Application for Certified Copy of West Virginia Certificate of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth

Please complete on-line, print, sign, and mail as instructed below or print except where signature is required. The following pertains to information that would be found on the certificate being requested. Name of Stillborn Sex: **Date of Delivery** Male Month/Day/Year First Middle Last **Mother's Maiden Name** Mother's Place of Birth Middle Last City, Town, Other Location First County State or Foreign Country Father's Name Father's Place of Birth First Middle Last City, Town, Other Location County State or Foreign Country **Place of Delivery** County State Hospital Name Requestor's Relationship to Stillborn: Parent - Note: Under law, only a parent listed on the originally filed Report of Fetal Death may request the preparation of a Certificate of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth Making false statements and misuse of vital records will result in criminal and civil penalties pursuant to WV Code §16-5-38. Printed Name (Required) Signature (Required) Requesting copies at \$12.00 per copy and enclosing \$ Please send check or money order. Please do not send cash. Make checks payable to: Vital Registration Send copies to: Print your mailing address below: Your daytime telephone number: F-Mail address City State Zip Submit form with check or money order to: Vital Registration Room 165

Telephone: (304) 558-2931

Charleston, WV 25301-3701

350 Capitol Street

Stillbirth records are confidential and not open to the general public, except for those that are at least 50 years old.

Only the parents listed on the stillbirth certificate are entitled to obtain it.

All requests must be accompanied by a valid ID as listed below. The acceptable documents listed may change without prior notice. For mail requests, a photocopy of the document is sufficient, please do not send the original.

Submit one (1) document from the primary list OR two (2) documents from the secondary list.

Primary Documents

- DMV-issued driver's license unexpired or expired for not more than five years;
- DMV-issued learner's/instruction permit unexpired or expired for not more than five years;
- DMV-issued photo identification card (excluding child ID cards) unexpired or expired for not more than one year;
- Current Photo ID card, (school and employment). Check Cashing Cards are not acceptable;
- Unexpired U.S. military ID card of an active duty or retired member (ID cards of military dependents are not acceptable as primary identity documents);
- U.S. Passport unexpired or expired for not more than five years;
- West Virginia Criminal Justice Agency Offender Information Form; or
- United States Probation Offender Information Form

Secondary Documents (Require two of below selections)

- Social Security Card
- A utility bill (phone, electric, gas, water, etc.) with your name and current address;
- Automobile registration with your name and current address;
- Automobile insurance card with your name and current address;
- Voter's Registration Card with your name and current address;
- Checking account deposit slip or bank statement stating name and current address;
- Paycheck stub or a W-2 form with your name and current address;
- U.S. Selective Service Card:
- U.S. military discharge papers (form DD214);
- Health care insurance card;
- Unexpired welfare/social services identification card with photo, issued by a municipality;
- Unexpired weapons or gun permit issued by federal, state or municipal government; or
- Veterans' Universal Access Identification Card.