## MTM Q & A 6/21/17

## Question: How are mileage amounts determined by MTM for reimbursement?

Answer: Mileage is calculated as the shortest route as determined by the broker, as is required by policy <a href="http://www.dhhr.wv.gov/bms/Provider/Documents/Manuals/Chapter 524 Transportation.pdf">http://www.dhhr.wv.gov/bms/Provider/Documents/Manuals/Chapter 524 Transportation.pdf</a> and to the nearest medically appropriate and qualified provider as required by the state plan <a href="http://www.dhhr.wv.gov/bms/CMS/SMP/Documents/SPAs/SPAs%202013/012420144021%20Final%20Response%20SPA%2013-007%20%20092214%20%282%29.pdf">http://www.dhhr.wv.gov/bms/CMS/SMP/Documents/SPAs/SPAs%202013/012420144021%20Final%20Response%20SPA%2013-007%20%20092214%20%282%29.pdf</a>. The broker uses a proprietary mapping system, but a commercial product that is used to double check the broker's mileage calculations is <a href="http://maps.randmcnally.com/mileage\_calculator">http://maps.randmcnally.com/mileage\_calculator</a>. Rand McNally is used because it maps the shortest route, unlike Google maps, Mapquest or other products. The problem with using Google, Mapquest or other products is that they map the route with the shortest driving time. The route that is the shortest distance may not be the shortest driving time.

## Question: What are the documentation requirements for MTM and how do I submit it?

Answer: All forms can be found on the MTM website at <a href="http://www.mtm-inc.net/west-virginia/">http://www.mtm-inc.net/west-virginia/</a> Each driver is required to have valid credentials registered with the broker as stated in the policy (driver's license, proof of insurance, proof of registration). It is the driver's responsibility to submit those documents to the broker, as payment cannot be issued until driver is credentialed. If the documents are unreadable (ie. Too dark of a copy) or expired, credentialing is not complete and payment will not be issued until documentation is submitted. When you copy a driver's license and then fax it, it is often so dark that MTM staff cannot read it or make it out. That will not be processed. To improve the chances of processing, it may be better to take a photo of the license and email it to MTM or scan the license (if you have scanner) and email it to MTM.

## Question: Where can I find the manual that describes services and how do I get one?

Answer: BMS Chapter 524 (<a href="http://www.dhhr.wv.gov/bms/Pages/Manuals.aspx">http://www.dhhr.wv.gov/bms/Pages/Manuals.aspx</a>) West Virginia State Medicaid Manual for Provider requirements

Chapter 27 of the West Virginia Bureau for Children and Families (BCF) Income Maintenance Manual (IMM) for member eligibility

(http://www.wvdhhr.org/bcf/policy/imm/new\_manual/IMManual/Manual\_HTM\_Pages/IMChapter27.ht ml) and

42 CFR § 440.170 (https://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/CFR-2011-title42-vol4/pdf/CFR-2011-title42-vol4-sec440-170.pdf)

NOTE: MTM's website also includes commonly answered questions.