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CHAPTER 1: CHILD CARE PROGRAM GOALS AND 

DEFINITION 
 
1.0.  Child Care Program Description and Goals 

 

1.0.1. Program Description 

Child care is a service which offers direct care and protections of infants, preschool, and 

school-age children during a portion of a twenty-four (24) hour day inside or outside of the 

child’s own home.  Child care is generally provided to children under the age of thirteen 

(13).  In some situations, such as developmental delays, physical or behavioral disorders, or 

the need for supervision for children under court supervision, a child care plan for children 

under the age of eighteen (18), may be considered. 

 

1.0.2. West Virginia State Goals 

The primary goal of child care services is to provide experiences to children which will foster 

their healthy development while enabling their parents to participate in work or educational 

activities.  Child care supplements the care and protection that a child receives from his 

parents. 

 

1.0.3. Federal Goals 

The federal Child Care & Development Fund, which provides the primary funding for the 

State of West Virginia’s child care program, requires West Virginia to develop a plan for 

operation of services.  The WV State Plan must address how federal funds will be utilized 

to address the federal goals for child care: to improve the affordability, availability, and 

quality of child care programs.  Further information about how the State of West Virginia is 

addressing those goals is included in the West Virginia Child Care Plan which may be 

accessed through the Bureau for Children and Families web site at  

https://dhhr.wv.gov/bcf/Childcare/Pages/West-Virginia-State-Plan.aspx  

 

1.1. Definition of Program Terms 

 The following definitions of program terms shall be used in interpreting child care 

 program policy: 

 

1.1.1. Accreditation: 

Certification by a qualified entity, generally nationally recognized, that a program meets 

accepted standards of excellence established for such programs. 

 

1.1.2. Adult:  An individual who is 18 years of age or older. 

 

1.1.3. Applicant:  Anyone who applies for or requests child care services regardless of 

his/her race, color, creed, national origin, sex, age, or marital status; or, anyone who applies 

to be a child care provider. 

https://dhhr.wv.gov/bcf/Childcare/Pages/West-Virginia-State-Plan.aspx
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1.1.4. Approval: Process by which DHHR approves a child care facility that is not 

required by law to be regulated which enables the service provider to participate in the child 

care subsidy certificate program. 

 

1.1.5. Certificate of Registration:  A statement issued by the Commissioner for a period 

of up to two years to a family child care home upon receipt of a self-certification statement 

of compliance with the applicable rules promulgated by the Commissioner. 

 

1.1.6. Child:  An individual who is: 1) under 13 years of age, 2) 13 to 18 years of age and 

is either under court supervision or a special needs child as defined in 1.2.44. 

 

1.1.7. Child Care Resource & Referral Agency (CCR&R or R&R):  An agency under 

contract with the Department of Health and Human Resources to maintain provider 

resources, provide consumer education, manage the child care subsidy program, refer 

parents to available providers, and offer services to improve the quality of child care, such 

as provider training and technical assistance. 

 

1.1.8. Child Care Center:  A facility operated for the care of 13 or more children on a 

nonresidential basis. 

 

1.1.9. DHHR:  West Virginia Department of Health and Human Resources. 

 

1.1.10. Emancipated Minor:  A child over the age of sixteen who has petitioned a court 

for emancipation and who has been declared by the court to be emancipated with all rights 

and duties of an adult; additionally, all children who are now or were previously legally 

married. 

 

1.1.11. Facility:  A place or residence, including personnel, structures, grounds and 

equipment used for the care of a child or children on a residential or other basis for any 

number of hours a day in any shelter or structure maintained for that purpose. 

 

1.1.12. FACTS:  The Family and Children Tracking System (FACTS) is the management 

information system used to maintain child care information on families and providers, 

determine eligibility and process payments. 

 

1.1.13. Family: One or more adults and children, if any, related by blood or law, and 

residing in the same household.  Where adults other than spouses reside together, each shall 

be considered a separate family.  Emancipated minors and children living under the care of 

individuals not legally responsible for their care shall be considered as separate families. 

 

1.1.14. Family Child Care Home:  A facility which is used to provide nonresidential child 

care for compensation in the provider’s home.  The provider may care for four to six children, 

including children who are living in the household, who are under six years of age.  No more 

than two of the total number of children may be under twenty-four months of age. 
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1.1.15. Family Child Care Facility:  Any facility which is used to provide nonresidential 

child care for compensation for seven (7) to twelve (12) children for four (4) or more hours 

per day, including children who are living in the household who are under six years of age.  

No more than four (4) of the total number of children may be under 24 months of age. 

 

1.1.16. Foster Parent:  A person or persons living in a private residence that has been 

certified by the Department of Health and Human Resources or by a licensed child placement 

agency to provide care on a residential basis for children who are in the legal custody of the 

State of West Virginia. 

 

1.1.17. Full Day: Care for at least four (4) hours but less than eighteen (18) hours per day, 

(from 4 hours and 1 minute up to 17 hours and 59 minutes) 

 

1.1.18. Head of Household:  A natural parent, step parent, or an individual acting in loco 

parentis, such as a relative or non-relative who has been granted custody or guardianship by 

a court of law or who has assumed full physical custody and responsibility for a child, with 

or without legal custody. 

 

1.1.19. Hobby: an activity done for relaxation, and not for the purpose of meeting the basic 

daily living expenses of the individual. Activities generating income below the tax liability 

limit of $5000.00 per year shall be considered a hobby. 

 

1.1.20. Homeless: A family will be considered homeless if the family reports that they are 

a.) Unwillingly doubled up with family or friends; b.) Residing in hotels or motels, trailer 

parks, or camp grounds; c.) Residing in an emergency or transitional shelter, abandoned in 

hospitals, or awaiting foster care placement; or d.) Unsheltered or living and/or sleeping in 

a place that is unfit for human habitation. 

 

1.1.21. Household:  A household consists of all individuals who live at the same address 

and share common kitchen facilities.  

 

1.1.22. Kinship/Relative Parent(s): A person or persons who lives in a private residence 

which has been certified by the Department of Health and Human Resources, or by a licensed 

child placement agency, to provide care on a residential basis for children who are in the 

legal custody of the State of West Virginia. Kinship/Relative parent(s) provide caretaker 

services to a child in the legal custody of the State of West Virginia and are related to the 

child by blood or marriage, including cousins and in-laws, or by a person(s) recognized by 

the child as a relative.  West Virginia child welfare services or certified placement agency 

will assess the eligibility of the home at the time  

 

1.1.23. Income Eligibility:  A method of determining eligibility that is based on 

establishing that the monthly gross income of the applicant/recipient’s family is no more 

than the maximum income level allowable for the service requested or delivered. 

 

1.1.24. Informal Family Child Care:  An informal family child care home provides care 

for three (3) or fewer children.  At least one (1) child is not related to the provider.  Informal 
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child care providers are exempt from regulatory requirements but may volunteer to register 

in order to receive federal child care or food program funding. 

 

1.1.25. In-Home Care:  In-home child care is provided by relatives or non-relatives for a 

child or children in the child’s own home.  

 

1.1.26. In Loco Parentis:  a Latin term meaning, “In place of the parent” and refers to an 

individual who assumes parental status and responsibilities for a minor, without formally 

adopting the minor.   

 

1.1.27. Livelihood: means of support or survival in which an individual engages to meet 

daily living expenses. 

 

1.1.28. Minimum Wage: The prevailing minimum wage mandated by state law in the state 

of West Virginia. 

 

1.1.29. In-home child-care provider reimbursements must equal West Virginia’s minimum 

wage  requirement unless special exceptions are granted. 

 

1.1.30. Self-employed individuals must meet West Virginia minimum wage requirements 

in order to be eligible for child care assistance. 

 

1.1.31. Monthly Gross Income:  Monthly gross income is the total amount of money, 

prior to deductions, received or earned monthly by members of a family. 

 

1.1.32. Non-Traditional Work Hours:  Non-traditional work hours are defined as: 

 

1.1.32.1. Approved care for at least four (4) hours provided either before 6:00 am or 

after 7:00 pm Monday through Friday;  

 

1.1.32.2. Any 12-hour work/school shift or split shift which equals twelve or more 

care hours (including transportation) in a 24-hour period, and 

 

1.1.32.3. Approved care for at least four (4) hours provided on a Saturday or Sunday. 

 

1.1.33. Out of School Time Child Care Program:  A child care service that offers 

activities to children before and after school, on school holidays, when school is closed due 

to emergencies and on school calendar days set aside for teacher activities. OST Programs 

provide out of school time services typically for fewer than four (4) hours daily, and not 

more than 30 full days annually for children age 5 and up.   

 

1.1.34. Parent:  A parent by blood, marriage or adoption; or a legal guardian or other 

person standing in loco parentis, such as foster parents, grandparents, other relatives, and 

persons receiving TANF benefits for children only. 
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1.1.35. Part Day 2-less than 4 hours: Care provided at least 2 hours but not exceeding 3 

hours and 59 minutes per day. (from 2 hours and 0 minutes up to 3 hours and 59 minutes) 

 

1.1.36. Part Days less than 2 hours: Care provided for more than 1 minute but not 

exceeding 1 hour and 59 minutes per day.  

 

1.1.37. Registration:  Process by which a family child care home self-certifies compliance 

with the promulgated rules. 

 

1.1.38. Relative Family Child Care:  A relative family child care home provides care only 

to children related to the caregiver.  The caregiver must be a grandparent, great grandparent, 

aunt, uncle, great-aunt, great-uncle or adult sibling. Relative family child care homes are 

exempt from regulatory requirements but may volunteer to register in order to receive federal 

child care or food program funding. 

 

1.1.39. Resident:  An individual who has established West Virginia as a permanent home, 

the place where s/he intends to return after any period of absence. Individuals are not eligible 

if they consider another state "home," maintain a principal residence or voter or car 

registration in another state with an intent to return, with the following exceptions:   

 

1.1.39.1. Non-residents who attend a West Virginia college or university 

 

1.1.39.2. Migrant and itinerant workers who have entered the state to seek 

employment or fulfill a commitment. 

 

These individuals are considered residents of West Virginia if they have proof of 

residency in West Virginia.  

 

There are no requirements as to the duration of residency for applicants for child care 

subsidy.   Documentation of West Virginia residency includes a West Virginia home 

address where the applicant lives and one or more of the following items: current West 

Virginia individual income tax return indicating West Virginia resident status, valid West 

Virginia driver's license, current West Virginia motor vehicle registration, proof of 

undergraduate student instates tuition payment, and other reasonable verification as listed 

in Chapter 3, Section 4.2.  

 

1.1.40. Revoke/revocation:  Negative action taken by terminating licensure or registration 

when a provider fails to maintain established requirements of child care. 

 

1.1.41. Self-Employment – Home-based: Self-Employment in which the primary 

function of the business is performed in the home. Examples: (1) a beautician with a salon 

in the garage or (2) a family auto repair business operated in a building next to the family’s 

residence. 

 

1.1.42. Self-Employment – Other: Self-Employment in which the primary function of the 

business is performed at a location other than the family’s home. Example: plumber, lawn 
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care business, construction worker, handy man, hairstylist who rents a booth. These 

individuals may use a portion of their home as a home office to conduct phone business or 

accounting but cannot claim the home office as an allowable deduction since the primary 

function of their work occurs elsewhere. 

 

1.1.43. Service Provider:  Individuals who provide child care or other types of service to 

individual recipients.  Providers are not required to meet any service eligibility criteria. 

 

1.1.44. Special Needs Child:  One who experiences significant developmental delays or 

who has a diagnosed physical or mental condition which has a high probability of resulting 

in a significant developmental delay.  Significant delay is a 25% delay in one or more areas 

of development or a six (6) month delay in two (2) or more areas.  Areas of development 

include:  cognitive, speech/language, physical/motor, vision, hearing, psycho social, and 

self-help skills.  Developmental delay is determined by early intervention programs, special 

education programs, or other multi-disciplinary teams. Special Needs determination may 

also be made at the CCR&R level.  

 

1.1.45. Status Check:  A form which is sent to child care recipients to assess continuing 

eligibility to receive child care services. 

 

1.1.46. TANF Caretaker Relative: An adult relative other than the natural or adoptive 

parent, such as a grandparent, aunt, uncle, brother, sister and their legal spouses and those 

relatives of preceding generations and their legal spouses.  The Caretaker Relative home will 

be a private residence that has been approved by the Department of Health and Human 

Resources. Caretaker services are provided by a relative of a child or children, NOT in the 

legal custody of the State and may, or may not, be receiving services from Child Protective 

Services.  TANF Caretaker Relative eligibility designation must be determined by the WV 

DHHR Family Support Specialist.  

 

1.1.47. Waiver:  A declaration that a certain rule is inapplicable in a particular 

circumstance. 

 

1.1.48. Working:  Receiving a non-subsidized wage or salary for the work performed. 
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CHAPTER 2: OVERVIEW OF CHILD CARE SERVICES 

APPLICATION PROCESS 

 

2.0. Application Overview 

  

2.1. Face-to-Face Application: Any parent who wishes to request child care services may 

apply by contacting the local Child Care Resource and Referral (CCR&R) agency.  The 

applicant, or parent/head of household, must have custody of the child(ren) or reside with the 

child(ren).  The CCR&R agency is responsible for taking applications and determining 

eligibility for subsidized care.  While an application may be completed by a parent prior to an 

office visit, case managers should consult with their supervisors for guidance in processing 

these applications. The CCR&R agency staff shall conduct a face to face interview with the 

parent within 5 days of the parent’s initial contact for clients served in main offices. CCR&R 

agency staff shall conduct a face to face interview with parents within 10 days for clients served 

at outreach offices, only when approval to visit outreach sites less often than weekly has been 

granted by the Division of Early Care and Education.  Applications shall not be future dated. 

 

The parent applies by completing the Application for Child Care Services (DAY-0614 or ECE-

CC-1) or by supplying the application information to the CCR&R child care case manager who 

then completes the Child Care Intake screens in FACTS.  The parent must sign the application 

signature page which certifies an understanding of the process and verifies that the information 

is true and complete. 

 

2.2. inROADS Application Option: The West Virginia Department of Health and Human 

Resources maintains an internet portal called inROADS that enables West Virginia citizens to 

apply for certain benefits online. Online applicants are informed during the application process 

that they must still visit their local child care resource and referral agency to complete their 

application and receive child care assistance. The start date of the application begins at the time 

of the face to face visit at the child care resource and referral. Child Care applications 

successfully completed via inROADS will be transferred into FACTS as an intake, 3 times per 

day (morning, mid-day, and evening). These intakes will be assigned to the county inbox where 

the applicant resides. FACTS will automatically remove intakes older than 45 days from the 

county inbox. Case manager Actions: 

 

2.2.1 If a child care applicant calls an CCR&R office after successfully completing a 

child care application via inROADS, instruct the applicant to come in to the CCR&R office 

as soon as possible to complete a face to face interview.  Remind the applicant that subsidy 

payment cannot begin until the date of the face to face interview, regardless of when the 

online application was completed. 

 

2.2.2 Once the child care applicant comes into an CCR&R for a face to face interview 

after successfully completing a child care application via inROADS, then the following steps 

should be taken: 

 

2.2.2.1. Locate and open the intake in FACTS To access a county inbox in FACTS, 

https://www.wvinroads.org/selfservice/
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click on the “Inbox” tab, then next to “Jurisdiction” select the appropriate county.  

 

2.2.2.2. Change the “Date of Intake” date, under the General information tab, to the 

date of the face to face interview, 

 

2.2.2.3. Verbally verify all other information listed in the application, ensuring all 

screens are completed and all information is correct. 

 

2.2.2.4. Proceed as usual with standard intake practice (collecting verifications, 

entering contacts, issuing notices, etc.) 

 

2.2.2.5. If a child care applicant calls an CCR&R office with questions or problems 

regarding the use of inROADS itself, CCR&R staff must direct the applicant to the toll-

free inROADS customer service line, which is: 1-877-716-1212. 

   

2.3.  List of Items Covered During Application Interview: 

An interview must be held with the parent(s) upon completion of the application.  During the 

interview, the CCR&R case manager explains how child care services are provided, and the 

parent supplies information needed to make appropriate child care arrangements.  The case 

manager shall document any important information from the interview in FACTS. The case 

manager shall also collect information and document it on the appropriate screen in FACTS 

items required for Federal reporting, including primary language spoken in the home, whether 

or not the family is homeless, and whether or not a parent is a military service member. In 

addition to collection of information requested for completion of an application, the interview 

shall include: 

 

2.3.1. Evaluation of the need for child care services.  

 

2.3.2 The determination of financial eligibility. This should include an asset review, as 

families, including foster parents, kinship/relative parents and TANF Caretaker Relative 

parents, whose assets exceed $1,000,000 are not eligible for assistance. 

 

2.3.3. Review of verifications supplied by parent and those still needed to confirm 

eligibility. 

 

2.3.4. Assessment of the family’s needs and a review of children to be placed in child 

care.  This assessment should determine the developmental level of the child, any health 

and/or emotional problems, and the existence of any special needs.  

 

2.3.5. Explanation of the types of child care available and the regulation required for each, 

as well as the pros and cons for each type of care.   

 

2.3.6. Explanation of the payment rates available through the program and an explanation 

of allowable charges by the provider.  

 

2.3.7. An explanation of the parent’s rights as a recipient of child care services.  
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2.3.8. A discussion of the parent’s responsibilities as a recipient of child care services. 

  

2.3.9. A discussion of the Child Care Parent Services Agreement (DAY-0162).   

 

2.3.10. A discussion of the Child Care Certificate (DAY-0176). 

   

2.3.11. Provision of a list from FACTS of registered family child care providers, licensed 

family child care facilities, unlicensed school-age child care programs, and child care centers 

who meet the family needs. 

 

2.3.12. The list shall include the name, zip code and telephone number of potential 

providers. 

 

2.3.13. Information to assist the family in selecting a child care arrangement that best meets 

their child(ren)s’ needs based on issues such as transportation, cost, nearby schools, and 

quality of care. 

 

2.3.14. Notification of other services offered by DHHR, such as Food Stamps, CHIP, 

TANF, children with special health care needs, and other community resources.  Parents 

shall be informed of the availability of the Community Resource List maintained by the 

CCR&R agency and given copies upon request.  An alternative would be a referral to the 

web site if the resource list is maintained there and parents have access. 

 

2.4. The Application Process 

 

2.4.1. Verifications Requested During Intake Interview.   

During the intake interview, parents will be asked to submit a number of verifications. The 

verifications include the following proofs: 

 

2.4.1.1 Identity. 

 

2.4.1.2  West Virginia residency. 

 

2.4.1.3 All income, including child support, if received. 

 

2.4.1.4 Employment, school, training, WV Works participation for each parent in 

the home and/or other need for child care services. 

 

2.4.2. CCR&R Supplied Forms 

During the application process, a number of additional forms are completed or given to 

parents for completion and verifications are requested. Forms given to parents shall include 

the following: 

 

2.4.2.1. Child’s Medical Record (ECE-CC-3): The Case manager shall give the 

parent an appropriate number of Child’s Medical Record (ECE-CC-3) to be completed 
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and given to the provider for any child under the age of 6 years.  The Case manager should 

explain that: 

 

A. The medical examination and the immunization report/plan must be completed 

within thirty (30) days of placement and updated every two years until the child is six 

years of age.  If immunizations are not current, the parent must give the provider a 

schedule for completion. 

 

B. Parents shall be referred to the Health Check clinics (formerly known as EPSDT) 

and local Health Departments to obtain physical examinations and immunizations but 

may choose to utilize private physicians.  The Health Check form or child health 

assessment form from a Head Start or child care center, which contains immunization 

information, can be substituted for the ECE-CC-3C, if the form contains the same 

immunization requirements as those on the ECE-CC-3C and shows the date of 

completion.  However, a note from the physician without a standard medical form is 

not acceptable.  

 

C. Exemptions from immunization requirements are available for children whose 

parents provide written documentation of that immunization is contraindicated based 

on a child’s medical condition.  However, a provider has the right to refuse to accept 

a child with an exemption. 

 

2.4.2.2. Child Care Parent Services Agreement (DAY-0162): The case manager 

should discuss the terms of the Child Care Parent Services Agreement (DAY-0162), 

which includes information about the parent’s rights and responsibilities to maintain their 

eligibility and to the provider, as well as rules on using care appropriately to prevent 

improper payments.  The parent and CCR&R case manager shall sign the agreement, and 

a copy shall be given to the parent for their records. 

 

2.4.2.3. Emergency Information Form (ECE-CC-10E).  This form must be 

completed by the parent on all children to be placed in care, notarized and given to the 

provider at the time of enrollment. 

 

2.4.2.4. A Child Care Certificate (DAY-0167) to be signed and given to the provider 

if the application is approved or the Notification of New Applicants (DAY-0177) if the 

application is pending or denied. For pending applications, parents shall also receive a 

Provider Notification Letter-Parent’s Eligibility for Child Care (DAY-0613) to give to 

the provider to indicate the application is pending. 

 

2.4.2.5. Other forms as needed.  Applicants who have been employed for less than 

45 days will be given a New Employment Verification form (ECE-CC-1B) to submit to 

their employer for completion.   

 

2.4.3. Notifying Parent of Application Status: 
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2.4.3.1. If the applicant is not eligible for services, the CCR&R case manager shall 

issue a Child Care Parent Notification Letter (DAY-0179) that states the application is 

denied.  

 

2.4.3.2. If the application cannot be completed due to the need for additional 

information or documentation, the case manager shall issue a Parent Notification Letter 

(DAY-0176) indicating that the application will be denied if the necessary information is 

not received within 13 days. 

 

2.4.3.3. If the applicable information is received and the client is eligible: 

 

A. A Child Care Certificate (DAY-0176) is issued from FACTS and given to the 

parent who signs it and then gives it to the provider to be retained in the provider’s 

record. 

  

B. The CCR&R case manager may provide a Parent Notification Letter (DAY-0177) 

and a Provider Notification Letter (DAY-0613) on a temporary basis until the case is 

entered in FACTS and a permanent Child Care Certificate is issued to the parent.  

 

C. Clients choosing school-based care (i.e. after school programs located in schools), 

or clients choosing child care centers only open on weekdays, but who also need 

evening and/or weekend care shall be encouraged to choose a back-up provider for 

summer care/days when the school-based care or center is unavailable. Parents shall 

be issued a certificate for the back-up provider. The case manager shall note on the 

back-up provider certificate that the certificate is being provided as such, and care 

billed by the back-up provider shall only be approved for times when the primary 

provider is unavailable. Information on the use of a back-up provider shall be recorded 

in FACTS contacts and include allowable times and reasons for use. 

 

D. The Certificate or Provider Notification Letter (DAY-0613) is an indication that 

DHHR will pay for a portion or all the approved services.  However, parents and 

providers must understand that new providers who have not completed the payment 

enrollment process or providers who have been closed for more than 12 months shall 

not receive reimbursement unless they attend payment enrollment training and 

complete a provider application within 30 days of client application. 

 

E. Case manager Completion of the Child Care Certificate: 

 

1. FACTS will automatically populate sections I. through V. and VII. on the 

certificate. The starting date on the initial Certificate shall be the date of client 

application.  If care does not begin until a later date, the case manager shall modify 

the Certificate to start at the later date. 

 

2. Case managers shall use section VI. to record the parent’s need for care 

schedule, so that providers will have a general idea of when to expect the child in 

care. 
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F. If the parent changes providers during the certificate period, he/she must notify the 

CCR&R case manager in writing within five (5) working days, and request that a 

Certificate be issued for the new provider.  CCR&R staff may ask the previous 

provider to return the child care certificate to the CCR&R office, but the return is not 

necessary for the termination of payment to the provider or the continuation of services 

to the family. 

 

2.5. The Interview Process 

CCR&R Case managers should discuss the following with applicants: 

 

2.5.1. Payment Rates Available.  

See Appendix B – Child Care Payment Rates for rates available for children. 

 

2.5.2. Allowable Charges by Providers   

Allowable charges by the provider shall be limited to:  reasonable registration fees, 

transportation fees, late pick-up fees and charges for time not approved by the agency.  The 

Provider shall inform the parent of these fees prior to enrollment. If the parent is responsible 

for paying a portion of the daily fee, the daily fee shall only be charged for days that the 

child is in care. 

 

2.5.3. Parent’s Rights  

 As a recipient of child care services, the parent: 

 

2.5.3.1. Retains all legal rights to the child while the child is in care. 

 

2.5.3.2. Makes decisions about choice of child care providers.  Through the child 

care certificate program, the parent shall be allowed to choose among a variety of child 

care options.  (See Chapter 7, Parental Choice Section).  Parents must understand, 

however, that safety of children is a primary concern.  Therefore, providers must offer a 

safe environment and comply with State of West Virginia regulatory statutes.  

Background checks are completed by DHHR to determine if staff, providers or any other 

adults in a caregiver’s home have a history of child/adult abuse or neglect or a criminal 

record.  

 

2.5.3.3. May request a list of substantiated parental complaints on any licensed or 

registered provider from the CCR&R case manager or from the DHHR Child Care Case 

manager.  Lists of substantiated complaints are obtained from FACTS (DAY-0616) and 

shall be limited to standards violations. 

 

2.5.3.4. May appeal any denial and/or termination of child care services. 

 

2.5.3.5. Has the right to have all provider fees disclosed prior to beginning services 

with the provider. 

 

2.5.4. Parent Responsibilities  
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 As a recipient of child care services, the parent has the following responsibilities: 

 

2.5.4.1. Visiting providers before selection and placement of children, as well as 

monitoring care throughout placement. 

 

2.5.4.2. Maintaining continuity of care for children.  Parents shall be informed of 

the detrimental effects of frequent changes in provider and the importance of a consistent 

relationship with adults for a child’s growth and development. 

 

2.5.4.3. Complying with the provider’s rules and procedures, such as picking the 

child up on a timely basis, providing clothing changes, diapers, diaper wipes, etc.  Parents 

should understand the importance of a cooperative relationship with their child’s 

provider. A positive relationship between the adults enhances the child’s experiences in 

care and often eliminates problems such as disruption in the current child care 

arrangement. 

 

2.5.4.4. Discussing with the provider any custody or visitation issues and providing 

names of people allowed to pick up the child(ren). 

 

2.5.4.5. Ensuring that the provider of choice receives a signed Child Care Certificate 

(DAY-0176) or Provider Notification Letter (DAY-0613) prior to accepting children in 

care.  The certificate or notification letter is the provider’s only assurance of payment. 

 

2.5.4.6. Signing children in and out of care on a daily basis.  Parents may allow a 

provider or child care program staff to sign a child in or out, as applicable, if the child is 

transported to or from care by the provider or school buses. 

 

2.5.4.7. Paying the child fee directly to the provider on a schedule negotiated 

between them. 

 

2.5.4.8. Making private arrangements with the provider for payment if care is used 

for reasons and times not needed or not listed on the Certificate. The Agency will not pay 

for child care provided while parents attend medical appointments, go shopping, or 

participate in other non-work or school related activities. 

 

2.5.4.9. Supplying the provider with a completed child health assessment form 

(ECE-CC-3C) on all children who have not reached their 6th birthday and updating forms 

every two years until the child is six (6) years of age.  The provider retains the form in 

the child’s record, except with in-home care where the parent is responsible for 

maintaining child health assessment and immunization records.  When changing 

providers, the parent shall obtain a copy of the medical record for the new provider. 

 

2.5.4.10. Supplying the provider with a completed, notarized Emergency Information 

Form (ECE-CC-10E) to be maintained in the provider’s files. 
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2.5.4.11. Reporting changes in circumstances within five days.  Failure to report 

changes to the agency may result in case closure, repayment of services used for time not 

approved, and/or 30-day penalty closure before services can be reopened.  Income 

changes during the twelve (12)  period will not impact a parent’s continuing eligibility 

for care unless the parent requests a redetermination due to decreases in income that might 

result in reduced fees.  However, the parent(s) shall report the following changes in 

circumstances to the provider and to the agency, as appropriate: 

 

A. Changes in identifying information – household members, address, telephone 

numbers, etc. 

 

B. Changes in family size affecting eligibility– 

 

1. Additions to household size: child, spouse, biological parent of 

children in the home, If the  case manager has reason to believe that the client is 

not accurately reporting family size, the  case manager can request verification: i.e. 

birth certificate, adoption documents, statement of acting in loco parentis for the 

addition of a child, or a copy of marriage certificate for the addition of a spouse. 

 OR 

 

2. Subtractions to household size: child, spouse or biological parent of 

children. If the case manager has reason to believe that the client is not accurately 

reporting family size, the  case manager may request verification by legal 

documentation (i.e. legal separation papers, divorce decree, notice of removal of 

child from home). If no legal documentation is available, two notarized statements 

by persons other than relatives stating that the person is no longer in the home may 

be substituted. 

 

C. Changes in employment – place of employment or days and hours worked. 

 

D. Changes in provider. Clients who use school-based care providers and have a 

designated back up for summer care/days that the school-based program is unavailable 

are not considered to be “changing providers” as the client has already informed the 

case manager that the backup provider becomes the primary care provider when the 

school-based program is unavailable.  

 

E. Loss of employment or termination from educational or training programs. 

 

F. Need for job search time.  Job search time must be requested and approved by 

the agency. 

 

G. When entering changes of circumstances to the FACTS record, a new 

assessment is done only when changes are made to number of people in the family or 

income amounts that result in a reduction of fees.  Recipients must verify income 

amounts.  A new assessment changes the status check tickler to twelve (12)  months 

from the date of the new assessment. 
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2.5.4.12. Renewing the certificate by completing a status check at least 2 weeks 

before the current certificate expires. The CCR&R agency will send a status check to the 

client, by mail, 30 days before the certificate expires. However, it remains the parent’s 

responsibility to obtain and complete a status check to renew the certificate. 

 

2.5.4.13. Submitting changes in circumstances during the status check completed 

every twelve (12)  months after initial application.  A new Certificate will be sent to 

parents every twelve (12) twelve months based on successful completion of the status 

check.  Status checks verify income and continuing need for services.  

 

2.5.5. Consequences of Failure to Comply with Program Responsibilities.  

 

2.5.5.1. If a parent fails to fulfill these responsibilities, the case manager shall give 

a written warning regarding specific problems, noting that subsequent abuses may result 

in a 30-day penalty closure. 

 

2.5.5.2. When a parent continues to use child care services when the need no longer 

exists (e.g., parent has lost job or quit school), the case will be closed, and no further 

payment made.  The Recipient shall repay to the agency any child care monies paid on 

their behalf during the period of ineligibility. 

 

2.5.5.3. If intentional misrepresentation may have occurred and if the estimated 

amount exceeds $1,000, the case will be referred to the Director of Investigation and 

Fraud Management.  If the estimated amount is under $1,000, arrangements shall be made 

for recoupment.  (See Chapter 8, Improper Payments). 

 

2.5.6. Other Services Offered by DHHR:  

The CCR&R case manager should inform the parent of other available DHHR services, 

including Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP), Children’s Health Insurance 

Program (CHIP), Temporary Assistance to Needy Families (TANF), children with special 

health care needs, and other community resources. 
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CHAPTER 3: DETERMINATION OF FAMILY 

ELIGIBILITY 

 

3.0. Family Eligibility 

In order to be eligible for child care services, the family must verify the identity of the head of 

household, meet WV residency requirements, income requirements, and activity requirements. 

A child must meet age and WV residency requirements, need child care for a portion of the day, 

and reside with the head of household applying for services.   

 

3.1. Child Age Requirement 

 

3.1.1. Be under 13 years of age, or  

 

3.1.2. May be 13 years through 17 years of age if: 

 

3.1.2.1. Under court supervision. The family must provide documentation. Once 

documentation is received, the CCR&R case manager shall enable the “Under court 

supervision” box on the child’s General Information Screen in FACTS. Or 

 

3.1.2.2. Meet the definition of special needs child.  (See Chapter 1, Section 2). 

Children presenting a significant delay of at least 25% in one or more areas of 

development, or a six (6) month delay in two or more areas as determined by an early 

intervention program, special education program or other multi-disciplinary team shall 

be eligible for the Special Needs status. The family must provide the CCR&R with a copy 

of the child’s assessment verifying the special needs status. The determination of special 

needs status may be made at the CCR&R Agency level . Once documentation is received, 

the CCR&R case manager shall enable the special needs box on the child screen in the 

Child Care Assessment.  

 

3.1.2.3. In the case where Special Needs status is unlikely to change.  After the 

initial determination of Special Needs status, the CCR&R case manager is not required 

to obtain further verifications for the special needs child over the life of the child care 

case.   

 

3.2. Family Criteria 

The child must reside or live at the same address, with a family meeting the following criteria: 

the family(’s): 

 

3.2.1. Monthly gross income, by family size, falls within the eligibility guidelines in 

Appendix A; OR 

 

3.2.2. Receives TANF benefits (not including TANF benefits received for children only- 

see 3.2.3.) and is participating in: 

 

3.2.2.1. WV Works approved training and education activities. 
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3.2.2.2. Self-initiated training and education activities. 

 

3.2.2.3. Employment; OR 

 

3.2.2.4. Is receiving TANF for children only.  However, families receiving TANF 

for children only must meet monthly gross income by family size.   

 

3.2.3. Two Parent Households 

 If both parents, or a parent and step-parent are in the home, child care services cannot be 

approved for work or training related needs unless both are participating in a qualifying 

activity, such as working or attending school/training. 

 

3.2.4. Joint Custody 

In cases where parents have joint custody or share custody of their children and both parents 

are eligible to receive child care assistance, the parents shall have separate cases and shall 

be entered into FACTS as two (2) families.  Each parent is responsible for paying the fee on 

the days the child is in his or her custody.  The amount of fee paid is determined as follows: 

 

3.2.4.1. When the parents use different providers, each parent must pay the fee 

amount based on his or her income. 

 

3.2.4.2. When the parents use the same provider, each parent shall pay the amount 

of the lowest assessed fee.   

 

A. To ensure that the provider is aware of the correct fee, both Child Care Certificates 

shall reflect the lowest assessed fee. The certificate reflecting the higher fee should be 

manually changed to the lower fee.  

 

B. In order to ensure that the provider receives full payment, the billing specialist shall 

only select and pay on the child name linked to the case with the lowest assessed fee. 

 

C. Case Managers shall not close cases in this situation for inactivity unless both 

parent’s cases reflect no activity for 90 days. 

 

3.2.5. Foster Parent(s) – Participating in Qualifying Activity 

If there are two Foster Parents in the home, both Foster Parents must be participating in a 

qualifying activity, such as working or attending school/training.  For a Foster Parent or 

Parents who need child care, services are available, providing that the foster parents do not 

own assets in excess of $1,000,000. The children placed in their care must be in the legal 

custody of the State of West Virginia, (See Chapter 1, section 2, for definition of foster 

parent). 

 

3.2.5.1. To verify official Foster Status, and to verify that the child is in the legal 

custody of the State of West Virginia, the person must supply the CCR&R case manager 

with a copy of one of the following:  
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A. WV DHHR Medical Care Authorization for Child in Foster Care (SS-FC-40) 

 

B. Foster Care Plan and Placement Agreement. (FSC-0031 or SS-FC-6a) 

  (NOTE: CCR&R Case manager will accept these forms with or without notary seal.) 

 

C. A written statement of custody and/or child placement from an approved WV Child 

Placement Agency.  

 

D. Foster Care parent(s) will not be approved without receipt of verification of child’s 

legal status 

 

3.2.5.2. If the foster parent presents with alternate verification of child status the 

CCR&R case manager will contact a Policy Specialist at the Division of Early Care and 

Education for approval of the document. 

 

3.2.5.3. In FACTS, each foster child or sibling group is a separate family within the 

household and financial eligibility is based on the foster child’s income.  Child income, 

such as child support, shall be entered in FACTS with any fees for service waived.  

Boarding care payments are not considered income for a child. 

 

3.2.5.4. The CCR&R case manager shall designate one of the foster parents as head 

of household but exclude foster family income in determining eligibility.  Foster parents 

must verify employment or attendance in an education or job training program. 

 

3.2.5.5. Foster care parents cannot receive child care subsidy payments or place the 

child in any child care center, family child care facility, or family child care home of any 

type in which they own all or part of the care facility. 

 

3.2.6. Kinship/Relative Caretaker Parent(s) – Participating in Qualifying Activity 

If there are two Kinship/Relative Parents in the home, both Kinship/Relative Parents must 

be participating in a qualifying activity, such as working or attending school/training.  For a 

Kinship/Relative Parent or Parents who need child care, services are available, providing 

that the Kinship/Relative parents do not own assets in excess of $1,000,000. The children 

placed in their care must be in the legal custody of the State of West Virginia, (See Chapter 

1, section 2, for definition of Kinship/Relative parent). 

 

3.2.6.1. To verify official Kinship/Relative, and to verify that the child is in the legal 

custody of the State of West Virginia, the person must supply the CCR&R case manager 

with a copy of one of the following:  

 

A. WV DHHR Medical Care Authorization for Child in Foster Care (SS-FC-40) 

 

B. Foster Care Plan and Placement Agreement. (FSC-0031 or SS-FC-6a) 

(NOTE: CCR&R Case manager will accept these forms with or without notary seal.) 
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C. A written statement of custody and/or child placement from an approved WV Child 

Placement Agency. 

 

D. Kinship/Relative parent(s) will not be approved without receipt of verification of 

child’s legal status. 

 

3.2.6.2. If the Kinship/Relative parent presents with alternate verification of child 

status the CCR&R case manager will contact a Policy Specialist at the Division of Early 

Care and Education for approval of the document. 

 

3.2.6.3. In FACTS, each Kinship/Relative child or sibling group is a separate family 

within the household and financial eligibility is based on the Kinship/Relative child’s 

income.  Child income, such as child support, shall be entered in FACTS with any fees 

for service waived.  Boarding care payments are not considered income for a child. 

3.2.6.4. The CCR&R case manager shall designate one of the Kinship/Relative 

parents as head of household but exclude Kinship/Relative family income in determining 

eligibility.  Kinship/Relative parents must verify employment or attendance in an 

education or job training program. 

3.2.6.5. Kinship/Relative parents cannot receive child care subsidy payments or 

place the child in any child care center, family child care facility, or family child care 

home of any type in which they own all or part of the care facility. 

 

3.3. Child’s Citizenship Requirement 

The child must be a US citizen or a “qualified alien” as defined by the Immigration and 

Nationality Act. Only the citizenship and immigration status of the child, who is the primary 

beneficiary of the child care benefit, is relevant for eligibility purposes.  The child must be a 

U.S. citizen or a qualified alien. All new and renewal child care applicants, including foster 

care, Kinship/Relative caretaker, and TANF Caretaker Relative parents, must verify that 

children receiving child care services are either a U.S. Citizen or a qualified alien. Applicants 

who cannot provide verification of citizenship within 13 days of application are not eligible to 

receive child care services. 

 

3.3.1. A U.S. Citizen is either:  

 

3.3.1.1. A person born in the territory of the United States under the 14th 

Amendment of the United States Constitution; OR 

 

3.3.1.2.  A person who has undergone naturalization. Naturalization is the process 

by which a citizen of a foreign country becomes a United States citizen.  

 

3.3.2. All qualified alien cases must be approved by ECE staff. Case managers must not 

open any child care case for qualified aliens without scanning and emailing the 

documentation of qualified alien status to ECE staff for approval. According to federal 

regulation a qualified alien is: 

 

3.3.2.1. Lawfully admitted for permanent residence. 
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3.3.2.2. Granted asylum. 

 

3.3.2.3. A refugee admitted to the United States. 

 

3.3.2.4. An alien paroled into the United States for a period of at least one year. 

 

3.3.2.5. An alien whose deportation or removal is being withheld. 

 

3.3.2.6. An alien granted conditional entry 

 

3.3.2.7. An alien who is a Cuban Haitian entrant under the Refugee Education 

Assistance Act of 1980. 

 

3.3.2.8. An alien who (or whose child or parent) has been battered or subjected to 

extreme cruelty in the US. 

 

3.3.3. Acceptable Proofs of Citizenship: Citizenship can be verified by submission of any 

acceptable document that proves a U.S. place of birth or documents showing that the person 

is a U.S. citizen. (See Appendix E for a list of acceptable documents.) All documents must 

be either an original or a copy certified by the issuing agency. A copy of the verification 

must be filed in the legal block of the case file and its location noted in FACTS document 

tracking. Verification of citizenship is required only once, unless later evidence makes it 

questionable.   

 

3.4. WV Residency Requirement and Proof of Identity  

Child care applicants must be a resident of the State of West Virginia.  Proof of identity and 

residency is required and shall be established by showing a valid photo ID and proof of 

residency, selected from the following list. If clients do not have proof of identity, they shall be 

given 13 days to provide it.  

 

3.4.1. Acceptable forms of proof of identity: 

 

3.4.1.1.  An original, valid, current, unexpired Certificate of U. S. Citizenship (INS 

Form N-560)with photograph. 

 

3.4.1.2. An original, valid, current, unexpired Certificate of Naturalization (INS 

Form 550, or INS Form 570) with photograph. 

 

3.4.1.3. An original, valid, current West Virginia’s driver’s license, permit, or ID 

card, that is expired less than six (6) months with photograph.  

 

3.4.1.4. An original, valid, unexpired out of state driver’s license. 

 

3.4.1.5. An original, valid, current, unexpired U. S. Military ID Card. 

 



 

Child Care Subsidy Policy        September 1, 2020 

  21 

 

3.4.1.6. U. S. Military Retiree Card or Uniform Service Identification Privilege Card 

(DD 1173) with current photograph. 

 

3.4.1.7. An original, valid, current, unexpired or legally extended United States 

passport with current photograph. 

 

3.4.2. Acceptable Proofs of WV Residency:  

Proofs of WV residency must show the client’s current physical address. If the applicant is 

unable to provide an acceptable proof of residence in their own name, and resides in the 

home of another individual, the applicant may submit a proof of residency by proxy. 

Residence by proxy is a document from the list below, that indicates applicant’s correct 

physical address, accompanied by a written statement by the individual whose name appears 

on the document, verifying the applicant’s residency. New proof of residency must be 

submitted within thirteen days of a change of physical address. Post Office Box addresses, 

cell phone bills, and 911 residence verifications are not accepted as proof of WV residency. 

WV driver’s licenses are not acceptable as proof of residency unless issued after July 1, 

2003. If the mailing address is different than the physical address, this discrepancy must be 

documented in case contacts. The following proofs are acceptable: 

 

3.4.2.1. WV utility bills with service at a WV residence address, not more than 45 

days old. The bill must clearly indicate the physical location of the residence. For 

example: “bill for” or “service at.” 

 

3.4.2.2. WV property tax bill or receipt indicating a WV residence address. 

 

3.4.2.3. WV individual income tax return for the most recent year. 

 

3.4.2.4. WV mortgage documents or homeowner insurance documents for a WV 

residence or proof of WV home ownership with a WV residence address. 

 

3.4.2.5. WV W-2 Form not more than 18 months old with the applicant’s name and 

WV residence address. 

 

3.4.2.6. WV weapons permit with a WV residence address.  

 

3.4.2.7. WV Motor Vehicles registration card that contains a WV residence address.  

 

3.4.2.8. WV Voter’s registration card with a WV residence address. 

 

3.4.2.9. WV school enrollment form if applicant is under age 18 with the applicant’s 

WV residence address.  

 

3.4.2.10. Proof of undergraduate/graduate student of in WV, not metro or out-of-

state, tuition payment verification.  

 

3.4.2.11. WV Homestead tax exemption with a WV residence address. 
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3.4.2.12. Residential rental and/or lease agreement with a WV address. Lease must 

be signed and dated by Lessor and Lessee. 

  

3.4.2.13. Residency by proxy (see section 3.4.2) 

 

3.5 Wage Requirements 

Applicants receiving child care assistance in order to work must earn wages that comply with 

applicable federal and WV state laws. Child care funds cannot be used to support employment 

with employers who do not comply with the Fair Labor Standards Act and West Virginia 

Division of Labor Wage and Hour laws. 

 

3.5.1 Wage Requirement for Eligibility 

Any recipient of child care assistance who is an employee in the private sector must be paid 

at least West Virginia minimum wage for all hours of work performed. If the recipient is not 

making at least the applicable West Virginia minimum wage for all work performed, the 

recipient will not be eligible for child care services, with the following notes:  

 

3.5.1.1 Self Employed Individuals:  

Self-employed child care recipients must make at least the current West Virginia 

minimum wage for each hour of work performed, to be eligible for child care services.  

 

3.5.1.2. Employees that Receive Gratuities 

In West Virginia the minimum wage an employer can pay employees who receive 

gratuities is $6.13 per hour, if the employee makes enough tips to achieve the minimum 

wage of $8.75. This practice is called an “Employer Tip Credit” – tips are credited 

towards the minimum wage requirement. If the employee does not make enough in tips 

to achieve the minimum wage of $8.75 – the employer must pay the employee minimum 

wage. (The “employer tip credit” is disallowed.)  Employees who receive gratuities must 

make at least $8.75 per hour after their wage and tips are combined in order to be eligible 

for child care services.  Employees that receive gratuities, but whose combined hourly 

wages/tips do not equal $8.75 or greater, are not eligible for services. 

 

3.5.2. What is Minimum Wage? 

The West Virginia minimum wage is: $8.75 per hour. Employees who customarily receive 

gratuities must be paid at least $6.13 per hour.  

 

3.5.3. Notes on Federal and West Virginia State Tax Withholding:  

Child care funds cannot be used to support employment with employers who do not comply 

with West Virginia Tax Department or Federal tax withholding laws. 

 

A. West Virginia Income Tax Withholding: West Virginia income tax must be 

withheld from wages paid to resident employees for services performed either within 

or without the state and from wages paid to nonresident employees for services 

performed in the state. This amount must be listed on the pay stub received by the 
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employee. It is possible, depending upon earnings, family size and withholding status 

for this amount to be “$0.” 

 

B. Federal Income Tax Withholding:  

 

1) Non-self-employed: Federal income tax and Federal Insurance 

Contributions Act (FICA) tax (social security, Medicare, etc.) must be withheld 

from wages paid to resident employees for services performed and from wages 

paid. This amount must be listed on the pay stub received by the employee. It is 

possible, depending upon earnings, family size and withholding status for these 

amounts to be “$0.”  

 

2) Self Employed: A tax similar to the FICA tax is imposed on the earnings of 

self-employed individuals, such as independent contractors. This tax is imposed not 

by the Federal Insurance Contributions Act but instead by the Self-Employment 

Contributions Act of 1954. This tax payment should be reflected on Schedule C of 

IRS Form 1040 and calculate the self-employment tax on Schedule SE of IRS Form 

1040. Estimated taxes must be paid quarterly using form 1040-ES if estimated tax 

liability exceeds $1,000. 

 

3.6. Minimum Qualifying Activity Participation Hour Requirement 

 

3.6.1. Working Recipients: Any recipient of child care assistance who is an employee in 

the private or public sector must work at least 20 hours per week. If the recipient is not 

working at least 20 hours per week, the recipient will not be eligible for child care services.  

 

3.6.2. WV Works: WV Works participants must participate in their qualifying Works 

activity at least 20 hours per week or to the maximum extent assigned by the WV WORKS 

Family Support Specialist. WV Works recipients who do not meet this requirement are not 

eligible for child care services.  

 

3.6.3. Job Training/Educational Activities: 

 

3.6.3.1. Job training participants must participate in their qualifying activity to the 

maximum extent possible as assigned by the job training program or employer. Recipients 

participating in job training activities less than 20 hours per week will not be eligible for 

child care services. 

 

3.6.3.2.  High School Students: Recipients enrolled in high school are exempt from 

the minimum activity hour requirement. 

 

3.6.4. Post-Secondary Education Students: Recipients enrolled in post-secondary 

educational activities must meet the minimum credit hour requirement in order to be eligible 

for services: 

 

3.6.4.1.  Undergraduate Students: 
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A. Fall/Spring –  

1) A minimum of 12 credit hours, or  

2) A minimum of 6 credit hours, plus at least 15 hours of employment, job 

 training or additional WV Works activities. 

 

B. Each Summer Session –  

1) A minimum of 6 credit hours, or  

2) A minimum of 3 credit hours, plus at least 15 hours of employment, job 

 training or additional WV Works activities. 

 

3.6.4.2.  Graduate Students: 

 

A. Fall/Spring –  

1) A minimum of 9 credit hours, or  

2) A minimum of 3 credit hours, plus at least 15 hours of employment, job 

training or additional WV Works activities. 

B. Each Summer Session –  

1) A minimum of 6 credit hours, or  

2) A minimum of 3 credit hours, plus at least 15 hours of employment, job 

training or additional WV Works activities. 

 

3.6.4.3. Correspondence and Web-based Only Courses – Students enrolled only 

in web-based courses are not eligible for child care. Students enrolled in a mixture of in-

person and web-based courses will be eligible for care if they meet the above credit hour 

requirements. Students enrolled in correspondence only courses are not eligible for 

services. 

 

3.6.5. CPS Safety/Treatment Plan – Recipients in this category are exempt from the 

minimum hour requirement. 
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CHAPTER 4: DETERMINATION OF NEED FOR CHILD 

CARE 

 

4.0. Need for Child Care 

To be eligible for child care assistance, families must demonstrate a need for care. In general, 

that means that the head of household must be involved in a qualifying activity that prevents 

the parent from providing care and supervision of the children in the household during the time 

the parent is participating in the activity. If there are two parents in the home, both must be 

involved in a qualifying activity.  

  

It is possible for a parent to meet all other eligibility requirements, but not demonstrate a need 

for care. For example, if the household consists of a single father and his two school age 

children, and he only participates in his qualifying activity during the times the children are in 

school, the family does not demonstrate a need for care. 

 

Child care recipients who do not use child care assistance for an extended period no longer 

demonstrate an established need for child care assistance and therefore may not remain an active 

case.  (See procedures in Chapter 6, Section 6.1.4). 

 

4.1. Activity: Employment in the Private or Public Sector 

Income-eligible parents who are working in the private or public sector (not self-employment) 

and who have children who need care are considered to need child care.  

 

4.1.1. Verifications Required. 

Employment must be verified by the client submission of: 

 

4.1.1.1. One month’s worth of check stubs, not older than 45 days, OR 

 

4.1.1.2. The New Employment Verification Form (ECE-CC-1B) in the case of new 

employment situations in which the applicant has not yet received pay: Clients using the 

ECE-CC-1B to verify employment must submit one month’s worth of check stubs to the 

agency as soon as they are received. Failure to supply follow up check stubs will result 

in case closure. 

 

4.1.2. Night Time Employment. 

Parents who are working at night may be approved for a maximum of eight additional hours 

of sleep time.  However, children shall not remain in care longer than 18 hours within a 24-

hour period.  

 

4.1.3. Extended Work Shift.  

An Extended Work Shift is defined as parents whose work shifts are between 18 and 72 

continuous hours in a one-week span. This care is intended for those who are employed by 

public service type agencies such as fire departments, law enforcement, emergency response, 

health care, human services and mental health services.  It is not intended to be used as 



 

Child Care Subsidy Policy        September 1, 2020 

  26 

 

respite care or in place of foster care.  These parents may receive child care services 

provided:  

 

4.1.3.1. Verification is provided from the employer of the length of the work shift.  

 

4.1.3.2. Child care is not used as a substitute for residential care if the work is 

performed as part of the parent’s residential rehabilitation program or other similar 

treatment program. 

  

4.1.3.3. The provider, if regulated under West Virginia state law, obtains a waiver 

for the care of the parent’s child(ren) beyond the number of hours permitted by regulation.  

 

4.1.3.4. The Child Care Resource and Referral agency supervisor has reviewed and 

approves the application.  

 

4.1.3.5. This care is intended for those who are employed by public service type 

agencies such as fire departments, law enforcement, emergency response, health care, 

human services and mental health services.  It is not intended to be used as respite care 

or in place of foster care. 

 

4.1.4. Teleworking  

Teleworking is defined as work that occurs at home during scheduled business hours rather 

than commuting to an office or employer location on a daily basis. The employer has 

approved a work area in the home that is free of interruptions and contains the necessary 

equipment needed to perform assigned tasks. Teleworking is intended to be used as a self-

employment location.  These parents may receive child care services provided the 

employer has approved the parent for teleworking or the parent has entered into a telework 

contract with the employer. 

 

4.1.4.1. The parent must provide a written statement from the employer indicating the days 

and hours approved by teleworking. OR 

 

4.1.4.2. The parent must provide a copy of a telework contract signed by the employer 

indicating the days and hours telework is approved.  

 

4.2. Activity: Job Search 

Child care may be provided for up to three months for current recipients or new applicants who 

have lost employment or who have completed school and are looking for work.  Recipients who 

meet eligibility requirements and request job search time shall be granted: 

 One job search per six-month period. 

 

4.2.1. Job search time will be approved for job search activity 8 hours per day, 5 days per 

week, during the normal business hours for the selected job site.   

 

4.2.2. Job Search will begin on the day immediately following: the last date of previous 

employment, or the last date of previous qualifying activity. 
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4.3. Activity: Self-Employment. 

The following definitions shall apply to child care policies regarding self-employment: 

 

4.3.1. Livelihood: means of support or survival in which an individual engages to meet 

daily living expenses. 

 

4.3.2. Hobby: an activity done for relaxation, and not for the purpose of meeting the basic 

daily living expenses of the individual.  Activities generating income below the income tax 

liability limit of $5000.00 per year shall be considered a hobby. 

 

4.3.3. Self-Employment – Home-based: Self-employment in which the primary function 

of the business is performed in the home.  Examples: a beautician with a salon in the garage, 

a family auto repair business operated in a building next to the family’s residence. 

 

4.3.4. Self-Employment – other: Self-employment in which the primary function of the 

business is performed at a location other than the family’s home.  Example: plumber, lawn 

care business, construction worker, handy man, hairstylist who rents a booth.  These 

individuals may use a portion of their home as a home office to conduct phone business or 

accounting but cannot claim the home office as an allowable deduction since the primary 

function of their work occurs elsewhere. 

 

4.3.5. Types of Self-Employment: 

 

4.3.5.1 Sole Proprietorship: A sole proprietorship is a business run by an individual. 

The owner is the business; or the owner has all the profits and losses of the business. The 

owner also has all the control and all the liability from the business operations. Business 

taxes are paid by the owner through his or her personal income tax return. 

  

A. An individual who is the owner of a business type other than a Sole Proprietorship 

is not eligible for Child Care Subsidy.   

 

B. An individual who receives regular/irregular income or salary from any business 

type other than a Sole Proprietorship and owns any portion of that business, is not 

eligible for Child Care Subsidy. 

 

C. An individual participating as a partner of any business is not eligible for child care 

subsidy.  

 

4.3.6. Criteria for Approval of Self-Employment Activity. 

Child care may be approved for parents who are self-employed if the following conditions 

are met: 

 

4.3.6.1. The family depends upon the self-employment activity for their livelihood, 

and the time and effort put into the activity indicate intent to make a profit.  Passive or 
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casual activities that can be more appropriately qualified as “hobbies” or volunteer work 

do not meet this criterion. 

 

4.3.6.2. Parents must participate in self-employment activity a minimum average of 

20 hours per week and show an income of at least minimum wage per hour.  If both 

parents are self-employed, jointly or separately, the minimum work hour/minimum wage 

requirement applies to each.   

 

4.3.6.3. At the time of application, Self Employed individuals must provide a copy 

of their current State of West Virginia Business Registration, copy of consultant contract 

for independent sales, and a copy of any other required trade licenses or certifications.  

Check the State of West Virginia Secretary of State web site for information on what 

types of self-employment require a trade license:  

    www.wvsos.com/business/licensing/checklicensing.htm.   

 

4.3.6.4. Self Employed individuals must provide a complete copy of their current 

tax return by April 30 of each year, including the 1040 form, 1040 Schedule C, (Profit or 

Loss from Business), 1040 Schedule SE, (Self-Employment tax,) and any other tax forms 

as required per type of self-employment.  (Refer to the chart, Section 4.3.7) Under no 

circumstances will an extension for submission of tax returns be granted, even if the client 

has been granted an extension to file by the IRS. Clients granted an extension to file by 

the IRS will be closed for failure to submit tax returns by the April 30th deadline. 

 

4.3.6.5. Special Notes on Home-based Self-Employment: (see definitions for home-

based self-employment business, 4.3.3.).  Most people choose self-employment for the 

opportunity to have flexibility in their work schedules and incomes.  As such, child care 

services for self-employed home-based businesses will only be approved for the 

following situations: 

 

A. The type of work performed entails a clear and present danger to the child (for 

example, an auto repair business or metal working shop) and/or  

 

B. The primary type of work performed consists of face to face meetings/appointments 

with clients (for example, a beautician or masseuse) which prevent direct supervision 

of children.  

 

C. The applicants’ children must be age 6 or under, or up to age 13 if the child is 

diagnosed with any Special Needs.  

  

http://www.wvsos.com/business/licensing/checklicensing.htm
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4.3.7.  Documents Required 

 

Type Definition Tax Forms 

Required 

Calculating Income 

Sole Proprietorship Individual owns and 

operates trade or 

business alone.  All 

profit and loss 

belong to the 

individual 

Form 1040  

Schedule C 

Schedule SE (if 

required by the IRS) 

Profit from a 

business is calculated 

as: 

Gross receipts minus 

allowable expenses 

as defined by the WV 

Child Care Policy 

5.2.2.2 

 

4.4. Activity: WV WORKS. 

Children of work-eligible parent(s) who receive TANF benefits and who are participating in an 

approved work activity under WV WORKS are considered in need of child care.  The status of 

WV Works parents must be verified by the WV Works Family Support Specialist. Verification 

of status must be no older than 45 days. CCR&R case managers must document the activity 

schedule and method of verification in case contacts. 

 

4.4.1. WV WORKS Approved Work Activities. 

WV Works applicants must verify that they are participating in an approved work activity. 

CCR&R case managers may also communicate directly with WV Works staff when 

agreements exist between both agencies to share information. Approved work activities 

include:  

 

4.4.1.1. Unsubsidized employment (fully employed in the private sector with no 

DHHR subsidy to employer or employee);  

 

4.4.1.2. Subsidized private or public-sector employment (DHHR subsidizes or 

funds all or a portion of the employee’s salary.) 

 

4.4.1.3. Participation in the Joint Opportunities for Independence (JOIN) Program, 

a work experience and skill acquisition program primarily operated by private sector 

providers.  Placements are limited to 32 hours per week with an additional requirement 

of 6 hours weekly in job search. 

 

4.4.1.4. Job Readiness/Job Search that provides classroom training and actual job 

search for up to 6 weeks (no more than 4 consecutive weeks), with minimum participation 

of 120 hours per month. 

 

4.4.1.5. Attendance at secondary school or course of study leading to GED in the 

case of a teen recipient who has not completed secondary school. 
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4.4.1.6. Adult basic education for parents over the age of 20 who do not have a high 

school diploma or GED.  Approved classes include English as a Second Language, 

literacy and remedial education classes. 

 

4.4.1.7. Post-secondary education activities such as work study, clinicals, 

practicums and student teaching activities. 

 

4.4.1.8. Vocational education training, if courses provide employment skills (not to 

exceed 12 months for any one individual.) 

 

4.4.1.9. On-the-Job Training or the Employer Incentive Program (EIP), a subsidized 

training and employment program. 

 

4.4.1.10. A participant in the Community Work Experience Program (CWEP), a 

work experience activity operated in public and non-profit agencies; or 

 

4.4.1.11. A participant in Community and Personal Development Services including 

participation in parenting activities, structured mentoring activities, financial, nutritional, 

emotional, and other personal development counseling, volunteer work with local 

community-based agencies and sheltered workshops. 

 

4.4.2. WV WORKS Work-Eligible Requirement. 

There are circumstances in which only one parent in a two-parent home is participating in a 

WV Works activity, but the family may still need and qualify for child care assistance. In 

order to receive child care as a WV Works participant, at least one parent in the home must 

be determined “work-eligible” by a WV WORKS Family Support Specialist and 

participating in an approved activity. The WV Works worker should supply information 

regarding each parent’s work-eligible status and activity information before child care can 

be approved. The other parent in the home may be exempt from the work requirement 

because they are receiving SSI. However, these individuals may elect to be “work eligible.” 

If they elect work eligibility, they must also participate in an approved activity. 

 

4.4.3. WV WORKS: Two Parent Households 

 

4.4.3.1. If both parents are “work eligible,” child care time can be approved for the 

parents to participate in their required WV Works Activities. 

 

4.4.3.2. If one parent in a two-parent home is not “work eligible” and verification 

of such status is supplied by WV Works, child care can be approved for the “work 

eligible” parent to participate in the required WV Works Activity, only if  

 

A. The family provides a doctor’s statement that explains why the work-ineligible 

parent’s condition prevents care and supervision of children.  

 

B. The children in need of care are under eight years of age. 
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4.4.4. Care may be continued for former WV Works participants as long as the condition 

exists or until children reach eight years of age. 

 

4.4.5. WV Works: Minimum Hours of Participation   

Work Eligible parents must participate in their approved activity a minimum of 5 hours per 

week, or 20 hours per month.  

 

4.4.6. WV Works; Minimum Wage Requirement 

Self-employed work eligible parents must meet the minimum wage requirement (see 

Chapter 3, Section ) in order to count self-employment as their activity. WV Works parents 

claiming self-employment must enroll in another activity if their income from their self-

employment activity does not meet minimum wage requirements. In addition, self-employed 

WV Works parents must meet all other child care policy self-employment requirements. 

 

4.5. Activity: Job Training/Education. 

Children of parents who verify attendance at job training and educational programs demonstrate 

a need for child care.  Job training/education is defined as on-the-job training, vocational 

training, skill training, secondary school programs, post-secondary schools, colleges and 

universities.  Parents shall be considered eligible for care with the following clarifications:  

 

4.5.1.  Reasonable Study Time.   

 When parents are involved in educational activities or training requiring non-classroom study, 

reasonable study/research periods are allowed.   

 

4.5.1.1. Generally, 1 hour of study time per hour of classroom activity is 

appropriate. 

  

4.5.1.2. When possible, study periods shall be arranged between classes or 

immediately following the last class of the day in order to provide a consistent and 

uninterrupted routine for the child(ren) in care.  Parents may participate in “Study 

Groups” if the group’s meetings fall within study time already granted by the case 

manager. 

 

4.5.1.3. When granting study time, the case manager should consider the: 

 

A. Complexity of the client’s classes. 

 

B. Amount of time in between classes. 

 

C. Ages of the client’s children. 

 

D. Type of Program/Degree being pursued by the client and whether class work is 

completed during class time (such as with trade schools) or if the student is expected 

to complete class work outside of class. 

 

4.5.2. Scholarship Requirements. 
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Child care can also be granted for educational activities required to maintain scholarship 

eligibility, provided that participation in the required activity prevents direct supervision of 

children. 

           

A. Example 1: A student attending college on a volleyball scholarship would be unable 

to supervise their children while attending mandatory practices and games. Child care 

time can be granted to participate in this activity. 

 

B. Example 2: A student attending college on an educational scholarship is required 

to walk for 45 minutes, three times per week as a course requirement. Child care cannot 

be approved for this activity since the parent could take the children with along and 

complete the walk requirement.  

 

4.5.3. Satisfactory Progress and Attendance.  

 

4.5.3.1. Adult parents who attend educational activities or training must provide 

documentation of satisfactory progress and attendance.  For college students, this is 

demonstrated by maintaining a 2.0 grade point average. 

   

4.5.3.2. Students who fail to maintain 2.0 grade point average, or whose grade report 

reflects withdrawals and/or incompletes in more than half of the semester’s classes shall 

be given an improvement period for one semester upon provision of a letter from the 

college confirming the student continues to attend classes. 

 

4.5.3.3. A copy of the student’s grades will document compliance.  Other students 

will need to submit statements from the educational or training facility which document 

that attendance and progress are satisfactory.  

 

4.5.3.4.  Failure to Improve - If the student fails to meet the 2.0 requirement within 

the improvement period, the case shall be closed for one regular semester, if the only 

qualifying activity is education. Clients participating in qualifying activities shall have 

their hours and days on the certificates reduced to cover only the qualifying activity.  

 

Failed Improvement 

Period 

Closed Semester 

Fall Spring 

Spring All Summer Sessions 

Summer sessions Fall 

 

4.5.3.4. Applicants whose cases are closed for failure to submit documentation of 

satisfactory progress must submit the required documentation when reapplying for 

services if the qualifying activity is still Job Training/Education. 

 

4.5.3.6.  Minor parents attending high school are exempt from the satisfactory 

progress requirement for continued approval; however, they must meet the satisfactory 

attendance requirement. 
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4.5.4. Reinstatement After Closure for Failure to Improve  

 

4.5.4.1. When a client wishes to receive child care for school after a closed semester, 

the client must submit proof of re-acceptance into the chosen program. 

  

4.5.4.2. The case can be reopened, or hours expanded on the existing certificate to 

cover the school activity once proof of re-acceptance is submitted.  

 

4.5.4.3. Failure to maintain satisfactory progress and attendance again will result in 

suspension of child care for school activities for a period of one calendar year.  

  

4.5.4.4.  Third and subsequent suspensions will be for a period of two calendar years 

each. 

 

4.5.5. Petition for Reinstatement after a Second Suspension Reinstatement after a second 

or subsequent suspension is only by written petition to the Division of Early Care and 

Education. The petition must be in writing and provide evidence that the student can meet 

the satisfactory progress and attendance requirements.  The written petition for reinstatement 

must be submitted at least 30 days prior to the beginning of the semester for which 

reinstatement is sought. 

 

4.5.6. Home Schooled Minor Parents. 

Parents who are being Home Schooled may be approved for care when the home-schooling 

teacher provides the parent with a schedule of study verifying the need for care and the days 

and hours that care is needed. 

  

4.6. Supportive Services for Child Protective Services Recipients. 

Children residing with parents that are unable to provide adequate care or supervision and 

whose parents need support and assistance with child care responsibilities to prevent or alleviate 

child abuse or neglect. Children in need of care must continue to reside in the home of the parent 

for whom the safety or treatment plan is written. Children who have been removed from the 

home of the parent for whom the plan is written and placed in foster care, Kinship/Relative 

care, TANF Caretaker Relative or other guardianship are not eligible for CPS related child care.  

 

4.6.1. Child care services shall not be viewed as an entitlement for recipients of child 

protective services.  Rather, it is a supportive service for recipients of child protective 

services to be used in conjunction with other needed services, such as parent education or 

counseling. 

 

4.6.2. Child protective services recipients shall be allowed to exercise their choice of child 

care providers, unless the CPS or the child care case manager determines it is not in the best 

interests of the child. 

 

4.6.3. Since the provision of child care in this circumstance shall be coordinated with 

protective services staff to ensure that care is necessary and appropriate, it must be 
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component of the CPS Safety Plan (DDE CPS-0149), CPS Treatment Plan (DDE CPS-0154) 

or the WV Safety First Plan. 

 

4.6.4. For documentation, the CPS worker must supply the CCR&R child care case 

manager with the safety or treatment plan that contains the goal associated with the need for 

child care before the CCR&R case manager issues a Certificate. The safety plan must 

document the days and hours that child care is needed. 

 

4.6.5. The CCR&R case manager must receive a copy of the safety plan prior to issuing 

a Child Care Certificate when completing twelve (12)  month status checks. 

 

4.6.6. For families whose income falls within the income eligibility guidelines, the 

applicable fee shall be charged unless waived in the Safety or Treatment Plan.  The plan 

shall state the reason for including the waiver. 

 

4.6.7. For families whose income exceeds the eligibility guidelines, income and fees may 

be waived only if child care is a component of the Safety Plan designed to prevent a child’s 

removal from the biological/adoptive parent’s home. If the child has already been placed 

outside the biological/adoptive parent’s home (i.e. caretaker relative’s home), this waiver is 

not applicable. 

 

4.7. Exceptions to Eligibility: Policy Exceptions 

Policy exceptions shall be reviewed by the CCR&R supervisor for approval and then forwarded 

to the Division of Early Care and Education via FACTS.  (See Chapter 6, Section 5, Exception 

to Eligibility Policy for further exception requirements). 

 

4.7.1. Family exceeds income guidelines at the end of a Job Search period:  Although 

the situation does not occur frequently, there may be occasions when a family will submit 

verification of household income, after a change in qualifying activity, such as the end of a 

Job Search period, that exceeds income guidelines based upon the current Sliding Fee Scale 

at 185% of the Federal Poverty Level (FPL).  However, when the family’s household income 

exceeds the State’s current income guidelines, based on 185% of the FPL, but falls under 

85% of the current State Median Income (SMI) the State is required to provide a graduated 

phase out of assistance. 

   

4.7.1.1 When the situation occurs as described above, the Child Care Resource and 

Referral Agency (CCR&R) will further assess the household income based upon the 

current SMI.  If the household income falls below 85% of the SMI, the CCR&R Case 

Manager must enter an “Over Income Policy Exception” in FACTS. The “Over Income 

Policy Exception” can be found on the same FACTS screen with the “Medical Policy 

Exception.”  Upon approval of the “Over Income Policy Exception”, the Division of Early 

Care and Education will assist the Case Manager with calculating the Child Care Fee. 

 

4.7.2. Illness:  In certain extraordinary situations child care may be approved for children 

under the age of six years in the following circumstances: a family member's release from 

hospitalization; a recent determination of a temporary or permanent disability of a parent; 
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physician ordered bed rest during pregnancy; medical treatment for a terminal illness. 

Exceptions are granted in order to give the family time to prepare and plan for coping with 

the illness and the effects of treatment and finding alternate child care 

arrangements/assistance. 

 

4.7.2.1 Hospitalization, Surgery, and Post Hospitalization/Surgery Recovery 

For currently active cases, child care may be provided when a family member is 

hospitalized, requires in or out-patient surgery, and/or released from the hospital.  In cases 

of hospitalization/surgery recovery (for hospital admissions exceeding 48 continuous 

hours), documentation shall include, but not be limited to: 

 

A. A discharge plan and diagnosis and a treatment plan if one is developed to 

follow up the discharge plan. 

 

B. The anticipated length of time for recovery. 

 

C. The documentation shall be related to the parent’s illness or the illness of a 

sibling for which hospitalization was required. 

 

D. The approval period is limited to six weeks.  If a longer recovery period is 

indicated by the physician in which minimal care and supervision of a child cannot be 

provided, the approval may be for a period not to exceed six months. 

 

E. Post hospitalization/surgery recovery approvals will be considered only for an 

active child care case and will not be considered for a new application or intake. 

 

4.7.2.2    Recent Determination of Temporary or Permanent Disability.  

A disability exception approval will not exceed 6 months.  This category of policy 

exception is for one time only per child care case or same family.  The exception is 

granted in order to give the family time to prepare and plan for coping with the disability 

and finding alternate child care arrangements/assistance in cases of newly determined 

temporary or permanent disability of the parent, the documentation shall include, but not 

be limited to: 

 

A. An official disability determination by a state or federal agency with a 

determination date that is within three months of the child care application or 

redetermination. 

 

B. A treatment plan and the medical statement by a licensed physician which describes 

how this condition prevents the care of children. 

  

C. A disability exception approval will not exceed 6 months. 

 

4.7.2.3 Bed Rest during Pregnancy. 

If a physician orders bed rest during pregnancy, the approval period will not exceed the 

date of delivery, nor can the approval be for 24-hour care. 
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4.7.2.4. Medical Treatment for a Terminal Illness.   

Exceptions may be approved for a terminally ill patient undergoing treatment without a 

previous hospitalization, provided there is a physician’s statement describing the medical 

condition and that the condition and/or treatment prevents the care and supervision of 

children.  The approval period will not exceed 6 months.  This category of policy 

exception is for one time only per child care case or family. Child care may be approved 

if the illness or condition prevents the parent(s) from providing minimal care and 

supervision of the child(ren).  A signed and dated medical statement from a licensed 

physician must describe how medical condition prevents child care. 

  

For currently active cases, child care may be provided when a family member is 

hospitalized, requires in or out-patient surgery, and/or released from the hospital.  In cases 

of hospitalization/surgery recovery (for hospital admissions exceeding 48 continuous 

hours), documentation shall include, but not be limited to: 

 

A. A discharge plan and diagnosis and a treatment plan if one is developed to follow 

up the discharge plan. 

 

B. The anticipated length of time for recovery. 

 

C. The documentation shall be related to the parent’s illness or the illness of a sibling 

for which hospitalization was required. 

 

D. The approval period is limited to six weeks.  If a longer recovery period is indicated 

by the physician in which minimal care and supervision of a child cannot be provided, 

the approval may be for a period not to exceed six months. 

 

E. Post hospitalization/surgery recovery approvals will be considered only for an 

active child care case and will not be considered for a new application or intake. 

 

 

4.8.   Interim Care.  

For periods in which the client is unable to participate in their qualifying activity for any of the 

reasons listed in 4.10.1, interim child care may be approved and paid under the guidelines in 

this section.  

 

4.8.1. Allowable interim care reasons: 

 

4.8.1.1. Temporary employment shut downs (less than 45 days). Example: A factory 

shuts down every July for two weeks to do maintenance. The client is unable to attend 

work because the factory is closed, and the period of temporary shutdown (less than 45 

days) is too short to warrant participation in a different qualifying activity. 

 

4.8.1.2. Breaks of no more than 45 days between training courses or school sessions. 

Examples: 
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A. Spring Break. 

 

B. Semester Breaks between terms, i.e. between winter and spring terms or 

between spring and summer terms. 

 

C. Breaks between different sessions of trade instruction. 

 

D. Jury Duty: Parents must submit documentation of jury summons. 

 

4.8.2. Interim care cannot be approved for: 

 

4.8.2.1. Illness 

 

4.8.2.2. Extended absences that do not coincide with breaks in school or 

employment. 

 

4.8.2.3. Absences due to extreme weather conditions.  

 

4.8.2.4. Breaks of more than 45 days. For example, interim care cannot be approved 

for the summer break between spring and fall sessions. Clients wishing to use care 

between breaks of more than 45 days must participate in a qualifying activity. (See 

Chapter 3 for examples of a qualifying activity.) 

 

4.8.3. Interim care is not to exceed the following: 

 

4.8.3.1. The lesser of 15 days per request or the total number of days needed to cover 

the break. 

 

4.8.3.2. The number of possible attendance days in the period for which it is granted. 

For instance, if the provider is only open Monday through Friday, the provider cannot bill 

and receive payment for weekend days in which the child could not have been in 

attendance. 

 

4.8.3.3. Parents on jury duty may request more than 15 days of interim care if they 

provide documentation that they are still serving. 

 

4.8.4. Attendance during the interim period will be at the parent’s discretion. However, 

parents must advise providers of their intention to attend or not attend so that providers can 

make staffing arrangements as necessary. 

 

4.9. Over Night Care.  

The child may occasionally need overnight care, e.g. when parents are briefly hospitalized or 

need to attend short term training sessions out of town. Payment may be made in this type of 

situation for a family already receiving child care services. However, a parent may not be 

approved for child care services to specifically meet the need for 24-hour care.  When a parent 
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needs services for 24-hour residential care only, the CCR&R case manager should explore other 

appropriate programs. 

 

4.10. Need for Care and School Age Children.  

 It is a violation of Federal Regulations to pay for child care during the time that a child could 

attend public school. However, payments can be made for children who are unable to attend 

school for short periods of time due to illness, virtual learning as a result of a public health 

crisis, or suspension, or children who have been deemed unready for kindergarten.  
  

4.10.1. Parents of children who are enrolled in a virtual learning program resulting from a 

public health crisis must  provide documentation from the school board of education that 

their child is enrolled in a school administered virtual learning program.  

  

4.10.2. Parents of children deemed unready for kindergarten should be encouraged to seek 

placement in Pre-K if room is available. The parent must provide documentation from the 

school board that their child has been deemed unready for kindergarten.  

  

4.10.3. The CCR&R case manager shall indicate, in the Narrative section of the WV Child 

Care Certificate the name of the child(ren) and that they are a school aged virtual 

learner.  The CCR&R case manager shall file the documentation this in the Correspondence 

Section of the Client file and document in FACTS contacts. 

 

4.11 AmeriCorps and Vista:  

Applicants who are AmeriCorps or Vista participants are not eligible for WV child care 

assistance. Participants in these programs have their own child care assistance fund, 

administered by:  

GAP Solutions Inc. Please refer these applicants to the website: 

 

https://www.americorpschildcare.com/ 

 
“AmeriCorps Child Care Benefits Program 

The AmeriCorps Child Care Benefit Program is available for qualified, active, 

full-time AmeriCorps State and National, VISTA, NCCC, and FEMA Corps 

Members who need the benefit to serve; eligibility requirements are listed below 

for each AmeriCorps program. Child care benefits are paid directly to qualified 

child care providers for all or of part of the member’s child care costs during 

their active time of service with AmeriCorps; child care benefit payments cannot 

be paid directly to AmeriCorps members. Child care benefits may not exceed 

applicable payment rates as established in the state in which the child care is 

provided under the Child Care and Development Block Grant Act of 1990 (42 

U.S.C. 9858c(4)(A)).” 

  

https://www.americorpschildcare.com/
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CHAPTER 5: FINANCIAL ELIGIBILITY FOR CHILD 

CARE SERVICES 

 

5.0 Overview 

To determine the financial eligibility of applicants for or recipients of child care, it is necessary 

to determine: 

 

A. The size of the family. 

 

B. The amount and source of monthly gross income received by all members of the 

family and calculate the monthly gross income for the family. 

 

C. If the monthly gross income of the applicant’s family falls below the maximum 

allowable income by comparing the family’s monthly gross income to the amount 

listed in the chart contained in Appendix A as appropriate for the family size.  Families 

whose income falls at or below the appropriate level are eligible. 

 

D. If the family’s assets exceed the asset cap of $1,000,000. All families, including 

foster parents Kinship/Relatives, and TANF Caretaker Relatives, who own assets in 

excess of $1,000,000 will not be eligible for child care assistance. Assets include 

checking and savings accounts, retirement accounts, stocks, bonds and other financial 

instruments, trust funds, burial plots, vehicles, real estate and other property, personal 

collections, livestock, business equipment and property, and jewelry. 

 

E. The CCR&R case manager shall use the following general procedures and 

guidelines to calculate family size, verify monthly gross income, and determine types 

of income to count or exclude to establish eligibility for child care.  See Appendix A 

for income eligibility guidelines. 

 

5.1.  Family Size. 

A family is defined as one or more adults and children, if any, related by blood or law and 

residing in the same household (See Chapter 1, Definitions Section), with the following 

exceptions and interpretations: 

 

5.1.1. Adults Other than Spouses in the Household. 

Adults other than spouses are considered separate families even if related in some manner 

other than as spouses.  (In FACTS, these individuals are listed as Non-participating adults.) 

 

5.1.2. Multi-Generational Households 

Although three generations of a family may live in one household, they shall be considered 

as separate families, even if the person representing the middle generation is under 18 years 

of age, as long as the biological parent retains legal custody of the child.  In cases where the 

parent retains legal custody, the grandparents will not be counted as members of the same 

family with the parent and child.  (Grandparents are listed as Non-Participating Adults in 

FACTS). In cases where the legal custody of the child rests with the grandparents, and the 
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biological parent is in the household, both biological and legal guardians shall be counted as 

participating members of the household. 

 

5.1.3. Adult Children in the Household. 

An adult child (age 18 or older) residing with his/her parents is not a member of his/her 

parents’ family. (This person is listed as a Non-Participating Adult in FACTS). 

 

5.1.4. Head of Household  

The head of household may be a natural parent, step parent, or an individual acting in loco 

parentis, such as a relative or non-relative who has been granted custody or guardianship by 

a court of law or who has assumed full physical custody and responsibility for a child, with 

or without legal custody. 

 

5.1.5. Adoptive Children 

Children legally adopted are treated the same as natural children. 

 

5.1.6. Multiple Family Households  

In situations where adults, who are not spouses, reside together, any children in the 

household will be considered part of the family of the parent(s).   

 

 Example:  Mr. and Mrs. X and their two children live in a household with Mrs. X’s sister 

(Y) and her one child.  Mr. and Mrs. X and their two children constitute one family while 

Mrs. Y and her child constitute a second family. 

 

5.1.7. Unmarried Parents 

Although West Virginia does not recognize common law marriage, a couple living together 

as spouses will be considered members of the same family if they are both biological, 

adoptive, or foster parents of a child or children living in the household.  However, if a 

couple resides together and each have a child of their own and share no children in common, 

they are two separate families and entered into FACTS as such. 

 

5.1.8. Family Members Expected to Return 

A family member who is away from the family residence for reasons of employment, 

education, training, shared custody or military deployment and who returns regularly, or is 

expected to return, shall be considered as a member of the household.   

 

 Example 1: Mr. and Mrs. A reside in Sutton with their two children.  Mr. A is employed in 

New York City and maintains an apartment there but returns home on the average of once a 

month. Mr. A would be considered a member of the same household as his wife and children 

and the family would consist of Mr. A, Mrs. A and the two children. 

 

Example 2: Sally and Jeff are the children of Mr. X and Mrs. X, who are divorced.  Sally 

and Jeff live in New York with Mr. X during the week and with Mrs. X on the weekends 

and for two weeks in the summer.  Mrs. X receives child care services for her youngest child 

Ann but does not work weekends and does not need child care for Sally and Jeff.  However, 

since they return regularly to the household, Sally and Jeff are considered members of the 
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household for purposes of calculating family size. Mrs. X’s family size is 4, consisting of 

Mrs., her child Ann, and Sally and Jeff. 

 

5.1.9. Biological Parents Residing on the Same Premises. 

Biological parents residing on the same premises shall be considered members of the same 

household. Premises are defined as a building, group of buildings and/or contiguous parcels 

of land under the control of a single owner, who may rent out portions of the premises. For 

example: if the biological mother resides with a grandparent, and the grandparent rents a 

garage apartment on the premises to the biological father of the child, both the mother and 

the father shall be considered a single household, since they reside on the same premises. 

Biological parents residing on the same premises per this definition can apply for Family 

Member Status Waiver if they can prove separate residences by supplying any of the 

documents listed in 3.4.2 for each parent. Statements signed by other family members will 

not suffice for this purpose. 

 

5.2. Monthly Gross Income. 

Monthly gross income is the total amount of money, prior to deductions, received or earned 

monthly by the members of the family.  Income received on other than a monthly basis must be 

converted to a monthly income. 

 

5.2.1. Employment Income Considered in Determining Eligibility.   

 

5.2.1.1. Countable Employment Income. 

The amount considered as income is earnings before deductions are made for taxes, 

bonds, pensions, union dues or any similar type of deductions. Total money earnings 

received for work performed as an employee including: 

 

A. Wages. 

 

B. Salary. 

 

C. Commissions. 

 

D. Tips. 

 

E. Piece rate payment, and  

 

F. Cash bonuses. 

 

G. Mileage/travel reimbursements IF it is counted as taxable income (a fringe benefit) 

by the IRS.   

 

1. Countable income: Mileage and travel reimbursements that exceed the 

IRS’s per diem rates are considered fringe benefits. Taxes are calculated and 

withheld from the reimbursement. This will be evident from the paystub. 
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2. Mileage and travel reimbursements that do not exceed the IRS’s per diem 

rates are not counted when calculating MGI. 

 

5.2.1.2. Methods of Verification:  

Employment income must be verified by the client by submitting one of the following: 

 

A. One month’s worth of check stubs, OR  

 

B. The New Employment Verification Form (ECE-CC-1B) in the case of new 

employment situations in which the applicant has not yet received pay.  

 

1. Clients using the ECE-CC-1B to verify employment must submit one 

month’s worth of check stubs to the agency as soon as they are received. 

 

2. Failure to supply follow up check stubs will result in case closure. 

 

5.2.1.3. Reviewing Check Stubs. 

 

A. CCR&R case managers should review check stubs carefully to ensure that the client 

is accurately reporting their income. 

  

1) Case managers should compare current payment amounts to year-to-date 

amounts and review carefully for discrepancies.  

 

2) The case manager should also review the check for overtime payments, 

bonuses, incentive payments, tips, and commission that may only be earned 

intermittently. These items will show up in the year to date portion of the check 

stub even if the client shows no earnings in those categories for the current pay 

period. If the client shows earnings in those categories, the case manager should 

follow the steps outlined in Section 5.3.2, as appropriate, to calculate an accurate 

average monthly income. 

 

B. Paystubs should be no more than 45 days old. Consecutive paystubs are preferred; 

however, it is acceptable for the case manager to calculate the amount of a missing 

paystub using the year-to-date amounts listed on the paystub immediately preceding 

and the paystub immediately following the missing paystub. Case managers using this 

method to calculate income should clearly explain steps taken in case contacts. 

 

5.2.2. Countable Non-Farm Self-Employment Income. 

Net income from non-farm self-employment:  gross receipts minus allowable expenses.  

Gross receipts include the value of all goods sold and services rendered. 

 

5.2.2.1. Methods of Verification. 
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A. Self Employed clients with prior established self-employment  must turn in tax 

records to the CCR&R by April 30 of each year to verify that the business is producing 

taxable income at the time of assistance. 

 

B. Self Employed clients will be given the Self-Employment Ledger form (ECE-CC-

 1C) to track Income and Expenses. 

 

C. Clients who choose not to use the ECE-CC-1C Form may substitute: 

 

1.  Business records from an outside accountant OR 

 

2.  Ledger Books or other bookkeeping records, such as Quicken Software 

reports. 

 

D. The CCR&R reserves the right to request additional documentation, such as 

receipts or invoices as needed to verify income and expenses. 

 

E. The gross income from self-employment business activity shall be used to 

determine eligibility and amount of assistance if the information submitted by the 

parent is not sufficient to adequately determine net profit. 

 

5.2.2.2.  Allowable Expenses. 

The following expenses are allowable deductions in calculating net income.  

 

A. Cost of goods purchased. 

 

B. Rent, heat, light, power on the income producing property. 

 

C. Cost of Supplies. 

 

D. Wages and salaries paid to employees other than the business owner/parent of child. 

 

E. Business taxes and/or licenses. 

 

F. Advertising goods or services. 

 

G. Interest (not payments) on the principal of the purchase price of income producing 

property. 

 

H. Real estate taxes paid on the income producing property. 

 

5.2.2.3. Disallowed Expenses. 

The following expenses are not allowable deductions in calculating net income for 

purposes of this policy. 

 

A. Money set aside for pensions and profit-sharing plans. 
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B. Federal, State, and local income taxes. 

 

C. Depreciation and Depletion. 

 

D. Net losses from previous years 

. 

E. Mileage Rate on vehicles and other travel costs. 

 

F. Premiums paid for health/medical insurance. 

 

G. Payments on the principal of the purchase price of income producing real estate and 

capital assets, equipment, machinery, and other durable goods. 

 

H. Entertainment and meals. 

 

I. Personal expenses paid out of business accounts (personal car payments, utility 

bills, personal primary residence mortgage/rental payments, clothing, vacation 

expenses, etc.) Small businesses may provide in-kind compensation to owners in the 

form of payment of personal bills and expenses directly from business accounts.  This 

is treated as countable income, as it is part of the client’s compensation. 

 

J. If the family uses its residence in a self-employment enterprise, the utility costs, 

rent or interest on the mortgage of the residence will not be allowed unless they can 

be shown as separate from the household’s normal usage. 

 

5.2.3 Countable Income from Farm Self-Employment. 

Countable income from farm self-employment consists of gross receipts minus operating 

expenses from the operation of a farm by a person on his own account as an owner, renter 

or share cropper.  Gross receipts include the value of all products sold, government crop 

loans, money received from rental of all farm equipment and incidental receipts from the 

sale of other goods. Operating expenses include expenses directly relating to the operation 

of the farm such as cost of feed, fertilizer, seed and other farming supplies, cash or wages 

paid to farm hands, rent, and interest on farm mortgages and farm taxes. 

 

5.2.4 Countable Unearned Income 

 

5.2.4.1 Social Security – any regular social security benefits after deductions for 

medical insurance. 

 

5.2.4.2 Dividends, interest on saving or bonds, income from Estates or Trusts, 

rental income or royalties. 

 

5.2.4.3 Public assistance payments including TANF, such as Relative Caretaker 

pay, WV Employment Assistance Program, WV Works Post-Employment Supplements, 

and SSI. 
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5.2.4.4 Pensions and annuities. 

 

5.2.4.5 Unemployment compensation. 

 

5.2.4.6 Workers compensation. 

 

5.2.4.7 Alimony.  If less than ordered by the court, count only the amount received. 

Amounts received above the court-ordered amount are also considered income.  Other 

court ordered forms of Spousal Support, i.e. house/rent payments, child care expenses, 

grocery bill, shall be counted as income. 

 

5.2.4.8 Child Support. Other court ordered forms of Child Support, i.e. house/rent 

payments, child care expenses, grocery bill, shall be counted as income. CCR&R case 

managers are not to require that parents submit proof of child support received in one 

particular form of verification. (See list of acceptable verifications in Chapter 5, Section 

4.) If a court order is submitted as proof of child support, the court order shall stand as 

proof of child support received for the children listed on the order for all successive 

reviews unless the order is changed. Child Support verification as stated  by the parent is 

acceptable.  In this case, the CCR&R case manager will make a detailed entry in case 

contacts regarding the parent’s self-reported Child Support income. 

 

5.2.4.9 Veteran’s benefits. 

 

5.2.4.10 Payments received from participation in a vocational rehabilitation 

program. 

 

5.2.4.11 Any other monies received on a regular basis from any source, except for 

those listed under 5.2.5., excluding money received to purchase required school books or 

supplies, or pay tuition. 

 

5.2.4.12 Taxed fringe benefits: mileage, meals, incidental reimbursements. (if these 

items do not have taxes calculated and withheld, they are not countable income, see 

5.2.5.22) 

 

5.2.4.13 Transitional Compensation for Abused Dependents Program funds issued 

directly to the parent from the Department of Defense  

 

5.2.5 Income Not Considered in Determining Eligibility.  

The following sources of income should be excluded (not counted) in computing the amount 

of a family’s monthly gross income: 

 

5.2.5.1. Money received from the sale of property such as stocks, bonds, real estate or 

automobiles, except money received from the sale of property is counted as income 

if the person is self-employed or otherwise engaged in the business of selling 

property. For example, an individual who sub-divides a plot of land and is selling 
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lots for residential or business purposes is considered self-employed as a real estate 

developer. An individual who consistently offers one or more automobiles for sale is 

self-employed in the business of automobile sales. 

 

5.2.5.2. Withdrawals of bank deposits. 

 

5.2.5.3. Loans or other money borrowed. 

 

5.2.5.4. Tax refunds. 

 

5.2.5.5. Monetary Gifts received on an infrequent basis, such as those received on 

birthdays or holidays. 

 

5.2.5.6. Lump sum inheritances or insurance payments. 

 

5.2.5.7. Bonus value of food stamps. 

 

5.2.5.8. Capital gains. 

 

5.2.5.9. Value of USDA donated foods. 

 

5.2.5.10. Payment received under the Uniform Relocation Assistance and Real 

Properties Acquisition Policy Act of 1970. 

 

5.2.5.11. Earnings from employment or self-employment of a child under 18 years of 

age.  However, if the child is a primary recipient of child care or the spouse of the recipient 

of child care, his/her earned income will not be excluded from the calculation of family 

monthly gross income. 

 

5.2.5.12. Grants, scholarships, or work study. 

 

5.2.5.13. Federal insurance undergraduate loans and grants. 

 

5.2.5.14. Home produce used for household consumption. 

 

5.2.5.15. Other assets such as real estate, bank accounts, stocks, and bonds. 

 

5.2.5.16. Earnings or boarding care payments received by approved foster and 

kinship/relative families. 

 

5.2.5.17. Amounts received through adoption subsidy or legal guardianship program. 

 

5.2.5.18. Lump sum severance pay. 

 

5.2.5.19. Monies received for participation in WIA activities. 
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5.2.5.20. Military Housing Allowance (BAH) 

 

5.2.5.21. Military Basic Allowance for Subsistence 

 

5.2.5.22. Untaxed mileage or meal reimbursements 

 

5.2.5.23. Transitional Compensation for Abused Dependents Program funds issued 

directly to the child from the Department of Defense 

 

5.2.5.24. GI Bill 

  

5.2.5.25. Child support arrearages and tax intercepts. 

 

5.3. Conversion of Income to Monthly Amounts. 

Conversion of income amounts to monthly gross income is computed in the following manner: 

 

5.3.1. Income Received on a Regular Basis. 

FACTS automatically converts income received on a regular basis, but more frequently than 

once a month, to a monthly amount by: 

 

5.3.1.1. Multiplying average weekly amounts by 4.3, 

 

5.3.1.2. Multiplying average bi-weekly amounts by 2.15, or 

 

5.3.1.3. Multiplying average amounts received or paid twice monthly by 2. 

 

5.3.2. Irregular Income. 

The CCR&R case manager shall convert irregular income, or income amounts that vary from 

pay day to pay day, to monthly amounts by: 

 

5.3.2.1. Prorating income received less often than once a month by dividing the 

amount by the number of months it is intended to cover.  Individuals who, by contract or 

self-employment, derive their total annual income in a period shorter than one year shall 

have that income averaged over a 12-month period.  These individuals may include school 

employees, farmers or other self-employed persons.  This would apply to both unearned 

income, which is intended to meet future needs, as well as income from work performed 

in the past.  OR 

 

5.3.2.2. Averaging the amount of the irregular income received in the past to arrive 

at a monthly amount which can be anticipated in the future.  The case manager will 

generally average the monthly gross income received in the previous three months.  

However, if an applicant/recipient experiences or has experienced a recent substantial 

decrease or increase in his/her regular income, the case manager will take this into 

consideration to estimate the income the applicant/recipient can reasonably expect to 

receive in the future. OR 
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5.3.2.3. Totaling income that varies seasonally throughout a year, and then dividing 

by 12 to obtain an expected average monthly income.  The case manager should take into 

consideration any change in the rate of payment that has taken place when calculating the 

average. OR 

 

5.3.2.4. In situations where an applicant or member of the family has recently 

experienced a temporary disruption (less than 45 days) of income due to a strike, job loss, 

cut back in number of hours to be worked or other factors, the CCR&R case manager 

shall consider as income that amount that the client can reasonably anticipate receiving 

during the next month.  Monthly reporting by the client of income received should be 

requested until the temporary disruption ended.  

 

5.3.3. Changes in Income during Certificate Period. 

Clients whose income changes during a certificate period shall remain eligible for services 

until the next status review. If the client’s income has decreased, the client may request a fee 

reduction. (See Chapter 6, Section 4.6) CCR&R case managers shall not increase fees for 

clients whose income has increased due to increased work hours, pay raise or other income 

during the certificate period. For instructions on making changes to an assessment during 

the certificate period, see Chapter 6, section 3. For instructions on adding a 

spouse/parent/child to the household see Chapter 6, section 2. 

 

5.4. Sources of Documentation/Verification 

The methods acceptable for verifying most eligibility criteria can be found in the following 

chart.  The working applicant/recipient must receive a non-subsidized wage or salary, either 

from an employer or through self-employment, to meet the definition of working (see Chapter 

1, Definition of Program Terms).  In situations where a non-working applicant/recipient 

(attends school or training) has no income from any source, the client’s statement to this fact 

will be accepted unless the CCR&R case manager has reason to believe the statement is not 

truthful. All documentation must be no older than 45 days except for the exceptions listed for 

child support, alimony and tax records. Tax records must reflect the most recent period. 

 

Item to Be Verified Method of Verification 

INCOME 

a. wages 

b. salary 

c. incentive payments 

d. bonuses 

1 months’ worth of Check stubs 

ECE-CC-1B until the first regular pay period; then 

must verify through check stub.   

Tax records 

Profit from self-employment Income tax records 

ECE-CC-1C 

Client business records 

Social Security and SSI Check, Bank Statement showing direct deposit, 

Award letter 

Unemployment Compensation Check, Bank Statement showing direct deposit, 

Award letter 

Worker’s Compensation Check, Bank Statement showing direct deposit, 

Award letter 
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Alimony and Child Support Court Order (Court orders are valid for the life of 

the case for the children listed on the order or until 

the order is changed.) 

Statement from Child Support Office 

Letter from the payee 

Veteran’s Pensions Check, Bank Statement showing direct deposit, 

Award letter 

Pensions Check, Bank Statement showing direct deposit, 

Award letter 

Dividends, Interest or Other Income Statements or Notifications from Bank or 

Financial Institution 

Net Income from rental property Income tax records 

Applicant’s records 

Net Income from Boarders Income tax records 

Applicant’s records 

Receipt of Income Maintenance –TANF WV Works 
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CHAPTER 6: CLIENT CASE MANAGEMENT & 

CONTINUED CONTACT 
 

6.0. Client Case Management Overview 

It is the responsibility of the CCR&R agency to maintain an eligible case load by having 

continued contacts with families, reviewing the case record as needed, and comparing the case 

record to provider payment requests as needed.  The importance of contact with parents cannot 

be over emphasized.  Contacts with parents shall be used to: 

 

• Determine continued need for child care services; 

• Determine if child care arrangements are satisfactory; 

• Be updated on changes in the family’s situation, and 

• Offer support through linkage with community resources. 

 

Once deemed eligible, the child shall receive services ‘‘at least at the same level’’ for the 

duration of the eligibility period. This means that the benefit cannot be reduced during the 

twelve month period. 

 

If the parent reports changes within the eligibility period that would increase the family’s 

benefit, the case manager must reassess the case to and make the appropriate increase in the 

family’s benefit. 

 

6.1. Case Management FACTS Ticklers 

The CCR&R case manager should review their FACTS ticklers monthly. 

 

6.1.1. Redetermining Eligibility:  The Status Check 

The financial eligibility of each family receiving child care services shall undergo a status 

check periodically.  Although status checks must be done by mail, staff are encouraged to 

have a personal contact with parents at this time.  This may best be accomplished with a 

telephone interview.  After status checks or other contacts with the family, the case manager 

should document the case notes in the FACTS Contact screen, enter the necessary recordings 

and changes in the FACTS record and send proper notices to the parent. 

 

The CCR&R case manager will be notified via FACTS Tickler when redeterminations are 

due.  A status check must be completed on each case during the twelfth month of the current 

service period, or more frequently as needed. 

 

For example: If a status check or approval was completed January 20, 2018, the next status 

check is due February 1, 2019.  FACTS will consider the status check overdue as of the last 

day of the month February 28, 2019.  If an assessment is not entered in FACTS within 60 

days of the due date (April 30, 2019) FACTS will no longer process payments to the 

provider.  Every effort should be made to enter status checks in a timely manner.  In rare 

instances where status checks are not entered within 60 days, and payment is due to the 

provider, payment should be sent to the Division of Early Care and Education for 

completion. 
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6.1.2. Procedures for Completion of Status Checks 

The CCR&R case manager shall review their FACTS Ticklers monthly for a listing of cases 

due for status checks. 

 

6.1.2.1. Status Check Time Frames 

When a status check is due, the DAY-0612, Notification of Redetermination, and the 

Status Review (ECE-CC-1E) form will be mailed to the parent.  The family will be asked 

to complete and return the form. The status check form shall be mailed no later than the 

first day of the month, with the due date the 15th day of the month and closure date 13 

days later or the last day of the month.   

For example:  For a status check due in August, the Child Care Parent Notification and 

Status Check/Review form are mailed no later than August 1.  The dates on the 

notification letter shall indicate to return by August 15th to be closed on August 31st.  

The return date at the top of the Status Check/Review form should be August 15th. 

 

6.1.2.2. Parent and Provider Notifications  

The parent needs to return the Status Review (ECE-CC-1E) with all required 

documentation/verification for work, school and income.  If it is not returned by the 15th 

day, then the DAY-0613, Provider Certificate Notification Letter, shall be sent to the 

child care provider notifying them of the parent closure effective the last day of the month.  

If it is returned, the case manager will evaluate the information considering current 

eligibility requirements and determination of continuing need.  If the case remains 

eligible, the case manager is to complete an assessment in FACTS, so services may 

continue.  If an assessment is not completed within sixty days of due date, FACTS will 

not allow further payment to be made. 

 

6.1.2.3. Status Check – Continued Eligibility 

When a family is determined to remain eligible at status check, the CCR&R case manager 

shall issue the DAY-0176 Child Care Certificate to notify the parent of on-going 

eligibility and/or change of fees.  The parent shall then take the certificate to the provider.  

The certificate is to be signed by both the parent and provider.  Upon completion of the 

status check, an entry will be made into the FACTS case of all information to update the 

record. 

 

6.1.2.4. Status Check – Family Found Ineligible  

If the family is determined to be ineligible at status check, the CCR&R case manager 

shall issue the DAY-0179, Child Care Parent Notification of Denial or Closure, to notify 

the parent of termination of services and their right to appeal this action.  The CCR&R 

case manager shall issue the DAY-0613 to notify the provider that the family is no longer 

eligible for child care services. If the family returns the status check after the 15th day, 

and is found ineligible, the case manager shall issue a DAY-0179 informing the client 

that they are ineligible and that the previous closure notice for failure to return the review 

by the 15th day of the month remains in effect. 

 

6.1.2.5. Status Check – Case Closures 
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The case managers should request the case for closure no later than noon on the first 

working day of the month.  The supervisor should have all cases approved for closure by 

the end of the day on the first working day of the month. 

 

6.1.3. Ticklers for Changes in Child Age  

FACTS ticklers will track children who are reaching their 2nd, 3rd, or 5th birthday, resulting 

in a change in the payment rate and when they become ineligible due to aging out of the 

program. 

 

6.1.3.1. Payment Rate Changes Based on Child’s Age  

When children reach their 2nd, 3rd or 4th birthday, the case manager shall send a new Child 

Care Certificate (DAY-0176) to the family to give to the provider caring for the child, 

noting when reimbursement rates change. If the child’s birthday is the first day of the 

month – the rate will change that month, so notice should be sent 13 days prior to the 

child’s birthday. If the child’s birthday falls on the second day of the month or later, the 

payment rate will change the following month; notice should be sent at least 13 days prior 

to the change in rate. 

 

6.1.3.2. Aging Out of Care 

When a child turns age 13, the worker should send appropriate 13-day notices to both the 

parent and the provider noting the date child(ren) become ineligible. 

 

6.1.4. Need for Care 90 Day Tickler 

Child care resource and referral staff will use the FACTS tickler system monthly to review 

payment history of all cases identified as having no payment for 90 days.  Any parent who 

does not use child care assistance for an extended period no longer has an established need 

for child care assistance and therefore may not remain an active case. 

 

6.1.4.1. Any case which has not utilized child care for a 3-month period or longer 

shall be sent notice that the case will be closed. 

 

6.1.4.2. Procedures for notification to the parent and the provider of a negative 

action shall be followed.  If notice is being sent at the time of redetermination, then the 

DAY-0612 (Parent Notification of Redetermination) will be used to notify the parent of 

the case closure and reason with the explanation that the status check is to be returned 

only if the parent disagrees with notice to close and completes a request for a conference 

(second page of the notice).  The DAY-0613 will be sent to notify the provider of the case 

closure.  It will be important in these cases for the CCR&R worker to establish contact 

with the parent in order to determine need.  

 

6.2. Additions to Family Size. 

If the case worker has reason to believe that the client is not accurately reporting family size, 

the case manager can request verification: i.e. birth certificate, adoption documents, statement 

of acting in loco parentis for the addition of a child.  

 

6.2.1. Adding a Child 
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To add a child in the middle of an assessment period the case manager shall: 

 

6.2.1.1. Complete a new assessment in FACTS. The beginning date should be the 

first day of the month in which the child needs added. For example, if the case manager 

is notified by an existing client on 4/13/18 that a child has been adopted and needs to start 

child care on that date, the assessment date should begin on 4/1/18. 

  

6.2.1.2. Update the Service Log in FACTS.  In the example given, the case manager 

should change the service dates for the new child to 4/13/18, since that is the date the 

child joined the family and started care.  

 

6.2.1.3. Issue a Child Care Certificate (DAY-0176) to the family which includes the 

new child, making sure to change the beginning date for eligibility for the new child to 

the date the child will start care. 

 

6.2.2. Adding a Spouse or Biological Parent  

To add a spouse or biological parent to household in the middle of an assessment period the 

case manager shall: 

 

6.2.1.4. Send a Child Care Parent Closure Notice (DAY-0179) to the client 

requesting new income, employment and/or school verifications to be returned within 13 

days for the spouse/biological parent added to the home. 

 

6.2.1.5. Include on the DAY-0179 that the child care case will close within 13 days 

if the spouse/biological parent is not participating in an approved activity, and/or if new 

income verification received shows that the family is ineligible for services. 

 

6.2.1.6. Send a Provider Notification - Client Eligibility (DAY-0613) to all child 

care providers connected to the case, noting impending closure date. 

 

6.2.1.7. Close the case on the date given in the DAY-0179, if verifications are not 

returned within 13 days, or verifications show that the family is now ineligible. 

 

6.2.1.8. Complete a new assessment in FACTS if returned verifications show that 

the family is eligible. The beginning date for the assessment is the first day of the month 

after the spouse/biological parent has joined the family. Example: The case manager is 

notified on 4/16/19 that the client has married. The case manager mails a Child Care 

Parent Closure Notice (DAY-0179) to the client requesting income and 

employment/school verification for the spouse by 4/29/19. The client returns requested 

verifications by 4/21/19, and the verifications show the family is eligible. The case 

manager will complete a new assessment on the case with a start date of 5/1/19. 

 

6.2.1.9. After completing the assessment, the case manager shall mail a new Child 

Care Certificate(DAY-0176) to client, noting the new daily fee, if applicable. The case 

manager shall also mail a DAY-0613 to the provider noting the new fee. 
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6.3. Changes in Days and/or Hours of Care During the Certificate Period 

Clients may need to request changes to their days and/or hours of care during the certificate 

period. These changes should not move the recertification date of the certificate or increase the 

child care fee. To increase or decrease the hours on the child care certificate the case manager 

will need to do a new assessment in FACTS.  

 

6.3.1. The client should submit documentation of the need for schedule change.  

 

6.3.2. The case manager shall make no changes to any of the income screens unless the 

client is also requesting a reduction in fees (See Chapter 6, Section 4.6). If the client is not 

requesting a reduction in fees, do not change any of the income information at this time. 

Wait until the previously scheduled review date. 

  

6.3.3. The case manager should enter the new days and hours into the new assessment. 

 

6.3.4. The case manager will then connect the children on the service log to the child care 

provider, making sure to change the end date to the end date of the original certificate. For 

example: Martha calls in on June 15 because her hours will be increased at work on July 1, 

2018. Her original certificate and assessment were valid from March 1, 2020 through August 

31, 2020. The case manager completes a new assessment with a start date of July 1, 2020 to 

increase the hours reflected on the certificate. The assessment will automatically populate 

the end date of December 31, 2018. However, the client must complete a status check by 

August 31, 2018. Therefore, the case manager should be sure to end date the service log for 

August 31, 2018 and issue the new certificate with that date. 

 

6.3.5. The case manager will issue a new certificate reflecting the correct days, hours and 

dates to the client. 

 

6.3.6. The case manager will set a tickler to mail out the client’s status check in the 

original review month, not the month reflected by the assessment.  

   

6.4. Parental Child Care Fees 

Most child care recipients will be required to pay a portion of the cost of the service as a fee to 

the child care provider.  Fees shall be paid for each child in care based on number of days of 

care.  Fees vary according to family size and income.  Applicable fee amounts must be indicated 

on the Child Care Certificate provided to each parent.  The sliding fee scale is included as 

Appendix A. 

 

6.4.1 Who Pays Fees?  

Parents with earnings of less than 40% of Federal Poverty Level as shown on the Sliding 

Fee Scale (Appendix A) are exempt from fees.   Children who are in the legal custody of the 

State of West Virginia and who are in approved foster homes, approved kinship/relative 

homes are also exempt.  All other parents shall pay the fee unless waived by the CPS worker 

as part of an approved safety or treatment plan. 

 

6.4.2 Who Collects Fees? 
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Child care providers will be responsible for collecting fees from parents but may charge only 

those fees indicated on the Child Care Certificate.  If a parent uses more than one provider, 

both providers will collect the fee. 

 

6.4.3 How Are Fees Determined? 

The fee a parent is charged is based on the family size, income and number of children in 

care.  The sliding fee scale in Appendix A lists income ranges and corresponding fees that 

parents must pay in order to receive child care benefits. 

 

6.4.3.1 Once a parent’s monthly gross income has been determined, the case 

manager refers to the sliding fee chart to determine the column representing the family’s 

size, and then the income level. 

  

6.4.3.2 A daily fee will be assessed for each child in care. 

 

6.4.3.3 The daily fee amount will be the same for each child. 

 

6.4.3.4 If more than three children need child care, the fee will be assessed only for 

the three youngest children.  Parents shall not be charged for more than 3 children. 

 

6.4.3.5 With the exception of the initial certificate, which may show an effective 

date in the middle of a calendar month, the parent fee is to be initiated or the fee amount 

changed at the beginning of a calendar month.  For example:  If an assessment completed 

July 2019 shows an increase in the daily fee, the parent and provider shall be sent 

notification letters that the new fee will be effective 8/1/2019. 

 

6.4.4 How Are Fees Collected? 

 

6.4.4.1 The child care provider is responsible for billing and collecting fees from 

parents, using the daily fee amounts listed on Child Care Certificates (DAY-0176) or the 

Provider Notification Letter (DAY-0613). 

 

6.4.4.2 Fees should be paid at least monthly. Providers and parents jointly decide 

when and how often fee payments will be due. Other options for collecting fees include 

daily, weekly or bi-monthly. 

   

6.4.4.3 Fees may be collected up to 30 days in advance. However, if fees are 

collected in advance, the provider must credit to the following month or reimburse to the 

parent, the fee for any days paid, but not used. The billing procedure may be a formal or 

informal process. 

 

6.4.4.4 Providers are asked to provide receipts upon request.  A billing and receipt 

form (ECE-CC-10D) is available for providers who opt to use a formal billing procedure. 

 

6.4.4.5 Providers shall bill the amount of fee according to instructions provided on 

Fee Collection Instructions Form (ECE-CC-10C). 
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6.4.4.6 The provider charges the family a daily fee per child, up to three children, 

based on the total number of full days care is provided to the family. 

 

6.4.4.7 If part days of care are provided, the provider is to convert those to full days 

using charts provided in the instructions. 

 

6.4.4.8 Providers shall not bill the daily fee for days that the child is not in care. 

 

6.4.5 How Are Overdue Fees Collected?   

CCR&R staff can only assist child care providers in collecting the parent’s portion of the 

daily fee. CCR&R staff do not assist providers collecting late pick-up fees, registration fees, 

transportation fees, and fees for times not approved by the agency. If a parent does not pay 

the required daily fee and the provider decides to pursue collection, the following process 

must be followed: 

 

6.4.5.1 Parent fees should be paid at least monthly. The provider must notify the 

CCR&R case manager in writing no earlier than five no later than 30 days after the date 

payment was due. 

 

6.4.5.2 The provider shall not make additions to the child care fee amount for the 

purpose of timely payment enforcement, i.e. “late payment penalty for late payment of 

child care fees.” 

 

6.4.5.3 The case manager shall then send notices to the parent via the Child Care 

Parent Closure Notice (DAY-0179) and to the provider via the Provider Notification- 

Parent Eligibility (DAY-0613) that Child Care Services will be terminated 13 days from 

the date of the closure letter. 

 

6.4.5.4 The parent has the right to make the fee payment within the 13-day period 

or to request a pre-hearing conference or hearing. 

 

6.4.5.5 If the parent pays the fee, the provider must notify the CCR&R case 

manager in writing and care will be continued. In addition to notification from the 

provider, the parent must supply the CCR&R with a receipt verifying payment of the 

overdue fee within the 13-day period or the case will be closed. The CCR&R case 

manager must confirm the veracity of the receipt with the child care provider. 

Confirmation with the provider and continuation of services should be noted in case 

contacts. If the provider disputes the veracity of the receipt, the child care case will be 

closed. 

 

6.4.5.6 If the parent requests a hearing within 13 days, services will be continued 

until the issue is resolved. 

 

6.4.5.7 If the parent neither pays the fee nor requests a hearing, the case will be 

closed at the end of the 13-day period. 
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6.4.6 Clients Requesting a Reduction in Fees 

Clients who lose employment or experience a reduction in household income during the 

assessment period may request that their fee be reduced. To determine the new fee, the case 

manager shall: 

 

6.4.6.1 Request new income verification and proof of income reduction. Proof of 

income reduction may include: 

 

A. Lay off notifications, 

  

B. Termination of benefits (SSI, TANF, Child Support) letters,  

 

C. Termination letters (in the case of involuntary discharge from employment)  

 

D. Receipt of unemployment benefits,  

 

E. Check stubs showing a reduction in work hours. 

 

F. Subtraction of spouse/ biological parent of children from household. If the case 

manager has reason to believe that the client is not accurately reporting family size, 

the case manager may request verification by legal documentation (i.e. legal separation 

papers, divorce decree). If no legal documentation is available, two notarized 

statements by persons other than relatives stating that the person is no longer in the 

home may be substituted. 

 

6.4.6.2 Verify that a need for care still exists. 

 

6.4.6.3 Complete a new assessment in FACTS to determine the amount of the new 

fee. The new assessment date shall begin on the first day of the month following the 

request for reduction. 

 

6.4.6.4 Mail the new certificate reflecting the reduced fee to the client. 

 

6.4.6.5 Mail a DAY-0613 to the provider noting the reduced fee and the effective 

date. 

 

6.5 Procedures for Exception to Eligibility Policy. 

 

6.5.1 Family exceeds income guidelines at the end of a Job Search period:  Although 

the situation does not occur frequently, there may be occasions when a family will submit 

verification of household income, after a change in qualifying activity, such as the end of a 

Job Search period, that exceeds income guidelines based upon the current Sliding Fee Scale 

at 185% of the Federal Poverty Level (FPL).  However, when the family’s household income 

exceeds the State’s current income guidelines, based on 185% of the FPL, but falls under 

85% of the current State Median Income (SMI) the State is required to provide a graduated 
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phase out of assistance. When the situation occurs as described above, the Child Care 

Resource and Referral Agency (CCR&R) Case Manager will further assess the household 

income based upon the current SMI. 

   

6.5.1.1 If the household income falls below 85% of the SMI, the CCR&R Case 

Manager must enter an “Over Income Policy Exception” in FACTS. The “Over Income 

Policy Exception” can be found on the same FACTS screen with the “Medical Policy 

Exception.”  Upon approval of the “Over Income Policy Exception”, the Division of Early 

Care and Education will assist the Case Manager with calculating the Child Care Fee. 

 

6.5.1.2 The CCR&R Case manager will collect all relevant information needed for 

approval and enter the request into FACTS under the Policy Exception Screen.  The 

request must, at a minimum, contain the following information: 

 

A. Parent(s) name, address and telephone. 

 

B. Name and birth dates of children. 

 

C. Number of people in the household. 

 

D. Family income. 

 

E. Reason for requesting an exception.  This includes a description of the condition 

requiring the exception, and the date the condition began. 

 

F. Anticipated end date of the policy exception should the request be approved.  

 

6.5.1.3 The request for an exception will be reviewed by the CCR&R supervisor.  

After the supervisor’s approval, it must be forwarded via FACTS to the Division of Early 

Care and Education. 

 

6.5.1.4 The Division of Early Care and Education shall review the exception 

request and provide a decision within 30 days. 

 

6.5.1.5 If approved, payment may be backdated to the date of income eligibility 

 

6.5.1.6 If denied, the case manager shall notify the parent in writing that the 

exception was not approved, and the parent is responsible for payment to the provider 

(See Chapter 4, Need for Child Care, for additional exception requirements based on State 

Median Income (SMI) 

 

6.5.2 Illness. 

In unusual, extraordinary circumstances, exceptions to eligibility policy can be requested.  

Exceptions will be granted on an individual basis and only in situations where the 

circumstances of the client are so different from the norm that the policy is unfair or 

inappropriate when applied to the individual client. Consideration is given to factors such as 
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the age of the child, the child’s ability for self-care, the amount of supervision or hands-on 

care required for the child, and if there are other household members present who can aid in 

the supervision of the child.  When an exception request is made, CCR&R case managers 

shall inform parents the approval is not guaranteed. The parent and provider must establish 

private payment arrangements to ensure that the provider is paid during the time the 

exception request is reviewed. The following steps should be taken to process an exception 

request. 

 

6.5.2.1. The CCR&R Case manager will collect all relevant information needed for 

approval and enter the request into FACTS under the Policy Exception Screen.  The 

request must, at a minimum, contain the following information: 

 

A. Parent(s) name, address and telephone. 

 

B. Name and birth dates of children. 

 

C. Number of people in the household. 

 

D. Family income. 

 

E. Reason for requesting an exception.  This includes a description of the condition 

requiring the exception, the date the condition began, and an explanation of why care 

is needed. 

 

F. Resources explored for provision of child care prior to requesting child care 

services, i.e. community, family, volunteers. 

 

G. Amount family can financially contribute to the cost of the service. 

 

H. Probable consequences to the family if the exception is not granted. 

 

I. Anticipated length of time the exception is needed, and, for illness or injury, the 

length of time anticipated for recovery. 

 

6.5.2.2 The request for an exception will be reviewed by the CCR&R supervisor.  

After the supervisor’s approval, it must be forwarded via FACTS to the Division of Early 

Care and Education. 

 

6.5.2.3 The Division of Early Care and Education shall review the exception 

request and provide a decision within 30 days. 

 

6.5.2.4 If approved, payment may be backdated to the date of application. 

 

6.5.2.5 If denied, the case manager shall notify the parent in writing that the 

exception was not approved, and the parent is responsible for payment to the provider 
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(See Chapter 4, Need for Child Care, for additional exception requirements based on a 

medical condition.) 

 

 

6.6.  Negative Actions:  Appeals and Fair Hearings 

Any notification of negative action must be in writing on the Parent Notification Letter (DAY-

0177 or DAY-0179), including denial of an application and termination of services.  The form 

letter shall include the specific negative action, with citation of specific policy and a description 

of any action, if applicable, on behalf of the client that resulted in the negative action.  The original 

Notification Letter (DAY-0177 or DAY-0179) shall be sent to the parent, with a copy saved to 

FACTS and, if a paper file is maintained, a copy put in the correspondence block of the record.  

The negative action shall also be documented in the FACTS Contact screen.  Most negative actions 

affecting the recipients of child care, other than denial of an application, cannot be taken until 13 

calendar days after the client has been notified.   

 

6.6.1. If the client disagrees with a negative action, he or she may either: 

 

6.6.1.1. Supply information needed to continue services; 6.6.1.2 Request a hearing, 

in writing, to the CCR&R case manager before the end of the 13-day notice period to 

continue services; or 

 

6.6.1.2. Request a hearing, in writing, within 60 days of the notification.  Services 

will not be continued if the request is made after 13 days but within 30 days.  Requests 

made after 60 days will not be considered. 

 

6.6.1.3. Appeals and Fair Hearings can be requested ONLY by the child care client 

upon which the negative action was taken. A request for Appeal or Fair Hearing submitted 

by anyone other than the child care client on which the negative action was taken, will 

not be considered. Child care client cases are subject to DHHR confidentiality rules. No 

information regarding a client’s case may be shared with any other person(s) without 

written release from the client. 

 

6.6.2. Actions Not Considered Negative. 

A fee increase is not considered a negative action.  The client’s status has changed based 

upon his or her increase in income, but the benefit of child care is not being eliminated.  If 

clients return their status check after the due date but before the closure date, the case 

manager is to process the review. The case manager will not able to give 13 days’ notice 

regarding the increased fee.  However, the CCR&R case manager must inform the provider 

and client of the date the fee increase takes place. 

 

6.6.3. Fair Hearing Procedures 

All applicants and recipients of child care services are entitled to a fair hearing by a 

Department of Health & Human Resources Hearings Officer if they are dissatisfied with a 

decision made on their eligibility for services or with the quality of services provided to 

them. For more information on Fair Hearings, see Chapter 11. 
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6.6.3.1. Generally, if a client requests a hearing during the 13-day notice period, the 

action should not be taken until the hearing is held and the hearings officer has made a 

decision. However, if a hearing is requested in response to an increase in fees, a notice of 

closure for exceeding income guidelines, or a denial of application, fees cannot be 

reduced, nor services continued due to FACTS processes. 

 

6.6.3.2. The person requesting the hearing must be told that if services continue and 

the agency is upheld, then the client will have to enter into a repayment agreement. 

 

6.6.3.3. The case manager shall submit a (IG-BR-29) Hearing/Grievance Record 

Information Form, copy of the notification of negative action sent to the client, and copy 

of the client letter requesting a hearing regarding decision. 

 

6.6.3.4. The IG-BR-29 must be submitted to the Hearings Officer within 48 hours 

of the hearing request. 

 

6.7. Communication between CCR&R Agencies. 

Child Care Resource and Referral Agencies shall coordinate the transfer of services to maintain 

case continuity for clients moving between CCR&R regions.  

 

6.7.1. Clients Moving from One CCR&R Region to Another 

 

6.7.1.1. When clients notify their current case manager of a move from one CCR&R 

Region to another, the case manager shall take the following steps: 

 

A. Within five (5) days of the client notification, the case manager shall notify the new 

CCR&R agency that the client has moved to their area, either by phone or GroupWise, 

and ascertain to whom the new CCR&R wishes the case to be assigned to in FACTS. 

 

B. Prepare and transfer the case to the new CCR&R by: 

 

1) Changing the old address to the new address in FACTS. 

 

2) Changing the old county to the new county. 

 

3) Transferring the case in FACTS to the designated case manager in FACTS 

within five (5) days. 

 

4) Making a copy of the paper file to maintain in their records. 

 

5) Transferring the original paper record to the new CCR&R within 14 days. 

 

6) Making a detailed contact in FACTS regarding the move, including new 

and old address, date of move, and any pertinent information regarding the case to 

assist new case managers in providing case management services to the client. 
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6.7.1.2. When clients do not notify their previous CCR&R that they have moved, 

and the new case manager discovers an open, active case for the client in FACTS: 

 

A. The worker shall: 

 

1) Change the old address to the new address in FACTS. 

 

2) Change the old county to the new county. 

 

3) Transfer the case in FACTS to the appropriate case manager in FACTS. 

 

4) Notify the previous CCR&R by phone or GroupWise that the client has 

moved, and request that the paper file be mailed to the new CCR&R. 

 

B. The previous CCR&R shall make a copy of the client record for their files, then 

transfer the original to the requesting CCR&R within fourteen (14) days. 

 

6.7.2. Improper Payment Prevention. 

CCR&Rs shall cooperate with one another and share information, including payment forms, 

sign in and out sheets, documents, and records in order to reduce and/or prevent improper 

payments, when information is requested by other CCR&Rs for this purpose. CCR&Rs shall 

respond to these requests for information in a timely fashion, within five (5) days, unless 

extenuating circumstances exist. 
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CHAPTER 7: PURCHASE OF CHILD CARE THROUGH 

CERTIFICATES 

 

7.0. Overview. 

West Virginia’s subsidized child care program is a certificate system.  Certificates authorize 

payment for parents in lieu of cash.  Providers are paid directly upon receipt of an invoice called 

a request for payment.  This system provides maximum opportunity for parental choice. 

 

7.1. Parental Choice 

When a family is determined to be eligible for child care services, a Provider Notification Letter 

(DAY-0613) or a Child Care Certificate (DAY-0176) is issued from FACTS to the parent.  This 

certificate serves as proof that the Department of Health and Human Resources will be 

responsible for payment and contains pertinent information about the family and the amount of 

the fee to be paid by the parent.  The parent shall use the certificate to purchase care from a 

child care provider of choice.  In all cases of parent-selected unregulated care, before issuing 

the Certificate or Notification of Eligibility, the CCR&R case manager shall search FACTS to 

determine if the potential provider has been previously denied or terminated as a provider.  If 

the denial or revocation notes that the provider is ineligible to participate in the subsidy system 

because they are unable to meet regulatory requirements, the parent shall be informed that the 

provider will not be approved.  She/he may select a different provider. 

 

After a family has been determined eligible for child care services, a parent may choose to 

purchase care from a provider other than the one previously selected. The parent must request 

a change of provider by notifying the CCR&R within 5 days of the change.  Upon receipt of 

the request, the CCR&R case manager will process the request, ensuring the requested provider 

is eligible to participate in the subsidy system.  The CCR&R case manager will inquire of the 

parent, the reason for the request for change.  If the reason indicates the child was expelled from 

or “kicked out” of day care, the CCR&R case manager will notify the Division of Early Care 

and Education. 

 

In order to ensure that parents are given a variety of child care options, Child Care Certificates 

may be used to purchase care at the following sites located within West Virginia. Parents may 

not use child care certificates to purchase care with out of state providers. 

 

7.1.1. In Home Child Care. 

Care may be provided in the child’s home, by an in-home care giver, only in specific 

circumstances and only with the approval of the CCR&R case manager. In-home child care 

is home-based care provided by relatives, excluding siblings of children needing care who 

live in the home, or non-relatives for a child or children in the child’s own home for that 

portion of the day when care is needed.  The provider may live either inside or outside of the 

home.  The provider of in-home child care cannot care for children that do not live in the 

home.  If provider and children reside in the same home and the provider wishes to care for 

other children, then the situation is not considered in-home care and the provider must meet 

registration requirements based on the number of children in care. 
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7.1.1.1 Regulation of In-Home Child Care Although in-home child care 

providers are exempt from West Virginia regulatory requirements, they are required to 

comply with State of West Virginia regulatory statutes.  Background checks are 

completed by DHHR to determine if staff, providers or any other adults in a caregiver’s 

home have a history of child/adult abuse or neglect,  or a criminal record and  meet health 

and safety standards and training requirements in order to participate in the certificate 

system and receive federal funds.  The home must meet certain health and safety 

requirements and the provider must meet certain health and safety requirements including 

a background check. Background checks include sex offender checks along with the 

criminal, Adult Protective Services and Child Protective Services checks. 

 

7.1.1.2 Limitations of In-Home Care 

 

A. Minimum Wage Requirement. In-home care is limited to situations where 

payment will equal or exceed minimum wage.  In general, a provider must care for 

multiple children in order to meet this requirement.  To determine if payment will 

equal minimum wage, calculate the number of hours the provider will care for the 

children and multiply by the current minimum wage.  Then compute the provider’s 

customary payment using the current daily payment rates for in-home care, including 

any amounts for non-traditional work hours.   

 

For Example:  A provider cares for children for 10 hours a day.  At a minimum wage 

of $8.75 per hour that would be $87.50 daily.  There are 6 children in the family – 2 

infants at $18.00 per day = $36, and four older children at $16 = $64.  Since the total 

payment would be $100.00, this situation would exceed minimum wage.  Staff shall 

also consider amounts received for non-traditional work hours as part of the daily rate. 
 

B. Exception to Minimum Wage Requirement. In instances where a child has 

medically documented needs that necessitate in-home care and the payment would not 

be equal to minimum wage, the CCR&R case manager may submit an exception 

request to the  WV DHHR, Division of Early Care and Education.  Written 

documentation of the need from a qualified health care professional required and must 

show absolute necessity.  Exceptions will be rare and time limited.   

 

7.1.1.3 Required Forms: The parent and provider must complete the following: 

 

A. The parent must complete an Application for Approval for In-Home Care 

(ECE-CC-12). 

 

B. The potential provider must complete the WV CARES process prior to 

completing the ECE-CC-12. The WV CARES “clear to hire” letter must accompany 

the application. 

 

C. The CCR&R case manager shall inform parents who use this type of care that 

an in-home care provider is considered to be an employee of the parent according to 

laws related to wage and hour requirements and the IRS tax code.  The parent may be 
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responsible for paying the employer’s share of Social Security and Medicare taxes.  

The threshold amount before this is required may change in any given year. 

 

D. The parent and provider must complete the ECE-CC-10A-1, Request for 

Payment of In-Home Child Care Services, and submit the form monthly.  The 

Department will provide a form 1099 to the provider on an annual basis, but the parent 

is responsible for keeping information and records required for paying federal 

employment taxes for the in-home provider.  The parent and in-home provider need to 

remember that the parent fee (if any) is part of the rate for which the provider is 

reimbursed and remains the responsibility of the parent to pay. 

 

E. The CCR&R staff must inform parents and providers of these requirements.  

However, they are not tax experts or agents, and should not attempt to answer specific 

questions.  The Resource and Referral agency shall direct the parent and provider to 

the proper agency for information they may need. 

 

7.1.1.4. Procedures for In-Home Child Care 

 

A. CCR&R Responsibilities. 

 

1. The parent who requested in-home child care, must complete the 

application for in-home child care services (ECE-CC-12) and shall complete an 

ECE-CC-6E to certify that the home and the in-home provider meet the health and 

safety requirements and comply with State of West Virginia regulatory statutes.  

Background checks are completed by DHHR to determine if staff, providers or any 

other adults in a caregiver’s home have a history of child/adult abuse or neglect or 

a criminal record. The potential in-home provider must complete the WV CARES 

background check process and provide a “clear to hire” letter to the CCR&R to 

forward with the application. 

 

2. The application forms and WV CARES letter are returned to the CCR&R 

agency.  

 

3. The CCR&R case manager shall inform parents who use this type of care 

that an in-home care provider is considered to be an employee of the parent 

according to laws related to wage and hour requirements and the IRS tax code.  The 

parent may be responsible for paying the employer’s share of Social Security and 

Medicare taxes.  The threshold amount before this is required may change in any 

given year. 

  

4. The provider must attend payment enrollment and complete a W-9 within 

30 days of the parent’s request for care. 

 

5. The parent and provider must complete the ECE-CC-10A-1, Request for 

Payment of In-Home Child Care Services, and submit the form monthly.  The 

Department will provide a form 1099 to the provider on an annual basis, but the 
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parent is responsible for keeping information and records required for paying 

federal employment taxes for the in-home provider.  The parent and in-home 

provider need to remember that the parent fee (if any) is part of the rate for which 

the provider is reimbursed and remains the responsibility of the parent to pay. 

 

6. The CCR&R staff must inform parents and providers of these requirements.  

However, they are not tax experts or agents, and should not attempt to answer 

specific questions.  The Resource and Referral agency shall direct the parent and 

provider to the proper agency for information they may need. 

 

7. After the parent and provider have completed the application and the 

provider has attended provider enrollment, the CCR&R case manager does the 

intake in FACTS under the provider’s name. 

 

8. The CCR&R agency will then forward the necessary information to the 

child care regulatory specialist for approval. 

 

B. Child Care Regulatory Specialist’s Responsibilities 

 

1. The child care regulatory specialist will complete the necessary screens in 

FACTS, do the background checks on the provider and send a Notification of 

Provider Approval Status to the provider with a copy to the parent/guardian and the 

CCR&R. 

 

2. In-home care situations in which the home fails to meet health and safety 

standards or in which the provider cannot comply with health and safety standards 

or background checks, shall be denied approval. 

 

3. If failure to comply is after the issuance of approval, then the child care 

regulatory specialist shall send a denial notice using the Notification of Provider 

Approval Status (DAY-0618), and CCR&R staff shall send a 13-day notice 

terminating the Provider Services Agreement. 

 

C. Renewal Procedures: Approved In Home Family Child Care Providers must 

renew their approvals at least every two years. The CCR&R case manager in charge 

of the parent’s case is responsible for sending the renewal packet to the parent. 

CCR&R case managers should follow the process outlined in A. The child care 

regulatory specialist should follow the procedure outlined in B. 

 

7.1.2. Family Child Care Homes  

Care may be provided in the caregiver’s own home in one of three different types of home-

based care.  

 

7.1.2.1. Family Child Care Providers caring for four (4) to six (6) children must be 

registered. 
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7.1.2.2. Informal Family Child Care Providers who voluntarily register with the 

DHHR to care for three (3) or fewer children, at least one of whom is not related.  

 

7.1.2.3. Relative Family Child Care Providers who voluntarily register with the 

DHHR and provide care only to children related to the caregiver.  The caregiver must be 

a grandparent, great grandparent, aunt, uncle, great-aunt, great-uncle or adult sibling.   

 

7.1.3. Family Child Care Facilities  

Parents may select a family child care facility which is licensed to care for 7-12 children. 

 

7.1.4. Child Care Centers  

Child Care Centers which are licensed for 13 or more children are another option. 

 

7.1.5. Out of School Time Child Care Programs 

Parents may also opt to use a program that provides out of school time services only. These 

programs must be licensed in order to receive subsidy payments. 

 

7.2. General Payment Provisions of the Certificate System 

 

7.2.1. Payment Rates and Definitions.   

Rates for payment of child care services include a base rate for each type of care as well as 

incentive rates (See Appendix B).  Rates are based on a full day, which is defined as care for 

at least four (4) hours but less than eighteen (18) hours per day.  Providers accepting 

certificates must agree to accept the applicable rate as full payment of care for up to an 

eighteen-hour period.  However, a parent who leaves a child past the provider’s established 

closing time may be charged a late pick-up fee provided all parents are expected to pay this 

fee and the parent has left a child past the time indicated on the child care certificate. 

 

7.2.2. Payment Limitations.  

Payment to a provider for an individual child is limited to one full day in a twenty-four (24) 

hour period, and to no more than the total number of days in a calendar month.  The total 

number of hours a child can remain in care shall not exceed 18 consecutive hours of care in 

a 24-hour period regardless if the child is with more than one provider for that particular 

day.  (See exceptions in Chapter 4, Section 1). 

 

7.2.3. Use of Multiple Providers.  

A family may request payment for more than one provider if circumstances indicate a need, 

such as the parent works during the day and attends school at night or a child care center 

closes several hours before the parent’s shift ends.  The CCR&R case manager should 

encourage the family to use a primary provider to the maximum extent and explore other 

options.  However, if no other options are possible, the CCR&R case manager shall request 

approval from the CCR&R supervisor to pay a second provider.  The supervisor may 

approve the situation if she/he determines it is in the best interest of the child and family.  

No more than two providers may be approved for the same child.  Additionally, both 

providers shall charge a fee when two providers are used. 
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7.2.4. Use of Substitutes.   

When a provider uses a substitute, payment to the substitute provider and collection of the 

daily fee shall be the responsibility of the provider.  The provider may claim days of care 

provided by the substitute on the payment form and pay the substitute upon receipt of 

payment, but the agency shall not provide direct payments to substitutes.  Providers may not 

subcontract with another provider on a regular basis but may use substitutes on an infrequent 

basis for emergencies, planned vacation, training or sick leave.  Substitutes in family child 

care homes shall be used for periods of not more than two consecutive weeks annually or 

more than an average of 8 hours weekly. 

 

7.2.5. Operation of Multiple Child Care Sites.  

If a provider operates more than one site and a child attends both sites for part of each day, 

the provider shall submit one payment request for the hours of care provided at both sites.  

The child should be included on the payment request for the site which provides the majority 

of care.  Also, if a child is signed out and signed back in with the provider in the same day, 

the provider will only be paid for one day or the actual hours of care if less than a full day. 

 

7.2.6. Eligibility for Provider’s and/or Child Care Employee’s Children  

 

7.2.6.1. Payment may not be made to a provider to care for their own children. Child 

care center owners, family child care homes and family child care facility owners are 

therefore not eligible for subsidized child care assistance when their child attends their 

parent’s facility.   

 

7.2.6.2. Since the provider’s own children are considered in the staff/child ratio in 

family child care homes and family child care facilities, family providers and facility 

operators are not eligible for subsidized child care for their own children while they care 

for other children. They also may not send their children to another caregiver in order to 

increase their own capacity. 

 

7.2.6.3. Eligibility for Center Employees - Employees of child care centers who are 

financially eligible for subsidy may use their employer’s child care center, as long as the 

employee does not supervise his or her own child. The center director shall provide a 

letter verifying this. Although family child care facilities also have employees, due to the 

limited space and staffing levels in a family child care facility and the difficulties in 

insuring supervision will not fall on the parent, children of a family child care facility 

employee are not eligible to use the employer’s child care facility. They may, however, 

place their children with another provider. 

 

7.2.6.4. Eligibility for employees of the provider in other business endeavors or any 

of the provider’s household members’ business endeavors: Children of persons employed 

by the provider or any of the provider’s household members, with the exception of child 

care center employees meeting the criteria in 7.3.6.3, may not select said provider as their 

child care provider. 

 

7.2.7. Certificate System Payment Rates.  
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Payment for child care is based on the type of care, age of child, special needs of individual 

children, hours of care, nontraditional hours, and accreditation status of the provider. 

 

7.2.7.1. Base rates are broken into four age categories: 

 

A. Infants – children aged birth to 24 months. 

 

B. Toddlers – children aged 25 – 36 months. 

 

C. Preschoolers – children aged 37 – 59 months. 

 

D. School Age – children aged 60 months and over. 

 

7.2.7.2. In addition to the base rate, providers may be eligible to receive three types 

of rate supplements: 

 

A. The Special needs supplement for children with documented special needs and 

children receiving services based on a CPS safety or treatment plan of $2 extra per day 

per child. 

 

B. The Tiered Reimbursement supplement, which is based the level of quality in a 

child care program. Registered family homes, child care facilities and child care 

centers may volunteer to document that they either meet higher quality standards or 

are nationally accredited. Programs that meet licensing standards are Tier 1 and 

receive base payment rates. Programs that meet Tier II standards receive $2 extra daily 

and programs that are accredited receive $4.00 per full day per child. Part days are 

converted to full days before the supplement is calculated. This amount is added for 

actual days of care only.  Monthly rates do not apply to rate supplements. 

 

C. The shift differential rate supplement, which is based on the family’s need for 

care during non-traditional work hours, is $4.00 daily per child and is available for all 

types of providers for any days of care that meet the following definitions.  Parents 

shall supply documentation of need for non-traditional child care hours at the time of 

application and each status check. 

 

D. Non-traditional child care hours are defined as: 

 

1. Approved care for four (4) hours 0 minutes, either before 6:00 am or after 

7:00 pm Monday through Friday; 

 

2. Approved care for four (4) hours 0 minutes on a Saturday or Sunday; or 

 

3. Any 12-hour work/school shift or split shift which equals twelve or more 

care hours (including transportation) in a 24-hour period.  
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7.2.7.3. The Per Day Rate is used if the child attends less than 13 days or more than 

20 days. 

 

7.2.7.4. The Monthly Rate will be used for base rates only when a child is in care 

between 13 to 20 days.  Monthly rates are equal to 20 times the daily rate. 

 

7.2.7.5. Full Day: A full day is considered care for at least four (4) hours zero (0) 

minutes but less than eighteen (18) hours per day from the time the child enters care to 

the time he leaves. 

 

7.2.7.6. Part Day for 2 to 4 Hours: A part of day of care if paid for when a child is 

in care at least 2 hours but not more than 3 hours 59 minutes per day. Part days submitted 

by the provider are converted by FACTS to full days using the Conversion Chart, 

Appendix C. Payment is made for 2/3 of the total part days.  After converting part days 

to full days, FACTS will calculate the monthly rate for 13-20 days or per diem rate for 

fewer than 13 or more than 20 days. 

 

7.2.7.7. Part Days Less than 2 Hours: Another part day payment is made for care 

provided less than 2 hours per day.  For those situations in which care is provided for 

children less than 2 hours per day, payment will be one-third the amount paid for full 

child care.  These days will be converted to full days using the conversion chart in 

Appendix C.  After converting part days to full days, use monthly rate for 13-20 days or 

per diem rate for fewer than 13 or more than 20 days. 

 

7.3. FACTS Payment Process 

In order to receive payment, a provider must submit the “Request for Payment Form” (ECE-

CC-10A) with copies of sign in and out sheets to the CCR&R agency no earlier than the last 

day of the calendar month and no later than the third working day of the next month.  

 

The request for payment form shall be completed by the provider according to the instructions 

in the Payment Form Instructions (ECE-CC-10B). The CCR&R case manager shall process 

payments within 3-5 days of receipt of a properly completed payment request.  If the form 

contains errors, the case manager shall return the form with instructions for correction. Payment 

forms are official invoices and staff shall not alter forms once they have been signed by the 

provider, even upon provider request. The CCR&R case manager shall process payment in 

FACTS according to the following procedures: 

 

7.3.1. Select the Financial Administration Icon, then the DC Demand Icon. FACTS brings 

up the FIND provider screen allowing the case manager to choose the categories needed to 

locate the provider. 

 

7.3.2. Type the name of the provider, as indicated at the top of the ECE-CC-10A Request 

for Payment, select the provider name from the list, and hit OK. 

 

7.3.3. Select the correct payment name, verify the address, and hit OK. 
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7.3.4. Enter the service month indicated on the payment form.  The system will default to 

the previous month of care and the case manager must change the service month if payment 

is being requested for other than the previous month. 

 

7.3.5.  Tab to the client screen and select from the picklist the name of the child for whom 

payment is being processed.   

 

7.3.5.1. If the child’s name is available in the picklist, the approved days and hours 

will be displayed. Check the approved days and hours against those claimed by the 

provider.  Payment shall not be made for days claimed in excess of the approval unless a 

statement is entered in the comment box.  Note:  The child’s daily fee will populate from 

the child care assessment and the daily fee amount will be deducted from the provider’s 

payment.  If the family is using two providers, the fee will be deducted from both 

providers’ payments.  Fees will be deducted only for the three youngest children. 

 

7.3.5.2. If the child’s name is not available in the picklist, the CCR&R case manager 

shall: 

 

A. Investigate: The CCR&R case manager shall investigate why the child is not 

available in the picklist – i.e. case closure, application denial, worker error in 

processing case, client failed to notify of provider change, etc. 

 

B. Correct the problem: If the child is unavailable due to worker error, the CCR&R 

shall make every effort to correct the error and process the payment in a timely fashion. 

  

C. Notify the provider: If payment cannot be made because of case closure, denial of 

application or client’s failure to notify the agency of provider change, the provider 

must be notified in writing that payment cannot be made. If payment cannot be 

completed by the CCR&R due to worker error and must be submitted to the Division 

of Early Care and Education for manual payment, the provider shall be notified in 

writing that manual payment will be processed. 

 

7.3.6.  Enter the actual number of days on the demand payment screen by following the 

columns listed on the payment form, sorting by part, full and non-traditional days.  FACTS 

will calculate the total number of days.  When the Calculated Payment Amount Tab is 

selected, the total payment for the child will be displayed.  To process the child’s payment, 

click on ADD and then CLEAR.  This process is continued for each child. 

 

7.3.7. When all children are entered, click on verify.  This sends the payment request to 

the CCR&R supervisor who approves the payment. 

 

7.4.  Payment Processing  

Generally, on Tuesdays and Fridays, a computer tape with information on all entered payments 

is sent to the State Auditor’s Office.   
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7.4.1. Paper Check Processing: The Auditor’s office writes the checks and returns them 

to the DHHR Finance office for mailing.  Checks are generally mailed within 3 to 5 days 

after the tape is submitted to the Auditor’s office.  State holidays may delay checks.  Paper 

checks will be discontinued for all child care providers effective July 1, 2014.  

 

7.4.2. New providers who attend orientation are urged to apply to the State Auditor’s 

office for Direct Deposit of payments Providers whose payments are made through Direct 

Deposit will not receive a check stub with details of payment but may access detail on 

payments at the FACTS PLUS website at:  https://facts.wvdhhr.org/factsplus. 

 

7.5. Direct Deposit 

CCR&R staff shall inform all new providers about the process for Direct Deposit of their child 

care payments into a checking or savings account. Providers shall be given a copy of the ECE-

CC-27, which contains information about Direct Deposit and FACTS Plus and a Direct Deposit 

Authorization form. Providers apply using their eight-digit FACTS provider identification 

number. Providers with multiple identification numbers must submit an application for each ID 

number. Completed authorization forms are to be sent to the:  

 

WV State Auditor’s Office 

Electronic Payments Division 

Building 1, Room W-125 

Charleston, WV 25305 

OR 

Faxed to: 304-558-4376 

 

If providers have questions with regard to Direct Deposit, they may contact the WV State 

Auditor’s Office at: 1-800-500-4079 or 1-304-558-2251.   

 

7.6. Responding to Payment Inquiries and FACTS PLUS 

 

7.6.1. Payment Inquiries. 

CCR&R staff shall respond promptly to providers who inquire about payments.  Staff shall 

review FACTS data and provider files and discuss with the provider any reasons for the 

delay and action needed/planned to correct the problem.  If the delay is not the result of 

provider or worker error, the CCR&R shall contact Division of Early Care and Education 

clerical or field consultant staff. The Division of Early Care and Education will investigate 

and notify CCR&R and DHHR staff about any problems. The CCR&R staff shall relay this 

information to any providers who inquire about payment delays. 

 

7.6.2. FACTS Plus. 

CCR&R staff will inform all providers about the availability of FACTS PLUS.  FACTS 

PLUS is a free internet service that allows providers to view information about child care 

payments made through FACTS, including child information and processing dates. 

Authorized persons have access 24 hours a day. Providers can access their information using 

any computer that has Internet Explorer Browser 6.0 or higher.  A provider may request a 

FACTS PLUS account by going to https://facts.wvdhhr.org/factsplus. Individual providers 

https://facts.wvdhhr.org/factsplus
https://facts.wvdhhr.org/factsplus
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(informal, relative and family child care providers) complete the Individual Provider 

Application Form.  Staff persons in child care centers or family child care facilities complete 

the Agency/Facility Application, which must be signed by the Director or Owner/Operator.  

An additional authorization on agency letterhead is necessary for someone other than the 

Director to access the FACTS PLUS Account.  Providers who have questions may contact 

the FACTS Help Desk.  

 

7.7. Child Care Attendance Sheets (ECE-CC-10-G). 

All Child Care Providers are required to maintain sign in and out form for all children in care 

to confirm child attendance and justify the days and hours of care for enhanced rates for non-

traditional work hours.  Child Care Providers shall be given a supply of Child Care Attendance 

Sheets (ECE-CC-10-G).  All types of child care providers, with the exception of child care 

centers, are required to use the prescribed form. While centers are not required to use the same 

format, they may be asked to do so.  If the CCR&R Staff has concerns about consistent errors 

on the center’s chosen format, the CCR&R and the center shall work together to decide upon a 

format that reduces errors in submission, including use of the Child Care Attendance Sheets.  

Centers with electronic sign in and out system may substitute reports generated by their systems 

if parents sign off at the end of each month.  Copies of the forms shall be retained in the 

provider’s files for five years and shall be available for review by DHHR staff.  

 

7.7.1. Completion of Attendance Sheets. 

The provider shall enter the names of all children in care on the form.  Child care clients 

shall mark each child’s time in and out, designated AM or PM, daily in the box provided.  

The client’s signature on the signature line of the form verifies that the times shown 

accurately reflect their children’s attendance.  Times must be shown as AM or PM.  Children 

who attend in the morning, leave and return in the afternoon must be signed in and out both 

times.  Caregivers shall not sign as the client, as this is considered misrepresentation and can 

result in negative action.  

 

7.7.2. Sign In and Out  

Children shall not be allowed to sign themselves in and out.  In cases where a child is 

transported to and from child care by bus or van, a teacher, aide, driver, director or caregiver 

may sign the child in and out if the client signs off on the attendance sheet at the end of the 

month verifying that their child was in care before and after school on those dates.  However, 

if the client is available, he or she must be responsible for signing the children in and out; a 

client may not request that the caregiver sign a child in or out as a matter of convenience. 

 

7.7.3. Accuracy of Records. 

The provider’s signature on the sign in and out forms is certification that this is an accurate 

record of the attendance of all children in care.  Failure to keep accurate records may result 

in negative action, to include corrective and/or legal action, referral for misrepresentation, 

and/or requests for repayment of any funds received by the provider as payment for 

subsidized children.  If there is substantiated misrepresentation by the provider, the provider 

shall be prohibited from future participation in the Certificate Program. However, if the 

provider makes full restitution, a one-time waiver may be considered. The provider must 
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request the waiver in writing, and the CCR&R shall forward the request to the Division of 

Early Care and Education for approval/denial. 

 

7.7.4. Frequency of Submission. 

All providers, except child care centers, must submit copies of their sign in and out forms 

with monthly Requests for Payment.  Child care centers shall only submit copies upon 

request from the CCR&R case manager, two times annually.  The case manager shall request 

forms from each center at least once between the months of January to June and once again 

between July and December.  If an audit of the forms indicates errors, the CCR&R may 

require a center to submit forms monthly until the errors are corrected and/or any improper 

payment is resolved. The CCR&R staff shall audit all other sign in and out forms monthly, 

comparing them to the provider’s payment request, and checking the parent signatures with 

those on the Service Agreement (DAY-0162). 

 

7.8. Lost and Returned Checks. 

Child care provider checks are occasionally mailed to the wrong address, lost in the mail or 

stolen. Many are returned to the Check Control office within the Division of Finance.  However, 

some checks are never located or are cashed by someone other than the provider. Procedures 

for Lost and Returned Checks: 

 

7.8.1. Returned Checks:  

When checks are returned to the Check Control office, the office notifies the CCR&R agency 

that the check has been returned.  The CCR&R agency takes the following steps: 

 

7.8.1.1. The CCR&R case manager shall mail or FAX a memo to the Check Control 

Division asking that the check be released to the provider at the correct address.  The 

memo shall contain the provider’s name, new/correct address, check number, provider 

number, and amount of check. 

 

7.8.1.2. The CCR&R agency shall notify the DHHR Child Care Case manager or 

licensing specialist by e-mail that the address is incorrect in FACTS. 

 

7.8.1.3. DHHR staff shall change the address in FACTS.  If the provider has moved, 

a new W-9 form must be completed before future payments can be made. 

 

7.8.2. Lost, Stolen and Misplaced Checks: 

 

7.8.2.1. If the provider’s check does not arrive within 10 days of the date mailed, a 

designated staff person shall contact the WV State Check Control Division to see if the 

check has been returned. 

 

7.8.2.2. If it has not been returned to the WV State Division of Finance or if it is 

lost, misplaced or stolen, the CCR&R agency shall schedule an appointment with the 

provider to sign a Lost Check Affidavit (DF-38).  The provider shall sign three original 

copies of the affidavit. 
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7.8.2.3. These forms must be notarized and forwarded to the WV State Division of 

Finance. 

 

7.8.2.4. A stop payment request is then sent to the WV State Treasurer’s Office. 

 

A. If the check has not been cashed, a check will be reissued.  

 

B. If the check is cashed, a photocopy of the signed check is sent to the CCR&R case 

manager.  The provider shall view the copy of the check to verify if it is his/her 

signature.  If the provider indicates that this is not his/her signature, a memo with the 

signed statement to that effect is sent to the Division of Finance. 

 

C. After the WV State Treasury collects reimbursement for DHHR from the 

person/business that cashed the check, another check is issued to the provider. 

 

7.9. Wage Garnishment Requests  

Occasionally CCR&Rs will receive requests for garnishment of child care provider subsidy 

payments. 

 

The person or agency seeking the garnishment is to email a copy to:  

DHHRFinanceAR@wv.gov 

 

The original should be sent to: 

WV DHHR 

Accounts Receivable 

1 Davis Square Suite 403 

Charleston, WV 25301 

 

  

mailto:DHHRFinanceAR@wv.gov
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CHAPTER 8: Improper Payments: Prevention, 

Identification, Measurement and Recoupment 

 

8.0 Improper Payments Overview 

The Federal Improper Payments Act of 2002 has created special concern about improper 

payments and their recovery in all federally funded programs. An improper payment occurs 

when the funds go to the wrong recipient, the recipient receives the incorrect amount of funds, 

or the recipient obtains or uses the funds in an improper manner. By strengthening financial 

management controls so that Federal agencies can better detect and prevent improper payments, 

the Federal Government can better ensure that taxpayer dollars are spent wisely and efficiently. 

 

Everyone involved in the administration of the child care subsidy program should understand 

what can be done to maintain program integrity; what constitutes misrepresentation; what action 

should be taken in cases where misrepresentation is suspected; and the methods and procedures 

for performing these functions. 

 

8.1 Maintaining Program Integrity 

It is the responsibility of every Child Care Resource and Referral employee and every DHHR 

employee to minimize the opportunity for improper payments by performing his duties as 

outlined in this Child Care Policy Manual. It is essential that the case manager fully understands 

these policies and procedures. The primary burden for the prevention of misrepresentation rests 

on the CCR&R case manager. The case manager must make sure that the application, status 

check forms, and supporting verifications have been fully completed, properly signed, dated, 

and any conflicting or missing information brought to the attention of the client for clarification 

or completion. Reviewing the case record and verifications thoroughly prior to issuing a 

certificate to the client will aid the case manager in reducing errors and preventing 

misrepresentation. 

 

Clients can be expected to give information only in relation to their understanding of program 

requirements. Case managers should ensure that clients and providers fully understand their 

rights and responsibilities as subsidy program participants, and that this be documented in the 

FACTS record. Great care should be taken to ensure that: 

 

• Clients and providers understand their respective application and status check forms. 

• They are aware of their responsibility to report any changes in circumstances.  

• Clients and providers are aware that attempts to obtain assistance through 

 misrepresentation will be subject to legal penalties.  

 

Although the client is the primary source of information and is fully responsible for it, the case 

manager should not hesitate to verify questionable or inconsistent information any time there 

is doubt about a client’s situation. The signature page of the child care application and status 

check gives the case manager the authority to investigate discrepancies and suspicions. 

 

8.2 Improper Payment Prevention Strategies 
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West Virginia uses a variety of means to prevent errors that result in improper payments. The 

FACTS system is designed to take the information entered in the system by the CCR&R case 

manager and use it to determine eligibility. This eliminates many of the errors, with the 

exception of errors in the data entry itself. As part of the required Quality Assurance plan, each 

CCR&R agency shall have a process to internally monitor eligibility determinations, payment 

processing, and FACTS data entry. In addition, state level staff work with CCR&R agencies to 

identify problem policies, procedures and forms that may lead to errors.  Solutions are 

developed by committee and supported in the field through training and technical assistance 

supplied by the child care consultants. 

 

Strategies developed to prevent and reduce errors and improper payments include the following: 

 

8.2.1. CCR&R agencies must use the State’s management information system, the Family 

and Children’s Tracking System (FACTS), to determine financial eligibility and calculate 

payment amounts due.  The system also has controls to limit payments to eligible days and 

children only. 

 

8.2.2. CCR&R agencies must use State developed child care policy and procedures. 

 

8.2.3. CCR&R agencies must develop and implement Quality Assurance Plans to review 

and oversee eligibility determinations, case maintenance, and payment processing. 

 

8.2.4. Family child care providers must submit sign in and out sheets to verify attendance 

along with their billing forms, and centers are asked on a random basis to submit their sign 

in and out sheets along with their billing forms. 

 

8.2.5. CCR&R agencies must audit billing forms and compare work and school schedules 

to times shown on the sign in and out form to verify child care usage complies with time 

approved. 

 

8.2.6. Child care providers who submit incorrect or improper billing forms must attend a 

retraining session on proper billing procedures.  After attending two retraining sessions, if 

the provider fails to comply with appropriate billing procedures, the provider can be denied 

participation in the certificate system.  

 

8.2.7. Subsidy clients must submit verifications for activities and income.  For example, 

students receiving services must provide school schedules and grades.  Employed clients 

must submit pay stubs for one month’s period and work schedules. Case managers review 

pay stubs carefully, reviewing for unreported overtime, bonuses, and incentives in the year 

to date columns. 

 

8.2.8. CCR&R case managers can implement a thirty-day penalty closure for clients who 

violate subsidy policy rules and responsibilities. If a parent fails to fulfill these 

responsibilities, the case manager shall give a written warning regarding specific problems, 

noting that subsequent abuses may result in a 30-day penalty closure. 
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8.2.9. In addition to the above requirements, two state level Child Care Consultants 

provide oversight and technical assistance to the CCR&R agencies.  They perform the 

following activities: 

 

8.2.9.1. Quarterly sampling of CCR&R cases to ensure compliance with appropriate 

procedures and policies. 

8.2.9.2. Training and technical assistance to CCR&R agencies on Child Care Policy, 

procedures, and the use of FACTS. 

 

8.3. Types of Improper Payments 

Improper payments include misrepresentation on the part of the parent or provider; worker error 

in determining eligibility, authorizing or paying for care; and programmatic infractions by 

parents or providers 

 

8.3.1. Worker Error  

Improper payments due to worker error are defined as payments that should not have been 

made, or that were made in an incorrect amount due to worker error in determining and 

verifying eligibility, and/or calculation and input of information into the Family and 

Children’s Tracking System (FACTS). Incorrect amounts include overpayments, 

underpayments and inappropriate denials of payment. 

 

8.3.1.1. Examples of worker error: 

 

A. The child care regulatory specialist enables the “accreditation” box, allowing the 

provider to receive an extra $4 per day, when the provider has not achieved 

accreditation, and is not entitled to the enhanced rate. 

 

B. The case manager enters an incorrect number of days when entering information 

from the payment form into FACTS. 

 

C. The case manager enters more time on the child care assessment than the client’s 

work or school schedule supports. 

 

D. The case manager fails to verify income, school enrollment, or special needs status. 

 

8.3.1.2. Repayment of an improper payment due to CCR&R worker error is not 

mandatory regardless of the amount. 

 

8.3.2. Misrepresentation  

Misrepresentation occurs when a specific child care policy section is violated as a result of 

the information not having been reported by the client or reported falsely. If the CCR&R 

Agency becomes aware that the client/provider is attempting to or has received 

services/payments to which they are not entitled, the CCR&R case manager must take 

corrective action to prevent further payments from occurring. Improper payments made as a 

result of misrepresentation shall be referred to Investigations and Fraud Management (IFM) 

when the amount exceeds $1,000.00. If the amount does not exceed $1000.00, the CCR&R 
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shall initiate repayment procedures. A willfully false statement is one that is deliberately 

given, with the intent that it be accepted as true, with the knowledge that it is false. It is an 

essential element in a misrepresentation charge that the client/provider knew his statement 

was false.  

 

8.3.2.1. Examples of a willfully false statement include the following: 

 

A. The client states that he does not receive child support when he really does. 

 

B. The child care provider bills for days when the child was not in their care. 

 

C. The client states that she/he is employed when she/he is not. 

 

8.3.2.2. Misrepresentation can also consist of the suppression of what is true. For 

example, the client omits child’s biological father when listing household members on 

her status check, or the client fails to report bonuses received on the application. 

  

8.3.2.3. When a parent continues to use child care services when the need no longer 

exists (e.g., parent has lost job or quit school, non-working/non-school attending 

biological parent has moved into the home), the case will be closed, and no further 

payment made.  As soon as the CCR&R case manager is aware that the client is using 

services when the need no longer exists, the case manager should: 

 

A. Immediately call the child care provider and tell them that effective the next 

business day, the agency will no longer be responsible for payment. 

  

B. Send an immediate closure notice to the parent, advising them of the status of their 

case and the need for repayment. 

 

C. The Recipient shall repay to the agency any child care monies paid on their behalf 

during the period of ineligibility. If the amount is under $1000.00, the CCR&R 

should collect the funds. If the amount is over $1,000.00, the case should be referred 

to IFM. 

 

8.3.3. Programmatic Infractions 

There are times when it is difficult to discern whether an improper payment occurred due to 

willful misrepresentation or is simply the result of a client/provider’s genuine confusion over 

subsidy program rules and responsibilities. When the case manager believes that improper 

payment is result of the client’s failure to understand, it is a programmatic infraction. It is 

the CCR&R’s responsibility to collect improper payments in this instance, regardless of the 

amount. 

 

8.3.3.1. Examples of Programmatic Infractions: 

 

A. The child’s parent gives the provider permission to sign the children in and out on 

the sign in sheets. This is a violation of sign in and out procedures, but it is not forgery. 
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B. The client gets married during his certificate period and does not report the 

household addition until the next status check.  The client could reasonably argue that 

he failed to understand program rules requiring the reporting of changes within five 

days. 

 

8.3.3.2. If the case manager is ever in doubt of whether the improper payment is a 

programmatic infraction or misrepresentation, and the improper payment amount is less 

than $1000, the case manager should discuss the case with the CCR&R supervisor who 

will consult with the CCR&R Program Director, and together, make the decision to 

pursue repayment.  

 

8.4. Referrals to Investigations and Fraud Management  

 

8.4.1. Procedure for Referrals. 

 If the overpayment is $1000 or greater and is due to misrepresentation by the client or 

provider, the case manager should prepare a memo explaining the circumstances, the time 

period, and an estimate of the amount involved. 

 

8.4.1.1. Indicate person (s) who can verify the information and attach copies of all 

documentation including ECE-CC-10-A (Payment Form) and attendance sheets ECE-

CC-10-G, that help support the complaint. The memo should also state what corrective 

action the case manager has taken on the case. The memo and supporting documents 

should be sent to:  

 

Department of Health & Human Resources 

Office of Inspector General 

Investigations and Fraud Management 

Attention:  Chief Investigator 

Capitol Complex, Building 6 

Charleston, West Virginia  25305 

 

 

8.4.1.2. The client/provider is NOT to be advised that a referral has been made.  If 

questioned, advise the client/provider that the matter has been referred to another unit for 

evaluation.  DO NOT indicate that fraud is suspected. 

 

8.4.2. When Not to Refer to Investigations Fraud Management. 

There are times when cases should not be referred to Investigations and Fraud Management 

regardless of the amount of the improper payment. It is the CCR&R’s responsibility to 

recover payments in this instance. Referrals should not be made when: 

 

8.4.2.1. More than two years have passed since the misrepresentation period ended. 

 

8.4.2.2. The case manager did not collect appropriate case verifications or process 

the case correctly. 
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8.4.2.3. Information affecting eligibility was previously reported and the agency did 

not take corrective action. 

 

8.4.2.4. If the case manager believes the client/provider is not mentally competent 

or did not understand his responsibilities to report changes in his circumstances. 

 

8.5. Recovery of Improper payments 

 

8.5.1. When an improper payment or misrepresentation of $1000 or less is discovered, 

either to/by a client or provider, the CCR&R case manager should immediately notify the 

supervisor. 

 

8.5.2. When willful misrepresentation is not clear, the CCR&R case manager will notify 

the CCR&R supervisor who will consult with the  CCR&R Program Director, and together, 

make the decision to pursue repayment.  

 

8.5.3. Supervisors are responsible for negotiating repayment schedules with providers 

and/or clients and completing a Repayment Agreement (ECE-CC-19) to include the amount 

to be recovered, the period of recovery, the monthly recovery amount, and the procedure for 

repayment.  When a Child Care Benefit Repayment Agreement (ECE-CC-19) is entered into, 

the CCR&R shall send a copy of the completed and signed agreement to:  

 

Division of Accounting and Reporting 

Office of Operations 

WV DHHR Bureau for Children and Families 

350 Capitol Street Suite 730 

Charleston WV 25301-3711 

 

8.5.4. If intentional misrepresentation may have occurred and the provider/client remains 

active, it is recommended that the CCR&R case manager try to collect the payment in full.  

If this is not feasible, it is suggested that the CCR&R case manager request that the client or 

provider be asked to repay the amount in monthly installment payments of approximately 

10% of the amount due. 

 

8.5.5. Payment schedules should be sufficient to recover the amount due within a 

reasonable time period but should not pose an undue hardship on a client.  The amount of 

payment should not exceed living costs. Payments must be made by money order. 

 

8.5.6. When a check needs to be cancelled or an overpayment/repayment submitted, the 

CCR&R agency shall submit the payment/check and form (ECE-CC-68) to the closest 

DHHR District Office. 

 

8.5.7. If a payment is more than forty-five (45) days late (15 days past the due date), the 

entire unpaid balance becomes due and must be paid in full.  Failure to repay the requested 

amount shall result in case closure for clients or denial of participation in the certificate 
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system for child care providers. Client services will not be reinstated until full payment is 

received.  

 

8.6. Subsidy Participation and Improper Payments 

 

8.6.1. Clients. 

 

8.6.1.1. Clients who owe repayment are not eligible to participate in the subsidy 

system as providers until the balance is paid in full.  

 

8.6.1.2. Clients who have been notified of the need to enter into repayment, but fail 

to respond within 13 days, are not eligible to participate in the subsidy system until the 

full amount due is paid. 

 

8.6.2. Unresolved Fraud Referrals and New Applications. 

 If a client whose case has been referred to fraud reapplies, the case manager should accept 

the application and process it as usual. A client’s circumstances may have changed since the 

alleged misrepresentation occurred. Pending criminal action has no bearing on current 

eligibility, unless more recent verification indicates misrepresentation still exists. 

 

8.6.3. Providers. 

 Providers owing repayment, who apply as clients must enter into a repayment agreement 

before receiving a certificate.   

 

8.6.4. Substantiated Misrepresentation in Child Care or other DHHR Programs. 

  If there is substantiated misrepresentation by a person in any DHHR administered program 

(TANF, Child Care, Food Stamps, etc.), that person shall be prohibited from participation in 

the subsidy program as any type of child care provider, including Registered Family Child 

Care, Registered Informal or Relative Family Child Care, Family Child Care Facility, 

Approved In-Home Child Care, Unlicensed School-Age Programs and Licensed Child Care 

Centers. This means that the person cannot: 

 

8.6.4.1. Have contact with child care children. 

 

8.6.4.2. Be involved in the child care business or day to day operations. 

 

8.6.4.3. Be employed or used as a substitute in the child care program. 

 

8.6.4.4. However, if the person makes full restitution of the total amount of the 

misrepresentation, a one-time waiver may be considered. The person must request the 

waiver in writing, and the CCR&R shall forward the request to the Division of Early Care 

and Education for approval/denial.  

 

8.6.4.5. Child care providers of any type, with substantiated misrepresentation in 

any DHHR program, may continue to operate as unsubsidized child care providers, and 

serve only private pay children. Certificates of Registration and/or Licenses shall not be 
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revoked for substantiated misrepresentation. Neither WV Code nor promulgated child 

care regulations prevent the issuance of Certificate of Registration or Licensure based 

solely on substantiated misrepresentation. 

 

8.6.5. Exceptions for WV Works Participants. 

WV Works participants are subject to the same Recovery of Improper payment efforts as 

non-TANF Child Care recipients. However, when making repayment arrangements, the 

supervisor or case manager should consider the impact of payment schedules and amounts 

on very low-income WV Works clients. When possible, graduated repayment arrangements 

can be considered, such as increasing the amount due per month as the client’s income 

increases. If a WV Works client fails to make repayment arrangements, or becomes 

delinquent, case managers should consult with WV Works supervisors and case managers 

to see if a joint counseling session with the client can be scheduled to reinforce program 

requirements. If no agreement can be reached, and the client fails to repay amounts due the 

agency, services will be closed. 

 

8.7 Billing Form Discrepancies 

 

8.7.1 Using Critical Thinking 

As the CCR&R case manager compares billing forms and sign in and out sheets to the 

parent’s need for care in FACTS, discrepancies may appear. The CCR&R case manager 

should use critical thinking techniques to determine whether or not the payment should be 

authorized. Critical thinking is a disciplined process of arriving at logical conclusions from 

available information. This means that the case manager should analyze information, 

evaluate alternatives, and select the best conclusion based on information that is known. 

Conclusions should be based upon facts, be free of personal biases and preconceived 

thoughts and reflect a rational position. Case managers should also remember that child care 

providers rely on child care reimbursements to keep their businesses viable. 

 

For example: 

 

Sally works at Bob’s Grocery Store. Since she has been with her employer for a long time, 

she receives the perk of a regular schedule, and has reported that she works 7 AM to 4 PM, 

Tuesday through Saturday.  

 

However, in January, you receive a billing form and sign in and out sheets that show that 

Sally has used care on Saturday nights from 8 PM to 12 PM, and on Mondays from 3 PM to 

9PM, in addition to her usual 6:30 – 4:30, Tuesday through Saturday. 

 

Sally has been a client for two years, and this is the first time you have ever seen any 

discrepancy occur. 

 

 Should the case manager: 

 

A. Send the billing form back to the provider. 
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B. Authorize the entire payment. 

 

C. Authorize partial payment and send a letter to Sally requesting verification of need 

for care on additional days. 

 

D. Hold the entire bill until clarification is received. 

 

 The correct answer is C - authorize payment for the days that match Sally’s regular work 

schedule and request additional information regarding the other days. There are many potential 

explanations for the odd days: Sally could be filling in for a sick co-worker, or her employer 

could have required her to attend training. The case manager should remind Sally of her 

responsibility to inform her case manager of any changes in work schedule or need for care. 

 

 However, the answer could be different if the case manager has previously had issues with 

Sally’s provider. If the case manager has reason to suspect the provider of attempting to over 

bill, the correct answer would be to call Sally and ask her if she did indeed use care on those 

days. The correct answer could be different still if both Sally and her provider have a history 

of failure to follow program guidelines. Case managers should base payment authorization 

decisions on known client history, known provider history, and available case data and 

verifications, in conjunction with supervisory input. 

 

8.7.2. How to Address Use and Billing for Unauthorized Days and Times 

 

8.7.2.1. If the majority of the time billed matches the client’s reported activity 

schedule, and authorizing the payment at this time will not interfere with the 13-20-day 

monthly payment calculation, the case manager should:  

 

A. Authorize and process payment for all days that match the reported activity 

schedule. 

 

B. Send a letter to the provider, reminding the provider to refer to the time and 

schedule limits on the child care certificate when preparing billing forms. Remind the 

provider that days of care provided outside of times allowed on the certificate are 

considered private pay days unless the client has received approval from the case 

manager to use additional days of care. Advise the provider that the client will have 

13 days to provide verification of the need for care during the days/times that do not 

match the reported schedule. If such verification is not received, the client will be 

responsible for payment for the remaining days. 

 

C. Send a 13-day notice to the client requesting verifications that support the need for 

care on the additional days and advising the client that if such verifications are not 

received, that the client will be responsible for payment to the provider. The client 

should also be reminded at this time of the responsibility to report changes in activity 

schedules as soon as possible to avoid payment delays for their provider and to avoid 

possible thirty-day penalty closures for failure to comply with program requirements. 
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D. If the client provides documentation of eligible activity participation for the excess 

days within the allotted time frame, the case manager should authorize and process the 

additional payment. The case manager should also document the additional payment 

in the client’s FACTS contact screen. 

 

8.7.2.2. If the majority of the time billed matches the client’s reported activity 

schedule, but authorizing the payment at this point would interfere with the 13-20-day 

monthly payment calculation, OR if the time billed does not match the client’s reported 

activity schedule at all, the case manager should: 

 

A. Send a letter to the provider, reminding the provider to refer to the time and 

schedule limits on the child care certificate when preparing billing forms. Remind the 

provider that days of care provided outside of times allowed on the certificate are 

considered private pay days unless the client has received approval from the case 

manager to use additional days or an altered schedule of care. Advise the provider that 

the client will have 13 days to provide verification of the need for care during the 

days/times that do not match the reported schedule. If such verification is not received, 

the provider will be paid for the total number of days that match the client’s reported 

schedule, and that the client will be responsible for payment for the remaining days. 

The provider should be advised that she may call and request payment for the 

authorized days, exchanging quicker payment for the full monthly rate. The case 

manager should authorize and process payment for schedule matching days at the 

provider’s request, making sure to remind the provider of any potential lost funds due 

to the loss of the 13 – 20-day monthly rate. 

 

B. Send a 13-day notice to the client requesting verifications that support the need for 

care on the additional days and advising the client that if such verifications are not 

received, that the client will be responsible for payment to the provider. The client 

should also be reminded at this time of the responsibility to report changes in activity 

schedules as soon as possible to avoid payment delays for their provider and to avoid 

possible thirty-day penalty closures for failure to comply with program requirements. 

 

C. If the client provides documentation of eligible activity participation for the 

unauthorized days/times, the case manager should authorize and process the entire 

payment. The case manager should also document the payment delay and reasons for 

any additional authorizations in the client’s FACTS contact screen. 

 

D. If the client does not provide documentation of eligible activity participation for the 

unauthorized days/times with the required time frame, the case manager should 

authorize and process the payment only for days that match the reported activity 

schedule, if any. 

 

8.7.2.3. Clients who fail to notify staff of changes in activity schedules after 

previously being notified of their responsibility to do so shall be given a thirty-day penalty 

closure for each offense after the second warning. 
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8.7.2.4. Providers who repeatedly bill for days in excess of the certificate allowance 

shall be called in for retraining on the child care certificate provisions after the second 

warning.  

 

8.8 Corrective Action Plans 

A Corrective Action Plan is used when a subsidy program non-compliance exists. This type of 

corrective action plan is issued by the CCR&R agency. Child Care Providers will from time to 

time make errors in completing Requests for Payment or accidentally breach the service 

agreement. Occasional minor mistakes are not grounds for closure. However, consistent 

unwillingness or inability to comply with appropriate Request for Payment and Sign In and Out 

procedures, or the terms of the service contract should be addressed with a corrective action 

plan.  

 

8.8.1  Elements of a Corrective Action Plan. 

A corrective action plan states how the provider will correct the violation(s), how the 

provider will assure it will not recur, and who is responsible for implementing and 

monitoring the plan. A corrective action plan must contain the following information:  

 

8.8.1.1 A statement indicating what correction(s) needs to be made. This could be 

either in a physical area of the home, or, in the case of subsidy system violations, in the 

areas of billing or breaches of the provider contract. 

 

8.8.1.2 A statement as to how the corrective action will be accomplished, to remedy 

the violation(s). 

 

8.8.1.3 A statement as to what measures will be put into place or systematic changes 

made to ensure that the violation(s) will not recur; or 

 

8.8.1.4 A statement as to what interim measures will be put in place until systematic 

changes are made to ensure that the violations will not recur. 

 

8.8.1.5 A statement indicating when the specific corrections and systematic 

changes will be made (within a reasonable period of time, relative to the seriousness of 

the violation); 

 

8.8.1.6 A statement as to who (name, title of position) is responsible for monitoring 

the corrective actions. 

 

8.8.1.7  A statement as to who (name, title of position) is responsible for completion 

of the corrective action plan and what systems will be put in place to ensure that the 

violation(s) are corrected and will not recur. 

 

8.8.2 Procedures for Corrective Action for Child Care Resource and Referral Staff. 

When child care providers participating in the subsidy program violate the terms and 

conditions of the provider service contract and/or billing requirements, it may be necessary 

to place the provider on a Corrective Action Plan.  
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8.8.2.1  First Offense – Strike One 

 

A. Billing Errors. 

The first time a provider submits an incorrect Request for Payment Form (ECE-CC-

10-A) and attendance sheet (ECE-CC-10-G), the CCR&R case manager shall send a 

letter to the provider indicating the payment request is incorrect. A Corrective Action 

Plan is not done for the first occurrence.  The CCR&R case manager shall have the 

provider submit another request for payment with the appropriate corrections made. 

Corrections on Request for Payment forms or Child Care Attendance records shall not 

be made with “white out.” Parents and/or Providers, as appropriate, shall strike 

through incorrect information, make corrections and initial them. If corrections need 

to be made to original Child Care Attendance sheets (ECE-CC-10G) – parents should 

also initial to verify the corrections. If Child Care Attendance sheets are incorrect, 

clients should also be notified of their responsibility for appropriately completing sign 

in and out procedures. 

  

B. Service Contract. 

The first time a provider violates the service agreement, the case manager should 

notify the provider of the breach and remind the provider of the terms of the service 

agreement. A Corrective Action Plan is not done for the first occurrence. 

 

8.8.2.2. Successive Occurrence – Strike Two 

For successive occurrences, the CCR&R case manager shall take the following steps: 

 

A. Create a Corrective Action Plan addressing each of the items in Section II of this 

chapter. 

 

B. The case manager/supervisor will schedule a conference with the provider to 

discuss the Corrective Action Plan.  

 

1. Billing Issues: If the provider submits a second incorrect Request for 

Payment form (ECE-CC-10-A), the CCR&R case manager shall contact the 

provider by telephone or letter to schedule an individual training session on the 

payment process. At this time, the case manager will develop a Corrective Action 

Plan. The additional training must be documented, and the provider notified in 

writing that any future incorrect billing forms will result in termination from the 

Certificate system.  

 

2. Service Agreement Issues: The second time the provider violates the service 

agreement, the CCR&R case manager shall contact the provider by telephone or 

letter to schedule an individual training session on the service agreement. At this 

time, the case manager will develop a Corrective Action Plan. 
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C. If the provider refuses to sign the corrective Action Plan, the provider’s service 

contract shall be canceled within thirteen (13) days, and the provider shall no longer 

be permitted to participate in the subsidy program. 

 

D. If, during the thirteen days, the provider agrees to sign and complete the corrective 

action plan, the closure notice shall be rescinded. 

 

E. Providers refusing to sign and/or agree to corrective action plans shall be denied 

future participation in the subsidy program until the corrective action plan is signed 

and completed. 

 

8.8.2.3.  Follow-Up on Corrective Action – Strike Three:   

 

A. CCR&R case managers must follow up on Corrective Action Plans to determine 

whether or not corrective action is achieved by the date on the plan. 

   

B. Providers who fail to achieve the corrections required by the corrective action plan, 

submit a third incorrect payment form, or violate the service agreement for a third time 

shall be subject to the “Three Strikes Rule – strike three – you’re out.” The CCR&R 

case manager shall send the provider a 13-day cancellation notice using Cancellation 

Notice for Child Care Provider Services Agreement.  Families using the provider shall 

also receive notification to select a new provider. 

 

C. Providers prohibited from participation in the subsidy system due to “striking out” 

may reapply after 12 months.  

 

D. The CCR&R supervisor should confer with their child care program specialist in 

the Division of Early Care and Education prior to approving the provider to participate 

in the subsidy system. 

 

E. Providers with a history of multiple non-compliance issues with the subsidy system 

policy and procedures or provider services agreement will not be approved to 

participate in the subsidy system. 

 

F. Providers owning multiple sites who have had their Provider Services Agreement 

revoked at one site shall also have all other subsequent site Provider Services 

Agreements revoked. 

 

8.8.2.4.  FACTS Documentation. 

The CCR&R case manager shall import the Corrective Action Plan into the FACTS 

provider case file and document the action taken in the FACTS Contact screen. 
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CHAPTER 9: CHILD CARE RESOURCE AND 

REFERRAL PROVIDER ORIENTATION AND 

PAYMENT ENROLLMENT 
 

9.0. General Provisions 

Since Child Care Centers and Family Child Care Facilities are required by law to be licensed 

prior to accepting either private-pay or subsidized children for care, they generally come into 

the child care system because of regulation.  Some home-based providers also enter the child 

care system for regulation because they care for children privately or want to be placed in the 

Child Care Resource and Referral’s (CCR&R) provider referral system or wish to participate 

in the Child and Adult Care Food Program.  These regulated programs/providers do not 

participate in enrollment unless and until they accept certificates. Upon initial contact with the 

CCR&R office to inquire about becoming a Child Care Provider,  the potential provider will be 

given a general overview of the child care provider application process, including information 

regarding WV CARES, and WV STARS, child care payment training and other CCR&R 

resources. The CCR&R staff will take the opportunity to register the individual for an upcoming 

Provider Orientation and Payment Enrollment training. 

 

All potential child care providers will be referred to a local Child Care Resource and Referral 

Agency. 

 

A child care provider will not be eligible for payment until the successful completion of the 

Provider Payment Training and has been issued a license or certificate of registration from the 

Child Care Regulatory unit.  

 

Unregulated providers such as in-home providers, come into the system when they agree to 

accept certificates.  Parents who are eligible for subsidy will not be permitted to select a 

provider who has not been issued a provider certificate of registration or Licensure.  

 

9.1. Overview: Enrolling Providers in the Subsidy System 

A potential child care provider who seeks to be reimbursed through the child care certificate 

system must attend Provider Orientation and Payment Enrollment through their local CCR&R. 

Enrollment consists of two distinct parts: Provider Orientation and Payment Enrollment. 

Potential providers need to attend Provider Orientation and Payment Enrollment in only one 

county even if they care for children from more than one county 

 

The potential provider shall be informed that no payment will be made to any person or facility 

operating an unlicensed center, an unlicensed family child care facility or an unregistered family 

child care home.  

 

9.1.1. When the parent selects a new child care provider or one who has been closed: 

 

9.1.1.1. The provider must have received a Certificate of Registration prior to the 

parent’s application for child care services or notification of a change in provider. 
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9.1.1.2. The provider payment eligibility shall begin on the date shown on the 

License, or Certificate of Registration, as issued by the West Virginia DHHR Licensing 

or Regulatory unit.  

 

9.1.2. Should the application for redetermination approval be denied: 

 

9.1.2.1. The child care regulatory specialist will inform the CCR&R case manager 

that the provider’s redetermination has been denied. The CCR&R case manager will  send 

the appropriate notices to the parent. 

 

9.1.2.2. Generally, the CCR&R case manager will issue a 13-day termination notice 

to the parent(s) to enable the parent(s) to locate a new provider. 

 

9.1.2.3. Should the provider become compliant within an allotted time period, the 

child care regulatory specialist will notify the CCR&R case manager who will notify the 

parent that the provider is now in compliance with WV Child Care Regulations and will 

be issued a certificate of registration and will continue to be eligible for payment.  

 

9.1.2.4. The provider will be paid during this period unless the child care regulatory 

specialist determines that immediate removal from the provider’s home is necessary to 

ensure safety of children. 

 

9.1.2.5. Additionally, the child care regulatory specialist and the CCR&R case 

manager may jointly decide to deny payment for the period of child care already 

provided.  However, this action should be taken with caution and only after considering 

the impact on the parent who may then be responsible for the payment. 

 

9.1.2.6. If the provider has had a certificate of registration revoked, no payment will 

be made until an approval is given or a certificate of registration is issued.  

 

9.1.3. Notifications to Parents and Providers  

 

9.1.3.1. The DAY-0179 is used by CCR&R staff to notify parents of issues 

regarding the provider’s status, i.e. when they must find a new provider because of 

enrollment or regulatory problems with a current provider.  The CCR&R case manager 

shall also offer assistance with locating other providers who are available and accessible 

to the parent. 

 

9.1.3.2. The CCR&R case manager uses the Provider Notification – Parent 

Eligibility (DAY-0613) to inform providers of any action regarding client eligibility/fees. 

 

9.1.3.3. The CCR&R case manager uses will use the Cancellation of Provider 

Services Contract Notice (DAY-0504) to cancel the provider contract. 

 

9.2. Use of Providers in Other Counties and States 
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9.2.1. When a parent selects a family child care provider in another county, the CCR&R 

in the provider’s county of residence should complete enrollment for funding and forward 

the necessary payment information to the parent’s case manager.  Registration and 

monitoring shall be done by a child care regulatory specialist covering the provider’s home 

county.  Client intake and payment will be completed by the CCR&R agency operating in 

the client’s home county.   

 

9.2.2. Child care programs from other states may not enroll for Child Care Subsidy 

funding in WV. 

 

9.3. Child Care Provider Orientation  

Orientation components are intended to disseminate information necessary to assist with a 

smooth registration process of child care providers, and to provide technical assistance and 

information on topics such as available training, and referral procedures. 

 

The orientation should be completed during individual office interviews or during group 

provider orientation.  For potential providers and those providers who have been closed over 

twelve months, the CCR&R should make every effort to schedule a Provider Orientation, at 

least, once, every calendar month, with no more than 45 days between sessions. The CCR&R 

will forward the Provider Orientation schedule, and any changes to the schedule, to the Division 

of Early Care and Education.   

 

CCR&R’s should add additional information, including CCR&R agency services, supportive 

websites, resource sheets, zoning requirements, etc. to cover specific local community 

requirements as needed. 

 

9.3.1. Best Practices for Provider Orientation 

 

9.3.1.1. The local child care regulatory specialist will be notified of the Provider 

Orientation schedule so that the regulatory specialist will have the opportunity to attend 

and provide technical assistance, explain regulatory requirements, and give potential 

providers an overview of a monitoring visit. 

 

9.3.1.2. Registered only providers may choose to attend orientation if the CCR&R 

has an open slot. The CCR&R may give priority to those registered only providers 

wishing to receive child care referrals. 

 

9.3.2. The CCR&R will review the following and assist with completion where 

 necessary: 

 

9.3.2.1. ECE-CC-8 Application (copy to be maintained by the CCR&R) 

 

9.3.2.2. ECE-CC-8A Authorization & Release for Protective Services   

  Record Check (one for each adult in the home) 

 

9.3.2.3. ECE-CC-7 Provider Information (copy maintained by the CCR&R) 
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9.3.2.4. IRS Form W-9 Request for Taxpayer Identification Number and   

  Certification. (copy maintained by the CCR&R) 

 

9.3.2.5. Day-0564 Child Care Provider Services Agreement (original   

  maintained by  the CCR&R) 

 

 Following the completion of Provider Orientation, the 5 forms, listed above, will be mailed, via 

U.S. Postal Service,  by the CCR&R Staff, to the Regulatory Unit Secretary at the address 

below: 

Child Care Regulatory Secretary 

Attn: Jackie Knight 

Division of Early Care and Education 

WV DHHR 

350 Capitol Street Room B-18 

Charleston, WV  25301 

 

 The provider application data will be entered into FACTS, by the Regulatory Unit Staff, after 

the provider applicant completes the WV CARES process. 

 

9.3.2.6. Description and regulations for each child care provider type 

 

9.3.2.7. Guide to WV CARES document 

 

9.3.2.8. West Virginia STARS information document 

 

9.3.2.9. West Virginia Child and Adult Food Program information document 

 

9.3.2.10. Form ECE-CC-10B Child Care Payment Form Instructions. 

 

9.3.2.11. Form ECE-CC-10G Child Care Attendance Sheet  (The provider   

  should be given a supply of attendance sheets). 

 

9.3.2.12. Form ECE-CC-10A Request for Payment Child Care Services. (The  

  provider should be given a supply of payment form requests). 

 

9.3.2.13. Form ECE-CC-10C Instructions for Collecting Child Care Daily   

  Fees 

 

9.3.2.14. Form ECE-CC-10D Child Care Parent Fee Notices.  (The provider   

  should be given a start-up supply of Child Care Parent Fee Notices).  

 

9.3.2.15. Form ECE-CC-10F Provider Notice to Agency (The provider   

  should be given a start-up supply of Provider Notice to Agency). 

 

9.3.2.16. Appendix B – Payment Rates/Tiered Reimbursement 
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9.3.2.17. Day-0176 Child Care Certificate 

 

9.3.2.18. FACTS Direct Deposit Setup 

 

9.3.2.19. WV FACTS PLUS Application Confidentiality Statement 

 

9.3.2.20. ECE-CC-10H Child Care Payment Form Quiz 

 

9.3.2.21. ECE-CC-6A Payment Process Training Certificate (Addendum to   

  the Child Care Provider Services Agreement) 

 

9.3.2.22. ECE-CC-14A FCC Home Provider Information Packet, and Guide   

  to Providing Family Child Care in WV 

 

9.3.2.23. The CCR&R case manager shall inform the providers of the   

  following: 

 

A. Providers must be at least eighteen (18) years of age.  

 

B. Providers shall not be paid for child care if they are the child’s parent, step-parent, 

legal guardian or another member of the family’s as defined by child care policy. 

 

C. Informal, Relative and Registered family child care providers may not operate more 

than eighteen consecutive hours in a twenty-four-hour period. 

 

D. Caregivers who also provide other services such as foster care, or adult care must 

contact their regulatory specialist to discuss whether or not they are eligible to become 

a child care provider. 

 

E. The provider application process will not progress until the WV CARES process 

has been completed. Once the criminal history and background check is completed, 

the potential provider will be contacted by the Regulatory Staff to continue the 

application process. 

 

9.3.3. WV CARES Registration Process 

A criminal history background check and a CPS/APS background check is  required of the 

potential provider and all adult household members age 18 and over.  The CCR&R case 

manager will provide information regarding the initial registration for WV CARES process 

and provide a guide document.   

 

9.3.4. WV STARS Registry Account 

The CCR&R case manager will provide information regarding the initial registration 

process. A member of the agency’s Professional Development Team will make every effort 

to assist with the delivery of the WV STARS information.  
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9.3.4.1. The CCR&R Staff will notify the potential provider that additional required 

Health & Safety Training will be delivered via WV STARS.  

 

9.3.5. Child and Adult Care Food Program 

The CCR&R case manager will provide information regarding the Child and Adult Care 

Food Program. The CCR&R will notify the Child and Adult Care Food Program 

Representative so they will have the opportunity to be present to explain the program. 

 

9.3.6. WV Birth to Three 

The worker should provide information on WV Birth to Three. Birth to Three is a statewide 

system of services and supports for children under age three who have a delay in their 

development, or may be at risk of having a delay, and their family.  The Department of 

Health and Human Resources, through the Bureau for Public Health and the Office of 

Maternal, Child and Family Health, WV Birth to Three, as the lead agency for Part C of the 

Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA), assures that family centered, 

community based services are available to all eligible children and families.   

 

9.3.7. WIC 

The worker should provide information on WIC. WIC is the Special  Supplemental 

Nutrition Program for Women, Infants and Children. WIC was established in 1972, as a pilot 

project following a national survey that found anemia and inadequate growth to be common 

among American children in low-income families. In 1974, WIC was established as a 

discretionary program, available throughout the United States.  WIC is primarily funded 

through the United States Department of Agriculture. It is administered by the West Virginia 

Bureau for Public Health, Office of Nutrition Services. 

 

9.3.8. Zoning 

The CCR&R should add zoning information and contacts to the orientation session as 

applicable by area. 

 

9.3.9. List of Child Care Regulatory Specialists   

The CCR&R should include a list of local child care regulatory specialists and contact 

numbers. 

 

9.3.10. CCR&R resources: 

 

A. Training. 

 

B. Behavior Support Consultant.  

 

C. TRAILS. 

 

D. Infant Toddler Specialist. 

 

E. Newsletter. 
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F. Website. 

 

G. Grants 

 

9.3.11. Discussion of Regulations: 

 

9.3.11.1. The worker shall refer the provider to the assigned child care regulatory 

staff person to discuss regulatory requirements.  

 

9.3.11.2. Training Requirements: Family child care providers must attend 8 hours 

training based on provider type. 

 

A. Registered family child care providers are required to attend eight (8) hours training 

annually. 

 

B. Registered informal and relative family child care providers, and approved in-home 

family child care providers must attend two (2) hours of health and safety training and 

perform one (1) hour of self-study annually. 

  

C. A variety of training opportunities will be offered to all providers on a statewide 

basis through the CCR&R agencies and through a statewide early childhood training 

calendar and resource initiative.  The West Virginia State Training and Registry 

System (STARS) offers a calendar of training opportunities; providers may call 1-855-

822-7827 or wvstars@rvcds.org for more information. 

 

D. The discussion should also cover special regulatory concerns such as the provision 

of foster care or adult care (See Chapter 10, Section 3, Dual Provider) and background 

check requirements. 

 

E. The worker should also discuss the implications of becoming a child care provider 

as it relates to the mandated reporting of child abuse and neglect. 

 

F. The worker should discuss the importance of  responsible pet and hand out the Pet 

Acknowledgement Form (ECE-CC-10J) to those providers who own pets. 

 

9.3.12. Resource Information for  Providers 

In addition to the subjects listed in previous paragraphs, the CCR&R case managers should 

present child care providers with information on the following topics: 

 

9.3.12.1. Records Maintained by the Provider 

The case manager should inform the provider that it is their responsibility to maintain 

their own business records. Records should be kept on both the provider and the child 

care children and contain: 

 

A. Provider’s Record: 

 

mailto:wvstars@rvcds.org
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1. ECE-CC-3C: Medical Report for Child Care Provider  

 

2. A copy of the Provider Service Agreement (DAY – 0546.) 

 

3. ECE-CC-10J: Pet Acknowledgement Form. 

 

4. ECE-CC-22: Family Child Care Provider Training Record, and/or 

verification of training attendance, i.e. WV STARS Registry 

 

5. ECE-CC-23: Fire Escape Plan. 

 

6. ECE-CC-24: Emergency Phone List. 

 

7. ECE-CC-33: Emergency Plan. 

 

 

 

B. Children’s Records: 

 

1. Emergency Information Forms (ECE-CC-10-E).  The provider shall 

require a completed and notarized form before a child is placed in their care. 

   

2. Child Health Assessment Forms (ECE-CC-3): 

 

a. The provider is required to keep current medical information on each child 

placed for care who has not yet reached a sixth (6th) birthday. (Physician’s office 

document is acceptable if it contains the same information as the ECE-CC-

3)(See Chapter 2, Section 2.2.2.1.) 

 

b. The provider shall inform the parent that care will be terminated if the 

medical form is not returned. 

 

c. Providers must notify the CCR&R agency when the parent does not return 

the form(s) within thirty (30) days of placement. 

 

d. The CCR&R case manager will then send 13-day closure notices. 

 

3. ECE-CC-10E: Emergency Information/Permission Form. 

 

4. ECE-CC-25: Medication Permission Slips if needed. 

 

5. Child Care Certificate (DAY-0176), if applicable. 

 

C. Other forms to have on hand: 

 

1. ECE-CC-30: Periodicity Schedule, to give to parents. 
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2. ECE-CC-26: Incident Report Form, to complete and return in the event of 

an accident. 

 

D. Business and billing records. 

 

E. File for correspondence from or to agencies, parents, etc. 

 

9.3.12.2.  Information on Working with Parents  

The CCR&R case manager should emphasize the importance of communication and 

cooperation between the provider and parents. 

 

A. If problems occur, the CCR&R case manager will not routinely become an 

arbitrator to enforce the provider’s rules. 

 

B. A provider must accept responsibility for operation of their business, including 

dealing with a parent’s failure to meet their expectations and rules. 

 

C. The provider retains the option of terminating services if parents fail to cooperate. 

 

D. Providers are encouraged to establish written rules or develop a handbook so that 

parents are fully aware of the provider’s expectations. 

 

9.3.12.3. Taxes  

The provider is responsible for paying Social Security and Federal and State taxes. 

 

A. The case manager shall inform providers that they are not employed neither by the 

State of West Virginia nor the local Child Care Resource & Referral agency. Child 

care providers are self-employed. 

 

B. The case manager shall inform providers that DHHR is required to submit payment 

information to the Internal Revenue Service and provide them a 1099 form as specified 

on the payment instruction form (ECE-CC-10B). The state does not withhold taxes 

from the child care provider’s reimbursement. 

 

C. The case manager shall refer all tax-related questions or problems to the appropriate 

federal or state agency. 

 

D. Providers are exempt from payment of consumer sales tax on funds paid by DHHR 

but may be responsible for these taxes on parent fees. 

 

E. Case managers should inform providers of the Earned Income and Child Tax 

Credits. 

 

9.4. Provider Payment Training (detail) 
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All child care providers, including in-home child care providers, family child care homes, 

informal and relative family child care homes, family child care facilities, licensed centers and 

out of school time child care programs, who have subsidized children must complete the 

payment enrollment process before reimbursement is made. The CCR&R case manager shall 

explain the payment process, including: 

 

9.4.1. Discussion of Billing Procedures and Forms 

The case manager should provide a detailed discussion of billing procedures and required 

forms. 

 

9.4.1.1. Request for Payment (ECE-CC-10-A). The provider should be given a 

supply of payment form requests. 

 

9.4.1.2.   The provider shall be given a copy of the ECE-CC-10B (Payment 

Instructions.) 

 

9.4.1.3.  Fee Collection Procedures (ECE-CC-10C) 

 

A. Information on Collecting Fees: The CCR&R case manager should explain the fee 

collection process as outlined in Chapter 6, Parental Child Care Fees Section, and give 

the provider a copy of Instructions for Collecting Fees (ECE-CC-10-C). The provider 

shall collect any applicable fees from the parent. The provider should also be informed 

that: 

 

1. Fee amounts will be deducted from the provider’s payment. 

 

2. The provider shall be responsible for billing the parent for this fee, and for 

providing receipts upon request. 

 

3. Upon request, the CCR&R shall provide copies of Parent Fee Notices 

(ECE-CC-10D) a billing and receipt form. 

 

9.4.1.4. Child Care Attendance Sheets (ECE-CC-10G.) The CCR&R case manager 

shall also give the provider a supply of Child Care Attendance Sheets.  These forms shall 

be used by providers to verify attendance of all children in care, including private 

children.  A copy shall be mailed with the provider’s payment form and a copy shall 

remain in the provider’s file for use by child care regulatory staff to verify compliance 

with staff/child ratios and for review by any auditors or DHHR investigators. Child care 

centers may choose to use this form or another of their own design. 

 

9.4.1.5. The Child Care Provider Services Agreement (DAY-0546) – The DAY-

0546 is a FACTS generated form that shall be signed by the case manager and provider 

once the form has been thoroughly discussed. In the case of Child Care Centers, the Child 

Care Provider Services Agreement (DAY-0546) must be signed by the Child Care Center 

Director. 
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A. The provider must be willing to comply with each requirement as agreements will 

not be altered. 

 

B. The provider is given a copy of this form for record keeping and a signed copy is 

filed in the provider record. 

 

C. The provider may be asked to renew this agreement every two years, or more often 

if changes are made to the program or if a staffing change has been made in the Child 

Care Center Director position. 

 

9.4.1.6. Child Care Certificate (DAY-0176) – The CCR&R case manager shall 

 explain the Certificate in full to the child care provider, stating: 

 

A. Certificates are valid for no longer than a twelve (12)  month period. 

 

B. The expiration date is noted on the Certificate. 

 

C. A new Certificate must be received before the expiration date in order for payment 

to continue. 

 

D. The provider should not accept a child for care without a Child Care Certificate or 

Provider Notification Letter – Parent Eligibility (DAY-0613). 

 

E. If a provider does not have a Certificate, they will not be paid for care. 

 

F. A Certificate must stay with the provider as long as he or she provides care. 

 

G. Certificates shall be kept on file for the period of eligibility. 

 

H. A provider will not be paid for care beyond the expiration date of the certificate. 

 

9.4.2. Quality Tier Standards 

The CCR&R agency’s Quality Tier Specialist should make every effort to attend the 

Provider Orientation and introduce the Child Care Tiered Reimbursement System.  

 

9.4.3. Payment Rates and Tiered Reimbursement  

The provider’s payment rate shall be determined using charts in Appendix B, Provider 

Payment Rates. Providers should be informed of the ability to receive higher reimbursements 

for achieving higher standards of quality through the Child Care Tiered Reimbursement 

System. Three different rates are available based on the level of quality. Programs that are 

licensed as a center or facility and registered family child care homes are currently receiving 

Tier I rates through the child care subsidy program. Programs that meet additional standards 

called Tier II Quality Standards receive $2 extra per actual day of service.  Programs that 

are accredited by an approved accrediting agency currently receive Tier III rates of $4 extra 

daily. 
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9.4.4. Payment Training Quiz (ECE-CC-10H) 

Once the provider has been trained on correctly completing payment request forms, the 

CCR&R case manager should administer the Payment Training Quiz. Providers should 

complete the quiz, then self-score the quiz as the CCR&R case manager discusses the correct 

answers (Payment Training Quiz Answer Sheet, ECE-CC-10I) with the group. 
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CHAPTER 10: GENERAL PROVIDER REGULATION 

INFO FOR CCR&R AGENCIES 
 

10.1. Complaint Investigations and Procedures. 

Complaints about a variety of issues and situations may be received on child care providers 

from parents and the general public. 

 

10.1.1 Who Handles Complaints? 

 

10.1.1.1.  Child Care Center Complaints. 

Regulatory complaints about child care centers shall be referred to the Child Care Center 

Licensing Director or Licensing Specialist. CCR&R staff member who receive a 

complaint of standards violations with regard to a child care center shall refer the 

complainant to the appropriate licensing specialist and inform the complainant that they 

may also enter their complaint at http://www.wvdhhr.org/bcf/ece/.  The CCR&R staff 

member shall also request the provider name and the complainant’s name and phone 

number and e-mail the information to the appropriate licensing specialist indicating that 

this person would like to file a complaint.  Child or adult abuse and neglect shall be 

referred to the Institutional Investigations Unit using the Adult/Child Abuse Hotline at 1-

800-352-6513.  The complainant should be encouraged to also contact CPS or APS. 

 

10.1.1.2. Complaints on Other Child Care Types. 

All other complaints are handled by the child care regulatory specialist unless the 

complaint alleges child abuse or neglect. CCR&R staff members who take a regulatory 

complaint on types of care other than child care centers shall complete the Information 

and Referral screens in FACTS. The intake shall be assigned to the regional child care 

supervisor in FACTS.  Regional CPS workers investigate complaints of child abuse or 

neglect. 

 

10.1.2. Complaint Intake Process. 

When a complaint is received, the child care regulatory specialist shall complete the 

following steps: 

 

10.1.2.1. Obtain information from the complainant, including the complainant’s 

name, relationship to the provider and contact information. 

 

10.1.2.2. Inform the complainant that, although the Department will attempt to ensure 

anonymity if the reporter wished to remain anonymous, in a non-abuse or neglect 

complaint, there is no guarantee that his identity will remain concealed, should there be 

a resulting administrative or judicial action.  

 

10.1.2.3. Obtain as much specific information about the complaint as is possible from 

the complainant, including names and addresses of any other individuals involved, names 

and addresses of potential witnesses, time frames, and location.  
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10.1.2.4. Determine if the complaint has been made to any other person or agency 

and if any action was taken; 

 

10.1.2.5. Determine if the complaint is within the authority of the child care 

regulatory specialist.  If not, determine if the complainant can be directed to any other 

person or agency; 

 

10.1.2.6. Determine if the information indicates a non-compliance, illegal operation, 

violation of Chapter §49-2B, an area for concern warranting further investigation, and/or 

there is a need to refer the information to Child or Adult Protective Services.  If a 

complaint needs to be referred to CPS/APS staff for possible investigation, it is done 

immediately;  

 

10.1.2.7. Enter information on the Information and Referral screens in FACTS and, 

for providers with a FACTS record, make a note in the contact screen. 

 

10.1.3. Special Circumstances – Child Abuse and Neglect Allegations. 

Child Protective Services staff is responsible for investigating allegations of child abuse and 

neglect in Informal, Relative Family Child Care Homes and In-home providers. The 

Institutional Investigations Unit (IIU) is responsible for investigating allegations of child 

abuse and neglect in registered family child care homes, licensed family child care facilities 

and child care centers. If requested, child care regulatory specialists may assist CPS and/or 

IIU with interviewing children.  However, to maintain impartiality or the ability to conduct 

regulatory activity prior to the end of the CPS and/or IIU investigation, child care regulatory 

specialists who work with the provider should have a very limited role in the investigation.  

DHHR and CCR&R Child Care staff may be involved in following up with families and 

providers in the following circumstances: 

 

10.1.4. Parental Requests for Complaint Record  

If a parent requests a list of substantiated complaints on a child care provider, the local 

DHHR or CCR&R child care staff shall supply the requested information.  Information shall 

be available in FACTS which lists standards violations as well as corrective action taken and 

completed.  When a request for the information is made, the CCR&R or DHHR Child Care 

Worker shall print a history of non-compliance report (DAY-0616) from the FACTS record 

and provide information to the parent based on the results of that report.  The History of 

Non-compliance Report may be sorted by dates or by concerns identified during licensing 

review, monitoring visits or as a result of an investigation or a complaint investigation. 

However, due to the confidential nature of Child Protective Service records, information on 

CPS complaints may not be made available. 

 

10.2 Communication with Providers, Department Staff and CCR&Rs 
Communication with clients, providers, and agency staff is one of the basic functions of both 
CCR&R and DHHR staff. Program goals cannot be met without clear, effective, cordial 

communication. 

 

10.2.1. Communication between the CCR&R and the Department 
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Throughout the Child Care Policy there are specific circumstances noted which require 

communication between the CCR&R and the child care regulatory specialist.  When any 

information received, or action taken by the CCR&R requires a change in the provider type 

or provider record, the child care regulatory specialist must be notified.  Likewise, the 

CCR&R staff must be notified when the child care regulatory specialist takes action that 

affects or should affect the Provider Services Agreement.  E-mail communications, if used, 

should be saved to the Provider Record in FACTS.  

 

10.2.2 Notice to Child Care Resource and Referral Agencies. 

Child care regulatory specialists shall send a copy of any notice of negative action via-e-

mail to the CCR&R agency, if the provider is enrolled and has a Provider Services 

Agreement (DAY-0546).  The following guidelines shall be used by the child care regulatory 

specialist and the CCR&R case manager to coordinate terminating payment and closing a 

provider record when negative regulatory action is taken:  

 

10.2.2.1 Generally, payment to the provider shall cease 13 days after the date the 

application is denied, or the certificate revoked.  This allows the CCR&R the ability to 

send out notices and help parents locate a new provider;  

 

10.2.2.2 If the provider has serious areas of non-compliance and there is notification 

of immediate revocation, the child care regulatory specialist may inform the CCR&R case 

manager to cease payment immediately and not require a 13-day notice to parents.  In 

making this decision, the child care regulatory specialist shall confer with the Regional 

Child Care Supervisor.  Consideration needs to be given to the immediate risk of harm to 

children in care.  The CCR&R shall include the last date of payment for the provider in 

the Provider Notice (DAY-0613).  
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CHAPTER 11: ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS 
 

11.0. Overview 

The West Virginia Public Welfare Law and subsequent administrative actions have guaranteed 

an applicant for or a recipient of Social Services the right to a hearing concerning an action 

taken by the Department.   

 

11.0.1 Child care providers have the right to file a grievance, which is different from the 

guarantee to a hearing.  A grievance is any complaint by a client or recipient of services of 

the agency who is receiving special services with regard to: 

 

11.0.1.1. His/her treatment by agency personnel, (a worker or supervisor), or 

 

11.0.1.2. any other concern about his/her situation as related to the service programs 

of the agency which the client or recipient of services would like to have resolved. 

 

11.0.1.3. The child care provider is not permitted to request an Appeal or Fair Hearing 

in response to an action taken on a client’s case. Likewise, a child care client cannot 

request an Appeal for Fair Hearing in response to an action taken on a provider’s status.  

Child care client cases are subject to DHHR confidentiality rules. No information 

regarding a client’s case may be shared with any other person(s) without written release 

from the client. 

 

11.0.2. Grievances by providers of service are different from grievances by clients of the 

agency in that they relate to the agency's decision not to use the service a person is willing 

to offer. By way of example: 

 

11.0.2.1. The grievance would usually relate to the agency's decision not to use a 

home because it does not meet basic standards, or the closure of a home formerly used; 

 

11.0.2.2. Another group it would pertain to would be those who provide service to 

clients of the Department of Human Services in their own homes; e.g., in home day or 

chore service.  

 

11.0.3 Individuals or families who apply to become providers of service should be 

afforded the opportunity to initiate a grievance hearing at any point in their contact with the 

agency should they feel their situation is not being understood and assessed fairly by the 

case manager. 

 

11.0.4. Grievances should not be confused with the client's or recipient of services right to 

appeal his/her exclusion from or inclusion in a service program against his/her will or the 

agency's failure to take into account the recipient's choice of service. Procedures regarding 

the client's or recipients of services right to this type of Fair Hearing is explained in Chapter 

700 of the Common Chapters Manual.  Every child care client and provider has the right to 

request a hearing concerning actions taken by the Department or CCR&R case managers. 
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11.0.5. Appeals and Fair Hearings can be requested ONLY by the person(s) upon whom 

the negative action was taken. A request for Appeal or Fair Hearing submitted by anyone 

other than the person(s) upon whom the negative action was taken, will not be considered. 

Child care client cases are subject to DHHR confidentiality rules. 
 

11.0.6 The WV State Board of Review is designated by WV State Law as the body through 

which a client or provider may present his/her case to a higher authority. The State Hearing 

Officer is an impartial official who has not been directly involved in any determination of 

the action in  question. 

 

11.1. Reasons for Hearings. 

Reasons for hearings fall generally into four categories: denial, reduction, closure, and delay. 

 

11.1.1. Denial –Any time a provider or client claims he or she was excluded from 

providing or receiving services, including: 

 

11.1.1.1. Denial of the right to apply. 

 

11.1.1.2. Denial of services. 

 

11.1.1.3. Denial of adequate services (i.e. not enough time on the child care 

certificate, etc.) 

 

11.1.1.4. Denial of benefits due to race, color or national origin, age, sex, religious 

creed, political beliefs, or disability. 

 

11.1.2. Reduction – Any time the level of service is reduced or limited. 

 

11.1.3. Closure – Any time services are discontinued. 

 

11.1.4. Delay – Any inaction or failure to abide by established timeframes to approve/deny 

a provider’s or client’s application or redetermination. 

 

11.2.  Adequate and Timely Notice of Decisions. 

Adequate notice of a decision affecting benefits shall be mailed or provided in writing in a face 

to face contact, to the applicant. Notice shall be mailed at least thirteen (13) days before the 

effective date of any action or decision which may be adverse to the applicant. 

 

11.2.1. Required Notice Information. 

 The notice must include the following information: 

 

11.2.1.1. The action or proposed action to be taken. 

 

11.2.1.2. The reasons for the action provided in terms readily understandable by the 

applicant. 

 

11.2.1.3. Citation of relevant policy sections supporting the action taken or proposed.  
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11.2.2. Exceptions to Thirteen (13) Day Notice. 

 There are certain exceptions to the 13-day notice. 

 

11.2.2.1. When a mass change is initiated, i.e. changes in provider reimbursement 

levels or income eligibility levels, a 13-day notice is not necessary.  

 

11.2.2.2. When the fee is increased as a result of redetermination. A fee increase is 

not considered a negative action.  The client’s status has changed based upon his or her 

increase in income, but the benefit of child care is not being eliminated.  If clients return 

their status check after the due date but before the closure date, the case manager is to 

process the review. (See section 6.1.2) The case manager will not be able to give 13 days’ 

notice regarding the increased fee.  However, the CCR&R case manager must inform the 

provider and client of the date the fee increase takes place. 

 

11.2.2.3. When there is a safety concern. In certain situations, such as allegations of 

serious child abuse or massive structural damage to the child care home, immediate 

closure may be necessary to protect the health and safety of the children.  

 

11.3. Pre-Hearing Conferences. 

Any person requesting a hearing shall have the right to a pre-hearing conference with the 

employee(s) of the Agency involved in the decision-making process on the person’s case. Pre-

hearing conferences are encouraged, as many issues can be resolved in this manner, without 

resorting to a hearing. At no time shall the applicant be discouraged from pursuing his or her 

right to a fair hearing. 

 

11.3.1. Release of Information. 

For the purpose of the fair hearing process, the applicant shall have access to his or her entire 

case record, including, but not limited to, all documents that pertain to the change in the 

applicant’s case that is the subject of the fair hearing. With written authorization from the 

applicant, the applicant’s attorney or representative may review the record. The review of 

the record shall take place during normal business hours at the location where the record is 

housed. Additionally, the applicant or his attorney/representative may request and receive, 

free of charge, a copy of the entire case record and a copy of any policy section that may be 

used in the hearing. If the case manager has a question about whether certain confidential 

documents should be released, the case manager should consult with the DHHR’s regional 

attorney.  

 

11.3.2. Critical Timelines Regarding Hearings or Pre-Hearing Conferences 

 

11.3.2.1. Applicants shall be allowed 13 days from the date of the notification letter 

to request a hearing or pre-conference hearing.  

 

11.3.2.2. If after 13 days no response has been received from the applicant, the action 

as proposed shall be taken.   
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11.3.2.3. However, child care recipients may still submit a request for a hearing or 

pre-hearing conference up to 60 days after the action was taken. Child care providers may 

request a hearing or pre-hearing conference up to 30 days after the action is taken. 

 

11.3.2.4. Recipients of Services.   

 

A. If a client requests a hearing during the 13-day notice period, the action should not 

be taken until the hearing is held and the hearings officer has made a decision.  

 

B. If a hearing is requested in response to an increase in fees, a notice of closure for 

exceeding income guidelines, or a denial of application, fees cannot be reduced, nor 

services continued due to FACTS processes. 

 

11.3.2.5. Providers of Services: If a hearing is requested in response to negative 

action taken due to health and safety concerns regarding child care children, services will 

not be continued. 

 

11.4. Procedures for Handling Request for a Hearing. 

 

11.4.1. Requests must be made in writing, using the hearing request form included 

with the notification letter. Hearings can be requested ONLY by the child care client or 

provider upon which the negative action was taken. A request for Appeal or Fair Hearing 

submitted by anyone other than the child care client or provider on which the negative 

action was taken, will not be considered. Child care client cases are subject to DHHR 

confidentiality rules. No information regarding a client’s case may be shared with any 

other person(s) without written release from the client. 

 

11.4.2. A pre-hearing conference shall be offered, and scheduled, if accepted. 

 

11.4.3. The person requesting the hearing must be told that if services continue and 

the agency is upheld, then the client will have to reimburse the agency for any amounts 

paid after the effective date of the closure. 

 

11.4.4. The case manager shall submit a (IG-BR-29) Hearing/Grievance Record 

Information Form, copy of the notification of negative action sent to the client, and copy 

of the client letter requesting a hearing regarding decision. 

 

11.4.5. The IG-BR-29 must be submitted to the Board of Review within 48 hours 

of the hearing request. 

 

11.4.6. The CCR&R case manager shall send an email notice to their ECE technical 

assistance specialist whenever a client or provider requests a hearing.  

 

11.5. Hearing Preparation 

 

11.5.1. The hearings officer will mail notice of the hearing to both parties. 
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11.5.2. Before attending the hearing, the case manager should put evidence in 

chronological order. Evidence should be clear and concise, and show what actions were 

taken in the case, and when, step by step.  

 

11.5.3. The case manager should make at least 3 copies of all documents supporting the 

decision, one for the hearings officer, one for the client/provider, and one for the case 

manager. 

 

11.5.4. The case manager should be familiar with child care policy sections relevant to the 

decision and be able to cite policy and law, if applicable. 

 

11.6.   During the Hearing 

 

11.6.1. Be punctual, professional, and prepared. Never make the hearings officer wait. 

 

11.6.2. Before the hearing begins, the case manager should request that exhibits/supporting 

documents be numbered. 

 

11.6.3. The case manager has the right to request that witnesses be removed from the room 

so that their testimony will not be tainted. 

 

11.6.4. The case manager will present to the hearings officer first, as the agency bears the 

burden of proof for the action taken. Always address the hearings officer and speak clearly 

and loudly enough for the tape recorder. 

 

11.6.5. The case manager is thier own lawyer. They should introduce themself: “My name 

is ____________.   I work for I work for                                     .  I represent the 

Department/Child Care Resource Referral Agency. I have worked for the 

Department/CCR&R for _______ years/months/days.” The case manager should also 

introduce any witnesses on their side.  

 

11.6.6. If the agency or case manager made an error, admit it. 

 

11.6.7. Once the case manager is finished, the client or provider who filed the hearing 

request will have the opportunity to present his or her side.  

 

11.6.8. The client or provider may also choose to cross examine the case manager. The 

case manager should answer questions directly, but do not answer questions on which he/she 

has no personal knowledge or on actions which he/she did not take. 

 

11.6.9. The case manager should object to any misrepresentations by the client or provider 

– if the client makes a statement that the case manager knows is false or a misstatement, 

make sure that it is addressed when the case manager cross examines the client. The case 

manager will also have the opportunity to present rebuttal testimony. 
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11.6.10. Closing statements – the case manager may make a closing statement summarizing 

the agency’s position and requesting that the agency’s decision be upheld. In contentious 

hearings, the case manager may choose to skip this step. 

 

11.6.11. The hearings officer may then end the hearing. In rare cases, and only for good 

cause, a continuance may be granted. 

 

11.6.12. The hearings office will render a decision within 90 days. 

 

11.6.13. Both the agency and the applicant have the right to appeal the hearings officer’s 

decision. 

 

11.7. Denial or Dismissal. 

Hearings may be denied or dismissed if either of the following occurs: 

 

11.7.1. Withdrawal – The Hearing Officer may dismiss a request for hearing if the client 

or provider withdraws the request in writing. 

 

11.7.2. Abandonment – The Hearing Officer may dismiss a request for a hearing if the 

client or provider fails to appear at a scheduled hearing without good cause. 

 

11.7.3. The request for a hearing is based solely upon policy or regulation. (i.e. A client 

may request a hearing because he feels the income guidelines are unfair. However, the 

Hearings Officer may dismiss the request because the disputed issue is a matter of policy 

which is not subject to interpretation.) 

 

11.7.4. The CCR&R case manager shall send an email notifying ECE technical assistance 

staff of the disposition of the hearing. 
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CHAPTER 12: PROVIDER RESOURCES 
 

12.0. Overview 

CCR&R and DHHR staff both share a responsibility for resource development to increase and 

improve the availability of child care services.  It is important to develop and maintain an 

adequate number of providers in order to offer choices to parents.  While an CCR&R agency 

may conduct recruitment campaigns, the child care regulatory specialist is responsible for 

regulation of providers and shall inform providers of their ability or potential to accept referrals 

of additional children.  Leads to potential child care providers may also be secured through 

existing approved homes or parents.  As requirements for WV WORKS participation increase, 

the need for providers may increase.  All child care regulatory specialists shall provide support 

and technical assistance to parties interested in providing child care and refer providers to other 

resources, as needed. 

 

The West Virginia Department of Health and Human Resources, Division of Early Care and 

Education has implemented initiatives designed to increase the availability of child care.  Both 

CCR&R and DHHR staff are encouraged to work with other early childhood programs to 

coordinate resources. 

 

The development of a strong foundation for child care requires the development of resources.  

A strong foundation will enable local communities and the State of West Virginia to better 

accommodate growing child care demands and fluctuations in demand.  Therefore, it is 

important to coordinate DHHR child care services with existing programs operated by both the 

public and private sector.  

 

12.1. Kindergarten. 

It is important to evaluate the placement of kindergarten age children carefully.  Kindergarten 

attendance is mandatory and public kindergarten classes, funded by the WV Department of 

Education and County Boards of Education, are available to all children.  DHHR, therefore, 

will not pay for children to attend private kindergarten programs in child care centers.  Parents 

and centers should be made aware that payment will be approved only for the time the child(ren) 

attends the child care program.  Since centers can require parents to pay the additional cost of 

kindergarten, it may be necessary to assist parents with making alternate arrangements which 

are more affordable. 

 

12.2. Head Start and Early Head Start. 

Head Start, Title 1 and Pre-School Special Needs programs are operated through county school 

system and/or non-profit agencies.  They offer excellent services for pre-school and children 

with special needs.  These programs receive federal and/or state funds for services provided.  

They generally operate part time and do not meet the child care needs of working parents.  They 

have therefore not typically been eligible to participate in the child care certificate system. 

Many Head Start programs have chosen to become licensed as child care centers.  Some offer 

services for working parents either before or after normal Head Start hours.  In these instances, 

licensed Head Start facilities can receive child care subsidies for care during extended hours 

that are not eligible for federal Head Start reimbursement.  Child care subsidies may be used 

for any child whose care is not eligible for the Head Start program.  Subsidies may be used for 
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that portion of the day, week, or year when the Head Start part of the program is not in operation.  

Head Start programs shall not be reimbursed for care provided during the hours of operation 

that federal Head Start funds are available to cover the cost of the program for a particular child.  

However, Head Start centers can receive payment for full days for any child who is in care for 

more than four hours, either before and/or after normal Head Start hours. 

 

In recent years, the Federal Administration for Children and Families has encouraged Head 

Start to collaborate with child care programs in order to offer full-day, full-year services, 

blending and braiding funds in programs that offer the quality of Head Start with child care’s 

longer hours of services.  In order to encourage such blending of resources, child care and Head 

Start resources may be used jointly in some situations.  If a Head Start program enters into an 

agreement with a licensed child care center to pay for enhancements to a child care program to 

provide additional services (family support, health and safety, teacher certification, curricula or 

equipment) needed to meet higher standards under Head Start Performance Standards or WV 

Pre-K requirements, then the center may continue to receive child care reimbursement for 

eligible children.  Parent co-payment will continue to be deducted from the center’s payment 

regardless of Head Start policy on collection of fees. 

 

Each CCR&R shall maintain a list of Head Start, Title I and Pre-school Special Needs 

programs. The CCR&R case manager shall contact these agencies to determine the location of 

programs, hours/days of operation and availability of transportation.  Child care applicants shall 

be referred to the program, when appropriate.  The CCR&R case manager shall assist the parent 

in locating child care for the portion of the day or week when part-time programs are not in 

operation.  The child care arrangement may be in a center or family child care home near the 

program or along the transportation route.  In some instances, the child care provider may be 

willing to provide transportation.  If existing child care providers are not available or 

convenient, the CCR&R case manager shall attempt to recruit family child care homes.  The 

Head Start or Public-School programs may provide assistance with recruitment efforts by 

identifying potential providers among parents of children attending the programs. 

 

In order to facilitate child care’s participation in the Early Head Start program and assist 

families and children, licensed child care centers that are participating in the Early Head Start 

program or contracting with Head Start may continue receiving child care payments during the 

hours considered as Early Head Start, if certain conditions are met.  Those conditions are as 

follows: 

 

12.2.1. The child care center must be licensed and offer full-day care of at least 10 hours 

per day. 

 

12.2.2. Payment may only be made for children eligible for child care subsidies. 

 

12.2.3. Payments from Early Head Start are designed to cover additional services.  

Additional services include, but are not limited to: certified teachers, curricula materials, 

payment for absent days or hours not covered by child care, and additional equipment to 

meet Early Head Start requirements.  These are considered enhancements to the program, 

not payment for the basic cost of care for that child. 
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12.2.4. The center may not charge the parent a fee for the hours considered to be Early 

Head Start hours.  However, fees will continue to be deducted from the center’s check.  This 

may result in a difference in payment if the child is not in the program before and after school 

for at least four hours but will not outweigh the financial benefits to the center. 

 

12.2.5. The family must use the center to maximum extent possible.  Second providers 

shall not be approved if the child care center is available to provide care. To facilitate child 

care participation in Early Head Start, families may use child care for all regular Early Head 

Start hours.  For example, Early Head Start hours may be 9-3 Monday through Wednesday, 

but the parents may not need to use child care on Tuesday.  The center may still bill for Early 

Head Start hours used on Tuesday on the monthly payment form. 

 

12.3. West Virginia Pre-k Program 

In order to facilitate child care’s participation in the WV Pre-k program and assist families and 

children, licensed child care centers that are participating in the WV Pre-k program or 

contracting with Head Start may continue receiving child care payments during the hours 

considered as WV Pre-k, if certain conditions are met.  Those conditions are as follows: 

 

12.3.1. The child care center must be licensed and offer full-day care of at least 10 hours 

per day. 

 

12.3.2. Payment may only be made for children eligible for child care subsidies. 

 

12.3.3. Payments from the public-school system are designed to cover additional services.  

Additional services include, but are not limited to: certified teachers, curricula materials, 

payment for absent days or hours not covered by child care, and additional equipment to 

meet WV Pre-k requirements.  These are considered enhancements to the program, not 

payment for the basic cost of care for that child. 

 

12.3.4. The center may not charge the parent a fee for the hours considered to be WV Pre-

k hours.  However, fees will continue to be deducted from the center’s check.  This may 

result in a difference in payment if the child is not in the program before and after school for 

at least four hours but will not outweigh the financial benefits to the center. 

 

12.3.5. The family must use the center to maximum extent possible.  Second providers 

shall not be approved if the child care center is available to provide care. To facilitate child 

care participation in the WV Pre-k, families may use child care for all regular Pre-k hours.  

For example, Pre-k hours may be 9-3 Monday through Wednesday, but the parents may not 

need to use child care on Tuesday.  The center may still bill for the Pre-k hours used on 

Tuesday on the monthly payment form. 

 

12.4. Grants. 

Grants may be available, depending on the availability of federal and state funds, to assist 

family child care providers with start-up costs, meeting regulatory requirements, and/or 
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improving the quality of care. Priority for grants should first go to providers participating in the 

subsidy system. 

 

Family Child Care providers who cannot afford the cost of complying with health and safety 

standards shall be referred to the grant programs sponsored by the CCR&R agency.  Grants 

shall be available for providers for a variety of needs, including start up assistance to meet 

health and safety requirements, pay operating permits, attend training or become accredited.  

While federal rules will not allow grant funds to be used for major improvements, grants may 

be approved for minor remodeling to meet health and safety requirements. Each CCR&R has 

individual grant application policy and procedures.  In addition, the CCR&R agency sets limits 

for grant amounts and covered items and may establish policies that require repayment of grant 

funds if the home closes within two years of receiving funds for a capital improvement.  A 

provider shall complete an application form and shall be notified in writing of the disposition 

within 30 days.  All applications are confidential and are retained in the CCR&R agency for 

three years. 

 

12.5. Child and Adult Care Food Program. 

The Child and Adult Care Food Program (CACFP) is an important resource for child care 

providers.  The program not only reimburses providers for meals served to children but 

completes onsite inspections and supplies nutrition training.  Child care staff in the CCR&R 

agency will be responsible for informing new providers about the Child & Adult Care Food 

Program. 

 

12.5.1. Cooperative Agreements. 

Each DHHR child care unit and CCR&R agency shall enter into a cooperative agreement 

with the sponsor(s) of the Child and Adult Care Food Program (CACFP) in their area 

operation.  The cooperative agreement should include exchange of information, and 

resolution of problems which may arise.  The cooperative agreement will help assure a good 

working relationship between agencies for the benefit of child care providers, parents, and 

children.  The agreement should be discussed periodically and at any time problems arise.  

Information shall be shared among agencies, as legally permitted, particularly when there is 

an investigation for suspected fraud. 

 

12.5.2. Exchange of Information. 

In order to maintain confidentiality, payment forms (ECE-CC-10A) should not be shared 

unless the sponsoring agency wishes to obtain them directly from the providers.  By signing 

the child care application, the parent agrees that information may be released to the Child & 

Adult Care Food Program.  Therefore, child care staff can provide the agency with names 

and number of children open or closed in the home of each provider who participates in the 

program.  It then becomes the Child & Adult Care Food Program sponsoring agency’s 

responsibility to obtain other necessary information directly from the provider and parent.  

The DHHR Child Care Case manager shall insure that the Child Care Food Program is 

notified of changes that occur with providers monthly. 

 

12.5.3. Regulation of CACFP Providers. 
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 Family home child care providers interested in receiving CACFP reimbursements must 

volunteer to register. 
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CHAPTER 13: CHILD CARE STAFF RESPONSIBILITIES 
 

13.0. Overview 

Child care services designed to make child care more affordable, more available and of higher 

quality are provided through multiple agencies.  Staff from the  West Virginia Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Division of Early Care and Education, DHHR Child Care 

Regulatory Staff, and six Child Care Resource and Referral Agencies all contribute to the 

overall effectiveness of the program.  Each of these entities has specific responsibilities and 

assignments.  In addition, the agencies coordinate their efforts through the regional Child Care 

Quality Teams located in each of the six service delivery areas established for resource and 

referral territories. 

 

13.1. Division of Early Care & Education – Child Care & Quality Initiatives Staff. 

The West Virginia Department of Health and Human Resources, Division of Early Care & 

Education staff is responsible for overall administration of the child care program including: 

 

13.1.1. Management of federal and state funds; 

 

13.1.2. Development and interpretation of policy; 

 

13.1.3. Policy training and technical assistance; 

 

13.1.4. Coordination with other state and local early childhood programs; 

 

13.1.5. Development/implementation of quality initiatives; 

 

13.1.6. Development of standards for child care programs; 

 

13.1.7. Establishing provider payment rates and income guidelines; 

 

13.1.8. Development of forms and computer support systems; 

 

13.1.9. Communication/collaboration with federal, state and local level agencies involved 

in child car or related early childhood programs; 

 

13.1.10. Legislative responsibility for program; 

 

13.1.11. Development of contracted services and monitoring; 

 

13.1.12. Case consultation upon request; 

 

13.1.13. Coordination of WV Pre-k program with Department of Education; 

 

13.1.14. Approval of county WV Pre-k plans; and 

 

13.1.15. Staffing the PIECES Advisory Council. 



 

Child Care Subsidy Policy        September 1, 2020 

  116 

 

 

13.2. Division of Early Care and Education – Child Care Center Licensing Staff 

WV child care center licensing staff are responsible under WV state law for the licensing and 

regulation of child care centers.  This includes the investigation of complaints of standards 

violations, and illegal operations for programs caring for 13 or more children.  The following 

list indicates responsibilities of WV child care center licensing staff that relates to child care: 

 

13.2.1. License, investigate and inspect child care centers; 

 

13.2.2. Serve on the Training Advisory Council; 

 

13.2.3. Educate Training Advisory Council members with regard to regulations and 

licensing procedures; 

 

13.2.4. Collaborate with early childhood professionals and programs; 

 

13.2.5. Promote quality, developmentally appropriate care in child care centers and related 

programs including promotion of and assistance in accreditation; 

 

13.2.6. Enter all pertinent information regarding licensed child care centers into FACTS; 

 

13.2.7. Provide technical assistance to the child care community; 

 

13.2.8. Coordinate the licensing process with other regulatory agencies including the WV 

State Fire Marshal, Environmental Health, and Pest Management; 

 

13.2.9. Identify need for changes in regulations. 

 

13.3. DHHR Child Care Regulatory Specialists. 

Child care regulatory specialists in county offices regulate informal and relative family child 

care homes, family child care homes, and family child care facilities, and ensure that programs 

that are legally exempt from regulation by WV state law meet health and safety standards 

required for receipt of federal funding.  The following is a partial listing of those 

responsibilities. 

 

13.3.1. Investigate reports of illegal operations, when 12 or fewer children are in care; 

 

13.3.2. Report complaints of over 12 children to the child care center licensing specialist; 

 

13.3.3. Monitor legally exempt school-age child care programs using checklists and annual 

visits to  insure compliance with health and safety standards; 

 

13.3.4. Register relative and informal family child care and family child care homes 

through review of applications, on-site inspections, annual visits as appropriate, per policy 

for each the type of care; 
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13.3.5. Approve in-home child care home providers through a review of the Child Care 

Provider Services Requirements Checklist (ECE-CC-6A); 

 

13.3.6. Answer policy questions of providers regarding regulatory issues; 

 

13.3.7. Identify need for changes in regulations; 

 

13.3.8. Case  reviews with supervisory and/or CPS staff; 

 

13.3.9. Linkage to Community Service Managers, (CSMs), WV Works staff and Economic 

Service Staff; if needed. 

 

13.3.10. Investigate complaints of standards violations on family child care homes and 

facilities, implement corrective action and monitor compliance; 

 

13.3.11. Refer CPS complaints to CPS supervisor; 

 

13.3.12. Participate as a member of the Training Advisory Council; 

 

13.3.13. Registration of family child care homes and provision of technical assistance; 

 

13.3.14. Licensure of family child care facilities and provision of technical assistance; 

 

13.3.15. Background checks on providers, including CIB and CPS record checks; 

 

13.3.16. Work with Fire Marshal and Environmental Health in regulation of family child 

care facilities; 

 

13.3.17. Identify training needs of providers and report them to training staff at the CCR&R; 

 

13.3.18. Entry of all provider information in FACTS; 

 

13.3.19. Communications with CCR&R agencies, Child & Adult Food Program and 

providers; 

 

13.3.20. Requests to DHHR supervisor for waivers, variances, and policy exceptions for 

family child care and exempt programs; 

 

13.3.21. Assist family child care facilities to apply for grant funds and monitor to insure 

funds are used for approved activities and according to the plan submitted as part of the grant 

application; 

 

13.3.22. Refer providers to other resources such as the food program, grants, training, 

associations, etc. in an effort to improve quality of care; and 

 

13.3.23. Encourage providers to offer high quality child care programs. 
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13.4. Child Care Resource and Referral Agencies (CCR&R). 

The Department of Health & Human Resources has contracted with community agencies to 

provide child care resource and referral services and to determine eligibility for subsidized child 

care services in all areas of  West Virginia.  Parents not in need of financial assistance or 

services may contact the CCR&R agency for information about standards, how to select quality 

care, or referral to registered, licensed and approved facilities.  Resource and Referral agencies 

are responsible for the following core services: 

 

13.4.1. Promoting consumer education and parental choice: 

 

13.4.1.1. Assisting parents to select child care arrangements and become quality-

conscious consumers of child care. 

 

13.4.1.2. Encouraging parents to review all consumer information materials prior to 

selecting care for their children and to constantly monitor and evaluate the child care 

situation once children are placed. 

 

13.4.1.3. Informing parents to be sensitive to changes in their children’s behavior or 

attitude toward child care, which could be a sign of problems with the situation. 

 

13.4.1.4. Reminding parents that they should report any concerns about licensed or 

approved care and any suspicion of child abuse or neglect to the DHHR or CCR&R 

agency office. 

 

13.4.1.5. Reminding parents of the importance of consistency and continuity of 

providers and how changing providers too often can be detrimental to children. 

 

13.4.1.6. Helping parents to avoid potentially dangerous or inadequate child care 

situations. 

 

13.4.2. Recruitment of child care providers.   

 

13.4.3. Assisting child care providers through support activities, training, provision of 

information regarding age appropriate care, and encouragement of practicing professional 

standards. 

 

13.4.4. Operation of the Traveling Resource and Information Library Service. 

 

13.4.5. Eligibility Determination:  Managing the subsidy certificate program using policies 

and forms required by the DHHR: 

 

13.4.5.1. Determine family eligibility and complete a status check at least every 

twelve months, , or more often if family circumstances change.  Provide assistance to 

families in selecting care as well as consumer education. 
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13.4.5.2. Accept referrals of WV WORKS participants from the DHHR.  CCR&R 

staff shall utilize WV WORKS Referral Forms to determine and process eligibility status 

checks for TANF recipients. 

 

13.4.5.3. Issue certificates to all eligible families, based on parental choice. 

 

13.4.5.4. Enroll providers for payment and refer providers to DHHR for registration 

and/or health and safety checks. 

 

13.4.5.5. Process provider payment forms on an ongoing basis. 

 

13.4.6. Provide training and technical assistance to providers and the early care and 

education community. 

 

13.4.7. Consumer education. 

 

13.4.8. Work with community resources to improve the availability and quality of child 

care. 

 

13.4.9. Facilitate the regional Training Advisory Council. 

 

13.4.10. Operation of a grant program for family child care providers. 

 

13.5. Quality Rating and Improvement System Specialist.  

This staff person is responsible for assisting providers in achieving higher quality standards. 

The QRIS Specialist: 

 

13.5.1. Establishes forms, policies and procedures for the WV Quality Rating and 

Improvement System. 

 

13.5.2. Develops application and renewal forms, agreements, certificates, notification 

letters, grievance forms, data entry and tracking forms and any other necessary forms to 

support the QRIS and related financial incentives. 

 

13.5.3. Accepts applications from providers and determines approval or denial of quality 

related funding. 

 

13.5.4. Reviews applications and supporting documentation from providers to verify 

program quality rating level. 

 

13.5.5. Completes and maintains data entry and tracking on numbers of applications 

received, approved, and denied.  

 

13.5.6. Works with providers on grievances related to the QRIS and quality funding. 

 

13.5.7. Facilitates advisory groups and committees relevant to program projects. 
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13.5.8. Promotes the QRIS through presentations, newspaper and magazine articles, and 

provider conferences. 

 

13.5.9. Develops constructive and cooperative working relationships with stakeholder 

organizations, agencies, and providers and maintain them over time. 

  

13.5.10. Develops consumer education materials for parents and providers to promote the 

QRIS. 

 

13.6. Cooperative Agreements between the DHHR and the CCR&R.  

DHHR and CCR&R agencies shall enter into a written cooperative agreement regarding the 

exchange of information and on-going communication.  The agreement should be developed 

between local staff and supervisors and signed by the Regional Director and the Executive 

Director of the Resource and Referral agency. 
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CHAPTER 14: RECORDING PROCEDURES 
 

14.0. Introduction 

Information on clients and providers shall be recorded in FACTS and on forms prescribed by 

the  West Virginia Department of Health and Human Resources, Division of Early Care and 

Education.  For information that cannot be stored in FACTS or for information that requires a 

signature or third-party letters or verifications, the CCR&R agency shall maintain case records 

for client and abbreviated case records on providers participating in the subsidy system.  DHHR 

shall maintain records related to provider regulation in DHHR files.  All significant contacts 

made with providers and clients are to be entered into the FACTS record. 

 

14.1. Filing Procedures 

Client and provider files shall be saved to FACTS.  If a form is created or completed by the 

DHHR staff or CCR&R staff, then it shall be imported into the FACTS file cabinet.  All paper 

documents shall be noted in Document Tracking, maintained and forms filed into the following 

sections of the case records: 

 

14.1.1. Client Case Record 

 

14.1.1.1. Core Eligibility Block  

 

A. Proof of identity for client. 

 

B. Proof of citizenship for children needing care. 

 

C. Proof of WV Residency. 

 

14.1.1.2. Application/Documentation Block 

 

A. DAY-0614 (ECE-CC-1) Application for Services/Signature Page, and supporting 

documentation 

 

B. DAY-0617 Status Check Report, and supporting documentation 

 

C. DAY-0177 Notification to New Applicants 

 

D. DAY-0179 Child Care Parent Notice of Denial or Closure 

 

E. DAY-0612 Child Care Parent Notification of Redetermination 

 

F. ECE-CC-1B Employment Verification Form 

 

G. ECE-CC-1C Self-Employment Ledger Form 

 

H. ECE-CC-0612B Change of Information Notification 
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I. DAY-0613 Provider Notification Letter – Parent Eligibility 

 

J. Other correspondence with client 

 

14.1.1.3. Policy Exception and Special Needs Documentation Block 

 

A. Documentation for Policy Exception Requests. 

 

B. Court Documents for court-ordered care. 

 

C. Documentation of Special Needs for children. 

 

14.1.1.4. Legal Block 

 

A. DAY-0162 Child Care Services Parent Services Agreement 

 

B. DAY-0176 Child Care Certificate 

 

C. ECE-CC-19 Child Care Repayment Agreement 

 

D. IG-BR-29 Hearing/Grievance Request Form 

 

14.1.2. Child Care Provider Files Maintained by the CCR&R Agency 

 

14.1.2.1. Narrative Block 

 

A. ECE-CC-4 Child Care Provider File Cover Sheet 

 

B. ECE-CC-7 Information on Child Care Provider (copy) 

 

C. ECE-CC-8 Application to Operate a Child Care Home (copy) 

 

D. ECE-CC-15 Application to Operate a Family Child Care Facility (copy) 

 

14.1.2.2. Legal Block 

 

A. DAY-0546 Child Care Provider Services Agreement (original) 

 

B. ECE-CC-19 Repayment Agreement 

 

C. W-9  Provider Tax Identification Reporting Form (copy) 

 

14.1.2.3. Payment Block 

 

A. ECE-CC-10A Request for Payment-Child Care Services 
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B. ECE-CC-10G Child Care Attendance Sheets 

 

C. The payment block may be filed separately, with files cross referenced. 

 

14.1.2.4. Correspondence Block 

 

A. ECE-CC-10F Provider Notices to Agency 

 

B. All correspondence with or about provider 

 

14.2. Record Retention and Disposal 

The current Retention and Disposal Schedule indicates that child care records (client and 

provider) shall be retained for seven years after closure. However, if any litigation, claim, 

negotiation, audit, disallowance action, or any other action involving the record has been started 

before the end of the seven-year retention period, the record shall be retained until completion 

of the action and resolution of all issues that arise from it, or until the end of the seven-year 

period, whichever is later. 

 

Case records pertaining to ongoing or completed fraud investigations shall be retained until 

seven years after the conclusion of the investigation and the resolution of any action that arises 

from it. 

 

Case records which have met the required retention period shall be destroyed. Destruction of 

case records will be accomplished by shredding. Document destruction will be suspended 

immediately, upon any indication of an official investigation or when a lawsuit is filed or 

appears imminent.  

 

14.3. Child Care Forms and FACTS Reports for Subsidy Clients  

 

14.3.1. DAY-0614 (ECE-CC-1) Application for Child Care Services 

The DAY-0614 shall be completed at time of application.  The application shall be 

completed by the parent during an intake interview scheduled within 5 days of original 

contact for clients served in main offices. The application shall be completed by the parent 

during an intake interview scheduled within 10 days for clients served at outreach offices, 

only when approval to visit outreach sites less often than weekly has been granted by the 

Division of Early Care and Education. The parent shall contact the CCR&R agency for an 

office appointment where the application and other forms will be completed. Case managers 

may either: (1) complete the application form for parent signature; or (2) complete the 

necessary intake screens in FACTS and print the signature page for parent signature. A 

FACTS generated, and populated form may also be printed as needed. (See application 

process). A copy of the original application shall be stored in FACTS. 

 

14.3.2. ECE-CC-1B Employment Verification Form 

The ECE-CC-1B should be given to applicants who, due to new employment status, do not 

have 1 months’ worth of pay stubs to provide as proof of employment. 
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14.3.3. ECE-CC-1C Self-Employment Ledger Form 

The ECE-CC-1C is used to assist self-employed applicants track income and expenses for 

self-employment.  

 

14.3.4. ECE-CC-1E Status Review Form 

The Status review form shall be completed at least every twelve  months by clients up for 

review. 

 

14.3.5. DAY-0617 Status Review Letter 

The Day – 0617 will be used to notify parents of the semi-annual status checks.    

 

14.3.6. DAY-0613 Provider Notification Letter - Parent Eligibility 

This FACTS generated letter is sent to the child care provider to notify the provider of 

information regarding client’s eligibility, changes in fees and/or payment enrollment 

procedures. 

 

14.3.7. ECE-CC-3 Child Health Assessment Form 

This form must be completed upon initial placement of children age 6 years and under 

receiving child care services and every two years thereafter.  Completed forms are to be 

maintained by the child care provider. 

 

14.3.8. DAY-0162 Child Care Parent Services Agreement 

Once it has been determined that the children need child care and the family is eligible, the 

Parent Services agreement should be completed as a FACTS generated form and the client 

shall sign an original and one (1) copy.  The original is filed in the legal block of the client 

case record, a copy is given to the parent and a copy is saved to FACTS.  The case manager 

should carefully explain to the parent their responsibility to keep the agency informed of 

changes in income or circumstances. 

 

14.3.9. ECE-CC-0162B Change of Information Notification Clients can use this form 

to report any changes as outlined in Section IV.A of the Day-0612. 

 

14.3.10. ECE-CC-5 (DAY-0176) Child Care Certificate 

Upon approval of the family for child care services, the Child Care Certificate shall be 

printed via FACTS for the parent in an original with a copy saved to the FACTS record.  The 

original is  given or mailed to the parent who may use it to purchase care according to 

the terms of the  Certificate.  The parent is to give the Certificate to the selected provider as 

proof of payment.  The provider is to retain the Certificate as long as he/she provides care 

or until the Certificate expires.  Certificates are issued initially at the time of application and 

are valid for no more than twelve (12)  months.  A new certificate shall also be issued after 

completion of the client’s status check if client remains eligible.  The provider must receive 

a new certificate from the parent by the expiration date in order to continue child care 

payment. 

 

Certificates will be populated by FACTS to indicate name and address of parent and 

provider, information on children needing care, child’s daily fee and payment rates.  The 



 

Child Care Subsidy Policy        September 1, 2020 

  125 

 

certificate shall be effective as of the date of application and shall expire no more than twelve 

(12)  months after date of application.  The CCR&R case manager shall sign the Certificate 

and shall remind the parent that they must sign the certificate prior to giving it to the provider.  

Renewal certificates shall be sent directly to the parent who shall sign and give the certificate 

to the provider who shall sign and keep the form in their records. 

 

14.3.11. ECE-CC-10E Emergency Information 

Enrolled providers shall be given a supply of emergency forms during the payment 

enrollment process.  Providers shall request that parents complete, notarize, and return 

emergency forms on all children prior to placement. 

 

14.3.12. Parent Notification Letter 

This letter is sent to child care parents to notify them of information regarding their eligibility 

for child care services.  The original is sent to the parent, with a copy saved to FACTS.  

FACTS will generate and populate three versions of this notification letter including: 

 

▪ DAY-0177 – Used for new applicants and child care certificate approvals; 

 

▪ DAY-0179 – Used for case closure or child care certificate denials; and 

 

▪ DAY-0612 – Used for case reviews and status checks. 

 

14.4. Child Care Forms and FACTS Reports for Providers 

 

14.4.1. DAY- 0503 Notification of Provider Regulatory Status 

This FACTS generated letter is sent to registered and licensed child care providers to notify 

them of information regarding the regulatory and/or monitoring process. 

 

14.4.2. ECE-CC-3B  Statement of Good Health 

This form shall be completed by an approved health care provider for informal and relative 

child care providers at the time of registration and every two years thereafter. In-home child 

care providers are also required to obtain a Statement of Good Health at the time of their 

approval.  

 

14.4.3. ECE-CC-3C  Medical Report for Child Care Provider 

This form shall be completed by registered family child care providers at the time of 

registration and every two years thereafter. 

 

14.4.4. ECE-CC-4 Child Care Provider File Cover Sheet 

CCR&R case managers use this form to notify regulatory specialists of any concerns with 

child care provider applications taken during orientation. 

 

14.4.5. DAY-0546 Child Care Services Agreement with Provider 

The CCR&R case manager must be certain that the provider clearly understands all aspects 

of the FACTS generated Provider Services agreement.  The CCR&R case manager should 

have the provider sign an original and two (2) copies.  The original copy shall be retained in 
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the legal block of the provider file, a copy shall be given to the provider and a copy shall be 

sent to the DHHR Child Care Worker.  The contract may be cancelled by either party, with 

or without cause, upon notice.  The contract should be updated every 2 years. CCR&R 

agencies should set up internal processes to ensure that agreements are renewed every two 

years. 

 

14.4.6. ECE-CC-6A  Payment Processing Training Certification 

This form shall be signed by all child care providers who go through training on the payment 

process to confirm that they not only received the training, but understand it and agree to 

keep accurate records. 

 

14.4.7. ECE-CC-6E   Health and Safety Requirements for In-Home Child Care 

Providers  

This form is a checklist and shall be completed by in-home family child care providers in 

order to receive child care certificate program funds.  These standards are part of the Provider 

Services Agreement (DAY-0546). 

 

14.4.8. ECE-CC-6IR  Health and Safety Checklist for Informal and Relative Family 

Child Care Providers 

This checklist shall be given to applicants for registration as an informal or relative family 

child care provider.  The form shall be completed and returned within 30 days to the child 

care regulatory specialist.  Checklists shall also be completed by the worker during 

monitoring visits and filed in the provider record. 

 

14.4.9. ECE-CC-6 Registration Requirements for Informal and Relative Family 

Child Care – Legislative Rule. 

These rules apply to the registration of informal and family child care providers and all 

providers must meet them.  A copy of the full set of rules shall be given to all informal and 

relative family child care providers for their own records. 

 

14.4.10. ECE-CC-7  Provider Information. 

This form shall be completed by Registered Family Child Care Providers, Child Care 

Centers, Family Child Care Facilities and Unlicensed School-Age Child Care providers. 

 

14.4.11. ECE-CC-8  Application to Operate a Family Child Care Home. 

This form shall be completed by individuals applying to operate a registered family child 

care home, informal family child care home or a relative family child care home. 

 

14.4.12. ECE-CC-8A Authorization for CPS/APS Background Check. 

This form is to be completed by all child care providers, adult household members and staff 

and returned to the child care regulatory specialist within 13 days of enrollment/application 

for approval, registration, or licensure.  

 

14.4.13. ECE-CC-9  Family Child Care Home Regulations Checklist. 

Regulations shall apply to all registered family child care providers.  Checklists shall be 

given to applicants for completion and returned within 30 days to the child care regulatory 



 

Child Care Subsidy Policy        September 1, 2020 

  127 

 

specialist. Checklists shall also be completed by the worker during monitoring visits and 

filed in the provider record. 

 

14.4.14. ECE-CC-9B  Field Visit Signature Page for use with PDA. 

The ECE-CC-9B may be used during field visits for those child care regulatory specialists 

who have PDA’s.  It enables the specialists to provide a temporary hard copy assessment of 

any noncompliance issues.  The provider shall sign the signature page indicating they agree 

to enter into a corrective action plan so that the home meets all the requirements by the date 

indicated on the corrective action plan. 

 

14.4.15. ECE-CC-9C  Abbreviated Checklist for Registered FDC Homes. 

This abbreviated form of the ECE-CC-9 is to be used at mid-certification monitoring visits, 

except for situations where material changes in the provider’s child care environment have 

occurred. 

 

14.4.16. ECE-CC-9R Family Child Care Home Registration Requirements. 

The ECE-CC-9R is the set of legislative rules that have been promulgated for family child 

care homes caring for 4 (four) to six (6) children, including the provider’s own children 

under the age of six (6).  A copy of the legislative rules shall be given to all registered family 

child care providers, along with the Checklist (ECE-CC-9). 

 

14.4.17. DAY-0577  Certificate of Registration. 

A FACTS generated Certificate of Registration shall be given to all registered family child 

care providers and informal and relative family child care providers upon completion of the 

necessary requirements and again at time of renewal of the certificate. The Certificate shall 

indicate the type of care, address, type of registration (regular or provisional), approved 

capacity, issuance date and end date.   

 

14.4.18. ECE-CC-10A and 10A-1  Request for Payment – Child Care Services. 

The ECE-CC-10A is initiated by the child care provider.  The form must be completed and 

submitted monthly in order for the provider to be reimbursed for child care services 

following items of information should be completed before the provider submits the form. 

 

14.4.19. ECE-CC-10B   Payment Instructions. 

This form shall be given to all enrolled providers and provides directions on completion of 

form ECE-CC-10A and ECE-CC-10A-1. 

 

14.4.20. ECE-CC-10C  Fee Collection Instructions. 

This form shall also be given to enrolled providers and provides instructions on how to 

collect fees from parents. 

 

14.4.21. ECE-CC-10D   Fee Notices. 

Providers shall be given this form at time of payment enrollment.  The form is optional but 

may be used by providers who opt to use a formal billing and receipt procedure. 

 

14.4.22. ECE-CC-10E   Emergency Information. 
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Enrolled providers shall be given a supply of emergency forms during the payment 

enrollment process.  Providers shall request that parents complete, notarize, and return 

emergency forms on all children prior to placement. 

 

14.4.23. ECE-CC-10F  Provider Notice to Agency. 

Providers shall be given a supply of these forms.  The form is used to supply the CCR&R 

case manager with information on parental fees and to request supplies of needed forms. 

 

14.4.24. ECE-CC-10G   Child Care Attendance Sheets. 

Providers shall be given a supply of these forms.  The provider shall enter the names of all 

children in care.  All parents (or the persons responsible for the child) shall sign each child’s 

time in and out on a daily basis.  Their signature on the form each day shall verify that the 

times accurately reflect their child’s attendance.  These forms are required monthly for all 

types of child care providers participating in the child care certificate program, with the 

exception of child care centers and unlicensed school-age care, which must submit them 

every six (6) months. 

 

14.4.25. ECE-CC-10H   Payment Training Quiz 

Providers shall be given this short quiz at the end of payment training to assist child care 

providers in understanding payment submission concepts and rules. 

 

14.4.26. ECE-CC-10I Payment Training Quiz Answer Sheet 

Answer sheet for the payment training quiz. CCR&R case managers should cover the correct 

answers with providers who have completed the Payment Training Quiz. 

 

14.4.27. ECE-CC-10J  Pet Acknowledgement Form 

Child care providers with pets in the home shall have all parents of child care children read 

and sign the acknowledgement form. 

 

14.4.28. ECE-CC-10K  Child Care and Responsible Pet Ownership 

A booklet covering the types of animals allowed in the child care setting, as well as safety 

tips for safe child/pet interactions. 

 

14.4.29. ECE-CC-11 Health and Safety Checklist for Unlicensed School Age Child 

Care Programs. 

This one-page checklist shall be given to unlicensed school age child care programs that 

provide before and after school care at the time of enrollment for payment.  The child care 

regulatory specialist shall monitor the facility within 60 days to insure compliance with the 

health and safety requirements and shall place the completed checklist in the facility’s file. 

 

14.4.30. ECE-CC-12 Application for the Approval of In-Home Care. 

This application is to be completed by the parent receiving the care and by the caregiver.  

The parent is responsible for returning the application packet to the CCR&R agency. 

 

14.4.31. ECE-CC-14 Family Child Care Facility Information Packet. 



 

Child Care Subsidy Policy        September 1, 2020 

  129 

 

This packet is sent to applicants who are interested in opening a family child care facility.  It 

provides sufficient information to screen out applicants who are not able or willing to comply 

with requirements and includes a letter of intent, which applicants are requested to complete 

and return. 

 

14.4.32. ECE-CC-15 Application to Operate a Family Child Care Facility. 

This application is to be completed by the owner/operator of a facility at the time of original 

application and at the time of renewal.  The renewal application should be completed and 

sent to the local DHHR office at least sixty (60) days prior to expiration of a license. 

 

14.4.33. ECE-CC-16  Family Child Care Facility Regulations. 

These rules are to be sent to all applicants who wish to operate a family child care facility 

once a completed letter of intent is received.  Applicants shall notify the DHHR Child Care 

Worker  when they are ready for on-site evaluation of the facility.  Rules are also available 

on line at  

 https://dhhr.wv.gov/bcf/Childcare/ChildCareLicensingandRegulations/Pages/Child-Care-

Facilities-.aspx 

 

14.4.34. ECE-CC-16A Family Child Care Facility Checklist. 

This checklist shall be completed during an on-site visit by the child care regulatory 

specialist during the initial visit to approve the facility and upon renewal of the license. All 

facilities shall be monitored annually. 

 

14.4.35. DAY-0576 License to Operate a Family Child Care Facility. 

This FACTS generated certificate shall be provided to owner/operators of family child care 

facilities as verification of licensure.  Certificates shall be initial, regular or provisional.  

Regular certificates are valid for up to two (2) years unless revoked. Provisional licenses are 

good for up  to six months and may not be consecutively reissued unless the WV State 

Fire Marshal recommends it. An initial certificate is issued only to new facilities and can be 

issued for six months. Certificates shall indicate the approved number of children fewer than 

24 months and over 24 months, issuing date and expiration date and are signed by the child 

care regulatory specialist. 

 

14.4.36. ECE-CC-22 Family Child Care Provider Training Record. 

Providers may use this form to record their training attendance and keep track of hours and 

core competencies covered, 

 

14.4.37. ECE-CC-23 Fire Escape Plan. 

Providers may use this form to assist in preparing fire escape routes and record fire drills. 

 

14.4.38. ECE-CC-24  Emergency Phone List. 

Providers may use this form to compile an emergency phone list. 

 

14.4.39. ECE-CC-25 Medication Permission Slip. 

Providers may use these permission forms with parents to record medication dosages and 

times. 

https://dhhr.wv.gov/bcf/Childcare/ChildCareLicensingandRegulations/Pages/Child-Care-Facilities-.aspx
https://dhhr.wv.gov/bcf/Childcare/ChildCareLicensingandRegulations/Pages/Child-Care-Facilities-.aspx
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14.4.40. DAY-0615 Corrective Action Plan. 

This report may be generated by FACTS whenever completion of a regulatory checklist 

reveals areas of non-compliance.  The corrective action plan shall be sent to the provider as 

a formal  notice that the provider is out of compliance and listing the steps that must 

be taken for the provider to correct areas of non-compliance. 

 

14.4.41. W-9 Tax Identification Form. 

This form will be completed at provider application/enrollment and signed by the provider.  

The CCR&R case manager will send the original to the DHHR Child Care Worker, who 

shall enter the appropriate information on the FACTS tax information screen.  The FACTS 

provider case number shall be added to the top of the form and the form forwarded to Bureau 

for Children and Families.  A revised form will need to be completed by the provider 

whenever there is a name or address change, even if the provider moves out of West Virginia 

. 

14.4.42. DAY-0618 Notification of Provider Approval Status. 

This is a FACTS-generated notice for in-home and unlicensed school-age child care 

providers who are exempt from regulation under WV Code, Chapter 49-2B, but must meet 

requirements in order to participate in the child care certificate program. 

 

14.4.43. ECE-CC-26 Incident Report Form. 

Providers may use this form to record and report incidents the result in injury to a child. 

Incidents must be verbally reported within 24 hours. Providers are requested to follow up in 

writing within 72 hours. 

 

14.4.44. ECE-CC-27 Direct Deposit Information/Application. 

CCR&R staff shall provide this form to all new providers enrolled for payment.  The form 

explains the process for direct deposit and includes the application form that is to be returned 

to the Auditor’s Office.  

 

14.4.45. ECE-CC-30      Periodicity Schedule. 

Child care providers are required to give a copy of this form, which contains a recommended 

schedule of health check-ups and immunizations, to each child care parent. 

 

14.4.48 ECE-CC-31 Guide to Family Child Care 

Child care regulatory specialists and CCR&R case managers may send this booklet to 

potential providers interested in becoming family child care providers. 

 

14.5. Miscellaneous Forms and FACTS Reports 

 

14.5.1. DAY-0616 History of Non-Compliance Report 

This report shall be generated by FACTS upon request of a parent who requests information 

on substantiated complaints against the provider that are a matter of public record. The 

History of Non-compliance Report may be sorted by dates or by concerns identified during 

licensing review, monitoring visits or as a result of an investigation or a complaint 
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investigation. Information on child abuse and neglect complaints shall not be included for 

distribution. 

 

14.5.2.  ECE-CC-20 IIU Referral Interview Guide 

CCR&R and DHHR staff can use this form as a guide for recording child abuse and neglect 

complaints on child care centers. 

  

14.5.3. ECE-CC-21 CPS Referral Interview Guide 

CCR&R and DHHR staff can use this form as a guide for recording child abuse and neglect 

complaints on any type of child care provider other than child care centers. 

 

14.5.4. IG-BR-29  Hearing/Grievance Record Information Form 

This form is to be completed by the case manager when a client requests a hearing regarding 

a negative action decision on a case.  The request is to be sent within 48 hours to the WV 

DHHR Office of OIG with the appropriate documentation. 

 

14.5.5. ECE-CC-19 Child Care Repayment Agreement. 

This form shall be completed whenever a provider or client is determined to have received 

services or payments to which they were not entitled, and the CCR&R is negotiating for 

repayment.  The form shall be signed in duplicate, with one copy given to the client or 

provider and the other retained in the appropriate record. A copy shall also be sent to: 

 

Division of Accounting and Reporting 

Office of Operations 

WV DHHR Bureau for Children and Families 

350 Capitol Street Suite 730 

Charleston WV 25301-3711 

 

14.5.6. ECE-68        Remittances to Local DHHR Offices. 

CCR&R staff shall complete this form on any returned checks or any re-payments that come 

into the CCR&R office.  All items shall be completed. To enter the fund code, please look 

at the client payment history in FACTS which shows one of two fund types indicated below.  

The fund code for that type is located in the right-hand column in the chart below. 

 

Fund Type Fund Code 

Child Care & Development 5096-2020-2572-099-084 

Title XX 5096-2020-2570-099-084 

 

**Please note that the only change in codes is in the third number sequence (2572 or 2570).  

Also, the second sequence of numbers refers to the State of West Virginia fiscal year- 2020.  

As of July 1st, of each year, the fiscal year changes, so the fund code changes to reflect the 

fiscal year.  As of July 1, 2020, please change to 2021 and change it each following year 

while we continue to do this by hand. Once completed, the form and the appropriate returned 

check or payments shall be submitted to the closest DHHR office.  
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