

## West Virginia Department of Health and Human Resources

West Virginia HealthCheck (EPSDT) Program Periodicity Schedule



Services	Newbo (Inpatie		2-4 Days	By 1 Mo		4 Mo	6 Mo	9 Mo	12 Mo	15 Mo	18 Mo
Examination (1)	1		1	1	1	~	1	1	1	1	1
Tuberculosis Risk Screen									Begins at 12 Mo	>	>
Lead Risk Screen							Begins at 6 Mo	>	>	>	>
Newborn Metabolic Screening	Metabolic screening (e.g., thyroid, hemoglobinopathies, PKU, galactosemia) should be done according to State law.										
Services	2 Yrs		3 rs	4 Yrs	5 Yrs	6 Yrs	8 Yrs	10 Yrs	11 Yrs	12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17 Yrs	18, 19, 20 Yrs
Examination (1)	1	~	/	~	1	1	1	1	1	1	1
Tuberculosis Risk Screen	>	^	>	>	>	>	>	>	>	>	>
Lead Risk Screen	>	^^	>	>	>	>					
Lead		(2	2)	(2)	(2)	(2)					

(1) Examination includes all required components of the HealthCheck exam including a comprehensive history/history update with nutritional screening, applicable growth measurements plotted on a growth chart, blood pressure, vision screening, subjective hearing screening, dental screening, lead risk screening, tuberculosis risk screening, health education, ordering appropriate laboratory tests, and an immunization screen.

(2) A Blood lead level is required at 36 months to 72 months if child has never been screened.

(April 2007)



## West Virginia Child Care Centers Immunization Guidelines

The Bureau for Public Health recommends the following <u>minimum requirements</u> in accordance with ACIP age appropriate recommended vaccines. The vaccines listed are a guide for child care centers, family child care centers and in-home child care for evaluating children and their immunization records.

Age	Нер В	DTaP	Hib*	Polio	MMR	Varicella	Prevnar*	Hep A*	Rotavirus
2-3 months	1st dose	1st dose	1st dose	1st dose			1st dose		See Note
4-5 months	2nd dose	2nd dose	2nd dose	2nd dose			2nd dose		
6-14 months	2nd dose	3rd dose	3rd dose	2nd dose			3rd dose		
15-17 months	2nd dose	3rd dose	3rd dose	2nd dose	1st dose		3rd dose	1st dose	
18 mo 5 years	3rd dose	4th dose	4th dose	3rd dose	1st dose	1 dose or history	4th dose	2 <sup>nd</sup> dose	

**Note: Rotavirus vaccine** (3 doses) series must be initiated for a child between <u>6 weeks and 12 weeks of age</u>. If not, the series should not be started at all. Subsequent doses should be administered at 4 to 10 week intervals. <u>No dose should be given after 32 weeks of age</u>. There is no evidence of protection provided by only one or two doses.

Hep A	Hepatitis A, is a serious liver disease	Hep B:	Hepatitis B, a serious liver disease				
DTaP:	Diphtheria, tetanus (lockjaw) and pertussis (whooping cough)	Varicella:	Chickenpox				
Hib	Haemophilus influenzae type b (bacterial meningitis), a serious brain, throat and blood infection	PCV:	Prevnar, pneumococcal conjugate vaccine protec against a serious blood, lung and brain infection.				
IPV/Polio	Polio, a serious paralyzing disease	MMR:	Measles, mumps and rubella				
Rotavirus	Rotavirus is a virus that causes severe diarrhea, usually with fever and vomiting.						

\*Rules for Hib doses: if #1 was given at 12-14 mo., give a booster dose in 8 wks.; give only 1 dose to unvaccinated children  $\geq$  15 mo. and < 5 yrs of age. Rules for HibTITER and ActHib: #2 and #3 may be given 4 wks after previous dose; if #1 was given at 7-11mo., only 3 doses are needed; #2 is given 4-8 wks after #1, then boost at 12-15 mo. Rules for PedvaxHiB and Comvax: #2 may be given 4 wks after dose #1. \*\*Prevnar: minimum interval between doses for infants <12 mo. of age is 4 wks, for  $\geq$  12 mo. of age is 8 wks; for infants 7-11 mo. of age: if unvaccinated, give dose #1 now, give #2 dose 4-8 wks later, and boost at 12-15 mo.; for children 12-23 mo. 1) If not previously vaccinated or only one previous dose before 12 mo., give 2 doses  $\geq$  8 wks. apart. 2) If child previously had 2 doses, give booster dose  $\geq$  8 wks after previous dose. Rule for Hep A: 1<sup>st</sup> dose at 12-23 months of age. 2<sup>nd</sup> dose 6 months after the 1<sup>st</sup>. Influenza Vaccine is recommended for all 6 -59 month olds annually.

Division of Surveillance & Disease Control Immunization Program 350 Capitol Street Charleston, WV 25301 (304) 558-2188 or 1-800-642-3634