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 Introduction 

Authorized under Title XIX of the Social Security Act, Medicaid is an entitlement 

program financed by the state and federal governments and administered by the 

state. The Bureau for Medical Services (BMS) is the single state agency responsible for 

administering the West Virginia Medicaid Program. BMS is administered by the West 

Virginia Department of Health and Human Resources (DHHR). 

This booklet provides you with a brief overview of the West Virginia Medicaid Program 

and the services available to you.  The information in this book should not be 

considered Medicaid policy. It is intended as a resource to answer some of the 

questions you may have.  If you have questions that are not answered in this book, 

please call the phone numbers provided. 

 

Mission Statement 

The Bureau for Medical Services is committed to administering the Medicaid Program, 

while maintaining accountability for the use of resources, in a way that assures access 

to appropriate, medically necessary, and quality health care services for all members; 

provide these services in a user friendly manner to providers and members alike; and 

focus on the future by providing preventive care programs.  
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 Who is Eligible for Medicaid 

Medicaid provides health insurance to: 

 Supplemental Security Income (SSI) 
beneficiaries; 

 Pregnant women; 

 Children under age 19; 

 Very low income families; 

 People who are aged/blind/disabled; 

 Medically needy (some examples of those who 
may be medically needy are described on the 
next page); and 

 Adults ages 19 to 64. 

Medicaid eligibility is determined based on income 
and other factors, depending on your eligibility 
category.  Eligibility is determined by West Virginia 
Department of Health and Human Resources 
(DHHR) workers in county offices.   

SSI Income beneficiaries are automatically eligible 
for Medicaid coverage and do not have to apply for 
benefits at the local DHHR office.  

For pregnant women, children, and adults ages 19 
to 64, eligibility is dependent on their Modified 
Adjusted Gross Income (MAGI) and household size.  
 
 
 

Income not counted when determining MAGI 
includes:  

 Scholarships, grants and awards for educational 
purposes; 

 Child support income; 

 Worker’s compensation benefits; 

 Veterans benefits; and 

 Certain American Indian and Alaska Native 
income. 

Household size is based on who is claimed as a 
dependent on your federal tax return.  This may 
include:  

 You; 

 Your spouse; 

 Your dependent children (biological, adopted, 
or stepchildren); and 

 Other relatives and even non-relatives who 
qualify as dependents. 

The chart below provides general guidance for 2016 
on whether you and/or your family may qualify for  
Medicaid based on MAGI.  Check with your county 
DHHR office to determine if you meet the income 
guidelines.  

 

Family 
Size 

Adults ages 19 to 64 and/or 
Children age 6 to 19 
Yearly income up to: 

Pregnant Women and/or 

Children Under age 1 

Yearly income up to 

Children ages 1 to 6 

Yearly income up to: 

1 $16,242 $17,820 $16,752 

2 $21,983 $24,036 $22,596 

3 $27,724 $30,240 $28,428 

4 $33,465 $36,456 $34,272 
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Women diagnosed with breast or cervical cancer 
by a Centers for Disease Control (CDC) program 
under the age of 65 and do not have other health 
insurance may qualify for Medicaid coverage when 
certain other non-financial requirements are met.  

Some Medicare recipients may be eligible to 
receive assistance from Medicaid in paying the 
Medicare Part A and/or B premium and/or 
Medicare co-payments and deductibles.  

Medicaid Work Incentive (M-WIN) is for 
individuals between ages 16 and 65 who have a 
disability and are working. Individuals must meet 
financial and asset levels. In addition, the individual 
must pay a $50 enrollment fee and a monthly 
premium based on income.   

Medicaid Coverage for Long-Term Care 

Medicaid long-term care includes: 

 Nursing home care; 

 Intermediate care facilities for individuals with 
intellectual disabilities; 

 Aged and Disabled Waiver Services; 

 Intellectual/Developmental Disabilities Waiver 
Services; and 

 Traumatic Brain Injury Waiver Services. 

In order to qualify for any of these services, a 
person must meet financial and asset limits as well 
as certain medical criteria.   

Some individuals and families who are ineligible for 
Medicaid at the time of application because of 
income higher than the maximum allowed level, 
may become eligible under  “spenddown.” The local 
DHHR worker will explain this process if it is 

Medically Needy and Other Special Eligibility Groups 

Applying for Medicaid 

If you receive Supplemental Security Income (SSI), 
you are automatically eligible for Medicaid and will 
receive a medical card on or about the first day of 
the month you become eligible for SSI.   

If you do not receive SSI, you must apply for 
Medicaid benefits: 

 Online at the Health Insurance Marketplace at 
www.HealthCare.gov;  

 Contact the Federal Call Center at 1-800-318-
2596; 

 Online at www.wvinRoads.org; or 

 In person or via mail to your county DHHR 
office, which is open Monday through Friday 
from 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., except on state 
holidays.  For your convenience, you may call 
for an appointment.  A list of offices can be 

found at www.dhhr.wv.gov/bcf/; you can also 
call the DHHR Change Center at  
1-877-716-1212.  

Many local hospitals and primary care clinics have 
staff available to assist you in filling out an 
application. 

If, because of a physical disability, you are unable to 
go to the local office, you may request a staff 
person to visit your home and take the application.  
To request a home visit, call your local DHHR office 
or the Office of Client Services toll free at  
1-800-642-8589. 

Once you have applied for Medicaid you will receive 
notification informing you if you are eligible or if the 
local DHHR office needs more information from 
you.  

http://www.HealthCare.gov
http://www.wvinRoads.org
http://www.dhhr.wv.gov/bcf/Pages/default.aspx
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When applying for Medicaid, you must attest to 
being a West Virginia resident, a United States 
citizen or a legal alien.  Non-U.S. citizens will be 
asked for an immigration document and ID number. 
Examples of an immigration document include:   

 Permanent Resident Card, “Green Card” (I-551); 

 Reentry Permit (I-327); 

 Refugee Travel Document (I-571); 

 Employment Authorization Card (I-766); 

 Machine Readable Immigrant Visa (with 
temporary I-551 language); 

 Arrival/Departure Record (I-94/I-94A); 

 Arrival/Departure Record in Foreign Passport  
(I-94); 

 Foreign Passport; 

 Certificate of Eligibility for Nonimmigrant 
Student Status (I-20); 

 Certificate of Eligibility for Exchange Visitor 
Status (DS2019); 

 Certification from U.S. Department of Health 
and Human Services (HHS) Office of Refugee 
Resettlement (ORR); and 

 Alien Number (also called alien registration 
number or USCIS number) or 1-94 Number. 

If you need assistance establishing your immigration 
status, contact your county DHHR office. All 
applicants must be given a reasonable opportunity 

to provide documents to establish U.S. citizenship or 
immigration status, unless we can verify this 
information electronically. 

All applicants will need to provide the following 
information:  

 Social Security Numbers (or document numbers 
for any legal immigrants who need insurance); 

 Employer and income information for everyone 
in your family (for example, from paystubs, W-2 
forms or wage and tax statements); 

 The number of people you will claim as a 
dependent on your tax return, or if you will be 
claimed as a dependent by someone else on 
their tax return; 

 Policy numbers for any current health 
insurance; and 

 Information about any job-related health 
insurance available to your family. 

The information you provide will be used to 
determine if you qualify for Medicaid and the 
coverage type.  DHHR will also check your answers 
using information already in its databases and 
databases from the Internal Revenue Service (IRS), 
Social Security, the Department of Homeland 
Security, and/or a consumer reporting agency. If the 
information doesn’t match, you may be asked to 
provide proof that your answers are correct.  

All information you provide to DHHR will be kept 
confidential and secure, as required by law. 

 

Required Information & Documentation 

If you qualify for Medicaid, you will receive a 
medical card in the mail once a year.  If you lose or 
displace the card, you can get a replacement card 
by:  

 Calling your case worker at the local DHHR office; 

 Calling the DHHR Customer Service Center at  
1-877-716-1212; or 

 Printing a Letter of Creditable Coverage. 

The Letter of Creditable Coverage is valid only for 
the day on which it is printed.  To print the letter go 
to www.wvmmis.com and click on Member at the 
top of the page. Enter your name (or the name of 
the person whose card is needed that day), date of 
birth and the last four digits of the Social Security 
Number.    

It is important to keep your appointments with the 
local DHHR office so your Medicaid eligibility will 

Your Medicaid Card 
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You may have other health insurance and still be 
eligible for Medicaid.  Your private insurance 
(employer, Medicaid, etc.) will be the primary payer 
and will pay your health care provider first.  
Medicaid will be your secondary insurance and will 
pay what your private insurance does not pay (up to 
the limit of what Medicaid pays).  You cannot be 
billed for deductibles or co-payments if your 
provider accepts your other insurance and your 
Medicaid card.  

If you receive money from an insurance company or 
as a result of a lawsuit which is for medical care, you 
must use it to pay the provider.  If Medicaid has 
already paid for your care, a refund must be made 
to Medicaid.  

If you have access to health insurance through your 
employer, you may be eligible for the Health 
Insurance Premium Payment (HIPP) Program. This 
program may pay your insurance premium for you 
as long as you or a family member is eligible for 
Medicaid.  

Other Medical Insurance 

continue uninterrupted.   

If you are a member of Mountain Health Trust, the 
BMS managed care program, you will also receive 
an insurance card from them.  

When you visit a medical provider, you need to 
present your Medicaid card along with any other 
private or public medical insurance cards you have, 
such as your Medicaid managed care card, your 
red, white and blue Medicare card or your private 

insurance card.   

Be sure to carry your most recent card with you at 
all times and present it to the medical provider 
each time you need medical care.  

If you lose your managed care card, please contact 
your Managed Care Organization (MCO).   

Remember: It is against the law to let anyone else 
use your card. 

 

Example of a Medicaid Card 

If an individual in your household qualifies for the 
adult coverage group and has a physical, mental or 
an emotional health condition that limits daily  
activities or forces the individual to reside in a  
nursing facility, the affected individual has a choice 
of benefit packages. You may choose between the 

alternative benefit package provided to adults  
enrolled in Medicaid and the traditional Medicaid 
plan that includes expanded services.  

If you meet the definition of medically frail at  
anytime, you may report this to your county DHHR 
office or by calling 1-877-716-1212.  

Medically Frail 
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Medical Services Covered by Medicaid 

Benefit Provided 

Traditional Medicaid Plan 
West Virginia Health Bridge 

Alternative Benefit Plan (ABP) 
(Expansion Plan) 

Covered Service Limits Covered Service Limits 

Primary Care Office Visits X  X  

Specialty Care X  X  

Podiatry X  X  

Chiropractic X  X 

Limit of 24 treatments per 
year. An additional 6 

treatments per year can 
be authorized if OT and PT 

services have not been 
utilized in combination 

with this service.  

Diagnostic X-Ray X  X  

Outpatient Hospital Services X  X  

Hospice X  X  

Nursing Home X  Not Covered 

Emergency Room  
Outpatient Hospital Services 

X  X  

Emergency Transportation/ 
Ambulance 

X  X  

Inpatient Hospital Care X  X  

Hospital Inpatient/
Maternity 

X  X  

Outpatient/Maternity X  X  

Outpatient Psychiatric  
Treatment 

X  X  

Rehabilitative Psychiatric 
Treatment 

X  X  

Inpatient Psychiatric  
Hospital 

X  X  

Prescription Drugs X  X  
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Benefit Provided 
Traditional Medicaid Plan 

West Virginia Health Bridge 
Alternative Benefit Plan (ABP) 

(Expansion Plan) 

Covered Service Limits Covered Service Limits 

Physical Therapy X 

20 visits per year 
(combined PT and OT, 

additional authorization 
required over limit) 

X 

30 visits per year for 
Habilitative and 

Rehabilitative services 
(combined PT and OT) 

Occupational Therapy X 

20 visits per year 
(combined PT and OT, 

additional authorization 
required over limit) 

X 

30 visits per year for 
Habilitative and 

Rehabilitative services 
(combined PT and OT) 

Speech Therapy X  X 
Habilitative and 

Rehabilitative services 

Cardiac Rehabilitation X  X  

Pulmonary Rehabilitation X  X  

Durable Medical Equipment X  X  

Orthotics and Prosthetics X  X  

Home Health X 
60 visits per year 

(additional authorization 
required over limit) 

X 100 visits per year 

Inpatient Rehabilitation  
Hospital Services 

X  X  

Laboratory Services and 
Testing 

X  X  

Diabetes Education X  X  

Early Periodic Screening, 
Diagnosis and Treatment 

X  X  

Family Planning Services 
and Supplies 

X  X  

Nutritional Counseling X  X  

Tobacco Cessation X  X  

Non-Emergency Medical 
Transport (NEMT) 

X  X  

Personal Care Services  X  Not covered 
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 Out-of-State Medicaid Coverage 

You must receive your Medicaid services from a 
West Virginia provider except in the following 
circumstances:  

 Some medical providers practicing within 30 
miles of the West Virginia border have been 
granted “border status.” These medical 
providers are considered in-state providers and 
do not have to obtain prior approval for 
services except in those instances where it is 
required of in-state providers; 

 Emergency treatment that is received while 
traveling or visiting out of state; or 

 Treatment received after prior approval from 
Medicaid. 

Out-of-state services are usually not approved if 
they are available in West Virginia. 

Denial of Payment for Services 

There are certain reasons why Medicaid may deny 
payment of your medical bills or prescription drugs:  

 Your doctor may not have asked for special 
permission (prior approval) for certain services 
paid; 

 Certain services are not covered by the West 
Virginia Medicaid Program; 

 You may have gone beyond the limits of 
coverage; 

 You may not have been entitled to a Medicaid 
card on the date of services; or 

 Your doctor may not have filled out the forms 
properly or may not have been a Medicaid 
provider when the service was rendered.  

Non-Emergency  
Medical Transportation 

Non-Emergency Medical Transportation (NEMT) is 
available to Medicaid members who need 
assistance in order to keep scheduled medical 
appointments and treatments.  

In order to be eligible for NEMT, a person must be a 
Medicaid member and have an appointment for 
medical treatment that is approved under Medicaid 
guidelines. 

For more information, to request gas mileage 
reimbursement or schedule a trip, please call the 
Medicaid NEMT broker, MTM, at 1-844-549-8353, 
Monday-Friday from 7 a.m. to 6 p.m. at least 5 
business days before your appointment.   

You will need to have the member’s name, 
Medicaid ID number, home address, phone 
number, where the member is to be picked up, the 
name, phone number and address of the health 
care provider, the date and time of your 
appointment and general reason for the 
appointment.  Also, please let the operator know if 
you have any special needs such as a wheelchair 
accessible vehicle, assistance during the trip or 
someone to ride with you.   
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As of January 1, 2014, some individuals who receive 
Medicaid services will be expected to pay co-
payments for certain services.   

Exempt from the co-payment requirement are: 

 Pregnant women, including pregnancy-related 
services up to 60 days post-partum; 

 Children under age 21; and 

 Native American and Alaska natives. 

Services exempt from co-payment include:  

 Long term care; 

 Hospice; 

 Medicaid Waiver;  

 Breast and Cervical Cancer Treatment Program; 

 Family planning; and  

 Emergency services. 

Co-payments are based on your level of income and 
may not exceed 5% of your household income.  
Providers may not deny services to individuals 
whose household income falls below 100% of the 
federal poverty level due to their inability to make a 
co-payment. 

 

Co-Payments 

Service  
Up to 

50.00% 
FPL 

50.01-
100.00% 

FPL 

100.01% 
FPL and 
above 

Inpatient Hospital (Acute Care) $0 $35 $75 

Office Visit (Physicians and Nurse Practitioners) $0 $2 $4 

Non-Emergency use of Emergency Department  $8 $8 $8 

Any outpatient surgical services rendered in a physician’s office, 
ambulatory surgical center or outpatient hospital excluding emergency 
rooms 

$0 $2 $4 

 
Tier Level 

Gross Quarterly Income Range for a 
Household of 2 

Out of Pocket Maximum 

1 (Up to 50.00% FPL) $0 to $1,966 $8  

2 (50.01-100.00% FPL) $1,967 to $3,932 $71 

3 (100.01% FPL and above) $3,933 and  above $143 

Below is an example of the out-of-pocket maximum per quarter for a household of two people at the three 
different tier levels:  

Below are the charts of co-payments: 

Total Allowed Charge Co-payment 

$0.00-$5.00 $0.00 

$5.01-$10.00 $0.50 

$10.01-$25.00 $1.00 

$25.01-$50.00 $2.00 

$50.01 and above $3.00 

Pharmacy co-payments are the same for all Medical members regardless of income, however out of pocket 
maximums do apply:  
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 Your Medicaid Rights and Responsibilities  

Discrimination Prohibited 

Medicaid benefits will be extended in full 
compliance with the 1964 Civil Rights Act, which 
prohibits discriminatory administration of benefits 
from federally funded programs because of sex, 
race, color, religion, national origin, ancestry, age, 
political affiliation or physical/developmental/
mental challenges. 

Medicaid does not discriminate on the basis of 
disability in admission to or access to its programs 
or in its operations, services or activities.  If you 
have questions or complaints or if you want to talk 
about whether you have a disability according to the 
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), you may 
contact the State ADA Coordinator at: WV 
Department of Administration, Building 1, Room E-
119, 1900 Kanawha Blvd., East, Charleston, WV 
25305, or call (304) 558-4331, extension 57004.  

Confidentiality 

Any information obtained from you or concerning 
you, including your Social Security Number (SSN), 
shall be kept confidential.  No information regarding 
applicants or members shall be disclosed, without 
consent, for any purpose other than those directly 
concerned with administrative requirements.  

Right to Appeal 

You have the right to appeal if you are not satisfied 
with the decision regarding your application and/or 
it is not handled within a reasonable period of time; 
if you were not allowed to file an application; or if 
you think you were treated unfairly in any way.  
Requests for appeals should be directed to your 
local DHHR office. 

If you have received notice of a reduction, 
suspension or termination of a Medicaid covered 
service, you have a right to appeal that denial or 
termination through the fair hearing process.  The 
notice that you receive will include an explanation 
of your appeal rights and a form that you may use to 
request a fair hearing. You may represent yourself 
or use legal counsel, a relative, friend or other 
spokesperson. 

If you appeal prior to the date of termination of a 
covered service, you may continue the service until 

a decision is made regarding your appeal. However, 
if the state’s action is upheld, the agency may start 
recovery actions to recoup the cost of the services 
furnished. 

Services 

You have the right to choose and/or make decisions 
about health care for you and your children.  You 
may receive medical assistance for your child(ren), 
including Early Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and 
Treatment (EPSDT). 

Upon request, you may receive information 
regarding:  

 Family planning services; and 

 Domestic violence services. 

If your income is above the Medicaid limits, you may 
still be eligible to receive a medical card if you have 
excess medial bills.  Ask your DHHR worker if you 
qualify.   

You may be qualified to apply for low-priced 
telephone services called America and  
Tel-Assistance/Lifeline that the telephone company 
in your area offers. With your permission, DHHR 
may release information to the telephone company 
concerning your eligibility for this service. If your 
eligibility for Medicaid is  stopped, DHHR will notify 
the telephone company.  

Right to Information 

You have the right to see your medical records and 
ask questions about health care.  

You have the right to be treated fairly and with 
respect. 

You have the right to know the laws and rules of the 
Medicaid Program and to ask questions about your 
plan. 

Cooperating with Other Entities 

You may be required to cooperate with the Bureau 
for Child Support Enforcement (BCSE) in child 
support activities, including obtaining medical 
support.  If you think cooperating to collect medical 
support will harm you or your child(ren), tell your 
DHHR worker.  
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  You must cooperate with the Quality Control 
Reviewer in any review of your benefits.  This may 
require a home visit by the reviewer and include 
additional verification of your situation. You do not 
have to permit the reviewer to enter your home.  

Changes Affecting Eligibility 

You must notify DHHR of the following within 10 
days if: 

 Your address, name or telephone number 
changes; 

 Your housing costs change; 

 Anyone in your household obtains/loses 
employment or there are changes in your 
household income;  

 There are changes in your household’s amount 
or source of unearned income; 

 Anyone moves into/out of your household; 

 Any individual in your home starts, finishes or 
drops out of school or job training; 

 There are changes in your household assets, 
including receiving, selling, purchasing, or losing 
a vehicle, including recreational vehicles and 
equipment;  

 Anyone in your household receives a lump sum 
payment; and/or 

 You are involved in an accident which results in 

a settlement either in or out of court.  

Repayment of Benefits 

Certain federal and state laws require Medicaid 
members to make repayments for benefits received 
if: 

 Unintentional errors were made by you or by 
DHHR which resulted in your receiving benefits 
for which your were ineligible; and/or 

 You or any person in your household receiving 
Medicaid receive payment from an insurance 
company, with or without a court order, for 
medical and/or hospital bills for which Medicaid 
has or will make payment. This includes 
insurance settlements resulting from an 
accident 

You must cooperate with DHHR and any provider of 
medical services in pursuing any resources available 
to meet the medical expenses resulting from an 
injury or an accident.  

Fraud  

Any person who obtains or attempts to obtain 
benefits from Medicaid by means of a willfully false 
statement or misrepresentation or by 
impersonation or any other fraudulent device, can 
be charged with fraud.  Punishment upon a 
conviction may be a fine up to $5,000 and/or a jail 
sentence of 5 years in a state correctional facility.  

Medicaid members receiving long-term care services have these additional rights and responsibilities:  

A period of ineligibility for Medicaid long-term care 
may result if resources, including certain trusts, 
were transferred within the 60-month period prior 
to the date of application.  

You must disclose to the state any interest you or 
your spouse have in an annuity.  The state must be 
named as the remainder beneficiary or as the 
second remainder beneficiary after a spouse or a 
minor or disabled child, for an amount at least 
equal to the amount of Medicaid benefits provided.  

After June 9, 1995, any Medicaid funds paid on 
behalf of individuals age 55 or older for long-term 
care services and related hospital and prescription 
drug services must be recovered. For more 
information regarding Estate Recovery call  

(304) 342-1604.  

If you are in a nursing home, you must notify your 
county DHHR office within 10 days if:  

 You are discharged from a nursing or 
intermediate care facility to go to another 
facility or return home; 

 There are changes in your gross unearned or 
earned income or the income of your spouse 
and any dependent children who live with your 
spouse; and/or 

 There are changes in your assets or those of 
your spouse, including receiving, selling, 
purchasing or giving away assets.  

 



14 

 

 

Mountain Health Trust is the West Virginia Medicaid  
Managed Care Program. A Managed Care 
Organization (MCO) is a health care company which 
contracts with various health care providers to 
provide members with quality and cost-effective 
health care.   

Individuals who are required to sign up with an 
MCO will receive a packet in the mail explaining 
their choices.  If you receive such a packet you must 
choose one of four Managed Care Organizations 
(MCOs).  If you do not choose an MCO, one will be 
chosen for you.  The MCO you choose will ask you to 
pick a primary care provider (PCP) who will handle 
most of your medical needs.   

The MCOs for West Virginia are: 

 Coventry Cares of WV; 

 The Health Plan of the Upper Ohio Valley;  

 UniCare; and 

 WV Family Health Plan. 

If you need a specialist or hospital care, your PCP 
will set that up for you. 

Currently, the only services not covered by the 
MCOs are personal care services and non-

emergency medical transportation. If you require 
one or more of these services contact your MCO.  

When you are enrolled in an MCO, you will receive a 
medical card from the MCO as well as a medical 
card from DHHR.  You must take both cards to all of 
your appointments.   

Mountain Health Trust members in Cabell and 
Wayne counties may choose to enroll in the 
Physician Assured Access System (PAAS). This 
program is designed to enhance access to medical 
care and to coordinate your health care needs and 
services. You will be asked to choose a Primary Care 
Provider (PCP) from among a group of doctors.  

Your PCP must give you a referral before you may 
see a specialist. 

Doctors in the PAAS Program have agreed to 
provide access to 24-hour care.  If you have a true 
emergency, go to the nearest emergency care 
center.  You do not need approval from your PCP for 
an emergency. 

If you have questions, want to change your PCP or 
MCO, or have a complaint, call 1-800-449-8466 or 
visit your PCP or MCO website.   
 

*The PAAS Program will end as of June 30, 2016. 

Mountain Health Trust - Managed Care 



15 

 

 

If you have Medicaid and you belong to an MCO or 
PAAS, you have the right to request the following at 
least once a year by calling 1-800-449-8466: 

 A directory of all current contracted providers 
including: 

 Names/addresses/telephone numbers; 

 Languages other than English; 

 Closed or open practice; and 

 Primary care/specialist/hospital. 

 Instructions on how to use the directory: 

 Your choice of provider; 

 Referral process for specialty care; and 

 Explanation of network. 

 Information on grievance and fair hearing 
procedures and the time frame. 

 Services which continue to be accessed under 
fee-for-service including: 

 Some family-planning services;  

 Non-emergency medical transportation; and 

 Long-term care/nursing homes. 

 Information on: 

 How to obtain benefits;  

 Non-covered services;  

 After-hours access; 

 Advanced Directives or a “living will” that 
allows someone else to make medical 
decisions for you if you are unable to make 
your own decision; and 

 How doctors are paid. 

  A copy of  your rights and responsibilities: 

 You also have the right to go to the nearest 
emergency room or call 911 in cases of 
emergency. Prior authorization is not 
required for emergencies.  

Medicaid Managed Care Consumer Rights 

 
Important Telephone Numbers  

To find your local DHHR Office…………………………………………………..1-877-716-1212 

DHHR Office of Client Services…………………………………………….…….1-800-642-8589 

Medically Frail Form…………………………………………………...…………….1-888-483-0797 

Questions regarding payments to medical provider 
Molina Medicaid Solutions………………………………………………………..1-888-483-0797 

Questions regarding your Managed Care coverage,  
change your primary care provider, etc…………………………………….1-800-449-8466  
 
Medical Emergency…………………………………………………………………..911 
 
Your Local DHHR Office ..................................................................  __________________  
 
Your Doctor……………………………………………………... ..........................  __________________  
 
Your Dentist…………………………. .......................................................  __________________  
 
Your Child(ren)’s Doctor ................................................................  __________________  
 


