Pharmaceutical and Therapeutics Committee

The Medicaid P & T Committee is comprised of up to 15 actively practicing healthcare professionals appointed by the Secretary of DHHR and acts in an advisory capacity to assist BMS in selecting drugs for the Preferred Drug List.  Members may serve a maximum of three, three-year terms.  Members are required to disclose their conflicts of interest, if any, and to maintain confidentiality of drug rebate information.  The Committee meets three times per year and as necessary to review the PDL and new drugs as they become available.

The West Virginia Medicaid Pharmaceutical and Therapeutics Committee is committed to:

  • Objectively recommending drugs for inclusion on the WV Preferred Drug List (PDL) that are effective and cost efficient, while providing maximum safety;
  • Examine the scientific literature (found in labeling, drug compendia, and peer reviewed clinical literature) for sound clinical evidence that supports selecting specific drugs to be included on the PDL
  • Ensure that the PDL provides for medically appropriate drug therapies for use in the general Medicaid population, allowing healthcare providers to care for the majority of their patients without a prior authorization request.

    P&T Committee Members
    Bradley Henry, MD, Chair
    Tom Kines, RPh, Vice-Chiar
    John J. Bernabei, RPh
    Toni DiChiacchio, DNP
    Philip Galapon, MD
    Kelli Jennings, PharmD
    Heather Jones, PA-C
    Karrie Juengel, PharmD
    Hani Nazha, MD
    Steve Neal, RPh
    Mary Payne, MD
    Chris Terpening, PharmD



P & T Committee Meetings
Speaker Sign-Up Process
Archived P&T Committee Meetings


350 Capitol Street | Room 251 | Charleston, WV 25301 | Phone: (304) 558-1700 | Contact Us | Site Map

Privacy, Security and Accessibility | | | © 2017 State of West Virginia