

PERSONAL CARE ACTIVITIES PARTIAL ASSISTANCE 

          LEVEL II 

TOTAL 
ASSISTANCE                
LEVEL III 

TOTAL MAX. MINUTE/DAY 

Additional documentation 
required when using these times 


