78CSR21

TITLE 78
LEGISLATIVE RULE
DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES

SERIES 21
OUT-OF-SCHOOL-TIME CHILD CARE CENTER LICENSING REQUIREMENTS

§78-21-1. General.

1.1. Scope. -- This rule establishes minimum standards and procedures for the licensing of
child care centers operating an out-of-school-time program under the provisions of W. Va. Code Chapter
49, Article 2 (Part 1). and related federal and state codes. The West Virginia Code is available in public
libraries and on the West Virginia State Legislature’s web page at www.legis.state.wv.us.

1.2. Authority. -- W. Va. Code § 49-2-121.

1.3. Filing Date. -- May 28,2016

1.4. Effective Date. --July 11,2016
§78-21-2. Application and Enforcement.

2.1. Application. This rule applies to any child care center operating an out-of-school-time child
care program in West Virginia. The provision of rules applicable to hiring prohibitions in 78CSR21.7.5 et
seq. shall apply retroactively and prospectively as these rules are regulatory in nature and are not meant
to be penal.

2.2. This rule does not apply to child care centers operating programs for children younger than
school age who are not a Pre-k student; such programs are licensed under 78CSR1, Child Care Centers
Licensing.

2.3. Enforcement. Thisrule is enforced by the Secretary of the Department of Health and Human
Resources.

§78-21-3. Definitions.

3.1. Adequate Supervision. -- The observation, oversight, and guidance of the individual child
or groups of children, by the staff member taking responsibility for the ongoing activity of each child or
group of children so that the staff member is close enough to intervene, if necessary, to protect the
child from harm. Adequate supervision requires the staff member’s physical presence, knowledge of the
child’s program of activities, individual needs, habits, interests and special problems, if any, and the
acceptance of accountability for the child’s or group’s care.
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3.2. Approved Source. -- Food preparation from a source approved by the Health Department
through an inspection or permit process, or commercially packaged consumables.

3.3. Approved Training. -- Training that has been approved by the Secretary.

3.4. Authorization and Release for Protective Services Record Check. -- A document provided
by the Department, signed by a program’s prospective staff member or employee, granting permission
to conduct a search of Department records related to his or her involvement in child or adult abuse and
neglect allegations, or other investigations documented by the Secretary.

3.5. Child. -- Forthe purpose of this rule, an individual who is less than 13 years of age.

3.6. Child Abuse and Neglect. -- Physical injury, mental or emotional injury, sexual abuse,
sexual exploitation, the sale or the attempted sale, or negligent treatment or maltreatment of a child by
a parent, guardian or custodian responsible for the child’s welfare, under circumstances which harm or
threaten the health and welfare of the child.

3.7. Child Care Center. -- A facility maintained by the state or any county or municipality
thereof, or any agency or facility operated by an individual, firm, corporation, association or
organization, public or private, for the care of 13 or more children for child care services in any setting, if
the facility is open for more than 30 days per year per child, except those facilities, centers, programs,
and individuals set forth in W. Va. Code Chapter 49, Article 2, (Part ).

3.8. Criminal Identification Bureau (CIB). -- The State Police documentation, as a result of a
fingerprinting process, that identifies a person who has been arrested or convicted of criminal behavior.

3.9. Disinfect. -- Eliminate virtually all germs from an inanimate surface through the use of
chemicals or heat.

3.10. Driver. -- A staff member who transports program children more than 3 times per week
or a staff member whose job function is to transport children served by the child care program.

3.11. GED. -- A certificate verifying passage of a test of General Educational Development
recognized as equivalent to a high school diploma.

3.12. Group. -- A specific number of children, distinct from the larger population of children,
who interact with each other and with 1 or more specific staff members, in an assigned space. The size
of the group and required number of staff are determined by the staff: child ratio set out in this rule.

3.13. License. -- A written certificate issued by the Secretary authorizing a person, corporation,
partnership, voluntary association, municipality, county, or any agency thereof, to operate a child care

program in accordance with the terms and conditions of the license and this rule.

3.14. Licensed Capacity. -- The maximum number of children permitted in a program as
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determined by the Secretary.
3.15. Licensed Health Care Provider. -- For the purpose of this rule, an individual who holds a
license to practice in West Virginia as a physician -- Doctor of Medicine (MD)or Doctor of Osteopathy

(DO), a physician’s assistant (PA), chiropractor or nurse practitioner.

3.16. Licensee. -- The holder of a license or certificate of approval obtained from the Secretary
to operate a child care program in West Virginia.

3.17. Medication Error. --  The following constitutes an error:
3.17.a. Failure to administer a dose of medication;

3.17.b. Administering medication to the incorrect child;
3.17.c. Administering medication in the incorrect dosage;

3.17.d. Administering medication at the incorrect time, other than within 30 minutes before
or after the scheduled time;

3.17.e. Administering medication in the incorrect form;
3.17.f. Administering medication by the incorrect method or route; or
3.17.g. Administering medication that is incorrect itself.

3.18. Out-of-school-time Program. -- A program that offers activities to school children before
and/or after school, on school holidays, when school is closed because of an emergency, and on
school calendar days set aside for teacher activities. Breaks between school sessions that exceed 15
days are not considered a school holiday.

3.19. Parent. -- The biological or adoptive parent or parents of a child, a person or persons, or
the Department, who has legal custody of a child, or the lawful guardian of a child.

3.20. Person-in-Charge. -- The qualified staff member with responsibility for the daily
operation of the program at any specific time.

3.21. Plan of Correction. -- A written agreement between the Department and a program,
approved prior to implementation, that outlines the steps the program shall take to correct deficiencies
identified by the Secretary through an inspection or the investigation of a complaint. Also known as a
Corrective Action Plan (CAP).

3.22. Pre-k. -- WV Pre-k program operated in accordance with Code of State Rules, Title 126,
Series 28, West Virginia’s Universal Access to a Quality Early Education System (2525).

3.23. Public restroom. -- A restroom that is routinely available for use by persons that are not
part of the center’s program. A public restroom can be located either on or off site.

3.24. Qualified Staff. -- A staff member who has a high school diploma or GED and meets the
requirements under this rule for the position of director, site supervisor, group leader, or assistant
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group leader.

3.25. Registered Apprenticeship Certificate for Child Development Specialist (ACDS). - A
nationally recognized credential awarded by the United States Department of Labor for the successful
completion of a combination of classroom and on-the-job training.

3.26. Related Field. -- As approved by the Secretary, an area of study that may be associated
with the child care and education field, including education, social work, recreation and leisure studies,
nursing, counseling, psychology, and administration related to the care and education of the child from
birth through 12 years of age.

3.27. Relevant Work Experience. -- Work that is directly with or on behalf of children from
birth through 12 years of age, and their families in areas of supervision, leadership or management;
program coordination, development or regulation; training, instruction or technical assistance; or
evaluation or research. Private or family child care is considered relevant work experience only if the
care can be verified.

3.28. Responsible Person. -- A parent, program staff member, or other person designated by
the parent in written information, to drop off or pick up the child.

3.29. Secretary. -- The Secretary of the Department of Health and Human Resources or his or
her designee.

3.30. School-age Child. -- A person who is between 5 and 13 years of age and is eligible to
attend school or is enrolled in grades K-12.

3.31. School-age Program. -- Services provided by a child care center for the care and
supervision for school-age children. Such programs include summer recreation camps, day camps and

out-of-school-time programs.

3.32. Serious Occurrence. -- An event that either harms or could potentially harm a child. It
may include:

3.32.a. A child who dies while in care;

3.32.b. A child who is injured while in care to the extent that the child requires medical care
beyond immediate first aid;

3.32.c. A diagnosed reportable communicable disease that is introduced in the program; a
medication error that occurs;

3.32.d. Alegal action involving or affecting the operation of the program;

3.32.e. A serious violation of a licensing requirement, such as use of physical punishment or
failure to supervise; or

3.32.f. Areportis made to Child Protective Services of suspected abuse or neglect of a child at
the program.

3.33. Staff Member. -- Any program personnel, including substitutes and student interns,
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whether or not he or she receives compensation.

3.34. Staff: Child Ratio. -- A relationship which describes the number of children that 1
qualified staff member or substitute is permitted to supervise. The number varies according to the
ages and developmental levels of the children and the types of activities in which they are participating.

3.35. Statement of Criminal Record. -- A Department provided document signed by a person of
his or her arrests or convictions and the authorization for the Department to do a search for a criminal
record and release the findings to the program.

3.36. Studentintern. -- Astudentin a field of study gaining supervised practical experience.

3.37. Substitute. -- An individual who is present at the program to maintain the staff: child
ratio when a qualified staff member is absent.

3.38. Teen Aide. -- An individual who is between 13 and 18 years of age who works with or
without compensation under direct supervision.

3.39. Tuberculosis (TB) Risk Assessment. -- A tool used to identify people at increased risk for
acquiring latent TB infection or for progression to active disease once infected. Any “YES” response of
the TB Risk Assessment Tool is considered a positive risk factor and is an indication for administering a
tuberculin skin test.

3.40. Variance. -- A written declaration by the Secretary that a certain requirement of this rule
may be satisfied in a manner different from that set forth in the rule.

3.41. Volunteer. -- An individual who provides a direct service to the program for 2 or more
hours a week on a scheduled basis, without compensation, and is 18 years of age or older; provided,
that a parent of an enrolled child working directly with his or her own child will not be considered a

volunteer under this rule.

3.42. Waiver. -- A written declaration by the Secretary that a certain requirement may be
treated as inapplicable in a particular circumstance.

§78-21-4. Licensing Information and Provisions.
4.1. Requirements for a License or Certificate of Approval.
4.1.a. Before establishing or operating a child care center:
4.1.a.1. The program director, the signatories on the application and at least one
additional member of the governing body shall verify in writing that he or she has read this rule and is

responsible for compliance with its requirements;

4.1.a.2. If operating an out-of-school-time program, other than one operated by the state,
shall obtain a license from the Secretary;

4.1.a.3. Operated by the state shall obtain a certificate of approval from the Secretary.
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4.1.b. A license is valid for up to 2 years from the date of issuance, as determined by the
Secretary, unless revoked or modified to provisional status.

4.1.c. A license is valid only for the program and its location named in the application and is
not transferable.

4.1.d. A licensee shall post the license or certificate of approval in a conspicuous place in the
program so that the public may view it.

4.1.e. If the ownership of a program changes, the new owner shall apply for a license and shall
not operate until an initial license is issued.

4.1.f. Before the location of a program changes, the licensee shall:

4.1.f1. Inform the Secretary of the planned change at least 60 days prior to the relocation;
and

4.1.f.2. Apply for a new license and shall not operate at the new location until an initial
license is issued.

4.1.g. A center receiving a license under this rule may include a child younger than school age
in the program only if the child is a West Virginia Pre-k student and the center’s statement of purpose
addresses services to the Pre-k child.

4.2. Application for a License or Certificate of Approval.
4.2.a. For each facility to be licensed or approved, an applicant shall submit a completed

application as prescribed by the Secretary.

4.2.b. A licensee shall submit an application for renewal of a license or certificate of approval
to the Secretary not less than 60 days prior to the expiration of the current license.

4.3. Waivers and Variances.
4.3.a. A program shall comply with the provisions of W. Va. Code Chapter 49, Article 2 (Part 1),
the requirements of this rule, terms of its license or certificate of approval and any plan of correction,
unless a written waiver or variance has been granted by the Secretary. A program may not obtain a

waiver of the requirements of this rule on the basis of the inability to achieve compliance with the rule.

4.3.b. A request for a variance or waiver shall be submitted to the Secretary in writing. The
request shall include:

4.3.b.1. The specific requirement of this rule requested to be waived or varied; and
4.3.b.2. The reason or reasons for seeking a waiver or variance.

4.3.c. A waiver or variance of a specific provision of this rule may be granted by the Secretary
only if the following criteria are met:

4.3.c.1. The program has documented and demonstrated that the provision of the rule is
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inapplicable in a particular circumstance, or that the program complies with the intent of the provision
in the rule in a manner not permitted by the rule;

4.3.c.2. The health, safety, and well-being of a child is not endangered; and

4.3.c.3. The waiver or variance agreement contains provisions for a regular review of the
waiver or variance.

4.3.d. The waiver or variance agreement is subject to immediate cancellation if a program fails
to comply with the stated terms of this rule.

4.4. Amendment of a License or Certificate of Approval.

4.4.a. A current licensee shall apply for an amendment of a license or certificate of approval
when:

4.4.a.1. Implementing an additional program or changing a program described in the
statement of purpose; or

4.4.a.2. Seeking to change the licensed capacity of the program.

4.4.b. In addition to an application requesting an amendment, a licensee shall submit to the
Secretary in writing any of the following that apply to the change:

4.4.b.1. A copy of the program’s revised statement of purpose as described in Subsection
6.2 of this rule;

4.4.b.2. The qualifications of the director and staff members as they relate to the
amendment;

4.4.b.3. A copy of the program’s revised plan for meeting program requirements and staff:
child ratios;

4.4.b.4. A floor plan reflecting changes to the structure being used by a school age
program;

4.4.b.5. A positive inspection report from the State Fire Marshal following any changes to
the program’s facility;

4.4.b.6. A positive inspection from the county Health Department, including a current
Department of Health Permit to operate a Child Care Center or a general sanitation permit, whichever
applies;

4.4.b.7. The Department of Health Inspection Report for Food Service Establishments;

4.4.b.8. A Pest Management Report as required by the West Virginia Department of
Agriculture.

4.5. The Secretary may issue the following types of licenses:
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4.5.a. Aninitial 6 month license for applicants establishing a new service;

4.5.b. A regular or renewal license for a period of up to 2 years for a licensee in compliance
with this rule;

4.5.c. A provisional license for a licensee not in full compliance with this rule, but does not
pose a significant risk to children. A provisional license expires 6 months from the date of issuance, and
may not be consecutively reissued.

4.6. Conditions of a License. As a condition of issuing a license the Secretary may:

4.6.a. Limit the age, problems, type of behaviors, physical or mental conditions of children
allowed admission to a particular program;

4.6.b. Prohibit intake of any children; or
4.6.c. Reduce the number of children that the program is licensed to receive.
4.7. Denial or Revocation of a License.
4.7.a. The Secretary may deny, refuse to renew, or revoke a license if the program materially
violates any provisions of W. Va. Code § 49-2-117 violates any terms or conditions of the license, or

fails to maintain established requirements of child care.

4.7.b. When the Secretary denies, refuses to renew, or revokes a license, the licensee shall not
operate the program without a court order pending administrative or judicial review.

4.8. Closing of Program by the Secretary.

4.8.a. If the Secretary finds that the operation of a school age program constitutes an
immediate danger of serious harm to the children served by the program, the Secretary shall issue an
order of closure terminating the operation of the program.

4.8.b. A program ordered closed by the Secretary shall not operate pending administrative or
judicial review without a court order.

4.9. Administrative and Judicial Review.

4.9.a. Administrative and judicial review are subject to the provisions of W. Va. Code § 29A-5-1
et seq.

4.9.b. A decision issued by the Secretary may be made effective from the date of issuance.
Immediate relief may be obtained upon a showing of good cause made by a verified petition to the
circuit court of Kanawha County or the circuit court of any county where the affected program is
located.

4.9.c. The pendency of administrative or judicial review shall not prevent the Secretary from
obtaining injunctive relief pursuant to the W. Va. Code § 49-2-120 .
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§78-21-5. Inspection and Investigation.

5.1. An applicant or licensee shall permit the Secretary access to the program to conduct
announced and unannounced inspections of all aspects of the program’s operation and premises.

5.2. Alicensee shall provide all information requested by the Secretary.

5.3. When an inspection or complaint investigation finds non-compliance with this rule, the
Secretary may require a plan of correction.

5.4. The Secretary may request the licensee to submit the results of a health examination,
psychological examination or drug and alcohol screening result on the licensee or any personnel of the
program if good cause is found during an inspection or investigation.

§78-21-6. Governance.
6.1. Administrative Structure.

6.1.a. General. The Licensee is legally accountable for the operation of the program and
shall ensure the program’s compliance with the provisions of W. Va. Code Chapter 49, Article 2 (Part 1)
and the requirements of this rule.

6.1.b. A program shall have a governing body to ensure that the responsibilities of the licensee
are carried out.

6.1.b.1. The governing body shall be comprised of at least one parent of a child currently
served by the program, or when no parent is available for the governing body, a parent advisory
committee shall be established as described in this section;

6.1.b.2. No staff member, staff family member, or employee of a public agency that
regulates or makes eligibility decisions for the program may serve, but the director may be an ex-officio
non-voting member;

6.1.b.3. The governing body shall meet at least 2 times in a twelve month period and
preserve in writing the minutes of each meeting, including but not limited to, the meeting’s date and
time, members in attendance, issues considered, and decisions made.

6.1.b.4. The governing body shall appoint a program director to manage the daily
operations of the program; submit the director’s qualifications in writing for approval by the Secretary
prior to employment; conduct an annual evaluation of the program director; and oversee any necessary
action regarding the program director’s job performance.

6.1.c. An unincorporated, individual licensee (owner) may act as the governing body. In
addition to the requirements listed in paragraph 6.1.b.4. of this subsection, the owner shall appoint a
parent advisory committee comprised of parents of children currently served by the program that meets
with the program director at least 2 times in a twelve month period.

6.2. Statement of Purpose.
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6.2.a. An applicant or licensee shall ensure that each program has a written statement of
purpose that guides the program delivered to children and guides staff development. The statement
of purpose will include, but not be limited to:

6.2.a.1. The type of care and programs offered,;

6.2.a.2. The goals and objectives for each of the offered programs;
6.2.a.3. The ages of the children served,;

6.2.a.4. The role of parents in the program;

6.2.a.5. The scheduled days and hours of operations; and

6.2.a.6. An organizational chart.

6.2.b. An applicant or licensee shall ensure that the statement of purpose is:
6.2.b.1. Auvailable to staff members and consumers of the program;
6.2.b.2. Reviewed with all staff members whenever changes are made; and
6.2.b.3. Filed with the licensing authority when changes are made.

6.3. Administrative Manual.

6.3.a. An applicant or licensee shall ensure that each program has an administrative manual
that includes the program’s policies and procedures with the dates they were implemented or revised,
regarding:

6.3.a.1. Confidentiality and information disclosure;
6.3.a.2. Admission and discharge of children;
6.3.a.3. Behavior management;

6.3.a.4. Reporting of abuse;

6.3.a.5. Health, including, at a minimum, any parental objection to treatment, exclusion
and re-admittance of the child with a communicable illness, and medication administration;

6.3.a.6. Attendance;
6.3.a.7. Emergencies;
6.3.a.8. Transportation;

6.3.a.9. Grievance procedures; and

10
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6.3.a.10. Personnel:
6.3.a.10.A. Employment and hiring qualifications;
6.3.a.10.B. Termination;

6.3.a.10.C. Use of uncompensated personnel (student interns, student aids,
volunteers, etc);

6.3.a.10.D. Background checks including criminal convictions, abuse and neglect
findings and, if applicable, a waiver request process;

6.3.a.10.E. Compensation;

6.3.a.10.F. Circumstances, if any, under which the program reserves the right to
require drug and alcohol screening for drivers, other staff and volunteers; and

6.3.a.10.G. Periodic performance evaluations;
6.3.b. An applicant or licensee shall ensure that the administrative manual is:
6.3.b.1. Available to staff members; and
6.3.b.2. Reviewed with all staff members when changes are made.

6.4. Standards of Ethical Conduct. A program shall not misrepresent or operate a program in any
way that is misleading, deceptive or illegal.

6.5. Grievance Procedure. A program shall develop and implement a written grievance
procedure for families and employees. The procedure shall be written in clear and simple language and
provided to families and staff.

6.6. Records and Information Disclosure.

6.6.a. Records. A program shall maintain the confidentiality of all child and staff records and
shall have a procedure for secure storage, maintenance and disposition of records.

6.6.a.1. A program shall retain a child’s record for a minimum of 3 years following the
child’s discharge. The record shall include, but not be limited to, admission or beginning service date,
contact information for the parent of the child, contact information of the responsible person if
designated by the parent, emergency information, agreements or acknowledgements signed by the
parent pertaining to the child’s participation and special instructions related to the child’s health and
development.

6.6.a.2. A program shall keep all current staff records on file according to the following:
6.6.a.2.A. A program that operates at more than one site shall keep current staff

members’ emergency information on file at each location where a staff member is employed and at a
central location; and
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6.6.a.2.B. A program that operates at more than one site may keep all staff records at
a central location as long as the central location is in West Virginia.
6.6.b. Information Disclosure.

6.6.b.1. A program shall keep all information about the child confidential and shall only
disclose it to staff members caring for the child in accordance with the program’s policies and
procedures.

6.6.b.2. A program shall obtain the written consent of the child’s parent before disclosing
information about the child, including photographs, audio or video recordings, or verbal statements
about the child, except when disclosing information to the Secretary or his or her designee.

§78-21-7. Staffing.

7.1. This section applies to all program personnel including the private owners, volunteers, and
parents who are used in a program capacity regardless of compensation.

7.2. This section does not apply to:
7.2.a. An adult not associated with the program who is in the facility for brief periods in the
normal course of carrying out business or professional activities and is not left alone with nor aids in the

supervision of children;

7.2.b. A parent of an enrolled child who is at the program only for the purpose of performing
parental responsibilities in relation to his or her own child; or

7.2.c. A professional not associated with the program that performs a child specific service at
the request of the child’s parent or guardian, such as a speech or occupational therapist.

7.3. Staffing Procedures.

7.3.a. A program shall provide each new staff member with a written notification that includes
his or her position title, qualifications, duties and responsibilities at the time of hiring.

7.3.b. A program shall conduct performance evaluations:
7.3.b.1. Annually on all staff employed; and

7.3.b.2. On all newly employed staff members at 3 months, 6 months, and 12 months in
the first year of employment.

7.3.b.3. A program shall provide each staff member with a written copy of his or her most
recent evaluation, signed by the program director and the evaluated staff member, and a continuing

education plan based on the evaluation.

7.3.c. A program shall maintain a file for each staff member that includes:

12
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7.3.c.1. Acurrent job description;

7.3.c.2. Written references, including 3 professional references for the program director
and 2 references for other staff members one of which must be from a person familiar with the staff
person’s work;

7.3.c.3. Records of employment, including a duplicate copy of all performance evaluations;

7.3.c.4. Documents related to background checks;
7.3.c.5. Documents related to orientation; and

7.3.c.6. Documents related to continuing education and professional development while
employed at the center.

7.4. Staff Character and Background.

7.4.a. No person shall be on the premises or have contact with the children in care whose
health or behavior would harm the children, or who is under the influence of a controlled substance,
including alcohol or a legal pharmaceutical, that impairs his or her functioning.

7.4.b. Other than the exceptions cited in Subdivision 7.4.d. of this subsection, a program shall
ensure that a criminal background investigation is performed on each staff member and volunteer
through the West Virginia Department of Military Affairs and Public Safety, Criminal ldentification
Bureau (CIB) and an authorized agency in a previous state of residence, if applicable, and shall keep the
following information on file:

7.4.b.1. A completed, signed and witnessed Statement of Criminal Record. A copy of the
statement shall be on file no later than the date of hire;

7.4.b.2. ACIB records check, except as described in this section; and
7.4.b.3. A report of a Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) records check, for any staff
member who has lived outside West Virginia within the past 5 years, or has established residence
outside West Virginia for more than 1 year since turning 18 years of age;
7.4.c. A program shall ensure that each staff member and volunteer has a completed, signed,
and dated Authorization and Release for Protective Services Record Check. The release shall be on file
and submitted to the Department no later than the date of hire.

7.4.d. A program does not require a criminal records check on the following:

7.4.d.1. A new staff member who has on file at the program documentation of the
required criminal history investigation(s) within the previous 12 months;

7.4.d.2. A parent who transports children on an irregular basis for field trips without pay
or compensation;

7.4.d.3. A professional not associated with the center, but contracted to provide services
for brief periods to the children under the supervision of program staff.
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7.4.e. No person shall work alone with a child or children prior to the center receiving the
required CIB, FBI and Protective Services reports.

7.4.f. The Secretary may require a CIB or FBI check for good cause.

7.4.g. A program shall require an individual over 13 and under 18 years of age, acting in the
capacity of a teen aid or student intern, to have on file a signed affidavit from the individual’s parent
stating that his or her child has never been arrested or convicted of an offense against a person. The

affidavit shall be on file prior to the individual having direct contact with the children on a regular basis.

7.4.h. A program shall update the following reports in each staff member’s file:
7.4.h.1. The Statement of Criminal Record every 2 years; and

7.4.h.2. The completed CIB and, if required, FBI report at least every 5 years.
7.5. Hiring Prohibitions.
7.5.a. A program shall not employ or use an individual who is currently under indictment or
charged with any crime, is currently on parole or probation for a felony conviction, or has been

convicted or entered a plea of guilty or no contest to any of the following:

7.5.a.1. A violent felony crime including, but not limited to, abduction, rape, sexual
assault, homicide, hate crimes, kidnapping;

7.5.a.2. Child or adult abuse or neglect, or the exploitation of a child or an incapacitated
adult;

7.5.a.3. Domestic violence or spousal abuse;
7.5.a.4. Arson;
7.5.a.5. Afelony or misdemeanor crime against a child or incapacitated adult;

7.5.a.6. Felony conviction for Driving Under the Influence (DUI) or drug-related offenses
within the last 10 years;

7.5.a.7. Neglect or abuse by a care giver; or

7.5.a.8. Pornography and sexual offense crimes involving children or incapacitated adults,
including purchase or sale of a child, incest, sexual abuse, or indecent exposure.

7.5.b. A program shall not employ or use any individual who is determined by the Department
to have abused or neglected a child or incapacitated adult.

7.5.c. A program shall not employ or use an individual who has entered a plea of guilty or no

contest, or has been convicted of a felony, or two or more misdemeanor crimes that are not listed in
Subdivision 7.5.a. unless the Secretary grants a waiver.
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7.5.d. A program shall not use an individual who failed to disclose a conviction on a Statement
of Criminal Record or failed to disclose a finding of abuse or neglect on an Authorization and Release for
Protective Services Record Check unless the Secretary grants a waiver.

7.5.e. A program shall have protocols requiring:

7.5.e.l. A staff member or volunteer to report his or her criminal arrest, charge,
indictment, or conviction for a criminal offense to the program director within 24 hours;

7.5.e.2. A staff member to report to the program director that he or she is subject of an
abuse or neglect investigation;

7.5.e.3. The program to notify the Secretary of the staff member’s report within 24 hours;
and

7.5.e.4. That the program prohibit a staff member or volunteer who is accused of having
sexually abused or otherwise injured a child or incapacitated adult from caring for or having contact
with children pending the outcome of an investigation.

7.5.f. If a program chooses to advocate for a waiver for an employee, then it shall have
policies and procedures regarding waivers that do not conflict with Department policies. The staff
person shall not have contact with the children until the Secretary reaches a decision on the waiver
unless the licensee and the Department agree to a written safety plan that permits the staff member to
continue in a staff position until the Secretary reaches a decision.

7.6. Staff Health. A program shall secure from the employee a recent health assessment
performed not more than 90 days prior to the date hired for the employee and signed by a licensed
health care provider. The health assessment shall be on file no later than 30 days from the first date of
employment. A health assessment for a volunteer shall be on file if the volunteer is scheduled to work at
least 40 hours per month in the program. Those employed at the time this rule takes effect shall have
12 months to meet this requirement. The health assessment shall include:

7.6.a. Any significant health history which the program needs to know in order to protect the
health of the employee or the health and safety of children in care;

7.6.b. Vision and hearing screening;

7.6.c. A statement that the staff member has no known condition or disease which would
interfere with the proper care of children; and

7.6.d. A tuberculosis risk assessment that is repeated annually or a tuberculosis screening by
the Mantoux method, if a screening is indicated by the tuberculosis risk assessment.

7.6.e. Staff health records as described in this section shall be updated every 2 years.
7.7. Staff Responsibilities and Training Requirements.
7.7.a. All staff must have sufficient education, training and experience to provide the skills

necessary for carrying out the essential functions of his or her job with or without reasonable
accommodation;
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7.7.b. Prior to or during the first week of employment and prior to having sole responsibility
for a group of children, a program shall provide orientation to the staff member that includes a review
of:

7.7.b.1. The program’s statement of purpose;
7.7.b.2. Regulatory requirements;

7.7.b.3. The center’s administrative manual;
7.7.b.4. Staff duties;

7.7.b.5. Professional development plans;
7.7.b.6. Reporting child abuse and neglect;
7.7.b.7. Emergency and evacuation procedures;

7.7.b.8. Procedures for basic sanitation and infection control;

7.7.b.9. Procedures for maintaining an environment without hazards to children;
7.7.b.10. Procedures for promoting safety, both indoors and outdoors;

7.7.b.11. The daily schedule of the program and the specific schedule for the group of
children to which the staff person is assigned, including the planned program of activities, routines and
transitions; and

7.7.b.12. Communication at a program, including procedures to inform staff of any special
dietary or other needs of the children for whom they will be responsible.

7.7.c. A program shall document that orientation training was provided by having the staff
member and program director sign a statement acknowledging receiving orientation training and shall
keep the statement in the staff member’s file.

7.7.d. A program shall ensure that all staff members have approved training in:
7.7.d.1. Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation (CPR) and first aid within 6 months of employment
or use provided a staff member who has received the training is present with children on or off site
during the center’s operation. The CPR certification and first aid shall be appropriate to the age of the

children in care;

7.7.d.2. Abuse Recognition and Prevention. Within 6 months of employment or use,
staff members shall have training in child abuse recognition and prevention;

7.7.e. A program shall ensure that prior to any staff member administering medication; the
staff member has received approved training in medication administration.

7.8. Professional Development
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7.8.a. Programs shall have a professional development plan for each staff member employed
more than 120 calendar days that includes a minimum of 12 clock hours of professional development
annually for Directors and Site Supervisors and 8 clock hours of professional development annually for
other staff positions. The professional development needs to be related to school age children and/or
providing quality programs to school age children. Except in the first year of employment, the clock
hours do not include the training required in 7.7.d. et seq.

7.8.b. All staff shall renew child abuse and neglect recognition every three years and keep first
aid and CPR certification current.

7.9. Staff Positions and Qualifications.
7.9.a. Director of an out-of-school-time program shall:
7.9.a.1. Be atleast 21 years of age;

7.9.a.2. Have at least one year of leadership experience in a school age program or similar
program;

7.9.a.3. Beresponsible for the daily operation of the program and oversight of staff;

7.9.a.4. Have a written work plan for the routine on-site presence for each site under his
or her responsibility and shall post the on-site schedule where it is accessible to staff and parents; and

7.9.a.5. Be responsible for appointing a person in charge to take responsibility for the
operation of the program in his or her absence and be responsible for ensuring that there is a site
supervisor for each site when the program operates multiple sites;
7.9.b. Site Supervisor of an out-of-school-time program shall:
7.9.b.1. Be at least 21 years of age;
7.9.b.2. Have 18 months of supervised relevant work experience;
7.9.b.3. Be responsible for the day-to-day operation of a single site;

7.9.b.4. Report to the program director; and

7.9.b.5. Not act in the capacity of a group leader when more than 60 children are present
in the program.

7.9.c. Group Leader shall:
7.9.c.1. Be at least 18 years of age;
7.9.c.2. Have 1 year of supervised relevant work experience;

7.9.c.3. Be able to supervise and implement program activities for a group of children with
or without assistance;
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7.9.c.4. Have primary responsibility for the direct care of children.
7.9.d. Assistant Group Leader shall:
7.9.d.1. Be at least 18 years of age;

7.9.d.2. Have met the requirements for a High School diploma or GED and will receive the
same within 6 months;

7.9.d.3. Work under the supervision of at least a Group Leader and shall assist in
implementing program activities for a group of children.

7.9.e. Student Intern shall:
7.9.e.1. Perform duties under the direct supervision of a Group Leader, Site Supervisor or
Director and in accordance with a training plan developed jointly by the educational or training

institution and the center;

7.9.e.2. Receive periodic supervision from the educational or training program sponsoring
the intern;

7.9.e.3. If under the age of 18 years, not be responsible for a group of children or be left
alone with a child or group of children.

7.9.f. Teen aid shall:
7.9.f.1. Be between the ages of 13 and 18 years;
7.9.f.2. Be directly supervised by at least a Group Leader;
7.9.f.3. Aid staff only in the delivery of program activity; and

7.9.f.4. Not be responsible for a group of children or be left alone with a child or group of
children.

7.9.g. Driver. A driver shall:
7.9.2.1. Be at least 21 years of age;

7.9.g.2. Have a valid driver’s license that authorizes the driver to operate the vehicle being
driven;

7.9.2.3. Upon hire, have evidence of a safe driving record for the five year period prior to
hiring and have no record of DUI related convictions for a five year period;

7.9.2.4. Not be impaired to drive at the time of transporting children including, but not
limited to, impairment caused by medications;
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7.9.8.5. Maintain a safe driving record while employed.

7.9.h. Persons holding the positions equivalent to the Director, Site Supervisor, and Group
Leader shall have two years from the effective date of this rule to meet the qualifications of their
positions except for the age qualification for the Director and Group Leader.

§78-21-8. Environment.

8.1. Licensed Capacity. A center shall ensure that at all times the maximum number of children
participating in activities on or off the premises does not exceed the licensed capacity. Personnel and
group size may be factored into the maximum capacity for certain age groups.

8.2. Space.

8.2.a. A center shall provide a minimum of 35 square feet per child of usable indoor space that
is approved by the Secretary for daily program activities. A center shall make the rooms and areas of the
center that are not approved for a child’s use inaccessible to the children.

8.2.b. Indoor space for daily program activities does not include any space that is not available
for a child’s activities including space occupied by columns, vestibules, corridors and areas to be clear for
a means of egress; fire escapes; areas used exclusively for eating; bathrooms; staff lounges; adult work
areas including offices, laundry and furnace rooms; kitchens; permanently equipped isolation areas; and
storage spaces.

8.2.c. For out-of-school-time programs that operate more than four continuous hours on a
daily basis, the center shall provide an outdoor activity area that includes a minimum of 75 square feet
of space per child, or if the outdoor activity area has less than that, a center shall establish an outdoor
activity schedule for rotating groups of children to meet the minimum space requirement and to ensure
that each child has an opportunity to have outdoor activity each day.

8.3. Environmental Safety. A center shall:

8.3.a. Take all necessary precautions to provide an accident-free and smoke-free environment
for the children, staff members and visitors to the center;

8.3.b. Prohibit smoking and tobacco product use by anyone on the premises and everywhere
in the presence of children;

8.3.c. Prohibit smoking anytime in vehicles operated by the center, even in the absence of
children;

8.3.d. Require all tobacco products, lighters and matches be kept out of the children’s reach
and sight;

8.3.e. Ensure that the premises, furnishings, equipment and supplies are in good repair and
present no hazard to the health and safety of the children;

8.3.f. Ensure all equipment and materials are regularly inspected by staff for potential hazards;

8.3.g. Ensure equipment is regularly cleaned, disinfected as needed, and discarded when no
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longer useable;

8.3.h. Ensure equipment and materials are installed, maintained and used in accordance with
manufacturer’s instructions.

8.3.i. Store products containing potentially hazardous chemicals, including identified poisons,
certain cleaning supplies, and art supplies not clearly labeled as “nontoxic,” away from activity space
and food, and when possible, stored in their original containers and never in containers originally
designed for food. If Pre-k children are present in the program, these products must be stored in a
manner to be inaccessible to children;

8.3.j. Have on file a material safety data sheet for each product containing potentially
hazardous chemicals;

8.3.k. Ensure outdoor play areas meet current Consumer Product Safety Commission
guidelines for safe public playgrounds. Facilities shall have 4 years from the effective date of this rule

to comply with this standard and shall file a plan with the Secretary by January 1, 2011 of how this
requirement will be met; and

8.3.1. Ensure an unenclosed outdoor activity area is away from traffic areas and other hazards;
and

8.3.m. Enclose an outdoor play area used by children younger than school age with a natural
barrier or secure fence that is at least 4 feet high and has no openings greater than 3 % inches.

§78-21-9. Supervision of Children.
9.1. Acenter shall ensure that:

9.1.a. Staff provide adequate supervision to children at all times;

9.1.b. Staff can account for children at all times through a means to track children as they
participate in the program, take independent restroom breaks, as activities change, as transportation
occurs and takes action when a child is missing on or off the premises;

9.1.c. Public restrooms are in staff’s line of vision if used by children participating in the
program; provided, that staff shall accompany children under 9 years of age to public restrooms that are
adjoined to or located within locker rooms, shower rooms or other similar type facilities;

9.1.d. At notime s a Pre-k child without adult supervision including restroom breaks;

9.1.e. When children are on the premises, at least one staff member and one other facility
staff member are present;

9.1.f. In determining and maintaining the staff: child ratio, the center shall not include any
staff member who is performing other duties such as maintenance or accounting, except in an

emergency situation when staff may be reassigned to supervise the children;

9.1.g. A student intern that is at least 16 years old and not yet 18 years old may count in the
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staff: child ratio provided the intern is in a field of study related to child care as approved by the
Secretary, works under the direct supervision of at least a group leader and acts only in an aide capacity

not having final decision making authority.

9.2. Acenter shall group children and consider their ages when determining the staff: child ratio as
follows:

9.2.a. For programs that operate with Pre-k children, the program shall ensure that:
9.2.a.1. A 1:12 staff to child ratio is maintained; and

9.2.a.2. Group sizes are limited to 24 for any group that mixes older children with a Pre-k
child.

9.2.b. For programs that operate with school age children only, the program shall ensure that:
9.2.b.1. A 1:16 staff to child ratio is maintained;

9.2.b.2. The group size is determined by the activity and is limited to facilitate staff/child
interaction and safe, constructive participation by children; and

9.2.c. During water activity such as swimming, canoeing, and fishing the staff: child ratio is
maintained at 1:8 for groups of school age children and is maintained at 1:4 for any group with a Pre-k

child.

9.3. Groups of children must be distinct with staff persons knowing to which group they are
assigned.

9.4. Staff: child ratio and group size are always maintained based on the age of the youngest child
in the group.

9.5. During transportation, the center shall:
9.5.a. Maintain the staff: child ratio;

9.5.b. Have a staff member or volunteer accompany the driver when more than six children
are being transported and at least one of those children is kindergarten or younger;

9.5.c. Ensure that no child is left unattended on a vehicle;

9.5.d. Have a staff or designated responsible person present outside the vehicle to supervise
when children are loading or unloading from a vehicle; and

9.5.e. Immediately upon unloading the last child from a vehicle, or before parking the vehicle,
the driver or the designated staff member shall physically search the vehicle to ensure that all children

have been unloaded.

§78-21-10. Program. The center shall have a program of activities that:
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10.1. Meets the goals of the center as established by the statement of purpose;

10.2. Is based on knowledge of child development for the school-age child and, if applicable,
pre-school age child;

10.3. Encourages parent input and review;

10.4. Provides supervised activities designed especially for the age and skill level of participating
children, to include:

10.4.a. Opportunities for child input and choice of activities;
10.4.b. Opportunities to develop physical fitness;

10.4.c. Opportunities for concentration, alone or in a group;
10.4.d. Opportunities to read or do homework;

10.4.e. Opportunities to be creative, to explore the arts, sciences, and social studies, and to
solve problems;

10.4.f. Opportunities for community service experience; and
10.4.g. Opportunities for adult supervised skill building and self-development groups.
§78-21-11. Guidance and Discipline.
11.1. Positive Guidance.

11.1.a. The program staff shall use guidance that helps the children understand age
appropriate behavior.

11.1.b. An out-of-school-time child care program shall have rules that are fair, consistent, and
relevant to the children’s ages.

11.1.c. An out-of-school-time child care program may use a time-out that lasts no more than 1
minute for each year of a child’s age and only for the purpose of helping a child regain control. Time-out

must be under adequate supervision.

11.2. Negative Discipline. Program staff shall not use any of the following harmful forms of
discipline:

11.2.a. Punishing a child physically including spanking, hitting, kicking, biting, shaking,
popping, swatting, thumping, pinching, shoving, spitting, forced exercise or other cruel treatment;

11.2.b. Punishing or threatening a child in association with food, sleep, rest, or personal
hygiene;

11.2.c. Putting anything in or on a child’s mouth as punishment;
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11.2.d. Confining a child in a closet or locked room or using physical restraints for
confinement;
11.2.e. Using loud, profane, or abusive language or threats of physical punishment;

11.2.f. Punishing a child psychologically including public or private humiliation, shaming, and
negative remarks about the child or child’s family;

11.2.g. Punishing a child emotionally; and
11.2.h. Allowing a child to punish another child or children in care.

11.3. Program staff shall not seek or accept parental permission to use any punishments or acts
prohibited in this rule.

§78-21-12. Nutrition.
12.1. A center shall provide children with meals and snacks that are consistent with the United
States Department of Agriculture’s current Dietary Guidelines for Americans and in accordance with the

Child and Adult Care Food Program meal patterns (see Appendix A and B of this rule).

12.2. A center shall ensure that no more than 4 hours elapse between meals and snacks. A
center shall provide meals and snacks according to the following requirements:

12.2.a. A center that is open from morning through afternoon shall serve a morning snack or
breakfast, lunch and an afternoon snack;

12.2.b. A center that provides care before 7 o’clock in the morning shall ensure a child has
breakfast available; and

12.2.c. A center that provides care to the child whose planned attendance extends beyond 7
o’clock in the evening shall serve supper;

12.2.d. An out-of-school-time program shall serve a snack or meal to the school-age child
within 1 hour of arriving after a normal school day;

12.3. A center may choose to allow a child to bring meals and snacks to the center provided:
12.3.a. The center has written policies that address:
12.3.a.1. Providing parents and staff with the nutritional guidelines in this rule;

12.3.a.2. Providing to parents and staff guidelines on the proper preparation and storage
of food;

12.3.a.3. Providing to parents and staff a list of foods the center will not permit, including
known food allergens to other children;

12.3.a.4. An explanation to parents of how the center will address the issue if a child does
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not bring meals or snacks, or if the meals or snacks the child does bring are not within the nutritional
guidelines provided by the center;

12.3.a.5. That the food prepared from an unapproved source is for consumption by the
child and not to be shared with other children or the group.

12.3.b. The center has safe storage and refrigeration of the food as needed. Storage must be
approved by the Health Department;

12.3.c. Each child’s meal or snack is clearly labeled with the child’s first and last names and the
date it was brought to the center;

12.3.d. No additional food preparation is required by the center;

12.3.e. The center provides a meal or snack when the parent fails to provide a meal or snack
from home;

12.3.f. The center includes children with food allergies in the group during meal or snack time;
and

12.3.g. The center has milk available at meal times in accordance with meal patterns described
in Appendix B of this rule.

§78-21-13. Required Reporting to the Department.
A center shall:

13.1. Immediately report suspected child abuse or neglect to the Department in accordance with
W. Va. Code§ 49-2-801 et seq.

13.2. Report within 24 hours to the Secretary any serious occurrence and shall immediately inform
the parent or parent’s authorized designee when a child is involved in a serious occurrence. For each

serious occurrence, the center shall;

13.2.a. Ensure that the staff member in charge prepares and signs a serious occurrence report;
and

13.2.b. Place the report in the child’s file and in a separate cumulative file maintained by the
center.

13.3. Report within 72 hours any major damage to the facility caused by fire, flood, storms or
other events.

13.4. Reportimmediately a change in the center’s phone number.
§78-21-14. Emergency Procedures.

14.1. Emergency File. A center shall develop and maintain an emergency file with information
for each enrolled child that is accessible to all staff members, including at off-site activities.
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14.2. While children are off the premises, at least one direct care staff has completed a course in
child first aid and has current certification in CPR appropriate to the age of the children in care.

14.3. Emergency Policies, Procedures and Plan. A center shall develop, implement and maintain
policies and procedures for responding to an emergency, including a plan:

14.3.a. For medical and non medical emergencies and for situations that could pose a hazard
to staff and children, including, a fire, storm, flood, chemical spill, power failure, bomb threat, persons

coming onto the premises whose health or behavior may be harmful or kidnapping;

14.3.b. For evacuation from the center in the event of an emergency that could cause damage
to the center or pose a hazard to the staff and children;

14.3.c. For evacuation from a vehicle used to transport children;
14.3.d. That considers the age and physical and mental abilities of the enrolled children; types
of emergencies that are likely to affect the area; the requirements of the State Fire Marshal; and advice

from the Red Cross or other health and emergency professionals;

14.3.e. For documenting the review of its emergency plans with new staff during orientation
and with all staff at least annually.

14.4. Evacuation and Drill Plan.

14.4.a. A center shall have a plan for evacuating the center or for sheltering in place during an
emergency posted in each room of the center that identifies:

14.4.a.1. Staff members responsible for implementing the plan;
14.4.a.2. Procedures to be followed;

14.4.a.3. The location of the children’s attendance records and emergency information;
and

14.4.a.4. A diagram of safe routes by which children and staff members may exit each area
of the center.

14.4.b. A center shall conduct and document an evacuation drill at least 1 time each month
during its regular hours of operation, keeping a written record of the dates and times when evacuation
drills are conducted;

14.4.c. A center shall conduct and document a shelter in place drill 1 time during the school
calendar year.

14.5. First Aid Kit. A center shall provide a first aid kit for every 20 children that is stored where

it is easily accessible to staff members. The location of the first aid kit shall be clearly marked and in view
of the staff member. The kit shall be:
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14.5.a. Equipped with band aids, a non mercury thermometer, gauze, tape scissors, tweezers,
disposable nonporous gloves, a first aid guide, the telephone number of a poison control center, and
pencil and paper. A bottle of clean water shall be stored with or accompany the first aid kit; and

14.5.b. Readily available at all times, including in the outdoor activity area, on all trips away
from the center and in each vehicle provided by the center for the transportation of children.

14.6. Telephone. A center shall provide at least 1 operable, direct-line telephone that is in the
facility, is not a pay station or locked telephone, and is available during the center’s hours of operation.

§78-21-15. Pest Management.

15.1. A center shall document that the facility has an integrated pest management program as
required by the WV Department of Agriculture.

15.2. A center shall provide for insect and rodent control that does not compromise the safety of
children.

§78-21-16. Transportation.
When providing transportation, a center shall ensure that:

16.1. The vehicle used is currently licensed, inspected, insured, and is equipped with signs and
warning lights or alternative warning devices as required by W. Va. Code § 17C-12-73;

16.2. By September 1, 2012, any vehicle used for transportation that has a capacity that exceeds
10 passengers meets the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) standards for a school
bus. Provided, that any vehicle used prior to September 1, 2012 for transportation that has a capacity
that exceeds 10 passengers and does not meet the NHTSA standards shall follow the recommendation
of the NHTSA for preventing rollover;

16.3. The driver holds a current driver’s license for the type of vehicle being driven;
16.4. The driver does not use a cell phone or engage in conversation while driving;

16.5. The driver or a qualified staff member ensures that each child is in an approved child safety
restraint system that meets the federal recommendations of the National Highway Traffic Safety
Administration (NHTSA), either a child safety seat or booster seat, and is secured with a seat belt at a
ratio of one child per seat belt; provided, a county owned public school bus is exempt from this
requirement if not required by state or federal law to use a child safety restraint system;

16.6. The vehicle is equipped with emergency supplies, including a first-aid kit, fire extinguisher,
and, if only one adult is in the vehicle, a mobile telephone or two-way radio to be used for emergencies;

16.7. When the center owns the vehicle, identifying information is placed on the outside of the
vehicle, which can be read by a pedestrian or other passing vehicle, that includes the name, address and
telephone number of the center; and

16.8. When the center owns the vehicle, a weekly safety check is conducted and recorded. The
safety check shall include vehicle tire pressure, headlights, windshield wipers, emergency flashers, brake
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lights, turn signals, first aid kit, gas gauge, oil and other fluids.
§78-21-17. Medication Administration.

17.1. A center shall only administer medication with written permission from the child’s parent,
and with a prescription or a written order from a licensed health care provider except as provided for in
Section 17.5;

17.2. The center shall secure instructions from the child’s parent for each medication to be
administered. The center shall not accept instructions that indicate to administer the medication on an
as needed basis unless the order is accompanied by a medical treatment plan written by the child’s
licensed health care provider which describes the as needed condition. All medication instruction must
be legibly written, signed by the parent, attached to the medication log and shall include:

17.2.a. The child’s first and last name;
17.2.b. The name of the medication to be given;
17.2.c. The reason the medication is being given; and

17.2.d. Directions for the administration of the medication including the specific dosage,
specific frequency or time to be given, and the route to be given.
17.3. A center shall ensure that medication is only administered by designated qualified staff
members with training in medication administration.

17.4. A center shall ensure that prescription medication is only administered when the
prescriptive medicine bottle or package has the original pharmacy label showing the prescription
number, name of the medication, date the prescription was filled, the licensed health care provider’s
name, the child’s first and last names, specific, legible directions for administration and storage, and the
expiration date.

17.5. A center shall ensure that non-prescription medication is only administered when the
following criteria are met:

17.5.a. The center administers oral non prescription medication for no more than 3
consecutive days within a 30 day period without written instruction from a licensed health care
provider;

17.5.b. The center applies non prescription topical products (ointments, creams, or lotions) for
no more than 5 consecutive days within a 30 day period without written instruction from a licensed
health care provider. Sunscreens or lip balms used for preventative purpose are excluded from this
requirement;

17.5.c. The original non prescriptive medicine bottle or package has a label with the child’s
first and last names written by the parent, specific, legible directions for administration including the
appropriate dosage based on weight or age, directions for storage, and verification that the medicine

will not expire during the time to be used,;

17.5.d. Medication does not contain aspirin (acetylsalicylic acid) or any form of salicylate such

27



78CSR21
as Alka-Seltzer® or Pepto-Bismol®;
17.5.e. Medication for cough, cold or congestion does not contain codeine;

17.5.f. Any topical containing diphenhydramine hydrochloride (Benydryl®) shall not be applied
without written instruction from a licensed health care provider;

17.5.g. That the medication shall not be administered in a manner inconsistent with the
manufacturer’s recommendations without written instructions from the child’s licensed health care
provider.

§78-21-18. Enforcement Actions.

The secretary may revoke or make a license provisional, or issue an order of closure to a Child Care
Center in accordance with W. Va. Code § 49-2-117.

§78-21-19. Administrative and Judicial Review.

19.1. In accordance with the provisions of W. Va. Code § 49-2-105, a child care center may seek an
administrative review of a decision made by the Secretary by requesting a hearing within 30 days of
receiving the notice of the decision.

19.2. A child care center may also seek immediate relief from the decision of the Secretary by a

showing of good cause made by verified petition to the circuit court of Kanawha County or the circuit
court of the county where the program is located.
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APPENDIX 78-21-A: USDA FOOD GUIDE FOR RECOMMENDED NUTRIENT INTAKE

Taken from the 2005 DIETARY GUIDELINES FOR AMERICANS. The Dietary Guidelines are jointly issued

and updated every 5 years by the Departments of Agriculture (USDA) and Health and Human Services
(HHS).

The guidelines can be found at http://www.cnpp.usda.gov/dietaryguidelines.htm Please refer to the
most current guidelines when using this rule.
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APPENDIX 78-21-B:
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The Child and Adult Care Food Program (CACFP) is administered by the USDA.

sponsored centers.
free, reduced price, or paid meals.

http://www.fns.usda.gov/cnd/care/CACFP/aboutcacfp.htm.

Select All Three Components for a Reimbursable Meal

Food Components

1 milk

£l A Al

1 fruit/vegetable
juice,2 fruit and/or vegetable

1 grains/bread?®
bread or

cornbread or biscuit or roll or muffin or
cold dry cereal or
hot cooked cereal or

pasta or noodles or grains

Child Meal Pattern
Breakfast

Ages 1-2

1/ ~iiia

1/4 cup

1/2 slice
1/2 serving
1/4 cup
1/4 cup

1/4 cup

Ages 3-5

o JV IV RPN

1/2 cup

1/2 slice
1/2 serving
1/3 cup
1/4 cup

1/4 cup

CHILD AND ADULT CARE FOOD PROGRAM - MEAL PATTERNS

Eligible public or private
child care centers, outside-school-hours care centers, Head Start programs, and other institutions which
are licensed or approved to provide child care services may participate in CACFP, independently or as
Meals served to children are reimbursed at rates based upon a child’s eligibility for
More information and current meal pattern plans can be found at

Ages 6-12"

1/2 cup

1 slice

1 serving
3/4 cup
1/2 cup

1/2 cup

! Children age 12 and older may be served larger portions based on their greater food needs.

They may not be served less than the minimum quantities listed in this column.

? Fruit or vegetable juice must be full-strength.
* Breads and grains must be made from whole-grain or enriched meal or flour. Cereal must be

whole-grain or
enriched or fortified.
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Food Components

1 milk
fluid milk

2 fruits/vegetables
juice?, fruit and/or vegetable

1 grains/bread?®
bread or

cornbread or biscuit or roll or muffin or
cold dry cereal or
hot cooked cereal or

pasta or noodles or grains

1 meat/meat alternate
meat or poultry or fish® or

alternate protein product or

cheese or

egg or

cooked dry beans or peas or

peanut or other nut or seed butters or
nuts and/or seeds® or

yogurt®

78CSR21

Child Meal Pattern
Lunch or Supper

Ages 1-2

1/2 cup

1/4 cup

1/2 slice
1/2 serving
1/4 cup
1/4 cup

1/4 cup

1 ounce

1 ounce

1 ounce
1/2 egg
1/4 cup

2 Thsp.
1/2 ounce

4 ounces

Ages 3-5

3/4 cup

1/2 cup

1/2 slice
1/2 serving
1/3 cup
1/4 cup

1/4 cup

11/2 ounces
11/2 ounces
11/2 ounces
3/4 egg

3/8 cup

3 Thsp.

3/4 ounce

6 ounces

Ages 6-12"

1cup

3/4 cup

1 slice

1 serving
3/4 cup
1/2 cup

1/2 cup

2 ounces
2 ounces
2 ounces
legg
1/2 cup
4 Thbsp.
1 ounce

8 ounces

! Children age 12 and older may be served larger portions based on their greater food needs.

They may not be served less than the minimum quantities listed in this column.

2 Fruit or vegetable juice must be full-strength.
* Breads and grains must be made from whole-grain or enriched meal or flour. Cereal must be

whole-grain or
enriched or fortified.

* A serving consists of the edible portion of cooked lean meat or poultry or fish.

> Nuts and seeds may meet only one-half of the total meat/meat alternate serving and must be

combined with

31



78CSR21

another meat/meat alternate to fulfill the lunch or supper requirement.
® Yogurt may be plain or flavored, unsweetened or sweetened.
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Select Two of the Four Components for a Reimbursable Snack

Food Components

1 milk
fluid milk

1 fruit/vegetable
juicez, fruit and/or vegetable

1 grains/bread?®
bread or

cornbread or biscuit or roll or muffin or
cold dry cereal or
hot cooked cereal or

pasta or noodles or grains

1 meat/meat alternate
meat or poultry or fish* or

alternate protein product or

cheese or

egg° or

cooked dry beans or peas or

peanut or other nut or seed butters or
nuts and/or seeds or

yogurt®

' Children age 12 and older may be served larger portions based on their greater food needs.

78CSR21

Child Meal Pattern

Snack

Ages 1-2

1/2 cup

1/2 cup

1/2 slice
1/2 serving
1/4 cup
1/4 cup

1/4 cup

1/2 ounce
1/2 ounce
1/2 ounce
1/2 eqgg
1/8 cup
1 Tbsp.
1/2 ounce

2 ounces

Ages 3-5

1/2 cup

1/2 cup

1/2 slice
1/2 serving
1/3 cup
1/4 cup

1/4 cup

1/2 ounce
1/2 ounce
1/2 ounce
1/2 eqgg
1/8 cup
1 Tbsp.
1/2 ounce

2 ounces

They may not be served less than the minimum quantities listed in this column.
2 Fruit or vegetable juice must be full-strength. Juice cannot be served when milk is the only other snack

component.

enriched or fortified.

‘A serving consists of the edible portion of cooked lean meat or poultry or fish.
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One-half egg meets the required minimum amount (one ounce or less) of meat alternate.
Yogurt may be plain or flavored, unsweetened or sweetened.

Ages 6-12"

1cup

3/4 cup

1 slice

1 serving
3/4 cup
1/2 cup

1/2 cup

1 ounce
1 ounce
1 ounce
1/2 egg
1/4 cup
2 Tbsp.
1 ounce

4 ounces

Breads and grains must be made from whole-grain or enriched meal or flour. Cereal must be whole-grain or



