13.5 OTHER WORK REQUIREMENTS (SNAP)

A. WORK REGISTRATION

1. Registration Requirements

All mandatory individuals must register for employment with WorkForce West Virginia, within 30 days of the date of the original approval, unless exempt according to Section 13.2. Recipients must register every 12 months thereafter, regardless of the length of time that WorkForce West Virginia considers the registration valid. Actions which constitute a registration are defined by WorkForce West Virginia.

Once the client registers with WorkForce West Virginia for SNAP purposes, he cannot be required to register more often than every 12 months, even when the benefit is opened and closed within the 12-month period. This is tracked through eRAPIDS.

EXAMPLE: An AG is approved for SNAP benefits on April 10th. The father registers with WorkForce West Virginia as required by May 10th. In June, a change is reported which makes the AG ineligible and the benefit is closed effective for July. The AG reapplies in September and is determined to be eligible. Because the father registered with WorkForce West Virginia in May, he cannot be required to register again until the following May.

EXAMPLE: A man registers with WorkForce West Virginia in January. He later applies for SNAP in June and his WorkForce West Virginia no longer considers him registered. Since he has not registered for SNAP purposes in the last 12 months, he is required to register within 30 days of his SNAP approval.

The Worker must complete the appropriate eRAPIDS screens at any point during the certification period when the recipient is due to register with WorkForce West Virginia. Completion of this screen will send a verification checklist (CMOB) which gives the client 30 days notice prior to the due date to register.

When the Worker discovers that the client was not notified that he must re-register during the certification period and is not currently exempt, the Worker must follow the same steps as noted above to establish a new registration due date and to ensure the client is notified 30 days prior to the new due date.

The Worker must not delay completion of a redetermination due to WorkForce West Virginia registration requirements.

If the applicant is currently in a SNAP penalty for failure to register and has completed his minimum penalty time, he must register prior to benefit approval. A second verification checklist is not required. If he continues to refuse or fails to register, his penalty continues. See Section 13.6.

Prior to approval, an individual who verbally refuses to register with WorkForce West Virginia is ineligible until he registers or meets an exemption to the work requirements.

When an individual is added to the SNAP AG, or becomes subject to the SNAP work requirements due to the reported loss of an exemption, he is required to register with WorkForce West Virginia within 30 days of the date a DFA-6 or verification checklist (CMOB) is issued to the client, unless he has already registered for SNAP purposes within the past 12 months. See Section 13.2, General SNAP Work Requirements and Exemptions.

EXAMPLE: A man reports on August 10th that his brother moved in with him and requests that he be added to the SNAP benefit. The brother is otherwise eligible and the Worker takes action on August 12th to add him to the SNAP benefit effective September 1st. The Worker sends a Verification Checklist (CMOB) on August 12th to notify the brother that he is required to register with WorkForce West Virginia by September 12th since he has not registered for SNAP purposes in the last 12 months.

A recipient who fails to register by the due date established on the DFA-6 or verification checklist is subject to a SNAP penalty and the Worker must send an adverse action notice. See Section 13.6. The penalty is not imposed and any lost benefits are restored if, before the end of the month in which the adverse notice expires, the following occurs:

- a. The client registers and
- b. The client notifies DHHR that he has registered. If the Worker independently discovers before the penalty goes into effect that the client has registered before the end of the month in which the adverse notice expires, the penalty may be lifted and benefits restored. There is no requirement on the Department, however, to attempt to independently verify if the client has registered after the date the penalty is entered into the system.

EXAMPLE: Using the example above, if the brother does not register by September 12th, the Worker must send notification that he is subject to a penalty beginning October 1st. If he registers by September 30th and notifies the Worker, the penalty is not imposed. Any lost benefits are restored.

The client may register by visiting a WorkForce West Virginia office, or by registering online. The Worker must explain these requirements to the client and record the registration date in eRAPIDS.

2. WorkForce West Virginia

During the application and redetermination process, eRAPIDS will present a registration date obtained from WorkForce West Virginia. If the client is not registered, no date will be returned.

During the certification period, the Worker may request the registration date through eRAPIDS. The client is only required to register with WorkForce West Virginia every 12 months for SNAP purposes.

When the client is due to re-register, he must show activity to fulfill this requirement. The date of the re-registration is the date of the last action with WorkForce West Virginia or the due date of the re-registration, whichever is later.

B. INFORMATION ABOUT EMPLOYMENT STATUS AND JOB AVAILABILITY

All individuals must provide SNAP E&T and WorkForce West Virginia with sufficient information to allow the determination of their employment status and their availability for a job, unless exempt according to Section 13.2, or they have good cause for not doing so.

Failure to provide information about employment, such as income, which is required to establish eligibility, may result in ineligibility for the AG. However, no additional penalty is imposed.

C. REFUSAL OF EMPLOYMENT OFFER

No non-exempt applicant or recipient may refuse without good cause to accept an offer of employment, unless the employment does not meet the suitability requirements outlined in Section 13.3. This includes offers arranged by SNAP E&T, WorkForce West Virginia or the clients.