Facebook Twitter

Peer Recovery Support Specialist (PRSS) Certification


Important Notice!

​​The Bureau of Medical Services (BMS) is making some changes to the Peer Recovery Support Services. On September 30, 2022, BMS will no longer be offering their Peer Recovery Support Specialist (PRSS) certification. However, BMS is extending the adoption of the West Virginia Certification Board for Addiction & Prevention Professionals (WVCBAPP), Peer Recovery certification for PRSS until December 31, 2022. This means that until December 31, 2022, either certification will be eligible for reimbursement from Medicaid. 

On January 1, 2023, all PRSS must have the WVCBAPP Peer Recovery certification to be reimbursed by Medicaid.

BMS is also extending the deadline for the National Provider Identifier (NPI) registration until December 31, 2022. Gainwell Technologies will begin registration of rendering the NPI on August 1, 2022, and will continue registration through December 31, 2022. 

Additional information for PRSS service can be found in Chapter 504, Substance Use Disorder Services, Section 504.15.1​.

Information regarding the WVCBAPP certification can be found at www.wvcbapp.org

Current and future PRSS must obtain an NPI by December 31, 2022.The Taxonomy Code for a PRSS is 175T00000X and ts description can be found on the NPI Peer Recovery Peer Specialist webpage.​ 

For additional information on obtaining an NPI, please visit the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) webpage​.​​​                      

​​Documentation for the BMS PRSS include the following:

• Application;

• Attestation letter;

• Completed certification with an 80% or higher score; a

• At least three reference letters

PRSS/Member Documentation Form

Chapter 504, Substance Use Disorder Services